Achilles 2233

Dry Grip 77%
Wet Grip 49%
Road Feedback 65%
Handling 63%
Wear 78%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 53%
 
Size Price Range  
205/45 R16 £58.00 - £58.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £56.00 - £56.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £41.00 - £41.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £62.00 - £62.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £46.00 - £46.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 14 tyre sizes - View all.

Achilles 2233 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 47% while driving a Lexus GS300 (235/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 1,000 easy going miles
Bought a second hand car with these fitted all round. Seemed OK over the first few days but some bad weather showed up how poor the wet grip is. Motorway speeds in the rain and the front end seems very light. These tyres will be coming off at the first opportunity.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2019   
Given 64% while driving a Toyota Corolla Altis (235/40 R18) on for 0 miles
Used this tyre for almost 4 yrs (over 30k km). Tread was still thick until the left front tyre became oblong or lost its roundness. As objective as i can, its good for daily driving and occasional mountain twisties tyre especially fornthe prize. If you are on a budget this should serve you well. Just make sure to diligently inspect the tyre pressure and its condition specially after 2 yrs of use.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2019   
Given 54% while driving a Renault Clio 172 (205/40 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 3,500 average miles
It really slides if you try to steer in heavily and starts to roll. In wet it really starts losing grip easily. Not recommended to buy!!! I got them new on my 2nd hand clio rs from 2003. I guess the dealer just put them on as sales trick to look like new for cheap.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 30, 2019   
Given 64% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Estate 2.0 tdi 140 (245/40 R18) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Replaced my OEM Pirelli Cinturato P7 225/40/18 for these on my Golf Mark 7 Estate 2.0 TDI as I wanted additional rim curb scratch protection. Got them extremely cheap here in the Philippines for only about US$ 80 a piece. They cope really well with the extremely potholed roads of Manila, and are pretty comfortable. Not the most comfortable, but good enough. Road noise on the highway is way louder than the Cinturato P7s, but is still alright. Won't mess up a good conversation. Having my TDI tuned to 314ft/lb of torque sure made these tires scream and terribly lost grip in the wet, but in the dry, these tires are excellent.
8 - tyre reviewed on September 16, 2018   
Given 22% while driving a Skoda Yeti 4 x 4 (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
I have just had a full set of the Achilles tyres fitted to my Skoda Yeti 2.0L 4x4, and I must say, I am not at all impressed. I know I didn’t pay a King’s ransom for them, but to say I am underwhelmed, well, they actually feel unsafe. To look at, the tred is very, well, missing is the only way to describe it. The amount of grooves cut into the tyre are very few, causing the road handling to be very poor indeed, and with much movement of the vehicle when at speed; and worse still when in the wet. In fact, I would go as far as to say, the road holding of these tyres, is poorer than the old tyres I had taken of my car; and they were almost bald.
The only plus point with the tyres is, there is quite a lot less road noise, than there was with my old tyres; but I would gladly swap noise for better road holding. Whether they will save me money on fuel, it is too early to say. Well, as the motto says: buy cheap, buy twice.
4 - tyre reviewed on March 23, 2018   
Given 63% while driving a Subaru Subaru Legacy GT 2.0 JDM (215/45 R17) on mostly town for 0 average miles
Had Bridgestone Potenzas prior to the 2233s and I am very impressed with these in the hot dry summer roads in New Zealand and is probably quieter than the Potenzas. But I get a total drop in confidence on wet roads. I understeer like crazy even on low speeds in the wet.

Not sure if I would buy these again. We get a lot of rain during our winter months in New Zealand and I need something that is safer in the rain.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2018   
Given 76% while driving a BMW 323i 1997 (215/45 R17) on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
I used to ran 17" 2233s on all fours (ideal front width, slightly stretched rears), before the fronts were replaced with worn 16" Dunlop SP01s after a pothole accident. I can only say good things about its behaviour in the dry. Pretty comfortable even on rough roads, possibly quiet (I have loud pipes and wind coming through the window, so I can't truly tell), excellent grip - all in a very affordable package. They also seem to last very long; I fitted them in August 2016. Two years and some 7000 miles of daily spirited driving later, they still have hairs on them.

However, in the wet, oh dear... My car only has a modest 245 Nm of torque, and even with the lightest throttle, on a slightly wet road, I can feel the rears losing grip accompanied with an unmistakable screeching noise. As for the fronts, they seem to be quite prone to hydroplaning, making handling on the wet rather unpredictable. These were relatively new, mostly city driven tires, mind you.

Although, overall I'm very pleased with em. I blew a couple rear tires and replaced them with another pair of 2233s.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 7, 2018   
Given 60% while driving a Pontiac G6 GT (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Bought the car with the 2233 on it. Terrible in the rain! OK on dry roads.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 13, 2017   
Given 64% while driving a Subaru Impreza (205/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Better than expected for the money. Driving on New Zealand chip sealed and gravel roads, beaches, launching and retrieving my boat at slippery ramps for the last 30000km + and they're half worn. Balanced well, quieter than the Dunlop SP Sport 01's and better grip on gravel roads. Great handling in the dry however wet weather grip is not too great, have to be a bit careful around roundabouts and taking corners in the wet. They've gotten noisier as they've worn down also. Best tires in their price bracket. A bit of a shame about the wet weather grip but it's bearable.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2017   
Given 47% while driving a Volvo V50 estate (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
I have goodyear tyres on front wheels, achilles on rear wheels.
On rainy roads the rear looses grip easily.
Today the skid control system got busy at a highway exit turn.
You never know when you need the grip, I recommend you buy
something else!
61 - tyre reviewed on August 29, 2016   
Advertisement