Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 84%
Wear 83%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 77%
 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £75.30 - £82.00 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £64.50 - £77.90 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £125.30 - £130.56 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R18 £132.40 - £135.00 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 71 tyre sizes - View all.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 84% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
I've had these on a 2015 typeR, so plenty of power to chew the tyres up. i also upsized from factory 235/35r19 to 255/35r19 on the rt2.
i use these in warmer weather only and swap to winter tyres for the cold months so i've seen about 2.5 years/15k miles out of these, including two trackdays.
lasted far better than the conti CSC6's that needed replacing after 9month/4.5k however comparing rt2 to csc6, the rt2's do feel a bit numb with feedback. This does have benefits from a smoother ride on rough roads, but doesnt make it quite as enjoyable when pushing on. RT2 does give you confidence in the curves and you can tell when nearing the limit. near as damn-it doesn't matter for road dry grip and wet grip is far better than csc6.
for the cost of the tyre and reviews they get, it's hard to not seriously consider this tyre for the road. I'm torn between the cheaper price of the RT2 or performance of the PS4S for my replacement set...
0 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2019   
Given 96% while driving a Toyota Caldina GT 4 (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Bought these tyres after toasting through a pair of Pirelli Dragons, had them on a whole year and they have worn really well compared to the Pirelli. In the wet It is possible to break grip under boost turning, but otherwise had no traction issues. Emergency stopping grip is amazing, when combined with EBC greenstuff.

They turn in better and roll better than the older tyres, requiring steering adjustment to driving over the old tyres. No noticeable increase in road noise, very confident in the tyres performance. Would absolutely recommend for any performance AWD vehicle and will purchase them again unless the RT3 is released.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2018   
Given 30% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 170 tdi (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I bought the Dunlop tyres after reading all the reviews and the different tyre tests. Anything other than warm dry roads and the grip is very disappointing. Wheel spinning in first and second gear on typical British damp or wet roads. I have no confidence in the grip of these tyres and after 10k they have hit the wear band. If you want a quiet tyre with low rolling resistance go for the Dunlops. If you want a tyre for grip and decent wear avoid these.
9 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2018   
Given 96% while driving a Volvo V40 D4 Cross Country (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 spirited miles
Great tyres I put on my Volvo V40 cross country. Excellent gip on both wet and dry. Great control of the car in any conditions. Fantastic wear after 25K miles still 5 mm left
2 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2018   
Jaguar 2.2 diesel saloon (235/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 14 spirited miles
Fitted these to my 55 plate X Type 2.2 diesel! This car has been fitted with Bilstien top spec gas shocks and lowered on performance springs! The car itself is tuned to 186 bhp approx and is very sporty!
On stock tyres Pirelli the abs was always kicking in, only seen the light once since upgrades and drives superbly! Like on rails even in the wet! Just ordered a set for my 2.7 Twin Turbo V6 S Type! Also tuned! 😎
4 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2018   
Given 69% while driving a BMW 320d SE (e46) Saloon (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 1,900 average miles
I have bought 2 tyres , 225 40 18 92y, to fit on the front axle in my Bmw 320d E46. I have chosen them based on reviews and many tyres test found on the internet. Previously, i used to have Conti Sport Contact 5, so i will compare Dunlop with Conti. When i started to search for tyres, I tried to find a comfortable, quiet and a low mass tyre, because it can be a 1,5 kg difference between tyres brands. So i decided to buy Dunlop Sport MAxx rt2:
- dry grip is good, the tyre is sticky when it's getting hot, but the lateral walls are way to soft. It's good for ride quality, but not for high speed corners. The tyre simply can't hold the weight of the car in a sporty drive, even with 2,7 bar pressure.
- wet grip is ok, but the problem with softness still remains, so the car gets some understeer, both in dry and wet;
- road feedback is good, but not as good as Conti SC5. Sometimes, the car understeers, but i can't feel it in the steering wheel. With Conti, i knew better what;s going on with front wheels;
- wear is good i think, i've done about 3.000 km with these tyres , with some sporty drive, and they are as new;
- comfort is good, they are quiet and comfortable to drive;
- i will not buy them again, just because of the softness of the sidewalls. These tyres can't hold the car in high speed or tight corners, not because the grip, but because the deformation of the sidewalls;
I think they suit more for city driving, or cars with less mass, like Golf, Astra, Focus.
I would buy again Conti SC5, or Michelin PS4.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2018   
Given 83% while driving a Ford Fiesta ST180 (205/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,500 spirited miles
I bought these tyres instead of Asy 3's or PS3's (PS4's wasn't available at the time of purchase), because they was slightly cheaper at the time of purchase and I was curious to see how they performed. In the Fiesta ST180 world, the majority of people tend to go for PS3's or Rainsports as a cheaper alternative however I didn't see the point in getting rainsports when they apparently don't last very long. Back to the Sport Maxx RT2. I am quite an aggressive driver in terms of late braking when safe to do so, typical spirited drive around country side etc. I am very impressed with how they handle. After a couple of thousand miles of typical commuting and the odd country drive, I went for a driving day with some friends around the lake district. The weather was typical beginning of summer / end of spring, and was a mixture of greasy roads and sunshine throughout the day. I gave the car some beans through the country roads expecting oversteer or a bit of a wobble, however the RT2's just kept me planted. Especially when they are warm they are superb handling in the dry and are very impressive in the wet. They give you a lot of confidence going into a corner and again with the braking and sort of let you know when your pushing a bit too much in the wet and give you a chance to sort yourself out. The wear rate so far is absolutely fine, I have had a unknown tracking issue which has lead one tyre to wear a lot faster however overall they have taken a beating and have plenty of life left. I'm hoping to take them on track soon. A potential downside for some but equally a good thing for daily driving is the side walls. They seem a little soft in comparison to say the PS3's and have a similar contrast to the Ays 3's in that respect. The road noise is minimal and as expected when you go over a poorly tarmac road and are very comfortable. I would most certainly buy these tyres again, however I am tempted to try PS4's further down the line to see if they are as good as people make out. But for a lesser popular tyre, I would most definitely recommend the Sport Maxx RT2. Well done Dunlop.
3 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2018   
Given 59% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 2tdi (225/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
I think I am unlucky with them. After 10000 miles start wearing on middle to the point I have to return them to garage and used warranty from Dunlop.Never see something like this before. Tyre pressure was checked ones a week and suspension, tracking and alligment is bang on. They wear in 10000 miles to 2.5 mm . Very disappointed . Audi A6 2.0 tdi 190 s tronic
29 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2018   
Opel (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
After trying the Sport Maxx RT I had to install the new version of the Dunlops. And so far I can say that I am impressed by them.
The tyre is ever so good if not even better that the RT. I do believe they warm up faster than the RT's. On the dry road it is truly excellent but I was impressed by them on the wet. The RT's were very good on the wet but these are awesome. They proovide great security. The comfort is on a very high level since they are truly quiet. No wheel spin so far.
On the other side, they are a bit soft on the turns if you drive fast which is something you have to be used to. Also a vibration occured while driving around 120Km/h a couple of times but not every day.

I would definitely reccomend them if you want a sport tyre without much noise.
13 - tyre reviewed on February 27, 2018   
Given 90% while driving a Fiat Bravo (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
Dunlop has made a great tyre. I spent 80 euros each and I'm so happy about my deal. There is no reason to buy a cheap tyre when you have the opportunity to buy a premium tyre for this price. On the wet is great, and in every occasion I felt the tyre work hard to give the best response. I will buy it again because I think it's the best compromise between quality and premium tyres. I'm really sorry for my English, I tried my best. Best regards to you
11 - tyre reviewed on February 12, 2018