tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL


Show all: Federal tyres, Passenger Car Summer High Performance tyres
The Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 110 tyre reviews averaging 56% over 1,119,232 miles driven.
 


Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL
Dry Grip
69%

Wet Grip
48%

Road Feedback
56%

Progressiveness
54%

Wear
69%

Comfort
50%

Buy again
44%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £42.52 - £50.20 (2 prices)
225/45 R17 £45.94 - £57.40 (4 prices)
225/40 R18 £54.47 - £84.30 (4 prices)
235/35 R19 £80.80 - £80.80 (4 prices)
Available in 54 tyre sizes - View all.

Tyre Test Results:

Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL Reviews

Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Land Rover Discovery 2 (255-55-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 32,000 spirited miles
awesome tyre for the money, fitted to my discovery td5, last for 32thousand miles,great grip in the wet dry anything.
tyre reviewed on June 7, 2015   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Innova (225-55-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
For the price and performance, this is a great buy. Used for over 15 months both on and off-road. Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on May 26, 2015   
Looking to buy the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL? Click here to search for the best price for the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL or any other tyre.
 
Given 37% (breakdown) while driving a Nissan Silvia (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Absolutely horrendous tyres. I bought my Silvia S15 about 2 months ago with these tyres on the rear, i expected them to be pretty mediocre except much to my surprise they are OKAY in the dry - however the first time driving them in the wet I honestly thought I was going to die, I even pulled over for a bit. Aquaplaned every 30 seconds or so & even loses traction going 60km around a small bend.
I've since ordered Potenza Adrenalin RE003 which seem like amazing tyres.

DO NOT purchase these tyres unless you want a deathwish. I've never fully understood the importance of premium tyres until experiencing the absolute atrocious quality of the SS595 Super Steels
tyre reviewed on April 22, 2015   
Given 49% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Fabia vRS (205-45-16-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 50 average miles
Expect shortcomings if you're prepared to buy budget tyres.
tyre reviewed on November 10, 2014   
Given 0% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Fabia vRS (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 50 average miles
These are budget tyres and for the price I paid and what I needed them for, ie motorway miles, they were generally ok, but be very careful pushing in the wet, and they aquaplane very easily. Bear in mind the tyres are budget priced, and have limitations. The infinity's I have on now are much better in the wet, but will they last as long?
tyre reviewed on November 10, 2014   
Given 23% (breakdown) while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer GT (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Seriously, don't buy these tires if you value your life.

The dry grip is not so good at all. Worst during wet. They just simply gave way. I was doing roughly 60KM/H in the rain and the car was all over the road. Even a Hilux can tailgate me.

Can't wait to throw them and get better ones.
tyre reviewed on October 22, 2014   
Given 53% (breakdown) while driving a Subaru 04 WRX (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
Yes they do have grip all around and are
Cheap for what you get although they are noisy especially
While turning! But if you got a loud exhaust and/or music pumping
Its no big deal !
tyre reviewed on September 3, 2014   
Given 12% (breakdown) while driving a BMW z4 (255-35-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 600 average miles
worst tyres i have ever had on a car complete and utter rubbish they are cheap for a reason. they actually frighten me. at 40mph around slight curves in the road in the dry the DSC is cutting in the rear of the car feels like i have jelly tyres and in the wet they just give way have tried different pressures etc but facing the fact they are useless terrible terrible tyres will change as soon as possible.
tyre reviewed on July 15, 2014   
Given 46% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz CLK350 Coupe (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 16,000 easy going miles
I had these 595's, 255/35z/r18 90w, fitted new to the Merc CLK 350 when I bought it 4 years ago and had no real issues with them until the MOT this week when both rears failed due to splits in the side walls. The tyres have only done some 16,000 miles over 4 years. I have tried to contact Federal but they seem very shy!
tyre reviewed on June 25, 2014   
Given 33% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
cheap tyre, but there are cheaper and same priced tyres which are much better than this loud and uncomfort tyres. I really don't care about tyre performance for my TDI because I drive low on coilovers on 18' & 19' wheels, but these tyres are pain in the ass especialy on highway.
tyre reviewed on April 29, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: