tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Federal Formoza FD2


Show all: Federal tyres, Passenger Car Summer Touring tyres
The Federal Formoza FD2 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 9 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 20,531 miles driven.
 


Federal Formoza FD2
Dry Grip
77%

Wet Grip
66%

Road Feedback
78%

Progressiveness
60%

Wear
76%

Comfort
80%

Buy again
62%


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £42.22 - £48.60 (2 prices)
205/55 R16 £79.00 - £79.00 (1 prices)
225/45 R17 £67.60 - £79.00 (5 prices)
Available in 32 tyre sizes - View all.

Tyre Test Results:

Federal Formoza FD2 Reviews

Given 67% (breakdown) while driving a Rover 75 auto (215-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on November 10, 2013   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A6 (255-40-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Comparing with Continenetal SP3, FD2 feels very soft and comfort. Very low noise and steering is lighter. In curves not slippy but feel soft and bendable. I would not recommend to sporty driving but to town and highways feels comfoftable.
tyre reviewed on October 9, 2013   
Looking to buy the Federal Formoza FD2? Click here to search for the best price for the Federal Formoza FD2 or any other tyre.
 
Given 59% (breakdown) while driving a Subaru Outback 3.0L (215-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 31 easy going miles
Not a sports tyre in any way, but having very acceptable handling and grip including wet.

BUT …………..

whilst the ride quality is good, the road noise is awful and shows a very marked difference between different road surfaces. Great with a newly surfaced road with fine tarmac, the drive is almost silent BUT here in Northlands that isn’t 90% of the roads! In my Subaru Outback 3.0L the noise is terrible...... I wont be buying these tyres again just because of the noise!
tyre reviewed on August 28, 2012   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz E320 (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,500 average miles
Far better than they should be for the price, not a sports tyre in any way, but having very acceptable handling and grip including wet.
They excel in ride quality and noise, very quiet on the road, find a newly surfaced road with fine tarmac and the drive is silent.

Nice to have non directional tyres again, will be able to rotate much easier.

Will buy again, they really are cheap at half the price.
tyre reviewed on June 17, 2012   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Mitsubishi lancer (215-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
I replaced my Yokohama Advan, that the car came with for this tyre. I am very pleased so far, not only are they quieter. The overall handling of the car does not seem to be different, than when the Yokohama tyres were on the car. Also I have been keeping an eye on tyre wear, and they seam to wearing better than the previous tyres. I have not driven in the snow yet, so cannot comment on that. But wet weather grip is good.
tyre reviewed on November 20, 2011   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Galaxy (215-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Superb tyres at an incredible price - almost performing as well as my previous Goodyear Excellence; highly recommended!
tyre reviewed on May 26, 2011   
Given 32% (breakdown) while driving a Mitsubishi Australian 380 same as US Galant (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 2,000 spirited miles
Quiet = YES-9/10
Grip in dry = poor
Grip in wet = Dangerous
Never Buy again
tyre reviewed on October 29, 2010   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Corolla (205-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
The tire is made in Taiwan with fair price, treadwear 420, Y rating with mud+snow, famous for silence anc comfort. If you are looking for a set of tire which not expensive but with long service life and comfort/silence, FD2 is one of your best choice. However, if you are looking for something sporty, it's not for your dish.
tyre reviewed on January 4, 2010   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 6 Series (215-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Early days yet but these tyres are performing well so far. Dry grip is good with a decent amount of feedback and plenty of warning at the limit. Grip on wet roads is far better than I thought it would be considering this is a summer tyre. Comfort on all road surfaces is definitely a step up from the very worn Pirellis they replaced. How they will wear over time remains to be seen, but overall these are not bad at all for a budget tyre and I would definitely buy again at the price.
tyre reviewed on March 3, 2009   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: