tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Continental Eco Contact 5


Show all: Continental tyres, Passenger Car Summer Premium Touring tyres
The Continental Eco Contact 5 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 13 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 47,853 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Continental Eco Contact 3
 


Continental Eco Contact 5
Dry Grip
91%

Wet Grip
87%

Road Feedback
88%

Progressiveness
88%

Wear
89%

Comfort
84%

Buy again
88%


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £47.93 - £65.50 (8 prices)
205/55 R16 £59.59 - £91.30 (18 prices)
225/45 R17 £106.48 - £106.48 (3 prices)
Available in 40 tyre sizes - View all.

Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews

Given 95% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo (185-60-14-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 840 average miles
The first 1,350 km (840 miles) have been done with the brand new Eco Contact 5s, so these are my first impressions.

The dry grip is perfect. To such an extent that I was amazed at the speeds I could turn in without any signs of understeer (FWD car).

Wet Grip: Definitely better than my previous Eco Contact 3s, more than sufficient, again much higher cornering speeds than before. Also, no aquaplaning whatsoever.

Road Feedback: Excellent for my taste - a sporty car needs good feedback, and that's exactly what these tires do almost perfectly really. You always now what the tire is doing.

Progressiveness: Again almost excellent, when pushed to the limit the tires provide early warning of understeer.

I won't comment on wear yet since it's too early.

Comfort: Brilliant. Very quiet tires, they only pick a tiny bit of noise occasionally on truly rotten road surfaces (of which there are many in Greece). On motorways at 130 km/h for instance, they are much quieter than the Eco Contact 3s I had before.

Overall, up to now I would definitely buy those again, that's for sure. Very satisfied, great all-rounders.
tyre reviewed on November 18, 2014   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22,000 average miles
Bought these tyres after running a softer compound tyre of a different make, swapped to this make after problems with vibration from the softer tyres. Dry braking was slightly worse, but not enough to be a problem. Grip when pushed was also slightly worse, but again, acceptable. However wet grip, wear and comfort all very good. The best aspect for me is that the tyres wear evenly across the width compared to others I have had and they drive the same after 22000 miles / 35000 km and 18 months. They pick up a bit more noise on rough surfaces, but not too much that it bothers me. Overall slight improvement in fuel economy vs older softer tyres.
tyre reviewed on August 1, 2014   
Looking to buy the Continental Eco Contact 5? Click here to search for the best price for the Continental Eco Contact 5 or any other tyre.
 
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat 500 Abarth (195-45-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9 spirited miles
Originally I was skeptical about fitting Eco tires on my car, but I decided to get on with the suggestion from many friends. So, last year I got 4 brand new Eco Contact 5s and just waited to see the results.

These tires are exceptional, my 500 Abarth is gripping and gripping in both wet and dry roads. The tires are 16 months old and they still have 4mm thread rear and 3,5mm front - which I think is remarkable, given my abusive driving style. The provide warning of understeer early and they are also very quiet. So far I haven't noticed a performance drop, they perform just as they did after they were "ran-in" for about 1,500 km - not even slightly less.

Would I buy them again? Simple answer, Definitely - thanks to everyone for the recommendation - some people still don't believe (wrongly so, as it turns out) the Eco 5s are that capable in a hot little car.
tyre reviewed on June 23, 2014   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo 145 1.6 Boxer (185-60-14-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4 average miles
Excellent
tyre reviewed on May 14, 2014   
Given 30% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat croma (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,500 easy going miles
I ordered ContiPremium contact 5 online because it was voted best tyre by several.magazines. When they srrived I was tired and was in terrible hurry, my friend picked them up and I was exhausted after 1400 km of continuous driving, so I just drove to shop and had them changed. Next time on fuel station, I actually realized that I am driving on ContiECO contact i stead. It was too late to change them, sine I burned a full tank already. And this is what I can say after 3600 km on them - THEY SUCK!
1) I was driving trough warm April on Nokian WR D3,(winer tyre) once with 1600 kg and a passenger in the car and fuel consumption was less than with this ECo garbage when empty (1.2 litres on 100 km)
2) They wander when I am driving, and loose corners. I wasn't sure what is going on so I took car to the shop to check wheel geometry, guy there showed me results - car was OK 100% but said I am not first with these tyres to come with same problem.
3) they are by far loudest tyres I ever had, including situstions when I had to drive with winter tyres trough simmer. Awful!!!
4) They give poor feedback and so far they perform far worse in rain than totally worn out Pirelli Cinturato I had on my car before.
5) overall bad performance and horrible UNSAFE feeling I have when I drive them.
If I were single and didn't have a wife that would nag me crazy for doing it, I'd take them down and burned them hatefully in my back yard. Now i hope to sell them on classifieds and buy something else. I will NEVER AGAIN buy anything Continental makes because this for me is proof that they buy their titles (read:bribe) for published results. no other explanation.
We have 3cars in family and theese are tyres on them:(summer/winter)(rate/rate)
Lancia Delta Nuova - Michelin/BFGoodrich - 5/5
Citroen C1 -Toyo/Yokohama - 4.5/4.6
Fiat Croma - Continental/Nokian - -2/5 ( yes, two points below zero)

I make 60-70 000 km a year, and I was till recently a president of a vintage car club (120 members) - so I know what I ama full tank already. And this is what I can say after 3600 km on them - THEY SUCK!
1) I was driving trough warm April on Nokian WR D3,(winer tyre) once with 1600 kg and a passenger in the car and fuel consumption was less than with this ECo garbage when empty (1.2 litres on 100 km)
2) They wander when I am driving, and loose corners talking about.
DO NOT BUY CONTINENTAL TYRES! They are just overhyped marketed GARBAGE. I should listen everyone who was telling me not to buy them.
I throw ashes on myself now and admit my error, and will post this on so many places as I can!!!
tyre reviewed on May 13, 2014   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.4TDi (185-60-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,200 average miles
Excellent tyres. Very good on any surface, a huge improvement over the Matador tyres my car had before. The best part is the ultra low rolling resistance, the car can go further without any acceleration. I managed to break my old record of 4.1 l/100 with an impressive 3.3. Great tyres, I will definitely buy Continentals next time.
tyre reviewed on June 11, 2013   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz A (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
Great tyres for A Class. Much improved driving experience. Highly recommended. Thanks to all for the recommendation.
tyre reviewed on February 12, 2013   
Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a CitroŽn C3 (185-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Excellent all rounders, these grip well and have nice feel to them in all conditions, and my fuel consumption has edged up from 60mpg to 62mpg since changing from Avon ZV3 to these. Beginning to show wear on the front but so good on all other parameters I'm going for these again next.
tyre reviewed on October 4, 2012   
Given 59% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta Zetec S (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
i bought these tyres after reading numerous reviews on it.

initial feel of the tyres were good, but after around 2000km, the tyres became noise, the performance also detiorated. could it be luck? but i didnt enjoy my tyres. swap them for Yokohama C drive.
tyre reviewed on July 27, 2012   
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Corolla (195-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 800 spirited miles
Very balanced and comfortable tyres and really ultra low rolling resistance.
tyre reviewed on July 9, 2012   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: