tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Continental Sport Contact 5


Show all: Continental tyres, Passenger Car Summer Max Performance tyres
The Continental Sport Contact 5 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 63 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 430,613 miles driven.
 


Continental Sport Contact 5
Dry Grip
91%

Wet Grip
85%

Road Feedback
84%

Progressiveness
80%

Wear
59%

Comfort
80%

Buy again
68%


 
Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £89.14 - £103.33 (9 prices)
225/40 R18 £96.98 - £115.07 (6 prices)
235/35 R19 £177.97 - £177.97 (1 prices)
Available in 55 tyre sizes - View all.

Continental Sport Contact 5 Reviews

Given 64% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Astra 1.9 cdti 150hp (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Great grip in wet and dry but the wear is extremely bad
Wont be buying again

For a track these would be up there but on a road with holes and rough roads they will wear fast so they don't suit it.
tyre reviewed on April 7, 2014   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 Avant 1.9tdi Sport (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on March 29, 2014   
Looking to buy the Continental Sport Contact 5? Click here to search for the best price for the Continental Sport Contact 5 or any other tyre.
 
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Mitsubishi (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Had these on my 430bhp/450lbs torque GTO for around a year now and have done about 3000 miles, Tread is down to 4mm on all 4 tyres. Dry grip is outstanding(much better than my previous toyo T1R') wet grip is also very good(A LOT better than the toyo's) but not lasting as long but that's fine for me as they are on a weekend car..
Hard cornering is outstanding with AWD, not had a single problem in dry/wet/cold. even in the wet they really struggle to spin, and just keep gripping. obviously this will not be the case with RWD or FWD.
There not lasting as long as the TOYOS, but im finding them to be a lot better in all conditions, but its to be expected from a softer tyre..
cant really comment on comfort as the car is too stiff anyway. I would by these again for a weekend car, but probably wouldn't recommend for a daily drive that would be doing high mileage as I am not sure they would last too long..But defiantly perform exceptionally well for a high performance car.
tyre reviewed on March 14, 2014   
Given 88% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 Turbo (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Fitted a pair of contisport contact 5 after reading several reviews, the car (1995 MR2 turbo)had terrible rear end grip with a cheep set of kendas fitted by the previous owner (who told me they were just a cheep set to mot and sell the car.)Fitted the contis and also had 4 wheel laser alignment and the handling of the car has been transformed.
I wanted a good allround sport tyre that would handle the odd track day.
Ran the car at Oulton park and was well impressed superb grip in the damp cool febuary conditions the track dried up and the tyres ran great no overheating issues and surefooted grip and very progressive on the limit never let go once then the rain came and they performed very well plenty of grip and feedback recomended with out hesitation
tyre reviewed on February 26, 2014   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A3 1.8T sport (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
I just changed new CSC5 last week, this was my second times. I get very good driving experience and used almost 22,000 miles/1.6yr(40% town 60%highways). The top speed i 've reach was 140 miles/hr, CSC5 still stable and seems can run faster. very balance no matter in dry and wet ground. i will recommend to my frds if he wanna find a balance performance tires.
Four tires totally cost US$800 included install and alignment.
tyre reviewed on February 17, 2014   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
235 40 r 18 w on a 8j rim are standard on the car and do a descent job. U had to ease the power in on 1st and 2nd gears which is normal to stop 256 ftlbs overwhelming the fronts. Handling was nice to. Now I have just put 245 40 r 18 y's all round and the difference to my surprise is amazing. Better ride. Better rim protection. Better handling. Ecceleration is dramatically improved because I can now use some of the cars power rather than just lighting the fronts up. They look good and the car looks meaner. Very happy chappy. Defo buy again, continental have done well. These tyres are fantastic in the wet and breaking performance is unmatched. If I get 10000 miles out of them like my 235's ill be happy. Ps for the weather conditions in england and our roads you cant beat contisport 5's.
tyre reviewed on February 6, 2014   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on February 1, 2014   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz A250 AMG Sport (235-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
These tyres came as standard on my a250 which I purchased in the summer. Dry grip is as good as you get and wet grip is not much less than in the dry. Feedback is good but comfort it terrible, that being said my car has a very hard suspension set up so I can't be too judgemental. The problem with these tyres is when the weather gets cold they are absolutely useless when trying to find grip for hard accelerating. All in all I highly recommend these tyres just swap them for some winters once it gets cold.
tyre reviewed on January 23, 2014   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C180K T (245-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on January 20, 2014   
Given 61% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT EXEO TDi 170 CR (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6,000 average miles
Bought a full set of these for my 170hp Seat Exeo as they are standard fit. The car had previously been fitted with Primewell (which were surprisingly good).

After only 6000 miles the fronts need changing as they had worn down in the centre. Good tyres, good grip andquieter than the Primewell but 6000 miles is just ridiculous. Never again.
tyre reviewed on December 31, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: