Continental Premium Contact 6

Dry Grip 94%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 90%
Wear 80%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 82%

The Continental Premium Contact 6 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The new PremiumContact 6 replaces both the PremiumContact 5 and the SportContact 5, unifying the comfort and efficiency of the PremiumContact range, with the high performance, steering precision and grip of the SportContact.

This tyre replaced the Continental Premium Contact 5

Show All

Tyre review data from 31 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 143,280 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 ACE Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 9 tyres

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 VS Asymmetric 3 VS Continental PremiumContact 6 - In depth test - 1st of 3 tyres

  • Positive - Fastest dry lap time, quick precise steering in the dry, excellent curved aquaplaning.
  • Negative - Slightly nervous in the wet, higher levels of wear during dry handling.
  • Overall - High levels of grip in all conditions, with precise steering and good levels of comfort.

2019 SUV 4x4 Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent dry handling, very short wet and dry braking.
  • Negative - Poor grip in gravel and dirt.
  • Overall - Exemplary.
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental Premium Contact 6

Questions and Answers for the Continental Premium Contact 6

2017-02-28 - Will the Premium Contact 6 be available in 205/55/16 size and when? Thank you!

It's a very likely the Premium Contact 6 will be released in 205/55 R16 in 2017, however there has been no date announced by Continental yet.


2017-10-23 - I have nearly new contisportcontact 5 on the rear of my focus mk3 Zetec S & worn ones on the front. Can I put the rear to the front & put the new conti premium contact 6 on the rear without upsetting the grip/ride etc. The car has always had Continental tyres on since new, then contact 5 so I would like to keep using Continental.

Moving your PC5s to the front and then fitting the new PC6 to the rear would be the ideal :)


2018-03-13 - What does it mean when the wear has a higher or lower % means? Higher % means wear faster ? Or higher % means can last longer

A higher percentage in wear means the tyre lasts longer.


2018-05-01 - Continental have designed the Premium Contact 6 for good ride comfort and sporty feel, how does it compare to Goodyear Asym.3, which also has good ride comfort and is a summer tyre?

I have not had the opportunity to test the two tyres directly back to back, but looking at other tests the Premium Contact 6 often scores poorly in terms of comfort meaning it is likely the Asymmetric 3 which has the edge in comfort.


2018-06-24 - Conti states the premium contact 6 is 15% better wear than CSC5. Review of CSC5 last no longer than 30000km. Can you verify that the premium contact 6 has less than 35000km? Wear rate is a bit concern for most conti tires from what I gather.

Wear is very subjective and difficult to compare between different driving cars and driving style. It's best to look at the tests and reviews on this site to help you understand the real world mileage you could achieve.


2018-07-26 - Time to replace front tyres on Mazda CX6, 225x55x19. I'm pretty much settled on the Premium Contact 6. But I see there's a "standard" 99 load index, rated C rolling - A wet, and an XL version, 103 load index, A rolling - B wet. Two questions - are the C/A and A/B rating differences significant to daily handling (I've seen what happened yo your little foam friend in your budget/premium video, with only a 5% difference in residual speed) and will the increase in load index make the ride rougher over bumps and potholes? Thanks for your help, and a really useful website

The answer is yes to both of your questions, but it will likely be a small amount in both categories. It's interesting these tyres have such differing label grades, are you sure one of the tyres isn't an OE marked tyre which will have OE specific changes to it?


2018-10-05 - I own a 2006 Mercedes E-Class 550 V8 sedan. I was actually pretty much settled for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 for next season. Yet I feel tempted to go for the Premium Contact 6 instead, since steering Response was praised in a couple of tests. I'm not seeking ultimate grip and fast lap times, but a sporty feel is welcome. Have you guys been able to test them back to back? Second part of the question: both tyres are offered in 93 and 97 LI. The 93 is sufficient and I rarely drive the car fully packed. Would the 93 LI be the obvious choice? Thanks in advance.

Sadly I've not yet driven the two back to back, looking at the various tests it seems the steering feedback switches depending on the size used, so make sure you're referencing a tyre review in or near your size. If you're interesting in steering feel, the higher load rating might be the smarter choice.


2019-03-10 - I am going to replace my factory tires Cont Premium Contact 5 (205/55 R16 91V) at my Golf Mk7 (122 PS).I want to choose between Cont Premium Contact 6 (205/55 R16 91V) and Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (205/55 R16 91W).Which ones would you recommend when grip and braking distance is the priority? Michelin Sport Pilot 4 for this size is available only at higher speed index (W) than the recommended by a manufacturer (V).Does the putting on stiffer tires with a higher speed index (W) can cause significant changes in handling, electronic traction control systems, comfort or grip (when the car is unloaded)? Can stiffer tires cause faster wear to the suspension or other parts of the car?

Both tyres are extremely close in performance, you won't be disappointed with either the PC6 or PS4. There's no concern fitting the W either, the differences would be negligible if at all.


2019-07-05 - Hi I'm planing to replace the current Bridgestone tires (245/40/20) on my Cadillac XTS V-sport to PC6 but I only found this size in SSR (run-flat) spec which I don't like that much. my question: would SSR spec alter any of the characteristics / performance aspects of PC6? & 2nd: what are the alternative non-run-flat options you recommend ?

The comfort and handling would be fairly different, so if you don't want runflats I'd avoid. This website should show you the rivals, but the usual suspects would be the Asymmetric 5 and Pilot Sport 4.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £79.32 - £99.52 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £70.64 - £92.64 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R16 £106.68 - £112.90 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £94.97 - £124.24 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R18 £108.56 - £134.10 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R18 £122.26 - £152.00 (26 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 85 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Continental Premium Contact 6 Review

Given 87% while driving a Renault Megane (205/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Ready to test! Cheers GC
184 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2017   

Latest Continental Premium Contact 6 Reviews

Have you driven on the Continental Premium Contact 6 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Premium Contact 6.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 89% while driving a Honda Accord iVtec Type S saloon (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
I replaced my Michelin PS3/4 with these tyres on my Honda Accord Type S and I must say that i am loving them. Compared to PS, for me they just handle better. Maybe even better dry and wet grip. Michelin was better on the initial turn in because it had stiffer and harder side walls. These tyres have thiner sides. But after that, oh boy, welcome to the world of grip. Maybe they are a bit more comfortable than the Pilots.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2019   
Given 77% while driving a Mercedes Benz SLK 350 (245/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
Standard size 245/40/17 in the rear and 225/17/45 in the front.
Previous tires, OEM Continental Sport 3 MO, very stable and good tires in dry, the very best high speed tires +200 km/t, medium wet grip, slightly reduced comfort and a little bit more road noise, poor wear.
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2, good tires in general, best wet grip, medium comfort/noise, not quite as good and stable in high speeds +200 km/t, medium wear.
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3, very surprisingly, very poor tires at least for this car, clumsy and heavy handling /performance, poor grip wet and dry, poor wear, slightly better comfort/noise level.
Continental Premium 6 are good tires in general but I expected somehow more from these tires.
Good grip in dry although I do not feel exactly the same confidence on the limits as with the old Continental CS3 or the Goodyear Asymmetric 2, probably slightly better grip but less perception of grip.
In general it is good grip in wet but they do not excel compared to the other tires I have used on this car and the Premium 6 are very sensitive to painted road marks on the road when it's wet, it slips rather suddenly and surprisingly.
And when braking hard on wet roads the ABS system very often connects with one or two initial "jumps" before the tires actually grips properly, even at very slow speeds, quite surprised about that.
I'm not sure if it's because they actually have very good grip that the ABS system connects, but anyway, the result is that it feels like a little bit longer braking distances in the wet.
And surprisingly they do not quite match the 100% stability of the Continental Sport 3 at high speeds +200 km/t, the CS3 are the King of very high speed on this car.
The comfort and road noise is slightly better than the other tires used on this car.
Good tires but not quite what I had expected and hoped for.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 7, 2019   
These are the best tyres in the world. Watch now!
Given 83% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (195/45 R17) on mostly town for 9,000 average miles
Contisport5 is good when moving but not so good if accelerating in wet from standstill.Have found wheelspin too easily losing traction.I will probably go Hankook when I renew as they were great on my previous Seat Toledo's especially 1.9 tdi 4 model and better price.
2 - tyre reviewed on July 3, 2019   
Given 94% while driving a Mercedes Benz c230k (225/50 R16 W) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
Excelent tyre. Expensive, but worth the price.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2019   
Honda 1.8 iVTEC Es (235/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Worst tyre ever, fitted on my Honda Civic 235/35/19 Continental premium contact 6 the road handling was somewhat normal same as Bridgestone and Michelin not really impressive. The worst part was the wear of the tyre! It was done only 12,000miles and I had to change all my 4 tyres!
7 - tyre reviewed on June 6, 2019   

See all 29 customer reviews of the Continental Premium Contact 6 (newest first) >>

Advertisement