Continental Premium Contact 5

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 76%
Progressiveness 78%
Wear 54%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 64%
Continental Premium Contact 5

The Continental Premium Contact 5 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Continental Premium Contact 2

Show all

Tyre review data from 50 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 348,063 miles driven.

Reports

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/60 R14 82H   E A 70 6.85kgs
175/65 R14 82T   C A 70 6.53kgs
165/70 R14 81T   E A 70 6.30kgs
195/50 R15 82V   E A 71 6.77kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E A 71 6.91kgs
185/55 R15 82H   C A 70 7.40kgs
185/55 R15 82V   C A 70 7.18kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 71 7.30kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 71 7.40kgs
185/60 R15 84H   C A 70 7.10kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   C A 71 7.54kgs
195/60 R15 88H   C A 71 7.47kgs
195/60 R15 88V   C A 71 7.48kgs
205/60 R15 91H   C A 71 8.62kgs
205/60 R15 91V   C A 71 8.58kgs
175/65 R15 84H   C A 70 6.85kgs
185/65 R15 88T   C A 70 7.22kgs
185/65 R15 88H   C A 70 7.16kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C A 71 7.99kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C A 71 7.76kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   C A 72 7.95kgs
195/65 R15 91V   C A 71 7.81kgs
205/65 R15 94V   C A 71 8.75kgs
205/65 R15 94H   C A 71 8.75kgs
215/65 R15 96H   C A 71 9.29kgs
225/50 R16 92W   C A 71 9.44kgs
195/55 R16 87V   C A 71 7.55kgs
195/55 R16 87T   C A 71 7.67kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 71 7.47kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71  
205/55 R16 91W   C B 71 9.60kgs
205/55 R16 91W   C A 71 8.67kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 7.98kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 8.17kgs
205/55 R16 94W XL   C A 72 9.45kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71  
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 8.18kgs
215/55 R16 93Y   C A 71 8.61kgs
215/55 R16 93W   C A 71 8.68kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 71 8.65kgs
215/55 R16 93H   C A 71 8.69kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   C A 72 8.69kgs
225/55 R16 95W   C A 71 9.49kgs
205/60 R16 92H   C A 71 8.21kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 72  
205/60 R16 92V   C B 71 8.80kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C B 71 12.05kgs
205/60 R16 92H XL          
215/60 R16 95W XL   C A 71 9.88kgs
215/60 R16 95V XL   C A 71 10.06kgs
215/60 R16 95H   C A 71 9.42kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   C A 72 9.86kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   C A 72 9.87kgs
215/65 R16 98H   C A 71  
215/65 R16 98H         9.47kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C B 72 9.25kgs
205/55 R17 95Y XL   B B 72 8.93kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C A 71 9.93kgs
215/55 R17 94W   C A 71  
215/55 R17 94W   C A 71 11.34kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C A 71 11.31kgs
215/55 R17 94W   C A 71 10.05kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 71 10.22kgs
225/55 R17 97Y         10.22kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 72 10.09kgs
225/55 R17 97W XL   C A 71 11.33kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   C B 72 10.47kgs
235/55 R17 99V   C A 71 11.30kgs
235/55 R17 103W XL   E A 72 10.71kgs
215/60 R17 96H   C A 71 9.75kgs
225/60 R17 99V   C A 71 11.11kgs
225/60 R17 99H XL   B B 71  
225/60 R17 99H XL   C A 71 11.26kgs
235/65 R17 104V XL   C B 71 14.50kgs
235/65 R17 104W          
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Continental Premium Contact 5. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

 
Size Price Range  
175/65 R14 £41.25 - £48.06 (2 prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £47.00 - £60.49 (6 prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £45.00 - £67.24 (12 prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £53.00 - £74.00 (20 prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 29 tyre sizes - View all.

Continental Premium Contact 5 Reviews

Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Dacia Logan (185/65 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
Great grip on dry roads, acceptable car grips in the wet but with a negative part about wear.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2016   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a (175/65 R14) on for 0 miles
Great tyres... if you want tyres that will let you push your car to the limit then these are definitely a solid choice. However there is a draw back... the wear on these tyres is astronomical... I doubt I'll get 8,000 miles out of the front pair. Not a complaint as I drive it hard but if you only swap your tyres to stay legal and resent the process then you'd be best looking elsewhere. However if you want a good set of tyres that will keep you on the road whilst you push your car to the limit then these are defiantly a good choice.

I won't be getting them again as I'm willing to drive slower for longer wear... but I still rate these tyres very highly... so the choice is yours... they wear VERY fast if you drive hard... you have been warned.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 31, 2016   
Given 78% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Altea (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Very comfortable tire, no noise up to 130kmph and good grip. The worse is that it ends too fast (comparing to bridgestone er300).

It is strange but there is one road (M02 in Ukraine ) that causes tires to produce loud noise (caused by resonance I suppose). The most strange is that road surface is straight and smooth so there is nothing (from my point of view) that can explain this noise.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2016   
Given 50% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.4 TSI. 122bhp (215/55 R16 V) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
No Comments Left
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2016   
Given 82% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Wish (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 200 easy going miles
I just bought this to replace year-old Goodyear Excellence tyres on my car. Not that the Excellence was bad, I just wanted better wet grip capabilities. Haven't tested the wet grip yet, not that I want to, but the dry drip seems to be good. No more screeching sound when I make turns in indoor carparks with those smooth flooring (screeching = tyres are slipping).

First thing I noticed was that the ContiPremiumContact5 is significantly lighter than the Excellence, when I handled them personally at the tyre shop. There's less rubber in the CPC5 probably for eco reasons and fittingly the sidewalls are softer than the Excellence and the Energy XM2 (tried pressing the XM2's on a neighbour's car) - I will have to be extra careful not to bump into curbs or potholes with the CPC5. On the plus side, the cabin noise level is much less now, so much so I can now hear the air buffeting from my side-view mirrors which were masked by the road noise from the previous tyres.

Fuel-consumption-wise, though I have no FC numbers yet, I do feel that the CPC5 is more of a petrol guzzler than the Excellence despite both having the EU rating of 'C' for FC. My car now slows down noticeably faster than with the Excellence when I let go of the petrol pedal - I can only attribute this to higher rolling resistance.

I'll update my review again in a year's time once I have clocked a more significant mileage with these tyres than just the 300km so far.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on January 29, 2016   
Given 71% (breakdown) while driving a Mitsubishi Colt (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Very good tyre in dry and wet, comfortable and relatively quiet.

The wear rate is just too high, for that reason I haven't bought again and opted for pilotsport 3's instead
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on January 12, 2016   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Opel Corsa C (175/65 R14) on mostly town for 6,000 easy going miles
Good summer tyre excellent on wet road wears alot but better than turning plastic
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2016   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Opel corsa d 1.3 cdti (195/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 35,000 average miles
this came original from the factory
i am pleased with the grip both in wet and dry of course problematic withy icy roads or snow
the wear is not a problem as i read in the reviews here
down side is i had to change one after i hit a bump toughly while 15k
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2015   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia (205/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 easy going miles
I have purchased a brand new skoda octavia last march, that is 6 months ago.
the tires are fitted from the factory.
regarding handling, those are definitely performance oriented tires in the segment of family sedans: they grip among the best, the corner among the best, steering is superb, and in cabin noise level is mid ground and well acceptable within the segment.
no wonder that at 3rd party independent tests, those tires are always rated at places 3rd to 1st.
what is that I don't get - is how many people in here are complaining about wear, as my 7000 km tires (6 months old) still looks new! the thread haven't lost even 1 mm of thickness in the fronts!
this leads me to believe, that those complaining here about wear, are either drivers who drive badly - thus wasting allot of fuel for unnecessary accelerations and after words ton of breaks because they never learned to leave the gas pedal long in advance of a cross road, while they think they are normal drivers, but in reality they are "racing drivers" on public roads all day long. of that their wheel alignment is broken.
for reference:
I am achieving with "grown up careful driving" around 20km per liter outsize city at 100km per hour speed, and 14 km per liter inside city driving, let me remind you this is a petrol engine - not diesel.
driving like that, the tires doesn't bare unnecessary strong forces and the outcome is tires that do not wear - period.
to conclude: those who complain about wear, must first learn how to drive carefully and environmentally correct. and also check their cars wheel alignment.
accelerating like hell and stopping too much because of it every corner and every traffic light, will kill your fuel consumption, kill your breaking pads, and kill your tires - physics 101.
before complaining about wear, think how much of it is due to your inexperienced driving habits, or lack of knowledgeable mechanics of the car domain.
continental contact premium 5 are so far among the best tires I have ever driven during the last 20 years.
**I am 40 years old now - for reference.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on September 14, 2015   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Amazing grip, better than the previous Pilot Exalto 2 that the car equipped as standard, both on dry and wet. At some point they also proved fairly good when I had to climb a mountain pass covered with fresh snow (ESP and TCS had to work much less than expected), but did average on dry gravel paths and are mostly useless on sand or packed snow (Pretty much the same you would expect your average summer tyre to do).

I have detected that the car uses a bit more fuel than before with the Michelins, but makes more or less the same road noise. When driven aggressively, Contis squeal, something that the French tyres didn't, so one can notice in advance when they're reaching the limit.

Too bad my front tyres have only lasted 20.000km when my previous set did 50.000km and were able to take 5.000 more.

I can only compare to my old tyres. Continentals equal or improve almost every aspect of driving, except fuel economy and wear.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2015   
Advertisement