Avon ZT5

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 70%
Road Feedback 73%
Progressiveness 66%
Wear 69%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 57%
Avon ZT5

The Avon ZT5 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Show all

Tyre review data from 21 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 238,912 miles driven.

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
155/65 R13 73T   E C 70  
165/65 R13 77T   E C 70  
175/65 R13 80T   E C 70  
155/70 R13 75T   E C 70  
165/70 R13 79T   E C 70  
175/70 R13 82T   C C 70  
185/55 R14 80H   E C 70  
165/60 R14 75H   E C 70  
165/60 R14 75T   E C 70  
185/60 R14 82H   C C 70  
185/60 R14 82T   C C 70  
155/65 R14 75T   E C 70  
165/65 R14 79T   E C 70  
175/65 R14 82T   C C 70  
175/65 R14 82H   C C 70  
175/65 R14 86T XL   C C 71  
185/65 R14 86T   C C 70  
185/65 R14 86H   C C 70  
165/70 R14 85T XL   C C 71  
165/70 R14 81T   E C 70  
175/70 R14 84T   C C 70  
175/70 R14 88T XL   C C 71  
185/70 R14 88H   C C 70  
185/70 R14 88T   C C 70  
185/55 R15 82H   C C 70  
195/55 R15 85H   C C 71  
185/60 R15 84H   C C 70  
185/60 R15 88H XL   C C 71  
195/60 R15 88H   C C 71  
205/60 R15 95H XL   C C 72  
205/60 R15 91H   C C 71  
165/65 R15 81T   E C 70  
175/65 R15 84T   C C 70  
175/65 R15 84H   C C 70  
185/65 R15 88H   C C 70  
185/65 R15 88T   C C 70  
195/65 R15 95T XL   C C 72  
195/65 R15 91T   C C 71  
195/65 R15 95H XL   C C 72  
195/65 R15 91H   C C 71  
205/65 R15 94H   C C 71  
205/55 R16 91H   C C 71  
205/55 R16 94H XL   C C 72  
205/60 R16 92H   C C 71  

Questions and Answers for the Avon ZT5

2016-05-15 - Hi I run a Opel Manta Stage Rally Car we are Tarmac spec for Stage demo runs. I have 15" rims. BUT we have been asked to do Navigational event North Wales we have had to go back to 14" Ronal wheels to run as 80's period. Being only Grp A spec the car is narrow body so we have to run 60 series tyre. I have opted to buy 4 Avon ZT5 . THE QUESTION IS HOW WILL THESE TYRES COPE WITH SMOOTH TARMAC / MUD/ GRAVEL / RIVER CROSSING. (FORD). WHAT COMPOUND ARE THEY IE: super soft/ soft/medium /hard ? I'm not to worried about noise were on intercom

The Avon ZT5's are likely to struggle with any serious speed on a rough surface - they're a soft structured low rolling resistance road tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

 
Size Price Range  
165/65 R15 £33.13 - £48.62 (8 prices) Compare Prices >>
165/70 R13 £28.82 - £40.49 (7 prices) Compare Prices >>
165/70 R14 £29.82 - £46.62 (18 prices) Compare Prices >>
175/65 R14 £29.12 - £48.49 (20 prices) Compare Prices >>
185/60 R14 £30.02 - £44.50 (16 prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R14 £30.69 - £49.49 (15 prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 28 tyre sizes - View all.

Avon ZT5 Reviews

Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat doblo (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 easy going miles
The tyre walls perished and cracked to such an extent that all were scrap at 14 months old and 8k miles even though the date stamp showed they were manufactured in the year of fitting (2014) and they were in UK (i.e. negligible sun damage). Never again.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2016   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen fox (185/60 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Very Mid-range tyre. Will grip effectively in all conditions, but they are fairly noisy (especially on motorway). Last approx 20K on front and 30K on back
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2016   
Given 75% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Sharan 1.9TDi (190/65 R15 H) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
Replaced Front tyres on my VW Sharan 1996 with 195/65 R15 XL 95H load tyres. I was looking for a set with the 95 Load rating vs the 91 rating. Overall the tyres seem good, only replaced the fronts to start around 3 month ago, wear seems ok, done around 3000 miles. The ride is a bit nicer than when on the 91 tyres but saying that the noise is slightly more, not sure if that normal or not. Mainly I was attracted to these by the price and Avon being a know brand. I am considering replacing the rears now and will probably opt for the same one.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2015   
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Daewoo Matiz (155/65 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 18,000 easy going miles
Better grip than Barum Brilliantis and Khumo KH17, but quite a bit noisier than both. Average wear.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2015   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.2 (165/70 R14 T) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
i have put the tyres on my car on my car and i love them amazing grip and i have pushed them to the limit racing my mate on a closed track on them and grip was top marks and drove home in the wet never lost grip ones i recommend them
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on February 27, 2015   
Given 46% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta (175/65 R14 T) on mostly motorways for 15,000 easy going miles
After 24000 km I changed them due to wearness. I was feeling unsafe especially on wet road. The front tyres in order to look properly should be inflated with 45 psi. Avoid them!
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2014   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat Punto 1.2 8v (165/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
First set of tyres I've ever had to buy, and for my Fiat Punto, they are a nice cheap set of tyres that offer good grip and wear levels. I previously had 3 makes of tyre on the car, so going to one set across the car made a big difference.
Would buy again when I need to get some more.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2014   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Audi 80 B4 (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
No Comments Left
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2013   
Given 53% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Caddy (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Have avon zt 5 tyres fitted to my vw caddy van they are very good in dry conditions , but in the wet are very poor ,no grip at low speeds on roundabouts , and some corners.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2013   
Given 25% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!

The car seems to be suffering really badly with tramlining and darting at every undulation in the road wit these Avon ZT5's, and at motorway speeds the car feel like the the rear has lots of lateral movement due to the tramlining.

Even with higher tyre pressures (35 psi) then stated by Ford (32 psi) they look under inflated, for example the side wall are very bulbous (tread is still in full contact with road), plus they feel very soft when I push the side wall.

What is surprising is that prior to have these new ZT5 the car had a set of Avons on the front and a set on Continental on the rear, to car felt much better planted to the road even though one set had done 45,000 miles and the other had done almost 20,000.

I selected these Avon ZT5 over a budget tyres assuming they would be better given your name and previous set of Avons, however I really do think these tyres are not fit to carry the Avon name. My confidante the drive on the motorway at speed is some what reduced as the lateral movement and tramlining means I have to back off to gain control.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2013   
Advertisement