Barum Brillantis 2

Dry Grip 78%
Wet Grip 61%
Road Feedback 68%
Handling 67%
Wear 77%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 74%
 
Size Price Range  
165/65 R13 £30.10 - £33.00 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
165/70 R13 £28.60 - £39.90 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
175/65 R14 £29.20 - £43.00 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
175/70 R14 £35.70 - £54.40 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £40.00 - £54.00 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 36 tyre sizes - View all.

Barum Brillantis 2 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 71% while driving a Dacia Logan (185/65 R15 T) on mostly town for 33,000 average miles
I drove Barum Brilliantis 2 tyres for at least 50,000 kms. Now after 7 years for safety reasons I have to buy new tyres. However, there is some flesh left in these tyres.
The wt grip is okish, but over the 7 years I wish it was better in emergency braking. Never slipped away laterally though.
The dry grip is good.
30 - tyre reviewed on April 20, 2017   
Given 67% while driving a Opel Corsa (165/70 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
PRO
- Very impressed about how predictable these are on dry road. Drove them to the limit many times on all kinds of terrain, both paved and unpaved.
- Good grip, but not very predictable on wet. Anyway, they're better than ContiEcoContact3 by far.
- Lasted about 30000km (two seasons), but keep in mind I didn't spare them.

CON
- Noisy, especially at cruise speeds.
- Don't expect feedback from the road.

OVERALL
Good value for the money. Not sure if I'd buy them again, as there's plenty to choose from the market in the same range.
11 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2016   
Given 78% while driving a Ford Focus (195/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 200 average miles
I was most impressed by the staff that fitted the tyres at the garage at Harlescott, Shrewsbury.
I
12 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2015   
Given 73% while driving a Peugeot 205 (165/70 R13 T) on mostly country roads for 4,000 average miles
Can only compare with the horrendous Toyos I had on the car before but these are much smoother to drive, better grip both in the dry and particularly the wet. The Toyos scared me in the wet a couple of times as they gave up grip without warning and I wasn't driving recklessly. I then changed the Toyos even though they had plenty of tread left on them. The Barums also seem to make the steering a bit lighter which is good as the car doesn't have power steering. They are predictable as well - you know when you are at the edge of grip before you end up in a hedge. Wear is difficult to give an opinion on as the mileage we do is very low but they seem to be wearing evenly. Reasonably priced tyre at about £40 each fully fitted and will definitely buy again.
3 - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2014   
Given 79% while driving a Dacia Logan (175/80 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Cheap, trustworthy, comfortable, quiet (enough) and reliable.

Very predictable on dry, less so in the wet, but still within safe limits.

175/80-14 squeals a bit on tight, mountainy hairpins; otherwise car tracks like a train on them and - as far as this kind of car lets you - they are willing to have the car thrown around on them.

Wear is not an issue yet and I also don't expect it to become one.

On original 185/65-15 the car was a bit thrashy on sudden ridges, unloaded. Switching to 175/80-14 gave a very comfortable ride, all-round, on these Barums.

Recommendable - at least for the more conventional driver - and I would certainly buy again.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 16, 2014   
Given 89% while driving a Nissan Note SE (185/65 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 38,000 spirited miles
(see review March 9, 2012)

Easy decision to go Barum Brillantis 2s again.

Amazing value as previous ones lasted nearly 38,000 miles (down to bars). They were 3 months on the rear then 9 months on the front, then 10 months on rear again. They were moved to back when I fitted Conti Eco 5s which lasted only 9 months on front ! (15000 miles !).

The contis were £75 each the Barums £52.

Very happy to have Barums again. They are well suited to rear as the stiffer side wall reduces body roll. Always gripped Ok, always quiet. Very happy to have them again.

(now mixed with very good Goodyear efficient grip performance on front (which were replacements for the poor wearing Contis 2 months ago.))

I will not be buying Conti Ecos again. Barums YES. Excellent Value.

6 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2014   
Given 59% while driving a Toyota Starlet Glanza V (185/55 R14 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Decided to scrimp on tyres again last year, as my motoring interests lay elsewhere. The tyres were recommended by the garage, read a couple of reviews and they seemed ok. Got a set fitted, they were cheap.

The dry grip on these tyres is good, they had a lot of feedback in the dry and could confidently corner at speed. The wear on them is excellent as well, I would note however that they do squeal a bit on some surfaces. Got some funny looks cornering sharply as they were squealing, for what would seem like not that sharp a corner. Now, on to the wet...

I felt these tyres were ok in the wet at first, but have now decided they are pretty dangerous if you are travelling at any speed. They lose grip quickly and you will find yourself understeering towards the kerb. I learned to just deal with this and playfully slide the car about but it's not ideal, I would like to be able to drive properly in the wet with proper tyres.

I have ran Barum Bravuris before and they seem about on par with these, if a little better in the wet. I will be replacing these with Uniroyal Rainsport 3's this week and keeping these tyres for track days, dry track days. Plenty of tread left on them.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2013