tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Avon ZT5


Show all: Avon tyres, Passenger Car Summer Touring tyres
The Avon ZT5 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 18 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 205,912 miles driven.
 


Avon ZT5
Dry Grip
82%

Wet Grip
69%

Road Feedback
71%

Progressiveness
63%

Wear
67%

Comfort
71%

Buy again
57%


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £34.80 - £47.46 (16 prices)
205/55 R16 £43.00 - £56.66 (7 prices)
Available in 45 tyre sizes - View all.

Tyre Test Results:

Avon ZT5 Reviews

Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Daewoo Matiz (155-65-13-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18,000 easy going miles
Better grip than Barum Brilliantis and Khumo KH17, but quite a bit noisier than both. Average wear.
tyre reviewed on August 8, 2015   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.2 (165-70-14-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
i have put the tyres on my car on my car and i love them amazing grip and i have pushed them to the limit racing my mate on a closed track on them and grip was top marks and drove home in the wet never lost grip ones i recommend them
tyre reviewed on February 27, 2015   
Looking to buy the Avon ZT5? Click here to search for the best price for the Avon ZT5 or any other tyre.
 
Given 46% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta (175-65-14-T)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15,000 easy going miles
After 24000 km I changed them due to wearness. I was feeling unsafe especially on wet road. The front tyres in order to look properly should be inflated with 45 psi. Avoid them!
tyre reviewed on October 9, 2014   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat Punto 1.2 8v (165-70-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
First set of tyres I've ever had to buy, and for my Fiat Punto, they are a nice cheap set of tyres that offer good grip and wear levels. I previously had 3 makes of tyre on the car, so going to one set across the car made a big difference.
Would buy again when I need to get some more.
tyre reviewed on April 15, 2014   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Audi 80 B4 (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on November 14, 2013   
Given 53% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Caddy (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Have avon zt 5 tyres fitted to my vw caddy van they are very good in dry conditions , but in the wet are very poor ,no grip at low speeds on roundabouts , and some corners.
tyre reviewed on October 3, 2013   
Given 25% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus (195-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!

The car seems to be suffering really badly with tramlining and darting at every undulation in the road wit these Avon ZT5's, and at motorway speeds the car feel like the the rear has lots of lateral movement due to the tramlining.

Even with higher tyre pressures (35 psi) then stated by Ford (32 psi) they look under inflated, for example the side wall are very bulbous (tread is still in full contact with road), plus they feel very soft when I push the side wall.

What is surprising is that prior to have these new ZT5 the car had a set of Avons on the front and a set on Continental on the rear, to car felt much better planted to the road even though one set had done 45,000 miles and the other had done almost 20,000.

I selected these Avon ZT5 over a budget tyres assuming they would be better given your name and previous set of Avons, however I really do think these tyres are not fit to carry the Avon name. My confidante the drive on the motorway at speed is some what reduced as the lateral movement and tramlining means I have to back off to gain control.
tyre reviewed on September 2, 2013   
Given 92% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.2 (195-55-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Put these tyres on my Skoda Fabia after having to replace the standard Dunlop SP 01 tyres fitted from new. Almost feels like a car upgrade. The ride is softer and braking is more responsive. The only concern is that the rubber feels softer to the touch, so wear may be a factor. Would recommend these tyres to my children...in a good way.
tyre reviewed on August 12, 2013   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall 2.0 CDi (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 60,000 average miles
I have read various comments on Avon tyres such as poor road holding going fast round roundabouts , Driving is about rad conditions not driving on race tracks. Ihave done 8000 miles now and find them ok for general driving less noise than Continental but com paired with price against Continental which gave out at 16000 miles Avon seem better on price than continental.
Avon are ok if you drive with limits maybe not for thoughs who like to drive at 90-100 but for driving up to 80mph are more than ok. Diving in wet and snow have given good grip better than continental . price for price they are a better bet than paying £ 200-230 Tyre only for them to last as long a a medium qu laity t re.
tyre reviewed on May 5, 2013   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Rover 45 (185-65-14-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 43,000 average miles
I have just changed a set of these on my Rover 45. I do around 800 miles per week on motorways and a set have just lasted 43,000 miles with life still left when changed. I have never had tyres last that long on any car i have owned.
They are good in both dry and wet conditions with especially good handling in wet when aquaplaning was a problem with other tyres.

I am only driving at 70 or so most of the time but can only say good things about these tyres especially when i got them for £200 fitted for a set!
tyre reviewed on August 14, 2012   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: