Continental Eco Contact 5

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 67%
Road Feedback 69%
Handling 69%
Wear 73%
Comfort 68%
Buy again 55%
 
Size Price Range  
175/65 R14 £44.90 - £81.40 (28 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/60 R14 £48.38 - £57.00 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £49.40 - £71.80 (29 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/55 R16 £76.00 - £104.00 (35 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £59.70 - £93.00 (78 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £78.05 - £86.70 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 45 tyre sizes - View all.

Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 87% while driving a Renault Grand Scenic (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
I have these on a Renault Grand Scenic 150PS, quite heavy car and they feel great. I don't have any grip issues in any weather with my driving style. To be fair on an MPV you don't really push them to the limit. Wear is good, driven 10k miles hardly visible on them. I would definitely buy these again.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2018   
Given 79% while driving a Opel corsa d 1.3 cdti (185/65 R15 T) on mostly motorways for 40 spirited miles
These were the originals of the car when I bought it new. They did 63.000km of 90% motorway and 10% city driving before coming down to 3,3mm when I decided to replace them, because they couldn't drain (heavy) rainwater so easily anymore.

I agree with what people say here about these tires, except wet grip and wear. They never seem to have any problem whatsoever with wet conditions. The grip was always there, whether I faced a light drizzle or heavy rainfall or slippery roads, you name it.

Dry grip was very good, never faced a problem there. On feedback, comfort and handling, I think that they perform on par with their league, no surprises there. They do what they are supposed to do.

I left wear for the end because I just don't understand people who want their tires to outlive Highlander. Surely, I wouldn't be happy with my tires if I had to replace them every 15-20.000km, but this is not the case here according to my experience. And afterall, better grip affects longevity. How each of us defines better or worse wear is a matter of semantics.
2 - tyre reviewed on August 10, 2018   
Given 52% while driving a Skoda Citygo (185/55 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 2 easy going miles
These tyres were fitted as standard to my new 2018 vehicle. I retained them for but a couple of months (& 1,500 miles) before replacing with Nokian Weatherproof All Season tyres. Something of an extravagance I accept, but I also had these tyres ( although the Ecocontact 3's at that time) factory-fitted to my previous car - the same model, albeit the 2015 version. Those lasted but 4.5k miles (& but a few more months) before I lashed out & replaced those with Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Generation 2 tyres - another possible extravagance. However the Mark 3 Continentals had only just replaced the Mark 1, & within around 1 year the Mark 3 had been replaced by the Mark 5. The Mark 5 has now been replaced by the Mark 6 (in what? just a few months), so with such a constant replacement/improvement, I personally have little faith in them. The Goodyear 4 Seasons I found to be absolutely first class, and I rate the Nokian Weatherproofs' equally highly, & never regretted the expense involved in changing them, & whilst probably unnecessary, to me, it was money well worth spending - one needs to have confidence in their tyres, as there's but 4 chunks of palm-sized rubber that keeps the vehicle on the road, & one out of their "box".
You pays your money & you makes your choice - but there's no pockets in Shrouds.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2018   
Given 53% while driving a SEAT Mii (175/65 R14 T) on mostly town for 500 spirited miles
These came fitted to my SEAT Mii when new. They grip rather well in the dry and give assured cornering BUT they have a habit of flicking the car back to a straight line, as though they are underinflated (they are not) and they give very little feedback from the road - it isn't obvious when or whether they will slip. They seem quite soft so they are quite comfortable but their major drawback is NOISE. You would swear that the car was fitted with solid rubber as, even at low speeds, you can hear the rubber blocks flicking on the road surface. I have had Sportcontact 5 in the past and had to change those (for Avon VZ7s) just to be able to hear the radio! As one of the other reviewers has said I suspect brand snobbery is what sells these tyres. VW appear to part own Continental so perhaps that is why so many VW group cars have them fitted.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2018   
Given 40% while driving a Skoda Citygo (185/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
These tyres were fitted to the new car I purchased in February 2018. I had bought the same model of car 2 years earlier, but as these were factory-fitted with Ecocontact 3 tyres, I replaced them at 4.5k with Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons generation 2 tyres - and never regretted the additional expense. NOT being a fan of the Continental Ecocontact tyres, I proceeded to fork out the extra money to replace the factory-fitted tyres on my latest car, this time at just 1.6k miles - this time having Nokian Weatherproof tyres fitted. Expensive to be sure, and "possibly" not "absolutely" essential, but in our Country where heavy rain is to be a fact of life, having all-season tyres (rather than merely summer tyres) is a factor about which I feel quite strongly, and am prepared to pay quite heavily for the peace-of-mind.. The Nokians are (I feel) just as reassuring: quiet & comfortable as the Goodyears - no cheaper, I admit, but you pays your money & you takes your choice - AND there's no pockets in shrouds. Peace of mind comes at a price!
0 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2018   
Given 82% while driving a (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
i must say these tyres are very quit and smooth.
i loved the sportcontact 5 i had on my previous car,
now i have these fitted and they are the most quit ones i ever had
cant say much about wear yet or wet handling cause i did not encounter that yet
0 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2018   
Given 44% while driving a Toyota AYGO (165/60 R15 H) on mostly town for 13,000 easy going miles
Good on dry, mediocre on wet. Fitted to my wife's Toyota Aygo (2015 model) they were starting to show cracks on the sides after just 3 years and 21.000 km. This size of tyres under this very light car is made for city trips and low mileage, so should you be able to expect the Continentals to last far more than they've done. Granted, the tread is somewhere around 4.5mm now, so that's not bad, but that means nothing when cracks all around are showing very heavily after just 3 years of Dutch (or UK) weather and I have to replace them. Thinking about replacing them with ADAC's 2018 test winner, the Falken Sincera SN832 Ecorun (with wear the only against it seems) or Toyota's own choice, the Yokohama BluEarth ES32.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2018