Avon ZV5

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 78%
Progressiveness 78%
Wear 71%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 76%
Avon ZV5

The Avon ZV5 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Avon ZV3

Show all

Tyre review data from 100 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 1,251,555 miles driven.

 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £35.80 - £41.44 (6 prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £41.40 - £59.60 (17 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £54.90 - £95.90 (19 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £62.60 - £77.80 (5 prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 33 tyre sizes - View all.

Avon ZV5 Reviews

Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall (215-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Just changed to these after too many near misses with the cheap budget tyres that were on the car when I bought it. What a transformation! Excellent tyre that is quiet, comfortable and inspires confidence. Added bonus of "Made in England" moulded into sidewall! Also have these on two more cars in the family fleet and more than happy with them. Ride and handling is fine.
tyre reviewed on January 9, 2016   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (215-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Have just replaced two front tyres with these and can honestly say they are superb. They replaced ageing Bridegstone ER300s which I now realise were probably some of the noisiest uncomfortable tyres ever put on a car!

The Avon ZV5s are extremely quiet, a joy to drive with and they have transformed my Ford Focus to a hushed comfortable environment. Excellent grip in both wet and dry. Get some, it's like riding on silk.
tyre reviewed on November 22, 2015   
Given 62% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 200 spirited miles
No substitute for performance tyres.
Bought these as a cheaper alternative to the Bridgestones I had on my vectora vxr, having liked Avon zz3's on a Mondeo st220.
Alas these zv5's are extremely poor on feedback, to the extent I regret buying them .
Comfort and road noise is great, grip is good, but lacks the outright grip and turn in bite of the Bridgestones. I expected this, but the steering is completely numb and ruins any driving enjoyment as you have to take a leap of faith with how much grip there is .
I will be moving them to the rear axle and putting the older Bridgestones on the front to see if that helps .I can't comment on wear, but won't be sad to see these go.
tyre reviewed on November 14, 2015   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6,000 average miles
Mid range tyre at a budget price. You can't really go wrong.
tyre reviewed on October 21, 2015   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 2.5tdi Quattro Avant Sport (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 35,000 spirited miles
I don't think you can beat these tyres for value at under £50 a corner. Managed to get 35000 miles out of a set with fantastic grip in both wet and dry conditions - not hanging around either!!
tyre reviewed on October 17, 2015   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 320d (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 11,000 spirited miles
Tyres are not bad.
Put 4 new ones on a 320d. Felt the car was not very stable on motorway, felt very 'twitchy'. I guess due to the stiffness of the side wall on runflats helps that.
Overall tyres are not bad, well worth the money I paid.
Dry and wet grip is awesome especially on a rear wheel drive car.
done approx. 11k miles, I swapped back to front and stil have plenty left to go!

tyre reviewed on September 22, 2015   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 cdi sport (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
Own a 2008 CDI 220.
Avon's all round, Zv5 on rear I have replaced with another set after the 1st pair did 29000, lower noise than conti's that were on fuel consumption has improved by 3mpg. Overall grip in wet and dry is very good
Fronts on merc tend to feather, I have found heavy duty option sidewall on Avon ZV5 on fronts is helping, they have done 18000 and are less than half worn.
I am driving around 350 miles a week mixture of a road and motorway
tyre reviewed on July 25, 2015   
Given 53% (breakdown) while driving a Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Wagon (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Bought these to replace an emergency skint budget Landsails on a Saab 95 with 300 bhp.
Avons are great in the dry, absolute terrible in the wet far inferior to the landsails with 3mm left, I really can't believe just how bad they are... Taking my father to the airport in the rain yesterday and made an emergency turn off at 15mph n my car slid about 4 foot across road, I could have put that down to a spillage but no, raining last night, my local roundabout was a mare, going really slow wheels stepping out again. Poor dangerous tyres.
Gutted !
Keep away they're pants.
Back to falkens next purchase, far superior rubber.
tyre reviewed on July 14, 2015   
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo V50 estate (205-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
Had to replace all 4 tyres when I purchased my second hand V50 18 months ago, 12,000 miles later including three trips to Germany, the Avons are still going strong with about 4mm left on the fronts. Great tyres
tyre reviewed on July 2, 2015   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz E240 Estate (225-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22,000 average miles
Hard to rate other than excellent. These Avons were a distress purchase in 2013 as the original tyres (Pirellies) would fail MOT. 23 months and 22k later sold the car and tyres still had 5-6mm tread left.
Just bought a new set for another same class at same price but then discounted by 15% - bargain.
tyre reviewed on June 8, 2015