Falken Eurowinter HS449

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 78%
Wear 84%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 91%

The Falken Eurowinter HS449 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Falken Eurowinter HS439

Show All

Tyre review data from 29 tyre reviews averaging 85% over 123,406 miles driven.

Tyre Test Highlights

2012 Auto Bild 42 Winter Tyre Braking Test - 5th of 43 tyres

2015 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 6th of 19 tyres

2015 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 165/70 R14 - 7th of 16 tyres

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Falken Eurowinter HS449

Questions and Answers for the Falken Eurowinter HS449

2017-04-01 - Purchased a BMW 3 series with Eurowinter rotation tyres. I live in the UK where temperatures range from -3 (rarely) to 20 degrees celcius. Can I use these tyres in the warmer months or do they need replacing?

Legally you can use the Falken HS449 winter tyre year round, however you will find the grip, in particularly wet grip in the warmer months will be poor, so it is recommended you make the switch to summer tyres.


2017-05-04 - can these tires be used all year long or just in the winter;what do you recommend?

While the Falken HS449 can be used year round, you will notice a significant drop in performance during the summer months, specifically in dry and wet braking. This is why we always recommend switching back to summer tyres during the summer months.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £59.38 - £80.60 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/60 R16 £63.80 - £72.00 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/60 R17 £76.12 - £86.60 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 65 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Falken Eurowinter HS449 Review

Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Puma 1.7 (195/50 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 800 average miles
This tyre got me interested firstly on looks. Wide lateral shoulder blocks and plenty of sipes. Having used several other winter tyre brands in the past and a interest in winter tyre development I thought I'd give them a try. Regular driving is satisfactory wet or dry but the hs449 come into its
Own up the hills through Derbyshire in around 4/5inchs of fresh snow and slush. The ford puma needs all the help it can get in snow and the hs449 worked better for me than previous high end brands I have tried.
101 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2013   

Latest Falken Eurowinter HS449 Reviews

Have you driven on the Falken Eurowinter HS449 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Eurowinter HS449.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo brera (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 6 spirited miles
Had these on the Alfa Romeo Brera V6 Q4 since September last year ... in normal conditions they perform well, good in the wet and dry, now we have had some proper winter conditions here in the UK and I have been driving in the snow for the last few days, and I must say they are exemplary... yes the car has 4wd, but a 2wd car in the snow on winters is better than a 4wd on summers in the snow! The grip is very good and confidence inspiring... able to brake down hill on packed snow (car weights 1.8 tons too!) able to climb any hill I'm presented with , generally feel fantastic compared to most of the other people tip toeing around and sliding about.... thoroughly recommended, and a decent price!
0 - tyre reviewed on February 28, 2018   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Subaru 04 WRX (215/45 R17 V) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
Fitted these Falken HS 449 2 years ago to my Subaru and very impressed all round. Great in the dry, very good in the wet and completely capable in heavy snow. A tough tyre that I use all year round. Very recommendable.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2018   
Trying to pick the BEST tyre possible for your car? Watch this!
Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a CitroŽn C4 (205/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 5,000 miles
Having read so many positive feedbacks I left wondering if I drove the same tyre.
It's not a bad tyre but still it had vibrations above 130 km/h, and never felt a proper grip on snow and ice.
I've been driving along with two other similar fwd cars and I was the only one who didn't manage on snow/ice uphill (other two were with Michelin Alpin A4 and Goodyear UG9).
On the good side they are very good on dry and wet roads with very good wear resistance.
I replaced the front wheel set with Nokian WR D4 and honestly the Nokians performed worse on dry and wet. Still waiting for the snow though.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 24, 2017   
Given 37% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 17,500 spirited miles
Tire very hard, lots of wheel spin even when pulling away from traffic lights moderately, quite a lot of road noise.

Lateral grip so-so, braking so-so, wear not great, not recommended without ESP.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2017   
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo S60 D5 AWD P* (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
They aren't terrible, just not that good. Good economy tires (around 100 euro per piece) but nothing more. Don't expect too much out of them.
14 - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2017   

See all 26 customer reviews of the Falken Eurowinter HS449 (newest first) >>