Accelera PHI

Dry Grip 70%
Wet Grip 47%
Road Feedback 55%
Handling 54%
Wear 67%
Comfort 59%
Buy again 53%

The Accelera PHI is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre has been replaced by the Accelera PHI R

Show All

Tyre review data from 128 tyre reviews averaging 58% over 1,140,962 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 8th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Low rolling resistance. Low noise.
  • Negative - Very poor wet grip, extremely long wet braking distances, poor dry grip.
  • Overall - The Accelera PHI was extremely low grip in all scenarios. Do not fit this tyre.
    Not Recommended

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout - 44th of 50 tyres

2012 EVO Max Performance Tyre Test - 10th of 10 tyres

  • Overall - Finishing bottom of the table in nearly every test secured the Accelera its last place, however EVO noted it wasn't as bad as some of the other budgets tested in previous years. As is the norm with budget tyres, it was capable in the dry but lacked grip, composure and safety when the surface changed to wet.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/55 R15 88V   F E 74  
195/45 R16 84W   E C 72  
205/55 R16 94W   E C 72  
235/60 R16 104W   E C 72  
195/40 R17 81V   E C 72  
255/40 R17 98W   E C 72  
225/45 R17 94W   E C 72  
245/45 R17 99W   E C 72  
205/50 R17 93W   E C 72  
215/50 R17 95W   E C 72  
235/55 R17 103W   E C 72  
255/35 R18 94Y   E C 72  
265/35 R18 97Y   E C 72  
215/40 R18 89Y   E C 72  
225/40 R18 92Y   E C 72  
235/40 R18 95Y   E C 72  
245/40 R18 97Y   E C 72  
255/40 R18 99Y   E C 72  
205/45 R18 90Y   E C 72  
225/45 R18 95Y   E C 72  
235/45 R18 98Y   E C 72  
255/30 R19 91Y   E C 72  
265/30 R19 93Y   E C 72  
225/35 R19 88Y   E C 72  
235/35 R19 91Y   E C 72  
245/35 R19 93Y   E C 72  
265/35 R19 98Y   E C 72  
225/40 R19 93Y   E C 72  
235/40 R19 96Y   E C 72  
245/40 R19 98Y   E C 72  
255/40 R19 100Y   E C 72  
245/45 R19 102Y   E C 72  
225/30 R20 85Y   E C 72  
245/30 R20 93Y   E C 72  
255/30 R20 92Y   E C 72  
225/35 R20 93Y   E C 72  
235/35 R20 92Y   E C 72  
245/35 R20 95Y   E C 72  
245/45 R20 103Y   E C 72  
255/30 R21 95W   E C 72  
255/30 R22 95Y   E C 72  
245/35 R22 97Y   E C 72  

Questions and Answers for the Accelera PHI

2016-06-26 - Are the Accelera PHI tyres run flat?

We're not currently aware of a runflat version of the Accelera PHI tyre.


2016-08-24 - What side is the front of the tire?

The PHI will have "outside" written on the outside, or front, of the tyre.


2016-10-18 - What is the estimated mileage for the Accelera PHI 225/45 R18? I have a Kia Soul Exclaim (2011) and am looking for four new tires

The mileage of the Accelera PHI depends largely on your car and driving style. It's best to look at other reviews posted to match your driving style and vehicle.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £42.00 - £42.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R19 £52.00 - £52.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 £50.00 - £50.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 29 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Accelera PHI Review

Given 67% while driving a Opel insignia (245/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 20 average miles
The varied reviews on the this tyre are insane. Some calling them dangerous to the best tyre ever driven on to date. My review is based on driving at legal speeds. Average 80 to 120kph.
On my Irish dry roads, the car handles well and confortable giving good feed back steering through the corners and braking. In heavy rain, I slowed down and again the tyres are fine. On greasy wet main roads, the tyres were giddy accelerating away from lights, fighting for grip as I put my foot down. So if you don't want spin - don't race! Once I adjusted my driving style to the tyres, they were acceptable.
In summary, my view is that once these tyres are that driven legally, they are good for the money on a family car driving safely. Its like the Top Gear corner Follow Through - different cars and drivers can go at different speeds. (Bring back the old Guys!) But if I had the money and did my research and wanted to enjoy the full potential of my car and all its power, I would go for the drivers tyre- Michelin Pilot Sport 4. If I want to maximise fuel economy and long life I'd drive on the Michelin Primacy 3. Both the same price, but different handling qualities. In my view, Mid range brands are just made to suit peoples budgets.
98 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2016   

Latest Accelera PHI Reviews

Have you driven on the Accelera PHI tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the PHI.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 19% while driving a BMW X5 E53 3.0d (285/45 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 6,000 average miles
Bought my X5 with these tyres on the rears with 6mm of tread. Had never heard of them before and on my cars I always fit Continental Rainsport 3s wherever possible with their outstanding grip, wet or dry.
I've done 4,000 miles now and the tread is down to 3mm already so not at all long lasting. In the dry they are reasonable but pushing on at a roundabout and the rear never seems planted.
However, in the wet it is a different story. They are absolutely lethal with virtually no grip even on a moderately wet surface. Taking a mini roundabout at 15mph and the back end slid across the road no problem at all. White van man behind had to take avoiding action.
Fitting Avon ZX7s shortly.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2019   
Given 47% while driving a BMW M3 (255/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
These are the tyres on the courtesy wheels put on my 2001 M3 whilst my own wheels are refurbed. They are fine in the dry, but in the wet they are lethal. Even in the damp. They have absolutely no business on a powerful car, or a car that you want to go round a corner on wet roads without taking a chunk out of the nearest kerb or ditch. In the wet an oiltanker has a shorter stopping distance. These are grade A ditchfinders and they are quite simply dangerous.
5 - tyre reviewed on May 3, 2019   
These are the best tyres in the world. Watch now!
Given 54% while driving a Suzuki Swift (185/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I drive a 2017 Suzuki Swift RS (ZC13S) My driving style is a mix of decent and aggressive. Roads here (Sri Lanka) are bad. just bad. I had to replace 2 tyres as my front OEM Bridgestone Ecopia EP150 got damaged sidewalls (my fault, drove with low air pressure). The Accelera PHI-R were the only tyres available at that time in the nearest tyre shop.
Dry grip is decent and ride is definitely softer than Ecopias. In average speeds they perform well but tend to squeal under hard cornering and feedback is low. Turn-in is not very sharp and under-steers if pushed too hard. Wet grip is decent but I would not recommend driving hard in the rain. Cannot predict when they would give out. Tyre noise is less than the ecopias as well.
They seem to be durable as after 15,000KM the thread depth maybe 50% remaining. But would not buy again. Good for people looking for a budget tyre to drive decently. Do not buy If you drive hard.
1 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2019   
Audi (255/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
I switched to Accelera PHi from Hankook Vensus purely on budget, prior to that i had the Bridgestone Potenza R003 in 18 inch tyre. The Accelera performed reasonable, considering I do 800km per week. it is definitly a hard compound tyre and the noise is pronounced at 110km/ph on both concrete and bituman roads. all up 30,000km got out of them, that is 5-10k kilometers better than Bridgestone and Hankook.
9 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2019   

See all 123 customer reviews of the Accelera PHI (newest first) >>