Continental Premium Contact 6

Dry Grip 94%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 90%
Wear 76%
Comfort 90%
Buy again 82%

The Continental Premium Contact 6 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The new PremiumContact 6 replaces both the PremiumContact 5 and the SportContact 5, unifying the comfort and efficiency of the PremiumContact range, with the high performance, steering precision and grip of the SportContact.

This tyre replaced the Continental Premium Contact 5

Show All

Tyre review data from 20 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 64,950 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2018 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - A very well balanced tyre, with an excellent dry and wet performance. Most sporty tyre on test with the best steering feel and response.
  • Negative - Average aquaplaning and rolling resistance scores.

2018 Auto Review 225/45 R17 Tyre Test - 2nd of 11 tyres

2018 AMS Summer UHP Tyre Test - 2nd of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling in the wet, precise reaction to steering and good grip in the dry.
  • Negative - Average ride comfort.
  • Overall - Recommended
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental Premium Contact 6

Questions and Answers for the Continental Premium Contact 6

2017-02-28 - Will the Premium Contact 6 be available in 205/55/16 size and when? Thank you!

It's a very likely the Premium Contact 6 will be released in 205/55 R16 in 2017, however there has been no date announced by Continental yet.


2017-10-23 - I have nearly new contisportcontact 5 on the rear of my focus mk3 Zetec S & worn ones on the front. Can I put the rear to the front & put the new conti premium contact 6 on the rear without upsetting the grip/ride etc. The car has always had Continental tyres on since new, then contact 5 so I would like to keep using Continental.

Moving your PC5s to the front and then fitting the new PC6 to the rear would be the ideal :)


2018-03-13 - What does it mean when the wear has a higher or lower % means? Higher % means wear faster ? Or higher % means can last longer

A higher percentage in wear means the tyre lasts longer.


2018-05-01 - Continental have designed the Premium Contact 6 for good ride comfort and sporty feel, how does it compare to Goodyear Asym.3, which also has good ride comfort and is a summer tyre?

I have not had the opportunity to test the two tyres directly back to back, but looking at other tests the Premium Contact 6 often scores poorly in terms of comfort meaning it is likely the Asymmetric 3 which has the edge in comfort.


2018-06-24 - Conti states the premium contact 6 is 15% better wear than CSC5. Review of CSC5 last no longer than 30000km. Can you verify that the premium contact 6 has less than 35000km? Wear rate is a bit concern for most conti tires from what I gather.

Wear is very subjective and difficult to compare between different driving cars and driving style. It's best to look at the tests and reviews on this site to help you understand the real world mileage you could achieve.


2018-07-26 - Time to replace front tyres on Mazda CX6, 225x55x19. I'm pretty much settled on the Premium Contact 6. But I see there's a "standard" 99 load index, rated C rolling - A wet, and an XL version, 103 load index, A rolling - B wet. Two questions - are the C/A and A/B rating differences significant to daily handling (I've seen what happened yo your little foam friend in your budget/premium video, with only a 5% difference in residual speed) and will the increase in load index make the ride rougher over bumps and potholes? Thanks for your help, and a really useful website

The answer is yes to both of your questions, but it will likely be a small amount in both categories. It's interesting these tyres have such differing label grades, are you sure one of the tyres isn't an OE marked tyre which will have OE specific changes to it?


2018-10-05 - I own a 2006 Mercedes E-Class 550 V8 sedan. I was actually pretty much settled for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 for next season. Yet I feel tempted to go for the Premium Contact 6 instead, since steering Response was praised in a couple of tests. I'm not seeking ultimate grip and fast lap times, but a sporty feel is welcome. Have you guys been able to test them back to back? Second part of the question: both tyres are offered in 93 and 97 LI. The 93 is sufficient and I rarely drive the car fully packed. Would the 93 LI be the obvious choice? Thanks in advance.

Sadly I've not yet driven the two back to back, looking at the various tests it seems the steering feedback switches depending on the size used, so make sure you're referencing a tyre review in or near your size. If you're interesting in steering feel, the higher load rating might be the smarter choice.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £74.30 - £92.70 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £102.60 - £115.30 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R18 £110.80 - £140.30 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R18 £129.90 - £151.50 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/50 R18 £120.90 - £163.40 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £120.90 - £161.60 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 70 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Continental Premium Contact 6 Review

Given 87% while driving a Renault Megane (205/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Ready to test! Cheers GC
135 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2017   

Latest Continental Premium Contact 6 Reviews

Have you driven on the Continental Premium Contact 6 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Premium Contact 6.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 64% while driving a Audi 2.0tdi 140 sline sportback (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 150 spirited miles
Dont understand the praise these tyres are receiving in the reviews, yes these tyres are noticeably quieter than my previous tyres, Dunlop Sport Maxx RT, and are definatley more comfortable, however at any speed above say 40mph when turning into a corner or worse a series of bends they feel like tyres made out of jelly, its like as if the soft side wall has to flex initially before it transmits the turn of the steering wheel to the front road wheels, ( unlike with the previous Dunlops I had fitted where the initial turn in was sharp and precise ) on a series of tight bends these tyres are positively dangerous in my opinion due to the fact that the rubber compound used is just too soft.( which also contributes to the poor wear rate of these tyres). Thankfully I only bought 2 so can put these on the rear when a better alternatives are found for the front
Looks like the ideal tyre, ie, quiet and comfortable and precise sharp handling is still a pipedream, its either soft quiet comfortable tyres with vague handling on the one hand or precise handling but hard riding and uncomfortable tyres on the other despite the manufactures claims these latest tyres provide the best of both worlds.if you like cruising buy these tyres if not I would recommend finding a sharper better handling alternative.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2018   
Given 86% while driving a Ford Focus ST (235/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Righteo... The Ol' PS4 vs. CPC6 battle.
After having the PS4 on my 13' FOCST for 52,000km's it was time to replace.
Did I really really WANT the CPC6??.. No, but my local shop had them on special for $150 less than the PS4 so I decided to.. after conferring with TyreReviews.co.uk to give them a go.
The issue is with any top tier tyre.. the actual OBJECTIVE differences are almost non existent. So, are they just as good in grip/performance objectively??... Yes. But subjectively, they actually seem a little grippier in the dry compared to the PS4. (driving a 70km route each way to work, I get a pretty consistent test comparison. WET grip, I don't push it to the limit, so again objectively they seem on par, no worse at least.
Comfort.. sidewall seems a little stiffer compared with the PS4.
All in all - Pretty much same same but different. The only real Elephant in the room is longevity / wear. We all know Conti's wear considerably less than Michelin. I'm not expecting 50,000km. But anything less than 40,000 will be unacceptable.
One thing I will add Sidewall design is terrible on the CPC6.. they look terrible due to, I assume the noise reduction panelling. And there seems to be a real difference in the mould release between Michelin and Continental. Michelin have the traditional tyre spikes on the sidewall, Conti do not.. and use an almost Godlike mould release agent. It too me 3 cleaning steps with Lacquer Thinner to remove completely. You must do this otherwise your tyre shine of choice just won't stick.
8 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2018   
What's better in the snow, a 4x4 or winter tyres? Watch the video to find out!
Given 86% while driving a Renault Megane (205/50 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
They are great tyres overall, handling and grip is excellent. The only downside is the wear, after about 20000 km (2 seasons) they seem more used than I would prefer. I don't feel any decrease in performance yet but I wouldn't use them after 40000 km (25000 miles) which in my opinion is 20-25% lower than could be expected from this price category. This is even with front-rear rotation.
This is an excellent choice if you wouldn't drive too much in one season. I would recommend something else for those who drive a lot and want long lasting tyres.
6 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2018   
Given 97% while driving a Skoda Octavia (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
I initally ordered Michelin PS4, but since they were out of stock, i had to go for those PC6.
It feels like i have another car. Great great comfort, grip is excellent, and even if the sidewall is really soft compared to other premium tires (91Y) the car feels really precise.
Would buy them again for sure.
Wear should be a problem since the tyre composition is soft, but that's not a problem for me, as they provide maximum comfort.
20 - tyre reviewed on June 6, 2018   
Given 86% while driving a Volvo S60 D5 R Design (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,300 spirited miles
Perfect traction control during cornering at high speed. Overall very good tyre in safety and performance aspect. I see only one disadvantage - high wear.
15 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2018   

See all 18 customer reviews of the Continental Premium Contact 6 (newest first) >>