tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Avon ZV5


Show all: Avon tyres, Passenger Car Summer Ultra High Performance tyres
The Avon ZV5 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 94 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 1,196,355 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Avon ZV3
 


Avon ZV5
Dry Grip
84%

Wet Grip
79%

Road Feedback
78%

Progressiveness
78%

Wear
71%

Comfort
77%

Buy again
76%


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £40.58 - £48.46 (5 prices)
225/45 R17 £55.42 - £79.93 (9 prices)
225/40 R18 £71.50 - £93.65 (4 prices)
Available in 31 tyre sizes - View all.

Tyre Test Results:

Avon ZV5 Reviews

Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 cdi sport (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
Own a 2008 CDI 220.
Avon's all round, Zv5 on rear I have replaced with another set after the 1st pair did 29000, lower noise than conti's that were on fuel consumption has improved by 3mpg. Overall grip in wet and dry is very good
Fronts on merc tend to feather, I have found heavy duty option sidewall on Avon ZV5 on fronts is helping, they have done 18000 and are less than half worn.
I am driving around 350 miles a week mixture of a road and motorway
tyre reviewed on July 25, 2015   
Given 53% (breakdown) while driving a Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Wagon (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Bought these to replace an emergency skint budget Landsails on a Saab 95 with 300 bhp.
Avons are great in the dry, absolute terrible in the wet far inferior to the landsails with 3mm left, I really can't believe just how bad they are... Taking my father to the airport in the rain yesterday and made an emergency turn off at 15mph n my car slid about 4 foot across road, I could have put that down to a spillage but no, raining last night, my local roundabout was a mare, going really slow wheels stepping out again. Poor dangerous tyres.
Gutted !
Keep away they're pants.
Back to falkens next purchase, far superior rubber.
tyre reviewed on July 14, 2015   
Looking to buy the Avon ZV5? Click here to search for the best price for the Avon ZV5 or any other tyre.
 
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo V50 estate (205-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
Had to replace all 4 tyres when I purchased my second hand V50 18 months ago, 12,000 miles later including three trips to Germany, the Avons are still going strong with about 4mm left on the fronts. Great tyres
tyre reviewed on July 2, 2015   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz E240 Estate (225-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22,000 average miles
Hard to rate other than excellent. These Avons were a distress purchase in 2013 as the original tyres (Pirellies) would fail MOT. 23 months and 22k later sold the car and tyres still had 5-6mm tread left.
Just bought a new set for another same class at same price but then discounted by 15% - bargain.
tyre reviewed on June 8, 2015   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT LEON 1.6 105 bhp (195-65-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Just got a 2nd full set of these after having two come as rears on my old leon. Have replaced awfully quick wearing Hankook Ventus Prime 2 fronts and Dunlop 200E rears and the car is very happy. Cabin noise and comfort are greatly improved. The car is mainly used on country B-Roads and these handle well for quick corners and rough surfaces. My partner actually borrowed the car and asked if I had fitted new suspension as it felt that much different. Will buy a set for her car when due later this year.
tyre reviewed on June 7, 2015   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot 407 Coupe (245-45-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
Changed from Pirelli P-Neros to Avons after some good experience of these on an Alfa 164. Wear so far is excellent (no visible change after 10Kmiles) admittedly mainly on motorway driving. Awesome dry-road grip, though they prefer smooth sweepers; choppy roads make them apparently flex under very hard cornering. Very quiet also, with very good wet-grip, though i can't really comment on how they break away - don't often drive this car beyond its limits in the wet. Overall thoroughly recommended. £78 each from F1 autocentres. BTW this car needs regular alignment checks as the front suspension is carrying a lot of weight. Worth it to get even wear though.
tyre reviewed on May 23, 2015   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta (195-45-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
Now on my 3rd set so yes I do buy again! as with a previous review I have the XL version which is tight and gives good feedback. These tyres take some time to 'Bed in' perhaps as much as 500 to 1000 miles, but when they do they are every bit as good as much more expensive conti's, they do wear faster than conti's which were my old tyre of choice, but then they are half the price, I cannot fault this mid range tyre and would recommend on your Ford Fiesta.
tyre reviewed on May 21, 2015   
Given 67% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Polo GTI (195-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Fitted to Polo 6N2 GTi.

Decent enough all round but sporty tyre. Can't help but feel that a slightly stiffer sidewall would help this tyre, tends to be progressive but ultimate grip levels feel a little low, giving plenty of understeer if worked harder. Wet level grip is less - decent enough progressive feel but more understeer. Wear however is very good. I've had 6 of these so far on the car, 2 were changed due to previous shoulder wear only. I would recommend these as a decent all round tyre, but will be fitting Bridgestone RE002's next time which I feel are a far superior tyre for the same sort of price.
tyre reviewed on March 23, 2015   
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
Very noisy tyres with a noticeable transferred buzz/roar over 62 MPH, and buzzy through country roads. Good dry grip, wet grip declines rapidly towards wear limit, good wear.
tyre reviewed on March 22, 2015   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A3 2.0T Sporkback (225-40-18-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 35 average miles
Had these fitted to my Audi A3 Sportback S-Line 2.0TFSI Quattro - Wonderful tyres so much so I have just purchased another 4 for my car. They offer great grip in both dry and wet conditions, especially matched to the AWD system of my A3. Covered over 35,000 miles mainly motorway driving (M4) mixed with some city driving, and only now have they needed replacing! Having driven in all weather conditions, these really shine on the motorway when there is a lot of standing water, they cut through areas of standing water at speed (70 mph) like a hot knife through butter! They offer great dry grip, and really even if pushed rarely will I see a loss of traction! (might be down to the traction control and Quattro) but these do help! I would recommend these for any car, especially those with over 200 BHP ! Great tyres and looking forward to another 35,000 miles out of this set! Highly recommend the AVON Zv5 5*****
tyre reviewed on January 14, 2015   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: