Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 90%
Handling 87%
Wear 89%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 82%
 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £80.60 - £86.90 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £68.19 - £80.00 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £123.26 - £131.00 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R17 £107.90 - £166.90 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 50 tyre sizes - View all.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 39% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 535d M Sport (245/45 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
These have moderate performance, but are blighted by two significant problems:
1. They are not round, so vibrate. This can be measured and confirmed on a road force balancer. I have bought 6 so far and still have a vibrating car. Dunlop customer services useless. The car is fine with a different set of tyres fitted, that are round.
2. They are a bit bouncy. It's an odd feeling, but not the end of the world.

In short, if you have a car that is sensitive to out of round tyres like a BMW, avoid these like the plague. I think I will probably have to end up putting them all in the bin (about a grands worth) and buying a different brand.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 14, 2017   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 6 Estate 2.2D Soport (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Mazda 6 - 2012 2.2d Sport. Fitted these to the front in late June 2017. 4000 miles later Still showing over 7mm tread. Grippy and quiet. Track very straight wet and dry. Far nicer than Bridgestone Turanza ER300 they replaced. Cornering is assured and safe.
4 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2017   
Given 71% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 3 2014 (225/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 6,000 average miles
More than 6000 miles driven up and down hill on country roads.
OEM tyre was Dunlop maxx TT, very happy with them. Was a bit softer than those, did 40000 kilometers.
Dont know if is the size that make the different or the fact they made in different factory. Car must have 215/45/18 but they are hart to find so we go for 225/40/18. The car is only 120hp, so wheel spin is no issue, but now is no big problem, considering that traction control is on all times. Maybe is a harder compound.
Taking in consideration that they cost a good amount of money i have to wait until they show a good amount of wear to start thinking to replace them.
Over all not a bat tire, a good i may say, maybe the size or the compound make the difference, time will show.
2 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2017   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda Mazda3 1.6dTRS (205/50 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Excellent tires.

Very durable, excellent traction.
In the dry, they are superb, in Wet, they have never failed me even though I also have some extra care.

I made about 100000kms with a set of SportMaxx RT. I hope to achieve the same goal with the Sportmaxx RT2
19 - tyre reviewed on August 3, 2017   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 325d M Sport (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
Mounted these on my bmw 325d e90, the tire walls are too soft even when inflated at 3,0 bar. I have take them down and sold them as I could not live with them. I recommend buying goodyear asymmetrics instead
21 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2017   
Given 59% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf mk6 GTD (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Replaced bridgestone potenza tyres with these because of the good reviews, but i must say i'm quite disappointed. the Bridgestones are far better in handling and road feedback. The side walls of the dunlop's are way too soft in my opinion. Not sporty at all. They collapse under hard cornering, even with 2.8bar pressure. The only thing i like about them is the comfort level on highway. This tyre should not be presented as sport maxx performance tyre. Touring tyre suits better. Thanks you all for reading.
15 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2017   
Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen passat w8 4motion (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Y only can say very good y happy white my choice.
5 - tyre reviewed on June 4, 2017   
Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport (225/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 200 spirited miles
Replaced my front Bridgestone tyres as they were worn out, and immediately you can feel the comfort and grip on the road. I do a lot of motorway driving on the weekend in the U.K so there is a lot of rain, but these tyres grip just as well in the wet as they do in the dry. Very happy with the purchase so far also they are extremely quiet. I've also noticed I'm getting more miles to the gallon so even more of a bonus.
22 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2017   
SEAT (235/35 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Noticed the grip straight away. Replaced front Bridgestone tyres with these and was impressed immediately.
14 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2017