Continental Eco Contact 5

Dry Grip 78%
Wet Grip 65%
Road Feedback 68%
Handling 69%
Wear 73%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 55%
 
Size Price Range  
175/65 R14 £42.10 - £71.40 (28 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/60 R14 £45.70 - £49.00 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £49.20 - £61.80 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £57.70 - £90.10 (78 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £73.60 - £86.74 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 45 tyre sizes - View all.

Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 53% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Mii (175/65 R14 T) on mostly town for 500 spirited miles
These came fitted to my SEAT Mii when new. They grip rather well in the dry and give assured cornering BUT they have a habit of flicking the car back to a straight line, as though they are underinflated (they are not) and they give very little feedback from the road - it isn't obvious when or whether they will slip. They seem quite soft so they are quite comfortable but their major drawback is NOISE. You would swear that the car was fitted with solid rubber as, even at low speeds, you can hear the rubber blocks flicking on the road surface. I have had Sportcontact 5 in the past and had to change those (for Avon VZ7s) just to be able to hear the radio! As one of the other reviewers has said I suspect brand snobbery is what sells these tyres. VW appear to part own Continental so perhaps that is why so many VW group cars have them fitted.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2018   
Given 40% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Citygo (185/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
These tyres were fitted to the new car I purchased in February 2018. I had bought the same model of car 2 years earlier, but as these were factory-fitted with Ecocontact 3 tyres, I replaced them at 4.5k with Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons generation 2 tyres - and never regretted the additional expense. NOT being a fan of the Continental Ecocontact tyres, I proceeded to fork out the extra money to replace the factory-fitted tyres on my latest car, this time at just 1.6k miles - this time having Nokian Weatherproof tyres fitted. Expensive to be sure, and "possibly" not "absolutely" essential, but in our Country where heavy rain is to be a fact of life, having all-season tyres (rather than merely summer tyres) is a factor about which I feel quite strongly, and am prepared to pay quite heavily for the peace-of-mind.. The Nokians are (I feel) just as reassuring: quiet & comfortable as the Goodyears - no cheaper, I admit, but you pays your money & you takes your choice - AND there's no pockets in shrouds. Peace of mind comes at a price!
0 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2018   
Given 82% (breakdown) while driving a (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
i must say these tyres are very quit and smooth.
i loved the sportcontact 5 i had on my previous car,
now i have these fitted and they are the most quit ones i ever had
cant say much about wear yet or wet handling cause i did not encounter that yet
0 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2018   
Given 44% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota AYGO (165/60 R15 H) on mostly town for 13,000 easy going miles
Good on dry, mediocre on wet. Fitted to my wife's Toyota Aygo (2015 model) they were starting to show cracks on the sides after just 3 years and 21.000 km. This size of tyres under this very light car is made for city trips and low mileage, so should you be able to expect the Continentals to last far more than they've done. Granted, the tread is somewhere around 4.5mm now, so that's not bad, but that means nothing when cracks all around are showing very heavily after just 3 years of Dutch (or UK) weather and I have to replace them. Thinking about replacing them with ADAC's 2018 test winner, the Falken Sincera SN832 Ecorun (with wear the only against it seems) or Toyota's own choice, the Yokohama BluEarth ES32.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2018   
Given 56% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Megane (205/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 4,000 easy going miles
These came fitted to my new car. After 5 months and little over 6.000 Km they have proven to be a great disapointment. Dry grip is OK, but wet grip is very, very bad. Every small poodle of water make then start aquaplaning. One time, when entering an underground car park with the tires wet, at less than 30kph the back lost grip and I almost spun arround.
Even when new, they are very noisy.
I will definetly never again buy these tires. Horrible!
0 - tyre reviewed on April 9, 2018   
Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI [150PS] DSG (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Only managed to get 15k miles out of from set on 2016 2.0 TDI DSG Passat se mixture of town motorway and rural driving. When these tyres got down to 3.5mm they started to get noisy also wet grip went off really quickly. Would not expect this from a primium branded tyre.
Will not buy again, especially at the price
6 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2018   
Given 49% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI [150PS] DSG (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Only managed to get 15k miles out of from set on 2016 2.0 TDI DSG Passat se mixture of town motorway and rural driving. When these tyres got down to 3.5mm they started to get noisy also wet grip went off really quickly. Would not expect this from a primium branded tyre.
Will not buy again, especially at the price
0 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2018   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Corolla (185/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 100,000 average miles
I gave this tyre high score because as it's design to a modern era cars (like 2010ish +/-) on my Corolla from 1999 this tyre was feeling like a high performance tyre. Before this Conti I had Falken ze912 and the Conti was a massive upgrade on every aspect.
I'm doing a lot of driving, the tyre maybe not very quite but not on a problem level, had a very good fuel consumption (around 16 km on average for Liter or like about 55-60 miles per gallon), very good dry and wet grip.
Highly recommended tyre.
1 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2018   
Advertisement