tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Continental Sport Contact 3

Show all: Continental tyres, Passenger Car Summer Max Performance tyres
The Continental Sport Contact 3 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 202 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 2,741,283 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Continental Sport Contact 2
This tyre has been replaced by the Continental Sport Contact 5

Continental Sport Contact 3
Dry Grip

Wet Grip

Road Feedback




Buy again

Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £73.40 - £119.59 (38 prices)
225/40 R18 £81.84 - £124.50 (9 prices)
235/35 R19 £120.00 - £195.21 (27 prices)
Available in 106 tyre sizes - View all.

Continental Sport Contact 3 Reviews

Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDI 177bhp quattro (255-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 7,000 average miles
Standard fit on my 2015 A4 quattro. Expected alot from a well known brand but the wear rate has been shocking.

7300 miles and the front tyres are down to 3mm. No aggressive/harsh driving, all smooth 100 mile round trip motorway.

Tyre feel is good both in dry and wet but really disappointed about the wear rate.
tyre reviewed on November 21, 2015   
Given 46% (breakdown) while driving a BMW X3 (245-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on November 6, 2015   
Looking to buy the Continental Sport Contact 3? Click here to search for the best price for the Continental Sport Contact 3 or any other tyre.
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Clio RS200 (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 9,000 spirited miles
Feels difficult to quantify the tires as previous car was a Clio 182 and it was easier to push pass the limit than the 200.

Tires were rotated around 9000 which was really a bit too late as one rear is now down to 2mm but front is at 4mm. Ideally I'd replace all four in one go.

The tires + cup suspension make it hard going on London's pot holed & humped roads. Feels like I'm driving a caged beast in London with all the 20mph limits.
tyre reviewed on September 30, 2015   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 AMG Sport Estate (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18,500 average miles
OEM fitment tyre on our 2012 Mercedes C class estate. Rear tyres lasted 18500 miles which is ok but not exceptional. Grip was good throughout the 3 years on the car and was still good when replaced at 2.3 mm. Fronts only half worn, still have 4.5 mm after 20000 miles so expect to see circa 30000 from them. Most use has been local driving or long distance motorway use but on the odd occasion I have driven them spiritedly on A roads they have gripped well in both wet and dry conditions and feedback has been good and predictable. My only observation is that they have suffered micro cracking on the shoulder which I would not have expected on a premium tyre that has been maintained at the correct pressure throughout it's life. No deterioration in performance but it looks a little unsightly. Overall a good tyre but now superseded by the Contisport 5.
tyre reviewed on September 12, 2015   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo S60 2.0T (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 25,000 average miles
The Continental Sport Contact 3s replaced CSC 2s about 32 months ago in December 2012 and with regular balancing and rotation (every 10,000 kms / 6,250 miles / 6 months)) have travelled 42,000 kms (c. 25,000 miles). I live in Johannesburg, and our roads are not particularly well maintained. I have driven to/from Durban at least 4 times (say 800 miles round trip)during this period as well as off-road in the Pilanesberg Nature Reserve a couple of times, and a few other long distance trips (about 200 miles each one). No flat tyres at all (surprisingly!) and these tyres have lasted me the 'longest'. They are though quite 'noisy' now, and I shall be replacing them at 45,000km (28,125 miles), and in all likelihood with CSC 5s.
tyre reviewed on September 9, 2015   
Given 50% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Jest had first service car has 9924 miles on clock told will have to renew tyres in 2000 miles. that's jest 12000 miles
tyre reviewed on September 8, 2015   
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Great dry grip and really progressive through bends, car slides progressively when driven on the edge of the tyres performance. Dry breaking amongst the best, wet performance is average. The wear rate is poor though, managed 10k on the fronts and they're in the wear indicators. The backs have worn around 2mm in comparison as a non-driven pair.

Superb in the dry, good enough in the wet. Wear far too quickly.
tyre reviewed on July 4, 2015   
Given 59% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C250 CDI Blutec (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
The grip levels are great but i cannot stand how quickly they wear. I have done 6000 miles from new and i have to replace them soon. I know i drive hard some times (great grip then) but i couldn't buy again based on the wear rate and high price.
tyre reviewed on May 25, 2015   
Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 SE 2.0 TDI 136 (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 17,000 easy going miles
These came as standard on a new A4 Technik (225/50/R17).

Its difficult to separate the harsh ride that comes with sport suspension from the tyre performance but I felt the tyres were adequate.

They felt a little soft and imprecise at the limits of cornering and in wet weather but never caused any concerns. Prone to wheel spin from a standing start in some conditions. Good braking in wet and dry. Tyre noise was on the limit of acceptable.

One thing I can say for sure is that the wear rate was problematic. I got less than 17000 from the front pair (FWD) with faster wear on the shoulder. However, if you want performance tyres you're going to get a softer compound and faster wear. Its all compromise.

Despite the disappointing wear rate I replaced the front pair with ContiSportContact 5 hoping the newer tyre is better. It probably won't.
tyre reviewed on April 20, 2015   
Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz E300 Bluetech Hybrid (245-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
the CSC3 came standard with my E300 front 245/40 rear 265/35. I've had them for a year a I am now considering changing to Michelin Pilot SS. They wore out very fast, after 30k km I started noticing the difference in how the car grips. I wouldn't recommend this tyre
tyre reviewed on March 5, 2015   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!

Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with cartyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Search by Tyre Size: