Continental Premium Contact 5

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 78%
Wear 58%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 66%

The Continental Premium Contact 5 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Continental Premium Contact 2

This tyre has been replaced by the Continental Premium Contact 6

Show All

Tyre review data from 95 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 1,026,207 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 AMS Summer SUV Tyre Test - 7th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Short wet braking, high aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - Long dry braking, high levels of understeer in the dry.

2019 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 - 9th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the dry and wet.
  • Negative - High wear.

2018 AMS All Season Tyre Test - 6th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Quiet and comfortable, best in the dry and strong in the wet
  • Negative - No winter performance
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/60 R14 82H   E A 70 6.85kgs
175/65 R14 82T   C A 70 6.53kgs
165/70 R14 81T   E A 70 6.30kgs
195/50 R15 82V   E A 71 6.77kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E A 71 6.91kgs
185/55 R15 82H   C A 70 7.40kgs
185/55 R15 82V   C A 70 7.18kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 71 7.30kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 71 7.40kgs
185/60 R15 84H   C A 70 7.10kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   C A 71 7.54kgs
195/60 R15 88H   C A 71 7.47kgs
195/60 R15 88V   C A 71 7.48kgs
205/60 R15 91H   C A 71 8.62kgs
205/60 R15 91V   C A 71 8.58kgs
175/65 R15 84H   C A 70 6.85kgs
185/65 R15 88T   C A 70 7.22kgs
185/65 R15 88H   C A 70 7.16kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C A 71 7.99kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C A 71 7.76kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   C A 72 7.95kgs
195/65 R15 91V   C A 71 7.81kgs
205/65 R15 94V   C A 71 8.75kgs
205/65 R15 94H   C A 71 8.75kgs
215/65 R15 96H   C A 71 9.29kgs
225/50 R16 92W   C A 71 9.44kgs
195/55 R16 87V   C A 71 7.55kgs
195/55 R16 87T   C A 71 7.67kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 71 7.47kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71  
205/55 R16 91W   C B 71 9.60kgs
205/55 R16 91W   C A 71 8.67kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 7.98kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71 8.17kgs
205/55 R16 94W XL   C A 72 9.45kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 71  
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 8.18kgs
215/55 R16 93Y   C A 71 8.61kgs
215/55 R16 93W   C A 71 8.68kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 71 8.65kgs
215/55 R16 93H   C A 71 8.69kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   C A 72 8.69kgs
225/55 R16 95W   C A 71 9.49kgs
205/60 R16 92H   C A 71 8.21kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C B 71 8.80kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 72  
205/60 R16 92V   C B 71 12.05kgs
205/60 R16 92H XL          
215/60 R16 95W XL   C A 71 9.88kgs
215/60 R16 95V XL   C A 71 10.06kgs
215/60 R16 95H   C A 71 9.42kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   C A 72 9.86kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   C A 72 9.87kgs
215/65 R16 98H   C A 71  
215/65 R16 98H   C A 71 9.47kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C B 72 9.25kgs
205/55 R17 95Y XL   B B 72 8.93kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C A 71 9.93kgs
215/55 R17 94W   C A 71  
215/55 R17 94W   C A 71 11.34kgs
215/55 R17 94W   C A 71 10.05kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C A 71 11.31kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   C B 72  
225/55 R17 97W XL   C A 71 11.33kgs
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 72 10.09kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   C A 71 10.22kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   B B 70 24.90kgs
235/55 R17 99V   C A 71 11.30kgs
235/55 R17 103W XL   E A 72 10.71kgs
215/60 R17 96H   C A 71 9.75kgs
225/60 R17 99V   C A 71 11.11kgs
225/60 R17 99H XL   C A 71 11.26kgs
225/60 R17 99H XL   B B 71  
235/65 R17 104V XL   C B 71 14.50kgs
235/65 R17 104W          

Questions and Answers for the Continental Premium Contact 5

2018-05-26 - Why does the Continental Premium Contact 5 have a different tyre label rating in the size 195/50r15 when compared to more popular/conventional sizes? Is this an indication that in the less popular size 195/50r15 continental are supplying the last generation tyre? I recall that the previous generation tyre did not rate so well in Autoexpress's 2016 summer tyre test.

The tyre manufacturers update their patterns in staged rollouts. Like you suggest, it's most likely the fact the 195/50 R15 is a low volume size and hasn't had the latest updates the more popular sizes have had.


2018-09-02 - Just noticed on my Premcontact 5's that there are several "TWI" and "x" markings on the circumference of the sidewall. These mark the levels of the 1.6 mm TWI bars and another higher bar respectively. I am now down to the "higher" bar and have around 2.5 mm of tread left. Can't find info as to what these secondary "x" markings signify but seems to be a secondary TWI perhaps set at 2.6 mm or even 3 mm. Anyone know about this and what the depth is??

I don't know officially but I know Continental do recommend changing tyres at 3mm due to the reduction in aquaplaning resistance so it would make sense it's somewhere around this depth.


2018-11-04 - Is there any difference between Continental Premium Contact 5 205/55/16 91V and 205/55/16 91H ? Also why's there more than one 205/55/16 91V tyre for the same manufacturer ?

There might be some construction differences in order for the V rated tyre to have the higher rating. Sometimes there is more than one option due to OE specific fitments or an updated version of the tyre with a newer part number.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
175/65 R14 £45.80 - £55.00 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £45.00 - £63.00 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/50 R15 £53.60 - £75.60 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £52.70 - £79.20 (50 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £61.00 - £84.29 (45 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 30 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Continental Premium Contact 5 Review

Given 70% while driving a Dacia Logan (185/65 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
Great grip on dry roads, acceptable car grips in the wet but with a negative part about wear.
272 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2016   

Latest Continental Premium Contact 5 Reviews

Have you driven on the Continental Premium Contact 5 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Premium Contact 5.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 94% while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
EXCELLENT tyre. Perfect grip in dry and wet. I live in Greece. The tyres are fitted on a Skoda Octavia 5 (fsi-115PS) for 7 (yes, seven) years . Production code is "1912" ie made in the 19th week of 2012 (May 2012). And YES they ARE really exhausted, just 1-1.5mm depth of grooves, but they still DO grip on the road - when dry. When it rains I have to drive very carefully. So it's time to change them. During winter I use 195/65/15 winter tyres fitted on 15" iron rims. So Conti-5's run from late March till late November. That's about 8 months per year for 7 years. And every year I make about 23-24,000 km (in total) which is 15.000 miles per year. That is said because I'm trying to figure out how many miles they've done. I estimate they have done about 80,000 to 90,000km (50-56.000 miles). If they had been changed to the legal margins (1.6-2 mm) they would have made 70-80.000 km (44-50.000 miles). Unimaginable numbers for a tyre that still holds incredible (on dry)! Of course I take care of them (always with the right pressure and a little upwards), they have never been on snow-chains, they have not roll on roads of dirt and stones.
During their normal life they were excellent both on dry AND wet. Yes, they DO wear, as they should, but they DO keep their perfect grip until they wear-out completely!!!
I would really like to use them again, but for the same money I will probably try the Continental EcoContact 6 which is supposed to be more economical on fuel. By the way, the guy (what's your name my friend?) who is on the "tyrereviews" videos was absolutelly right about the Conti Premium 5: It's a VERY good and VERY honest tyre till the last milimetre of it ...
0 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2019   
Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
I have fitted these wheels in my two cars, Golf VI, 1.6 TDI and BMW 320CI, compared with the previous ones, Brigestone Turanza, give me much more grip in dry and wet, they are quieter, currently have 50,000 km, no problems, in the BMW I replaced a ContiSport Contact, in this case the grip in wet is better, dry are similar, what I have noticed is that at high speeds the steering is less precise. I will repeat wheels in the Golf and in the BMW I will look for something inside Continental. My driving pattern is smooth (not slow).
1 - tyre reviewed on April 2, 2019   
Looking for new tyres? Watch this video now!
Given 67% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk6 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Tyre with very god performances in dry and wet. Handling and comfort are also good, but they dont last very long.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2019   
Given 32% while driving a Volkswagen Transporter (235/55 R17) on mostly town for 9,000 easy going miles
I bought these tyres hoping they would last longer than a cheaper brand.How wrong I was. I paid £256 for 2 front tyres, then about 3 months later I put one on the back . The two fronts were wearing unevenly and were totally worn out in less than 9000 miles. I sent them back to continental , of course they said they found nothing wrong them, they didn’t offer me anything for the awful tyres. The one on the back is completely the same now , uneven wear and totally worn out .
I will never use continental tyres again , So much for being a quality tyre , they are ABSOLUTELY RUBBISH .
DO NOT BUY THESE TYRES .
6 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2019   

See all 80 customer reviews of the Continental Premium Contact 5 (newest first) >>