tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Dunlop SP Sport 01


Show all: Dunlop tyres, Passenger Car Summer Ultra High Performance tyres
The Dunlop SP Sport 01 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 91 tyre reviews averaging 67% over 1,763,585 miles driven.
 


Dunlop SP Sport 01
Dry Grip
78%

Wet Grip
66%

Road Feedback
70%

Progressiveness
67%

Wear
67%

Comfort
65%

Buy again
58%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £55.69 - £96.82 (20 prices)
225/45 R17 £77.17 - £129.70 (14 prices)
225/40 R18 £96.55 - £110.00 (3 prices)
Available in 67 tyre sizes - View all.

Dunlop SP Sport 01 Reviews

Given 43% (breakdown) while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer EX 2.0 MIVEC (MAN) (205-60-16-H)
Driving on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
The tires are good at maneuverability and stability and braking but so loud and noisy so so loud at my lancer really
tyre reviewed on April 18, 2014   
Given 42% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Yeti (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 14,000 easy going miles
OE fitment. Very happy to start with but when tread depth went down to about 4mm the grip fell off significantly. Very poor grip in acceleration in wet and more recently in dry as well. Just as well that I don't push in corners.
tyre reviewed on April 3, 2014   
Looking to buy the Dunlop SP Sport 01? Click here to search for the best price for the Dunlop SP Sport 01 or any other tyre.
 
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat B5.5 130 TDI Sport (205-60-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on March 30, 2014   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 528i Touring Sport (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 50,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on March 30, 2014   
Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Yeti (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on March 10, 2014   
Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Transporter (235-55-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30,000 average miles
Reliable tyres, low noise, good handling.
tyre reviewed on March 10, 2014   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.9TDi (195-55-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
came with a car skoda fabia 1.9 tdi sport
i cant believe what you people are saying about this tyre
this is a second car that i use them and the tire is almost perfect
in dry or in wet, not in snow without grip at all very stiff tire
in wet i was cornering in 80 km/h and they was 4 years old
and my roads are prety much worn in corners - and dont give much grip at all
i have a couple a punctures in front left, and i had to change it after 20000 km, rear lasted 40000 and still runing
my dimension is about 95 euro so they are not so chep either
but i would recomend it on a small fast car
tyre reviewed on November 19, 2013   
Given 53% (breakdown) while driving a Suzuki Swift 1.3l 2007 (175-65-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 29,000 spirited miles
On the plus side this have lasted well. Very good in dry, soon as get wet that changes and cannot brake very quickly / no grip at all, did almost run into two cars from rear! under 4mm they are shocking and aquaplane all time in rain. when new where okay in snow not so much under 6mm. never felt confident after first 6 months when worn in to the extent my car feels unstable over 50 on motorway in wet conditions.

Replacing with Goodyear ultra grip 8's, reviews amazing on that tyre for the winter
tyre reviewed on November 4, 2013   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.2 TSI 105HP (185-55-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24,000 average miles
The tyres are only tested in Greek roads (a pretty tough test, hah?)and pretty good in dry conditions. However, when they are warm enough it seems as if the braking deteriorates and they even slip. In wet conditions they are very bad and they spin a lot in accelerations. You should never push them to the limit when it' raining. The wear is very good, I have switched them twice and I still believe I can make another 15km. Thus, I will change them in the 4th year of use which is the maximum I use any tyres because they harden after 4 summers. Finally, they are very quiet but I won't choose them again though VW did so for my car. I may go for Conti Eco Contact 5 or something.
tyre reviewed on November 1, 2013   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat 500 (185-55-15-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 19,000 spirited miles
OEM supplied tyres. Excellent for handling and grip although the FIAT recommended tyre pressures seem too high if driving solo. The tyres have quite a stiff sidewall and hard rubber and even with the pressures eased off by 5psi and the car driven hard, they remained cool.

Tyre wear was excellent with the fronts good for at least 20,000 miles and the rears probably for 30,000.

Comfort was not a high priority and the car is stiffly sprung.

On snow they were pretty good for summer tyres but in the rain the performance decreased quite a bit so that they never gave a feeling of great confidence and once down below 4mm they aquaplaned a couple of times.

tyre reviewed on October 29, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: