tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Continental Sport Contact 2


Show all: Continental tyres, Passenger Car Summer Max Performance tyres
The Continental Sport Contact 2 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 185 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 3,424,754 miles driven.
 


Continental Sport Contact 2
Dry Grip
84%

Wet Grip
74%

Road Feedback
75%

Progressiveness
70%

Wear
61%

Comfort
67%

Buy again
61%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £63.50 - £91.90 (24 prices)
225/45 R17 £88.70 - £125.86 (14 prices)
225/40 R18 £92.89 - £120.94 (9 prices)
235/35 R19 £155.06 - £227.90 (3 prices)
Available in 65 tyre sizes - View all.

Continental Sport Contact 2 Reviews

Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (255-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8,500 spirited miles
Runflats on the rear of BMW M-Sport
Excellent in both wet and dry.
Very predictable handing.
These replaced Bridgestone Potenzas and they have raised the fun level.
Corners like on rails.
8500 hasn't even taken 1mm of the tread=depth yet.
I would definitely buy them again.
tyre reviewed on March 6, 2014   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 535d M Sport (245-35-20-W)
Driving on mostly town for 28,000 average miles
Fitted them to the front of my car at 68k replaced them at 96k , they had to be replaced due to inner tyre wear and I still had 3mm in some places. The inner tyre wear is my fault due the geometry and me haveing to accommodate 20's.

Excellent in the dry and wet and the have really lasted well, and most of driving has been in and around town. I know my car is rear wheel drive but I'm still kicking out 275 bhp and this is a heavy diesel. I have had the same tyres on the rear but on 275/30/20 and they lasted 20k too.

tyre reviewed on February 26, 2014   
Looking to buy the Continental Sport Contact 2? Click here to search for the best price for the Continental Sport Contact 2 or any other tyre.
 
Given 51% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3,500 spirited miles
Having bought a brand new car these came fitted as standard, the dry grip was fantastic thanks to how soft the tyres are. The down side of this is horrific tyre wear. After just 3500 spirited miles they were down to 2mm. Other owners of the same car have experienced the same issue, one reported the tyres warn to the marker after just 1800 miles!! Would never touch continental again. Since replacing with good years I've done double the mileage and have only used 1mm of tread.
tyre reviewed on February 25, 2014   
Given 59% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3,500 average miles
These have decent grip in the dry but I didn't find the grip in the wet as good as other tyres I've used. The wear is horrific, my front's are at 3mm after just 3500 miles. The wear is even and the car hasn't been driven very hard with these.
tyre reviewed on January 29, 2014   
Given 50% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
Bought these not long ago and I am very disappointed with these. They are the noisiest tyres I have ever come across with. I even thought the tyre place has accidentally put winter or all weather tyres as they are usually quite noisy but nopes. Will never buy this brand again
tyre reviewed on December 17, 2013   
Given 56% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 21,000 average miles
A good Tyre with good handling both dry and wet, a little bit wobbly and soft on the limits, not very direct response in turns and they felt a little bit slow in responding to wheel-movements but no big problems.
Acceptable/good comfort and noise-level but I have had more comfortable Tyres than this.
Poor wear, lasted about 34000 km on my 2011 VW Golf TSI 122 , not extremely bad but I think that low wear is typical Continental.
I changed to Continental Premium Contact 5 and they are a bit better in every way except in wear which is very poor.
tyre reviewed on December 9, 2013   
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta (195-45-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 29,000 average miles
These were standard fitment on our 1.4 TDCi Fiesta Titanium when it was new. I had two of them replaced with Sport Contact 3's after damaging one when I hit a pothole (I like to have equally worn tyres / same type of tires on either side of the car at the very least).

Good Points:
The two that remained managed to last 29'000 miles (including rotating from the front wheels to the rear wheels). Grip in both dry and wet conditions was superb in all conditions and there was never an issue with traction (except in snow/icy conditions which is understandable - under steer when on the front and over steer when on the back). Feedback was good too, although the Sport Contacts 3's when they were moved to the front wheels definitely had the edge in terms of grip and feedback.

Bad points:
Definitely not a comfortable tyre. Very very noisy! And even worse on rough road surfaces which led to vibrations in the car in the worst case. They became even worse as they approached the 3mm mark.

Overall though definitely a good 'sporty' tyre, although not as good as the Sport Contact 3. I always felt they were a bit wasted really on a Fiesta with only a small diesel engine with a 0-60mph time of 15 seconds. I've replaced all 4 tyres with Good Year Efficient Grips (which seem much more appropriate for a car like this) and what a transformation that has been in terms of road noise with also a slight improvement to ride comfort (will write a separate review of these).
tyre reviewed on November 18, 2013   
Given 47% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk6 (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8,500 average miles
Really poor wear, only managed 8,500 miles before I had them changed at 3mm. My driving style is fairly average I don't tend to drive it too hard very often.
Performance was ok.
tyre reviewed on October 23, 2013   
Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen GTi Mk6 (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 22,370 average miles
Did 36,000km on these tyres. Brilliant dry grip - was wary in the wet (also due to the torque from the car).. holds well on bends, but skids too much if using launch control (or even taking off fast when the tyres became older). I wouldnt recommend it due to the very fast wear. Also had 2 tyres with bulges in them. Upgraded to Toyo Proxes C1S, and amazed at how noisy the Conti's were.
tyre reviewed on August 1, 2013   
Given 99% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 118d M Sport (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 16,000 average miles
Bought these when I had covered 78,000 miles and the car is now on 94,000 miles and they are down to approx 6.4mm.

Albeit they are on the front of a rear wheel drive car but at this rate im looking at a minimum of 30k and maximum of over 40k use from these tyres which at 130 quid fitted in RFT is excellent value for money.

Dry and wet grip fantastic, very progressive and comfortable.

Will buy these again.
tyre reviewed on July 14, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: