Continental Premium Contact 6

Dry Grip 94%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 90%
Wear 78%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 81%

The Continental Premium Contact 6 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The new PremiumContact 6 replaces both the PremiumContact 5 and the SportContact 5, unifying the comfort and efficiency of the PremiumContact range, with the high performance, steering precision and grip of the SportContact.

This tyre replaced the Continental Premium Contact 5

Show All

Tyre review data from 23 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 100,750 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2018 Ace 235/45 R18 Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 11 tyres

2018 Test World Summer Tyre Test - 4th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Precise reactions to steering movements, predictable behavior and very high grip on a dry surface.
  • Negative - Average wet braking, weak aquaplaning resistance.

2018 AZ Summer AND All Season Tyre Test - 2nd of 9 tyres

  • Overall - The Premiumcontact 6 has the shortest stopping distances in the wet, and is very strong in the dry. Lowest levels of comfort on test.
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental Premium Contact 6

Questions and Answers for the Continental Premium Contact 6

2017-02-28 - Will the Premium Contact 6 be available in 205/55/16 size and when? Thank you!

It's a very likely the Premium Contact 6 will be released in 205/55 R16 in 2017, however there has been no date announced by Continental yet.


2017-10-23 - I have nearly new contisportcontact 5 on the rear of my focus mk3 Zetec S & worn ones on the front. Can I put the rear to the front & put the new conti premium contact 6 on the rear without upsetting the grip/ride etc. The car has always had Continental tyres on since new, then contact 5 so I would like to keep using Continental.

Moving your PC5s to the front and then fitting the new PC6 to the rear would be the ideal :)


2018-03-13 - What does it mean when the wear has a higher or lower % means? Higher % means wear faster ? Or higher % means can last longer

A higher percentage in wear means the tyre lasts longer.


2018-05-01 - Continental have designed the Premium Contact 6 for good ride comfort and sporty feel, how does it compare to Goodyear Asym.3, which also has good ride comfort and is a summer tyre?

I have not had the opportunity to test the two tyres directly back to back, but looking at other tests the Premium Contact 6 often scores poorly in terms of comfort meaning it is likely the Asymmetric 3 which has the edge in comfort.


2018-06-24 - Conti states the premium contact 6 is 15% better wear than CSC5. Review of CSC5 last no longer than 30000km. Can you verify that the premium contact 6 has less than 35000km? Wear rate is a bit concern for most conti tires from what I gather.

Wear is very subjective and difficult to compare between different driving cars and driving style. It's best to look at the tests and reviews on this site to help you understand the real world mileage you could achieve.


2018-07-26 - Time to replace front tyres on Mazda CX6, 225x55x19. I'm pretty much settled on the Premium Contact 6. But I see there's a "standard" 99 load index, rated C rolling - A wet, and an XL version, 103 load index, A rolling - B wet. Two questions - are the C/A and A/B rating differences significant to daily handling (I've seen what happened yo your little foam friend in your budget/premium video, with only a 5% difference in residual speed) and will the increase in load index make the ride rougher over bumps and potholes? Thanks for your help, and a really useful website

The answer is yes to both of your questions, but it will likely be a small amount in both categories. It's interesting these tyres have such differing label grades, are you sure one of the tyres isn't an OE marked tyre which will have OE specific changes to it?


2018-10-05 - I own a 2006 Mercedes E-Class 550 V8 sedan. I was actually pretty much settled for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 for next season. Yet I feel tempted to go for the Premium Contact 6 instead, since steering Response was praised in a couple of tests. I'm not seeking ultimate grip and fast lap times, but a sporty feel is welcome. Have you guys been able to test them back to back? Second part of the question: both tyres are offered in 93 and 97 LI. The 93 is sufficient and I rarely drive the car fully packed. Would the 93 LI be the obvious choice? Thanks in advance.

Sadly I've not yet driven the two back to back, looking at the various tests it seems the steering feedback switches depending on the size used, so make sure you're referencing a tyre review in or near your size. If you're interesting in steering feel, the higher load rating might be the smarter choice.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/50 R17 £92.00 - £104.00 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £83.30 - £96.43 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £72.20 - £81.30 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £100.50 - £111.20 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R18 £123.20 - £151.30 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 72 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Continental Premium Contact 6 Review

Given 87% while driving a Renault Megane (205/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Ready to test! Cheers GC
146 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2017   

Latest Continental Premium Contact 6 Reviews

Have you driven on the Continental Premium Contact 6 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Premium Contact 6.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 89% while driving a SEAT Exeo (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 24,800 average miles
Perfect handling. Comfortable even in cold weather. 40000km and 1.4 mm before the legal limit. Better than Michelin PS3 and Hankook Ventus Prime 3
7 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Previously had Yokohama’s but these are ten times better. Much better grip and traction. More noticeable in the wet.
18 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2019   
What's better in the snow, a 4x4 or winter tyres? Watch the video to find out!
Given 83% while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Blue Eff. auto (225/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
Very nice tires. Is that I would like a little less noisy and a little more comfortable.

But I hardly buy them next time, like any other products of this brand. Bought 2 months ago and since then I can not find the rear tires 255/35/r18 (although promised in two weeks). Today I learned that the company is going to ship them to Cyprus no earlier than in 3-6 months. Buy expensive tires and not find them a pair or a replacement - personal dislike to Continental.

And they are not even in large stores that they send to us.
8 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2019   
Given 64% while driving a Audi 2.0tdi 140 sline sportback (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 150 spirited miles
Dont understand the praise these tyres are receiving in the reviews, yes these tyres are noticeably quieter than my previous tyres, Dunlop Sport Maxx RT, and are definatley more comfortable, however at any speed above say 40mph when turning into a corner or worse a series of bends they feel like tyres made out of jelly, its like as if the soft side wall has to flex initially before it transmits the turn of the steering wheel to the front road wheels, ( unlike with the previous Dunlops I had fitted where the initial turn in was sharp and precise ) on a series of tight bends these tyres are positively dangerous in my opinion due to the fact that the rubber compound used is just too soft.( which also contributes to the poor wear rate of these tyres). Thankfully I only bought 2 so can put these on the rear when a better alternatives are found for the front
Looks like the ideal tyre, ie, quiet and comfortable and precise sharp handling is still a pipedream, its either soft quiet comfortable tyres with vague handling on the one hand or precise handling but hard riding and uncomfortable tyres on the other despite the manufactures claims these latest tyres provide the best of both worlds.if you like cruising buy these tyres if not I would recommend finding a sharper better handling alternative.
5 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2018   
Given 86% while driving a Ford Focus ST (235/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Righteo... The Ol' PS4 vs. CPC6 battle.
After having the PS4 on my 13' FOCST for 52,000km's it was time to replace.
Did I really really WANT the CPC6??.. No, but my local shop had them on special for $150 less than the PS4 so I decided to.. after conferring with TyreReviews.co.uk to give them a go.
The issue is with any top tier tyre.. the actual OBJECTIVE differences are almost non existent. So, are they just as good in grip/performance objectively??... Yes. But subjectively, they actually seem a little grippier in the dry compared to the PS4. (driving a 70km route each way to work, I get a pretty consistent test comparison. WET grip, I don't push it to the limit, so again objectively they seem on par, no worse at least.
Comfort.. sidewall seems a little stiffer compared with the PS4.
All in all - Pretty much same same but different. The only real Elephant in the room is longevity / wear. We all know Conti's wear considerably less than Michelin. I'm not expecting 50,000km. But anything less than 40,000 will be unacceptable.
One thing I will add Sidewall design is terrible on the CPC6.. they look terrible due to, I assume the noise reduction panelling. And there seems to be a real difference in the mould release between Michelin and Continental. Michelin have the traditional tyre spikes on the sidewall, Conti do not.. and use an almost Godlike mould release agent. It too me 3 cleaning steps with Lacquer Thinner to remove completely. You must do this otherwise your tyre shine of choice just won't stick.
15 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2018   

See all 21 customer reviews of the Continental Premium Contact 6 (newest first) >>