tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Event WL905


Show all: Event tyres, Passenger Car Summer Ultra High Performance tyres
The Event WL905 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 87 tyre reviews averaging 48% over 664,179 miles driven.
 


Event WL905
Dry Grip
63%

Wet Grip
33%

Road Feedback
47%

Progressiveness
43%

Wear
62%

Comfort
53%

Buy again
34%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £35.66 - £35.66 (1 prices)
225/45 R17 £39.26 - £39.26 (1 prices)
225/40 R18 £42.00 - £42.00 (1 prices)
Available in 14 tyre sizes - View all.

Event WL905 Reviews

Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A3 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
Having had a slew of Avons and Michelins before that, I put these on the front because the car was not being used much. Dry grip is OK, but in the wet you are sliding at almost every roundabout (glad I only have fronts). Plenty of slipping under acceleration right up to third gear. They wear very well, too well. In fact, they feel more like plastic than rubber. However, I have improved the grip by running them under-inflated. In my case this, 2.5-3psi down on the normal 31psi pressure.
tyre reviewed on November 11, 2014   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Laguna sport tourer (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 18,000 easy going miles
Have had these fitted on my laguna estate for the last 10 years, put on for the price, perhaps the owners of the previous comments need to learn how to drive properly ( there is a place to drive like a moron, its called a track) yep will always have these fitted get nearly 18k out of the front tyres, quiet ride and funnily enough have no problems with wheel spin or slipping.
tyre reviewed on November 3, 2014   
Looking to buy the Event WL905? Click here to search for the best price for the Event WL905 or any other tyre.
 
Given 53% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 4,000 average miles
Quite honestly the worst tyres I've ever had on a car! Dry performance was adequate however in the wet it was like driving on ice - wheel spinning in 3rd to 55!

They really should be called DitchFinders
tyre reviewed on November 3, 2014   
Given 17% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta (225-80-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Shockingly poor tyre. Bought a Fiesta with a pair of these on the rear wheels and just had them taken off. The car span out on a roundabout a couple of weeks ago and it certainly wasn't being pushed hard. There was no progressive warning. This one little spin was enough to wear the tyre from above the wear limiters to the cloth under the tread. Upon removal both rear tyres have large cracks on the inside sidewall which is very dangerous and wouldn't have been seen normally without removal. This was incredible considering that there is no way these tyres can be more than 3 years old.
tyre reviewed on November 1, 2014   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic Type S 2.2 i-CDTi (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
firstly I do NOT understand half of the questions here, and in my experience it is the roads that are noisy not the tyres. However having swapped a R53 Mini Cooper S with runflats (incredible handling) for a Honda Civic Type S gt 2.2 CDTi , I got 4 of these tyres fitted because of the price. In general no bother, been driving for 38 years now and can honestly say a tyre is a tyre to me. I was aware some say no grip in the wet, I only experienced one problem last month a very slight skid in a downpour in the Lake District, I might add I am a very sensible driver and do NOT hammer a car to its limits.
tyre reviewed on October 22, 2014   
Given 30% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus Zetec (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Had 4 of these (new on my car when bought) removed them still with 7.5mm tread and replaced with michelin pilot p3. Quite frankly the events are just dangerous. They should not be sold.
tyre reviewed on October 16, 2014   
Given 10% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus ST 225 (2003-2007) (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
The worst tyres I've ever come across in 25 years of driving. Wouldn't fit them on a mobility scooter. Absolute rubbish.
tyre reviewed on October 14, 2014   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C320 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Im amazed at some of the bad reviews of these tyres.
I bought a full set of 16" Events for my 3.2L Mercedes C Class (RWD) and although the first few miles they indeed did feel very slippy they soon scrubbed in and have been more than adequate for the subsequent 2 years.
I have driven in all kinds of conditions over all kinds of road surfaces at all kinds of speeds and they have been great. in fact they were almost fit and forget.
The previous tyres fitted were Bridgestone Potenzas that wore out in less that 5000 miles (which considering the cost was quite alarming)
tyre reviewed on October 6, 2014   
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 330d (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
I've got these tyres on the rear wheels of my BMW 330d, no shortage of torque here, and whilst I've experienced a little sliding around on corners in the wet, it has not been anywhere near the extent reported in other reviews. In dry conditions and at speed, the tyres performed well. I've only done 2500 miles since purchase and tyre wear is a little more than I'd expect, but for the price I'm not complaining. Surely these tyres must have been inspected by the appropriate Govt bodies before being allowed to be sold to the UK public.
tyre reviewed on October 3, 2014   
Given 49% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
Car bought with these on the front and they have lasted well but wet grip is terrible, almost dangerous. Wheels spin when setting off even without much power applied (Only a 1.8 Mondeo !) and slide very easily on corners. Now got some Michelin Energy savers on and they are a massive improvement. You get what you pay for, spend a bit more and get something decent.
tyre reviewed on August 30, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: