Accelera PHI

Dry Grip 70%
Wet Grip 47%
Road Feedback 55%
Handling 54%
Wear 68%
Comfort 59%
Buy again 53%

The Accelera PHI is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre has been replaced by the Accelera PHI R

Show All

Tyre review data from 123 tyre reviews averaging 58% over 1,090,862 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout - 44th of 50 tyres

2012 EVO Max Performance Tyre Test - 10th of 10 tyres

  • Overall - Finishing bottom of the table in nearly every test secured the Accelera its last place, however EVO noted it wasn't as bad as some of the other budgets tested in previous years. As is the norm with budget tyres, it was capable in the dry but lacked grip, composure and safety when the surface changed to wet.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/55 R15 88V   F E 74  
195/45 R16 84W   E C 72  
205/55 R16 94W   E C 72  
235/60 R16 104W   E C 72  
195/40 R17 81V   E C 72  
255/40 R17 98W   E C 72  
225/45 R17 94W   E C 72  
245/45 R17 99W   E C 72  
205/50 R17 93W   E C 72  
215/50 R17 95W   E C 72  
235/55 R17 103W   E C 72  
255/35 R18 94Y   E C 72  
265/35 R18 97Y   E C 72  
215/40 R18 89Y   E C 72  
225/40 R18 92Y   E C 72  
235/40 R18 95Y   E C 72  
245/40 R18 97Y   E C 72  
255/40 R18 99Y   E C 72  
205/45 R18 90Y   E C 72  
225/45 R18 95Y   E C 72  
235/45 R18 98Y   E C 72  
255/30 R19 91Y   E C 72  
265/30 R19 93Y   E C 72  
225/35 R19 88Y   E C 72  
235/35 R19 91Y   E C 72  
245/35 R19 93Y   E C 72  
265/35 R19 98Y   E C 72  
225/40 R19 93Y   E C 72  
235/40 R19 96Y   E C 72  
245/40 R19 98Y   E C 72  
255/40 R19 100Y   E C 72  
245/45 R19 102Y   E C 72  
225/30 R20 85Y   E C 72  
245/30 R20 93Y   E C 72  
255/30 R20 92Y   E C 72  
225/35 R20 93Y   E C 72  
235/35 R20 92Y   E C 72  
245/35 R20 95Y   E C 72  
245/45 R20 103Y   E C 72  
255/30 R21 95W   E C 72  
255/30 R22 95Y   E C 72  
245/35 R22 97Y   E C 72  

Questions and Answers for the Accelera PHI

2016-06-26 - Are the Accelera PHI tyres run flat?

We're not currently aware of a runflat version of the Accelera PHI tyre.


2016-08-24 - What side is the front of the tire?

The PHI will have "outside" written on the outside, or front, of the tyre.


2016-10-18 - What is the estimated mileage for the Accelera PHI 225/45 R18? I have a Kia Soul Exclaim (2011) and am looking for four new tires

The mileage of the Accelera PHI depends largely on your car and driving style. It's best to look at other reviews posted to match your driving style and vehicle.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £43.00 - £43.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R19 £53.00 - £53.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 £50.00 - £50.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 32 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Accelera PHI Review

Given 67% while driving a Opel insignia (245/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 20 average miles
The varied reviews on the this tyre are insane. Some calling them dangerous to the best tyre ever driven on to date. My review is based on driving at legal speeds. Average 80 to 120kph.
On my Irish dry roads, the car handles well and confortable giving good feed back steering through the corners and braking. In heavy rain, I slowed down and again the tyres are fine. On greasy wet main roads, the tyres were giddy accelerating away from lights, fighting for grip as I put my foot down. So if you don't want spin - don't race! Once I adjusted my driving style to the tyres, they were acceptable.
In summary, my view is that once these tyres are that driven legally, they are good for the money on a family car driving safely. Its like the Top Gear corner Follow Through - different cars and drivers can go at different speeds. (Bring back the old Guys!) But if I had the money and did my research and wanted to enjoy the full potential of my car and all its power, I would go for the drivers tyre- Michelin Pilot Sport 4. If I want to maximise fuel economy and long life I'd drive on the Michelin Primacy 3. Both the same price, but different handling qualities. In my view, Mid range brands are just made to suit peoples budgets.
84 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2016   

Latest Accelera PHI Reviews

Have you driven on the Accelera PHI tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the PHI.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 71% while driving a BMW 520d Sport (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
F10 light on the back for 275 width standard rubber, shows up poor tyres very quickly in the cold and wet pulling away at junctions
Bought as an emergency expected to have Sport Maxx repaired (non runflat) but poor batch from Mytyres splitting and age cracking so had to fit the Accellera. Expected to find the nearest ditch, spent the first few days driving very carefully, but after careful testing I can confirm this tyre to be surprisingly OK, similar is not slightly better grip than the SportMaxx, not as good as Hankook evo2,but better than the Conti (5?) runflats it came with from the factory.
4 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2018   
Given 46% while driving a BMW 435d (255/30 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 miles
Don't even turn the key if it's wet.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2018   
What's better in the snow, a 4x4 or winter tyres? Watch the video to find out!
Given 31% while driving a Volvo V70 2.4T (205/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Shocking tyres in the wet - buy something else if there is any chance of rain anywhere near where you are going. Volvo's are pretty sure footed, but my V70 just understeers across the road when it is wet at 20 mph. Really, these are dangerous :-(
3 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2018   
Given 39% while driving a Vauxhall Astra (235/40 R19 W) on for 8,000 average miles
Tyres worn out after 8 - 8.5k miles. Terrible wet grip. Occasionally car would start to skid on large roundabouts at low/moderate speeds. Cheap but would definitely pay more next time for something better
0 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2018   
Given 33% while driving a Jaguar XF (255/35 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
These tyres are terrible in the wet. The worst tyre I have ever had. Had other budget brands in the past but others in my experience are far superior (120,000 miles of same car ownership).
0 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2018   

See all 119 customer reviews of the Accelera PHI (newest first) >>