tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings


Show all: Federal tyres, Passenger Car Summer High Performance tyres
The Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 114 tyre reviews averaging 56% over 1,144,432 miles driven.

Dry Grip

Wet Grip

Road Feedback




Buy again

Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £42.00 - £47.30 (2 prices)
225/45 R17 £48.00 - £51.80 (4 prices)
225/40 R18 £56.00 - £58.90 (2 prices)
235/35 R19 £75.40 - £75.40 (4 prices)
Available in 84 tyre sizes - View all.

Tyre Test Results:

Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL Reviews

Given 51% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Chaser (245-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
Owned a set on my JZX100 Toyota Chaser. Abit noisy in the dry and steering feel is at tad numb with the soft sidewall.

In the dry these tyres have good to decent grip and not to mention progressive too. Tyres talk back and can drive close to the limit before it screeches.

In the rain these tyres are terrible. Dont even hope of having grip what so ever. Can barely get traction off the line, just spins the rear wheels. Dont dare to drive fast in the rain, you will stack your car into a tree or gutter.

But it is run the rear out in the rain at 20/30/40 km/h.

Cant comment on tyre wear, but hope these wear out soon, excuse to get new tyres.
tyre reviewed on November 11, 2015   
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Mitsubishi Colt (205-45-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Not bad tyres for the money they cost. Their biggest downside is noise in the cabin and their very average grip on wet.
tyre reviewed on November 7, 2015   
Looking to buy the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL? Click here to search for the best price for the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL or any other tyre.
Given 36% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz S500 (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
very noisy on my Benz s500.
tyre reviewed on October 2, 2015   
Given 51% (breakdown) while driving a Subaru 04 WRX (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
I have an AWD car so dry grip is already an advantage although in the wet.. had a bit of tramlining which shows it does have very bad road feedback.

ITS VERY NOISY.... i am looking to change tyres soon as these are not good, but they are a budget tyre!
tyre reviewed on August 27, 2015   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Land Rover Discovery 2 (255-55-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 32,000 spirited miles
awesome tyre for the money, fitted to my discovery td5, last for 32thousand miles,great grip in the wet dry anything.
tyre reviewed on June 7, 2015   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Innova (225-55-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
For the price and performance, this is a great buy. Used for over 15 months both on and off-road. Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on May 26, 2015   
Given 37% (breakdown) while driving a Nissan Silvia (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Absolutely horrendous tyres. I bought my Silvia S15 about 2 months ago with these tyres on the rear, i expected them to be pretty mediocre except much to my surprise they are OKAY in the dry - however the first time driving them in the wet I honestly thought I was going to die, I even pulled over for a bit. Aquaplaned every 30 seconds or so & even loses traction going 60km around a small bend.
I've since ordered Potenza Adrenalin RE003 which seem like amazing tyres.

DO NOT purchase these tyres unless you want a deathwish. I've never fully understood the importance of premium tyres until experiencing the absolute atrocious quality of the SS595 Super Steels
tyre reviewed on April 22, 2015   
Given 49% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Fabia vRS (205-45-16-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 50 average miles
Expect shortcomings if you're prepared to buy budget tyres.
tyre reviewed on November 10, 2014   
Given 0% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Fabia vRS (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 50 average miles
These are budget tyres and for the price I paid and what I needed them for, ie motorway miles, they were generally ok, but be very careful pushing in the wet, and they aquaplane very easily. Bear in mind the tyres are budget priced, and have limitations. The infinity's I have on now are much better in the wet, but will they last as long?
tyre reviewed on November 10, 2014   
Given 23% (breakdown) while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer GT (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Seriously, don't buy these tires if you value your life.

The dry grip is not so good at all. Worst during wet. They just simply gave way. I was doing roughly 60KM/H in the rain and the car was all over the road. Even a Hilux can tailgate me.

Can't wait to throw them and get better ones.
tyre reviewed on October 22, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!

Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with cartyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Search by Tyre Size: