tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Continental Sport Contact 5


Show all: Continental tyres, Passenger Car Summer Max Performance tyres
The Continental Sport Contact 5 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 86 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 697,375 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Continental Sport Contact 3
 


Continental Sport Contact 5
Dry Grip
90%

Wet Grip
86%

Road Feedback
83%

Progressiveness
79%

Wear
55%

Comfort
79%

Buy again
64%


 
Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £73.39 - £105.53 (20 prices)
225/40 R18 £91.87 - £124.94 (11 prices)
235/35 R19 £125.65 - £177.97 (2 prices)
Available in 82 tyre sizes - View all.

Continental Sport Contact 5 Reviews

Given 54% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Clio RS200 (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4,000 average miles
I have a Renault Clio RS 200 which came with Conti Sport Contact 3's They were a fantastic tyre in the dry and wet. I got 13,000 miles from them and this included four track days.

I have changed them for Conti Sport Contact 5's and they have been very poor. Dry handling is average but they don't give much confidence in the wet.

I have put 4,000 mikes on the new tyres mostly over the winter months so they have not had any hard use and the fronts are well over 50% towards the wear indicator.

I will be buying Conti Sport Contact 3's when these tyres need replacing.
tyre reviewed on April 17, 2015   
Given 55% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Bought as replacement for the sport contact 3s. Decent tyres, if a bit noisy. Lots of wheel spin pulling away in the wet, almost causing me to spin into the oncoming traffic at one stage. Wear is pretty bad, not worth the price, have fitted with non-sport tyres which give far better dry and wet driving and hopefully last me longer.
tyre reviewed on March 16, 2015   
Looking to buy the Continental Sport Contact 5? Click here to search for the best price for the Continental Sport Contact 5 or any other tyre.
 
Given 99% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Astra SRi (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Absolutely brilliant! Amazing in the wet and dry. Give total confidence driving on the ragged edge in the wet and dry! Could not believe how fast you could corner on very wet roads, putting much faster cars to shame. Lasted me 30k miles too, amazing! I just went for Goodyear Asymetric 2's as a replacement, becuase of the review score on here, and I am gutted! They ear awful compared to the Contis, and now I'm stuck with them. Nearly went for these again too, so wish I had!
tyre reviewed on March 9, 2015   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Aero 2.8 V6 convertible (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 17,000 average miles
Car is a Saab 9-3ss Hirsch V6, running 235/45/17 size. Highly recommend!

I submitted a review in April '13, when I replaced my Dunlop Sportmaxx RT set with the Conti SC5's. The Dunlops were marginally quieter & a little better on fuel consumption; but wore within 9k miles to 3mm tread.

The Contis are now at nearly 17k miles (approaching 10 months daily usage, mostly A-roads) and, even after swapping fronts and rears in December, at between 5mm and 6mm. These tyres are supreme on standing water at speed - none of the skittishness that I had with the Dunlops. Dry grip is really good, too - not that I "fling" the car brutally; but there are some roads where I used to feel the limit on the Dunlops, whereas I still have total grip (and no hint of limit) with the Contis.
tyre reviewed on February 9, 2015   
Given 71% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 316 (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Overall a VERY good tyre. Amazing grip in the dry and outstanding in the wet, even with ALOT of water on the road.

Drove somewhere between 10 - 15000km with those, until the thread had gone down to under 3mm. At this point, the tyres were starting to get a bit exciting to drive with, in wet conditions. I could easily make them spin, and has a tendency to lock up the brakes. But the rest of the time, it was the most awesome tyre i've ever tried. Im a spirited driver.
tyre reviewed on February 8, 2015   
Given 85% (breakdown) while driving a Ford S Max Titanium X Sport (235-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Tried these on the front of my 200 bhp S Max. Great grip as per expected from Contis however as other reviews they were getting to be slicks after 5000 miles. The S Max on sports suspension with 18' alloys does eat tyres but this was comical. New car has arrived on these with self seal and after 5000 miles still have plenty of tread maybe the VW CC is lighter on the front or they could have changed the compound.
tyre reviewed on January 17, 2015   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C200 CDI Sport (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Very good tyre. Drive them on my Mercedes (C-Class 2010) with 225/45/17. The tyres are great at wet and dry weather.
There is 1 cons - they are too soft and almost every hole make a "bubble". For about 40 000km bought 6 tyres.
tyre reviewed on January 2, 2015   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0 140 TDI Sport Estate (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 16,000 average miles
Factory fitted tyres... Lasted 16k on the front axle and 48k on the rear. the tyres were good but I expected longer lifespan from the fronts
tyre reviewed on December 10, 2014   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen CC (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 42,000 average miles
I do a lot of all season driving and the tyres did extremley well in all conditions. They gave excellent mileage 42000 on a powerfull diesel vehicle
the self seal technology is state of the art. I would like to fit them again but is hard to find and very expensive
tyre reviewed on November 23, 2014   
Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Celica VVTLi (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Excellent and brilliant tyres in all aspects of weather and road conditions and braking.

If you do alot of regular spirited driving and many many miles then you will wear these tyres rapidly in 6 months.

If you dont regularly do much spirited driving and are a normal driver then these tyres should last you much longer, approximately 2 years.

Overall I would definately reccommend these tyres in regards to my experience above.
tyre reviewed on November 5, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: