Continental Sport Contact 3

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 82%
Progressiveness 78%
Wear 62%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 69%
Continental Sport Contact 3

The Continental Sport Contact 3 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Continental Sport Contact 2

This tyre has been replaced by the Continental Sport Contact 5

Show all

Tyre review data from 207 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 2,812,297 miles driven.

 
Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £70.50 - £113.42 (38 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £77.82 - £124.50 (9 prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £119.37 - £195.21 (37 prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 69 tyre sizes - View all.

Continental Sport Contact 3 Reviews

Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus Zetec (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25,000 easy going miles
i drive a ford focus 2014 model, having done 25,000 miles i am now replacing both front tyres for the first time. excellent quality and wear from a non-aggressive driving style.
tyre reviewed on February 5, 2016   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat Punto Sporting MK2a (195-45-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 14 easy going miles
Decent tire's very grippy and very good under wet conditions! The wear pretty quikly i have driven 20.000km's on them and the have reached 2.5mm tread depth now, with sporty driving and mostly normal town driving.

tyre reviewed on January 3, 2016   
Given 61% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
The fastest wearing tyres I've ever had on any car. I used to get 23-25,000 miles on the front from Dunlops and Firestones on my Passat TDIs but these were looking very tired at 12,000 and need replacing at just 16,000 miles. A local tyre dealer told me Continentals are very soft so I'd done well to get 16,000 miles out of them.Extremely disappointing for such a well known brand. I won't be buying Continentals to replace them, or probably ever again.

Okay in all other regards. It's difficult for me to rate grip at the limit because I'm not a very fast driver, but they've never felt like they were letting go in the dry or in the wet. Noisy on some road surfaces, quiet on others.
tyre reviewed on December 21, 2015   
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat CC (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24,000 average miles
A good tyre for overall moderate performance. Noisy when it wears down. Not as much feel as I'd like. Worn out by just under 40,000kms which is fair
tyre reviewed on December 21, 2015   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall (245-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Expected alot more for the price. They slide a bit in the wet when pushed slightly on roundabouts which doesnt give confidence... they also seem a bit soft cornering.... dry grip is ok but again not the most confidence inspiring.
. Wear rate is poor. Ive had the budget continental Barum Bravuris 2's before and Matadors... and tbh i prefer them to the contis... they performed better in all conditions, lasted longer, and 50 quid cheaper per tyre so dont see why anyone would buy the contis....
tyre reviewed on November 26, 2015   
Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDI 177bhp quattro (255-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 7,000 average miles
Standard fit on my 2015 A4 quattro. Expected alot from a well known brand but the wear rate has been shocking.

7300 miles and the front tyres are down to 3mm. No aggressive/harsh driving, all smooth 100 mile round trip motorway.

Tyre feel is good both in dry and wet but really disappointed about the wear rate.
tyre reviewed on November 21, 2015   
Given 46% (breakdown) while driving a BMW X3 (245-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on November 6, 2015   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Clio RS200 (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 9,000 spirited miles
Feels difficult to quantify the tires as previous car was a Clio 182 and it was easier to push pass the limit than the 200.

Tires were rotated around 9000 which was really a bit too late as one rear is now down to 2mm but front is at 4mm. Ideally I'd replace all four in one go.

The tires + cup suspension make it hard going on London's pot holed & humped roads. Feels like I'm driving a caged beast in London with all the 20mph limits.
tyre reviewed on September 30, 2015   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 AMG Sport Estate (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18,500 average miles
OEM fitment tyre on our 2012 Mercedes C class estate. Rear tyres lasted 18500 miles which is ok but not exceptional. Grip was good throughout the 3 years on the car and was still good when replaced at 2.3 mm. Fronts only half worn, still have 4.5 mm after 20000 miles so expect to see circa 30000 from them. Most use has been local driving or long distance motorway use but on the odd occasion I have driven them spiritedly on A roads they have gripped well in both wet and dry conditions and feedback has been good and predictable. My only observation is that they have suffered micro cracking on the shoulder which I would not have expected on a premium tyre that has been maintained at the correct pressure throughout it's life. No deterioration in performance but it looks a little unsightly. Overall a good tyre but now superseded by the Contisport 5.
tyre reviewed on September 12, 2015   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo S60 2.0T (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 25,000 average miles
The Continental Sport Contact 3s replaced CSC 2s about 32 months ago in December 2012 and with regular balancing and rotation (every 10,000 kms / 6,250 miles / 6 months)) have travelled 42,000 kms (c. 25,000 miles). I live in Johannesburg, and our roads are not particularly well maintained. I have driven to/from Durban at least 4 times (say 800 miles round trip)during this period as well as off-road in the Pilanesberg Nature Reserve a couple of times, and a few other long distance trips (about 200 miles each one). No flat tyres at all (surprisingly!) and these tyres have lasted me the 'longest'. They are though quite 'noisy' now, and I shall be replacing them at 45,000km (28,125 miles), and in all likelihood with CSC 5s.
tyre reviewed on September 9, 2015