tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Continental Sport Contact 5


Show all: Continental tyres, Passenger Car Summer Max Performance tyres
The Continental Sport Contact 5 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 71 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 490,625 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Continental Sport Contact 3
 


Continental Sport Contact 5
Dry Grip
90%

Wet Grip
85%

Road Feedback
83%

Progressiveness
80%

Wear
55%

Comfort
78%

Buy again
64%


 
Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £88.00 - £110.41 (15 prices)
225/40 R18 £97.61 - £138.33 (9 prices)
235/35 R19 £177.97 - £185.29 (2 prices)
Available in 63 tyre sizes - View all.

Continental Sport Contact 5 Reviews

Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo (235-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6,000 easy going miles
I drive traffic police cars with Goodyear F1's and they are driven HARD everywhere with harsh acceleration, braking, corners etc. with the car heavily loaded. And the F1's last longer than these tyres on my private car driven sedately!!!! Good grip, but awful wear rate!!! Certainly NOT worth the price tag. Would NEVER buy again!! 8 months motoring for £350 an axle?!! Rip off!
tyre reviewed on July 22, 2014   
Given 54% (breakdown) while driving a MG ZT 260 (225-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6,000 average miles
I drive safely within the speed limits and have never spun the wheels on my rear wheel drive pride and joy, yet, the rears are bald after 6000 miles. The fronts have probably got 3000 miles left. Not worth the £700 pound I paid for the set of 4.
tyre reviewed on July 19, 2014   
Looking to buy the Continental Sport Contact 5? Click here to search for the best price for the Continental Sport Contact 5 or any other tyre.
 
Given 61% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A3 (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
been driving it mostly on twisty roads, 30% on higway,hard driving about 1k km,pretty ok summer tyre if you're looking for grip in wet, on dry tarmac you have no idea if your gripping or losing, after 6000km half tyre gone, bad feedback, i'd buy it again if i'd be a millionare, going back on michelin PE next year,
tyre reviewed on June 17, 2014   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Kia Motors (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11,000 easy going miles
Very good tyres in dry and wet, but only last 11000.
Dont buy Again
tyre reviewed on June 16, 2014   
Given 53% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 1 series M-pack (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 18,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on June 10, 2014   
Given 67% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (235-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12 average miles
Nothing special for the price. Expensive for a Mondeo that does a mix of motorway and general driving not really impressed, wont be spending £400 for 12,000 miles again.
tyre reviewed on May 25, 2014   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf tdi (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Apart from wearing quick, it's a best tires I had,excellent grip in both wet and dry
tyre reviewed on April 27, 2014   
Given 44% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz R230 SL350 2005 (255-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 7,000 average miles
Pretty underwhelmed by these SC5s, to be honest.

Just goes to show how these trailblazing magazine tests should be taken with a barrelful of salt...

Being a lifelong Goodyear nut, I only bought these as the odd 255/45/17 profile only has two premium contenders at a reasonable price point - these and the Dunlop SportMax.

Tyre wander is considerable in the dry, the noise is quite appalling, cornering feels like I'm lugging the car round with me.

The SL is indeed a big old crate,but with a recent complete suspension overhaul the fault can't lie there. And on 255 width handling should be tickety boo.

Wear is also dismal - measuring 4mm left on the middle treads with only 7,000 miles covered, and I'm a middle-aged grand-dad 60 mph highway kinda guy.

So it's off to the 245 F1 Eagles next for me; can't wait; even with a cm less of rubber I'll be a happier man!
tyre reviewed on April 26, 2014   
Given 64% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Astra 1.9 cdti 150hp (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Great grip in wet and dry but the wear is extremely bad
Wont be buying again

For a track these would be up there but on a road with holes and rough roads they will wear fast so they don't suit it.
tyre reviewed on April 7, 2014   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 Avant 1.9tdi Sport (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on March 29, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: