Accelera Iota

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 68%
Road Feedback 65%
Handling 65%
Wear 72%
Comfort 66%
Buy again 73%
 
Size Price Range  
315/35 R20 £75.20 - £98.80 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 3 tyre sizes - View all.

Accelera Iota Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 38% while driving a Nissan Terrano II (235/65 R17) on mostly town for 0 average miles
Had these fitted when I bought the car by the previous owner they were ok in the dry bit noisey in the corners but terrible in the wet it was like driving on a ice rink when a 2 tone 4x4 slides side ways on a corner at normal speed it's scary and if you accelerate to quickly the rear end lost grip to easily never tried them in snow thank God and they had 5-6 mm on at the time anyway I changed them for some Goodyear wrangler all terrain and it transformed the car much better in any condition and you had confidence when driving and the Goodyears handled 3-4 inches of snow no problem and I wouldn't recommend these to anyone
4 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2018   
Given 81% while driving a Audi Q5 (255/45 R20) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
Accelera Iota R20 Iota-1 & Iota- st68
The Iota have 2 different types of tread the Iota-1 and the Iota- st68. http://www.acceleratireusa.com/ made by EPtyres in Indonesia (not china)
I bought a Q5 sline+ with the chunker Iota-1 on it and was surprised at how good & quiet they were for a non premium tyre. No issues with steering, ride and grip. Also they looked good on the car. Only slight negative was fuel economy witch you’d expect with the chunky tread. Unfortunately this vehicle was written off after a stolen car rammed into the side of it at 65mph. I went and brought another Q5 sline+ as I consider this car saved mine & my family’s life.
This one had Michelin lattitudes on it 4-5mm tread. I immediately felt the difference the car felt more prone to movement and absolutely hated white lines causing the car to skate. Ride was pretty good and I know the grip was there but I just wasn’t as confident driving on these tyres. I didn’t like them. I have recently changed the tyres to Iota- st68. Thought id give them ago as I couldn’t easily find the Iota-1. They also have a more normal summer tread for fuel eco. And are amazing cheap compared to the £250 premium per corner.
The Iota- st68 have massively improved the driving on normal roads, no skating on white lines or veering, grip seems good. No real under/over steer. However this is at ride cost. I found this really not much of an issue on normal roads & quite like the feel of the road, but on the motorway there is more shaking on bad road surfaces. The Iota- st68 are defiantly much stiffer on the side wall, maybe this may soften slightly in time to give a better motorway ride. Indecently the rubber on the tyres feels fairly soft & they had a 68db sticker on them and they are quiet to go with that, another reason for buying. Both Iota treads have all season written on them however, looking at the tread pattern I doubt the st68 actually are. The Iota-1 may offer more winter traction. I drove these on wet grass a few times no issues. The ST-68 Braking doesn’t seem as good as the Michelins but maybe that’s expected also im possibly driving faster with more confidence now. There’s also the new tyre breaking in factor where you need to get rid of the mould lubricant. Both my sline Q5 had standard suspension (Code 1BA) rather than sports (1BE) I would suggest the Iota- st68 are too stiff for sports suspension considering I have standard and if you do a lot of motorway driving I would necessarily recommend them at the moment however fuel eco is very good.
All in all for the price the Iota is very good in either pattern depending on requirements. If you want premium then I wouldn’t recommend the old Michelins, but they have just brought out the Lats 3 which don’t have a smooth centre tread so may overcome the issues of its predecessor. I hear Bridgestone’s are too hard, but good year eff-grip are somewhere in the middle so these maybe the best all-round suited Q5 tyre and the’re OEM as well. Hope this has been some help but realise it may be no help at all!!
1 - tyre reviewed on May 25, 2018   
Given 66% while driving a Audi (295/40 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 1,000 spirited miles
Decided to try a cheaper tyre (as had to replace all 4 and am getting tired of shelling out £1k each time). Have tried the Continental and Dunlop and only seem to get 6-8000 miles. Wont know for a while the wear characteristics but wanted to give early feedback. Tyre noise seems similar. Seems to be on par in the dry and almost as good in the wet. One additional benefit seems that the tyres ride a little more comfortable (using the Dunlop and Continental tyres the tracking light would come up on the dashboard briefly when going over speed humps - they dont with the Iota's).
2 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2018   
Given 67% while driving a BMW X5 3.0 diesel (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
I am going to be totally honest about these tyres.

IF like me, you have a LARGE HEAVY SUV (BMW X5) and you don't race it on the streets because you are not 19 any more... then these tyres are the BEST you can buy pound for pound! They where fairly well, they dont last so long on my X5 because of the rear camber on the tyres is not adjustable and there for the inner tyre shoulders wear out every two years.

They do the job, they are ROAD tyres, NOT off road. Even still I drove into a car part at the goodwood festival of speed that was soo muddy that they would ONLY let 4X4s park in as other cars got stuck and I was pretty worried with my x5 and its road tyres competing with some Landes and serious 4x4s. I have to say, it wasnt as composed as the Discovery infront of me but... it got the job done. Was pretty proud when I jumped out and they guy in the disco said "I didnt think those things did well off road?" I said well... I was pretty nervous but... I am hear! :D
18 - tyre reviewed on October 6, 2017   
Given 87% while driving a Porsche cayenne s (285/35 R22) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Very good tyre .
Normal i drive Michelin , Whish is absolute Best tyre in World .
But these tyres comes Very close .
No noice and good comfort

Drive porshe Cayenne hybrid 2016. Very Quit car with air suspension. Original 20" Michelin .

I Was very afraid to try these tyres . But they are Almost as good as Michelin When drive normal in noice and comfort

I try budget tyres before and normal they are TERRIBLE . But these tyres are very good :-)

VERY satisfied
6 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2017   
Given 97% while driving a Audi Q7 (285/35 R22 W) on a combination of roads for 450 spirited miles
Brilliant tyres - Accelera Iota ST68 - 285/35/R22.

I have had many vehicles over the years and many tyres such as - Goodyear Eagle Ventura & Eagle F1 & GT5, Pirelli P6000 & PZero’s, Vredestein Sessanta & Cento, Falken FK451, 452 & Asensis, Khumo Ecsta Le Sport KU39's etc etc so I know my tyres!!

These Accelera Iota ST68's (a full set of four) replaced the Falken Asesnis on my Audi Q7. The difference is like night to day! Simply brilliant and they have transformed the car at a saving of £66 per corner compared to the Falkens. Job done!

Ride was choppy and noisy with the Falkens....now gone. My tyres are on 22" so I will always expect noise as they are 35 profile but these Accelera will blow away any other tyre. I have today just hit massive standing water doing 65mph and not a flicker.....straight through. Can't comment on tyre wear yet but that doesn't bother me as I will replace like for like anyway and the Falkens only gave me 9,000 miles on the front and were down to 2.5mm!

The car is almost 2.5 Tonnes and 3.0TDI Quattro so has a whack of torque and demands a lot from tyres……especially when you stuff it into sport mode and paddle shift……sweet!!!

No snow yet so can't comment. Dry grip excellent, so is wet grip, noise is almost non existent, ride handling excellent and fuel economy.........it's a Q7 so is thirsty regardless of tyres!

So I give these 100%. Brilliant!
16 - tyre reviewed on July 27, 2017   
Given 88% while driving a Audi Q7 (295/35 R21) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Great value for money! Lasted 15000 miles on my Audi Q7 4.2 tdv8. Pirelli brand only lasted 9000 miles. I'm on my 2nd set now.
4 - tyre reviewed on July 19, 2017   
Given 78% while driving a Audi Q5 (255/45 R22 R) on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
Great (cheap) solution for new tires on a 2015 Audi Q5 TDI. The factory Michelins were ready to be replaced - The dealer wanted thousands of dollars for tires. After laughing it off I headed to my local area Korean owned tire shop and grabbed these for $109 ea mounted and installed and out the door. A few hundred bucks later I'm a happy camper. Will consider purchasing from this company again in the future.
5 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2017   
Given 93% while driving a Hyundai Santa Fe (255/45 R20 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Boy -- what an absolute bargain -- a full set for my Santa Fe cost me £220 -- I cannot fault them so far after 5000 miles --
Minimal even wear and no problems as others reported of balance and noise -- Original fit were Hankooks 235/55/19 --- I put these new Accelera Iota's 0n 20" rims which has improved the ride , road holding , more positive steering and stability when towing my twin axle caravan. They have now shot up in price by £20 per tyre but are still a fantastic bargain . I don't hold with all the other reports with negative comments and will happily recommend them and certainly will buy again. With the present "wear" rate I expect to see some 25,000 miles plus from a full set.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2017   
Given 44% while driving a Jeep Grand Cherokee (265/55 R20) on mostly country roads for 0 easy going miles
Crap , it's like driving with wooden wheels. These tyres came on my used Jeep grand cherokee and in my opinion the rubber compound is way to firm , you could run over a match stick in the road and feel it. Going to replace with Nexen rodian tyres soon.
6 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2017