Continental Premium Contact 6

Dry Grip 94%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 88%
Handling 91%
Wear 82%
Comfort 91%
Buy again 94%

The Continental Premium Contact 6 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The new PremiumContact 6 replaces both the PremiumContact 5 and the SportContact 5, unifying the comfort and efficiency of the PremiumContact range, with the high performance, steering precision and grip of the SportContact.

This tyre replaced the Continental Premium Contact 5

Show All

Tyre review data from 9 tyre reviews averaging 90% over 16,500 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent results on dry and wet surfaces for braking and handling, precise steering response, good wear
  • Negative - Relatively low resistance to aquaplaning
  • Overall - Exemplary / Test Winner

2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout - 1st of 43 tyres

2017 AMS Summer UHP Tyre Test - 3rd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling on dry roads
  • Negative - Relatively weak lateral stability and tendency to understeer in the wet
  • Overall - Recommended
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental Premium Contact 6

Questions and Answers for the Continental Premium Contact 6

2017-02-28 - Will the Premium Contact 6 be available in 205/55/16 size and when? Thank you!

It's a very likely the Premium Contact 6 will be released in 205/55 R16 in 2017, however there has been no date announced by Continental yet.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/50 R17 £88.92 - £94.00 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £73.13 - £78.00 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £102.00 - £110.00 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R18 £129.00 - £130.10 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £123.47 - £131.50 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 26 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Continental Premium Contact 6 Review

Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Megane (205/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Ready to test! Cheers GC
47 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2017   

Latest Continental Premium Contact 6 Reviews

Have you driven on the Continental Premium Contact 6 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Premium Contact 6.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 95% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Yeti 4 x 4 (225/50 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Having run a pair Continental SC5s with a pair of Goodyear Efficient Grip Performances previously, I was keen to finally get back to running the same tyres all round. The car was delivered with Dunlop SP01s which where fine, but got noisy & grip just disappeared. After damaging 2, I fitted the Goodyears which were much quieter, noticeably more economical, but the steering felt soft & wooly on turn-in even though both dry & wet grip were good. Then came the SC5s. They gripped even better than the Goodyears, weren't quite as quiet (but much better than the SP01s). However the handling was so much better & turn-in & steering feel were better than ever. Then I fitted Bilstein B6s with Eibach pros. Roadholding & handling were improved, but the ride was just a bit too stiff tbh. On 215/60/16 winters it was fine, so much so that I even thought of ditching the standard 17" wheels & running 16"s in summer too. Then Continental launch the Premium Contact 6. They sounded perfect, but I worried that they'd be too touring biased & handling & feel would suffer. How wrong could I be. They're every bit as sharp as the SC5s & grip as well too, but amazingly the ride quality is nothing short of astounding. The car's so much better to drive now with excellent feel & grip from the PC6 tyres, & improved roadholding from the suspension, yet with minimal ride comfort compromise from standard. Even though the car has part time 4 wheel drive it has 210bhp & 430nm of torque, yet traction is excellent, even in the wet. I can't comment on wear as they're too new & similarly their only supposed weakness of aquaplaning hasn't been evident with full tread depth. They're by far & away the best tyres I've ever driven on.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2017   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf 6 2.0 TDI 140bhp (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Can't say to much about wear rate, as they are new, but they are excellent in every other areas. Love the grip, both dry and wet, the road feedback and handling and that they are very quiet. I would definitely buy them again.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2017   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda Mazda3 1.6dTRS (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Replaced Toyo R32s on my mazda 3 with those tires , excellent in dry as well in wet , i can't comment on wear yet but handling/grip and feedback is good .
3 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2017   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Have been driving on these tires for about a month. About 3t/km. They replaced the OE sport contact 5 on my car. Overall dry and wet grip is very good as well as the improved comfort compared to previous tires. The problem that I have with these tires is the vibration that I feel while driving at moderate speed 80km/h. They have been balanced twice but the problem is still present. I am pretty disappointed. Eventually I will be forced to buy a new set of tires and certainly not Continental. Maybe Michelin Pilot Sport 4 could solve this issue. Does anyone have similar problems. Would be glad to hear. Ps too early to comment the wear.
34 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2017   

See all 9 customer reviews of the Continental Premium Contact 6 (newest first) >>

Advertisement