Firestone RoadHawk

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 67%
Handling 53%
Wear 48%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 44%

The Firestone RoadHawk is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The Firestone Roadhawk targets mainstream motorists who drive all types of journeys – urban, highway, commute, school run, shopping – on a daily basis. These drivers want a tyre that gives them long-lasting performance in road conditions where wet weather, heavy traffic, sudden braking and motorway speed are all part of the daily mix. In short, a tyre they can always count on.

Show All

Tyre review data from 15 tyre reviews averaging 65% over 68,850 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 18th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Short dry braking.
  • Negative - Understeer balance handling and limited steering precision in the dry and wet, poor aquaplaning reserves.
  • Overall - Conditionally recommended.

2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout - 13th of 45 tyres

2019 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 - 5th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Top marks on dry roads.
  • Negative - A little weaker in the wet, slightly high fuel consumption.
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Firestone RoadHawk

Questions and Answers for the Firestone RoadHawk

2017-04-24 - Are Firestone Roadhawk tyres Directional as regard fitting, or can they be fitted any way, ie inside out etc.

The Firestone RoadHawk is an asymmetric tyre so can be fitted in either direction, just make sure the "outside" is on the outside of the wheel.


2017-08-14 - I will be needing new tyres in approx. 6 months and wondered if the Firestone Roadhawk is due to be tested this year. It appears to be in my price range, and seems better than most at that price point. I just wondered if anything conclusive has been printed??

All the summer tests of 2017 have been published now, but if you read our launch report there are some figures from TUV which shows the Firestone RoadHawk performing favourably.


2017-08-17 - These firestone tyres have not been tested against a 'good ' tyre such as the Hankook Ventus Prime 3. They have been compared with lesser tyres I believe. And they don't seem to be available with 95 rating only 99 or XL rating. Which I am not looking for as my car has quite hard suspension anyway. Would you think the Hankook tyres would be a better purchase?

I would argue the Uniroyal RainSport 3, Fulda EcoControl HP, Kleber Dynaxer HP3 and Nexen N Blue Plus TUV tested the RoadHawk against, which is covered in the RoadHawk launch report, are good tyres for the sector. Unfortunately I've seen no benchmark for comfort so can't comment on which option will be more comfortable.


2017-09-05 - What is the thread depth of the Firestone Roadhawk 195/65/15 please?

I believe the starting tread depth of the Firestone RoadHawk is a little over 7mm.


2018-06-20 - is the roadhawk 94w run flat tyre?

As far as I'm aware there is no runflat version of the RoadHawk currently.


2019-02-19 - where are the tyres made ?

Firestone and Bridgestone use factories all over the world, you would have to check directly with Firestone for the size you are looking at.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £38.10 - £49.40 (28 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £45.00 - £57.00 (28 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £65.00 - £79.30 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £58.00 - £67.90 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £77.00 - £90.10 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 67 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Firestone RoadHawk Review

Given 61% while driving a SEAT ALhambra TDi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Purchased Two front tyres @ Halfords as they where cheap for a mid to premium tyre and had £20 Argos voucher attached.
When I checked tyre tread depth found only 7mm middle and 6.5mm outer edge.
Never had a new tyre under 8mm before, alway 8 to 10mm.
May be that's why there cheap!
Will contact Firestone to see why.
435 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2017   

Latest Firestone RoadHawk Reviews

Have you driven on the Firestone RoadHawk tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the RoadHawk.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 53% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
I have fitted these tyres on my Giulietta last summer and the car felt worse from the beginning. The ride was rough and there were vibrations felt through the seat and in the steering wheel at high speeds. I tried balancing several times, even at a road force balancing machine that revealed uniformity issues. Indeed, during these 5000 miles I had to rebalance them every so often. As it is mentioned in other posts, the deflection of these tyres is huge, the sidewalls seem very soft and therefore cornering is a mess. I didn't find them quiet either and their wear rate was poor. First, they have around 7mm when they are brand new and they were down to 4.5-5mm in 5000 miles of really average driving. Overall, I cannot recommend this tyre especially when you can buy a premium one at this price range.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2019   
Given 57% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI (195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Came with car as factory fit, very good dry and wet grip, for normal driving (without any sport driving intentions because when you push them to a limit they start to loose grip easly) handling is more than fine, on higher speeds can get noisy. Most of the time II had feeling that I don't feel what's happening with car, and in my opinion road feedback is not so good. I wouldn't recommend buying these tyres to premium or any other cars than small or city cars. They are ok tyres, although there are better out there for the same price.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2019   
Looking for new tyres? Watch this video now!
Given 45% while driving a Alfa Romeo GTV (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Have these on the front of my alfa gtv 2.0 ,Bit of a mixed bag to be honest feel very grippy in the dry but I dont think they do much for the handling at all have had them push out in the dry on corners and
they seem to cause the front of the car to bounce around. The bigest surprise was the loss of traction in the wet in a straight line , the gtv is no rocket ship but they wheel spin in the wet when the t spark engine hits the power band not good at all, they are being put on the back of the car and replaced with somthing that is a lot firmer
0 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2018   
Given 72% while driving a Nissan 200sx (205/50 R17) on mostly town for 200 average miles
I have recently fitted these tyres to the rear of my car (RWD). So far they have been a comfortable, grippy tyre in the wet and dry, although I have not found its limit yet. The downsides I have found with this tyre are that they don't come with a rim protector, which added to the overall look of the tyre. As a result, the sidewall looks a bit thinner than it is. The sidewall is also very soft, to the touch and to look at. The tyre constantly looks under-inflated when in fact it is not.
And finally the biggest downside - as mentioned by other posters - the tyre only comes with a tread depth of ~6mm when new. This is less than any other new tyre I have bought.
Overall, a good performing, reasonably prices tyre, although there are better out there for the same price.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2018   
Given 94% while driving a SEAT Leon (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
For this price tyres are really good. Excellent dry grip. I recenty bought them and didnt drive at wet condition. Looks like there is less than 8mm of tyre when bought new.They are produced in new Bridgestone factory in Hungary.
They have much better grip then 3,5 years old Michelins, that I had before. On other car I drive new Nokian Line, and this tyre feels the same at road. Sidewall looks a little bit softer when touched then expected. I would allways recommend Continental if you have money, but if budget is too low this tyre does the same job.
6 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2018   

See all 15 customer reviews of the Firestone RoadHawk (newest first) >>

Advertisement