Avon ZT5

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 68%
Road Feedback 72%
Progressiveness 64%
Wear 67%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 58%
Avon ZT5

The Avon ZT5 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Show all

Tyre review data from 19 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 212,912 miles driven.

 
Size Price Range  
165/65 R15 £33.13 - £43.76 (7 prices) Compare Prices >>
165/70 R13 £27.40 - £35.55 (6 prices) Compare Prices >>
165/70 R14 £29.82 - £39.40 (12 prices) Compare Prices >>
175/65 R14 £29.12 - £44.40 (17 prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R14 £31.99 - £41.69 (13 prices) Compare Prices >>
195/55 R15 £39.65 - £49.40 (6 prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 28 tyre sizes - View all.

Avon ZT5 Reviews

Given 75% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Sharan 1.9TDi (190/65 R15 H) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
Replaced Front tyres on my VW Sharan 1996 with 195/65 R15 XL 95H load tyres. I was looking for a set with the 95 Load rating vs the 91 rating. Overall the tyres seem good, only replaced the fronts to start around 3 month ago, wear seems ok, done around 3000 miles. The ride is a bit nicer than when on the 91 tyres but saying that the noise is slightly more, not sure if that normal or not. Mainly I was attracted to these by the price and Avon being a know brand. I am considering replacing the rears now and will probably opt for the same one.
tyre reviewed on September 29, 2015   
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Daewoo Matiz (155/65 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 18,000 easy going miles
Better grip than Barum Brilliantis and Khumo KH17, but quite a bit noisier than both. Average wear.
tyre reviewed on August 8, 2015   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.2 (165/70 R14 T) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
i have put the tyres on my car on my car and i love them amazing grip and i have pushed them to the limit racing my mate on a closed track on them and grip was top marks and drove home in the wet never lost grip ones i recommend them
tyre reviewed on February 27, 2015   
Given 46% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta (175/65 R14 T) on mostly motorways for 15,000 easy going miles
After 24000 km I changed them due to wearness. I was feeling unsafe especially on wet road. The front tyres in order to look properly should be inflated with 45 psi. Avoid them!
tyre reviewed on October 9, 2014   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat Punto 1.2 8v (165/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
First set of tyres I've ever had to buy, and for my Fiat Punto, they are a nice cheap set of tyres that offer good grip and wear levels. I previously had 3 makes of tyre on the car, so going to one set across the car made a big difference.
Would buy again when I need to get some more.
tyre reviewed on April 15, 2014   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Audi 80 B4 (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on November 14, 2013   
Given 53% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Caddy (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Have avon zt 5 tyres fitted to my vw caddy van they are very good in dry conditions , but in the wet are very poor ,no grip at low speeds on roundabouts , and some corners.
tyre reviewed on October 3, 2013   
Given 25% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!

The car seems to be suffering really badly with tramlining and darting at every undulation in the road wit these Avon ZT5's, and at motorway speeds the car feel like the the rear has lots of lateral movement due to the tramlining.

Even with higher tyre pressures (35 psi) then stated by Ford (32 psi) they look under inflated, for example the side wall are very bulbous (tread is still in full contact with road), plus they feel very soft when I push the side wall.

What is surprising is that prior to have these new ZT5 the car had a set of Avons on the front and a set on Continental on the rear, to car felt much better planted to the road even though one set had done 45,000 miles and the other had done almost 20,000.

I selected these Avon ZT5 over a budget tyres assuming they would be better given your name and previous set of Avons, however I really do think these tyres are not fit to carry the Avon name. My confidante the drive on the motorway at speed is some what reduced as the lateral movement and tramlining means I have to back off to gain control.
tyre reviewed on September 2, 2013   
Given 92% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.2 (195/55 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Put these tyres on my Skoda Fabia after having to replace the standard Dunlop SP 01 tyres fitted from new. Almost feels like a car upgrade. The ride is softer and braking is more responsive. The only concern is that the rubber feels softer to the touch, so wear may be a factor. Would recommend these tyres to my children...in a good way.
tyre reviewed on August 12, 2013   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall 2.0 CDi (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 60,000 average miles
I have read various comments on Avon tyres such as poor road holding going fast round roundabouts , Driving is about rad conditions not driving on race tracks. Ihave done 8000 miles now and find them ok for general driving less noise than Continental but com paired with price against Continental which gave out at 16000 miles Avon seem better on price than continental.
Avon are ok if you drive with limits maybe not for thoughs who like to drive at 90-100 but for driving up to 80mph are more than ok. Diving in wet and snow have given good grip better than continental . price for price they are a better bet than paying £ 200-230 Tyre only for them to last as long a a medium qu laity t re.
tyre reviewed on May 5, 2013