Continental Premium Contact 6

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 89%
Wear 82%
Comfort 92%
Buy again 90%

The Continental Premium Contact 6 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The new PremiumContact 6 replaces both the PremiumContact 5 and the SportContact 5, unifying the comfort and efficiency of the PremiumContact range, with the high performance, steering precision and grip of the SportContact.

This tyre replaced the Continental Premium Contact 5

Show All

Tyre review data from 11 tyre reviews averaging 89% over 20,000 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout - 1st of 43 tyres

2017 Summer SUV Tyre Test - 1st of 5 tyres

  • Positive - Very good handling and safest behaviour at the limit of grip on dry surfaces, good handling on wet surfaces
  • Negative - Weakest resistance to aquaplaning, average comfort

2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent results on dry and wet surfaces for braking and handling, precise steering response, good wear
  • Negative - Relatively low resistance to aquaplaning
  • Overall - Exemplary / Test Winner
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental Premium Contact 6

Questions and Answers for the Continental Premium Contact 6

2017-02-28 - Will the Premium Contact 6 be available in 205/55/16 size and when? Thank you!

It's a very likely the Premium Contact 6 will be released in 205/55 R16 in 2017, however there has been no date announced by Continental yet.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/50 R17 £89.82 - £124.37 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £74.15 - £106.43 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £101.34 - £125.77 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R18 £128.94 - £154.02 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £126.64 - £142.00 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 28 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Continental Premium Contact 6 Review

Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Megane (205/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Ready to test! Cheers GC
53 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2017   

Latest Continental Premium Contact 6 Reviews

Have you driven on the Continental Premium Contact 6 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Premium Contact 6.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Opel Astra 1.4 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 2,500 spirited miles
I've been driving on these tyres for nearly 4000 kms. Comfort and noise is really impressing after my old Hankook Ventus s2. The steering feels softer and more responsive; however the softer feeling is definitely a negative thing for a keen driver like me. I can't say much about wet braking, I haven't had the chance to try, but dry braking is very very good indeed, the car just doesn't need any abs with this set of tyres.
The final and most important part is that these continental premiumcontact 6 just doesn't handle as well and progressive as my previous Hankook Ventus s2. This caused a dramatic disappoinment actually. I just didn't get used to this lack of handling quality, and I began to consider changing the tyres. I can't corner with these continentals as well and sharp as mu previous Hankooks. It feels like with these continentals my car is a completely different car. Perhaps the reason is the soft sidewall, I don't know. Also, when you're going straight on the highway, the steering needs small adjustments in order to go straight and precise. It is about lateral stability perhaps.
For short; comfortable, quiet but absolutely not sporty, not quite precise and sharp.
Ams tyre test is definitely right about this premium contact 6. The tyre has just 3 water canals, I think this is why it tends to understeer or oversteer in the wet. This understeering and oversteering never occurred with my hankooks.
This tyre needs an immediate update and for the most part I regret my decision on continental premium contact 6.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 4, 2017   
Given 92% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo V60 D5 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
I have these tyres for about 2 months now on a volvo v60 with 215bhp with awd. The grip and steering response is great with surprising levels of comfort. My previous tires were Pirelli P7 and Nokian z-line , i think the Continentals are a blend of sticky and resonsive tyres (like the nokians) and comfort tyres . Hopefully they won't wear out in 30.000 km like the nokians .
13 - tyre reviewed on May 1, 2017   
Given 95% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Yeti 4 x 4 (225/50 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Having run a pair Continental SC5s with a pair of Goodyear Efficient Grip Performances previously, I was keen to finally get back to running the same tyres all round. The car was delivered with Dunlop SP01s which where fine, but got noisy & grip just disappeared. After damaging 2, I fitted the Goodyears which were much quieter, noticeably more economical, but the steering felt soft & wooly on turn-in even though both dry & wet grip were good. Then came the SC5s. They gripped even better than the Goodyears, weren't quite as quiet (but much better than the SP01s). However the handling was so much better & turn-in & steering feel were better than ever. Then I fitted Bilstein B6s with Eibach pros. Roadholding & handling were improved, but the ride was just a bit too stiff tbh. On 215/60/16 winters it was fine, so much so that I even thought of ditching the standard 17" wheels & running 16"s in summer too. Then Continental launch the Premium Contact 6. They sounded perfect, but I worried that they'd be too touring biased & handling & feel would suffer. How wrong could I be. They're every bit as sharp as the SC5s & grip as well too, but amazingly the ride quality is nothing short of astounding. The car's so much better to drive now with excellent feel & grip from the PC6 tyres, & improved roadholding from the suspension, yet with minimal ride comfort compromise from standard. Even though the car has part time 4 wheel drive it has 210bhp & 430nm of torque, yet traction is excellent, even in the wet. I can't comment on wear as they're too new & similarly their only supposed weakness of aquaplaning hasn't been evident with full tread depth. They're by far & away the best tyres I've ever driven on.
6 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2017   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf 6 2.0 TDI 140bhp (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Can't say to much about wear rate, as they are new, but they are excellent in every other areas. Love the grip, both dry and wet, the road feedback and handling and that they are very quiet. I would definitely buy them again.
6 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2017   

See all 11 customer reviews of the Continental Premium Contact 6 (newest first) >>