General Grabber UHP

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 76%
Wear 86%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 85%
 
Size Price Range  
Available in 3 tyre sizes - View all.

General Grabber UHP Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 83% while driving a Nissan Navara 2.5tdi (255/60 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Brilliant tyre. I have a Navara truck which I have owned for 10 years. I am now on my 3rd set of these. As an all-round tyre they are great. I am not a green-laner, but when I do go off road these tyres grip well. In the snow (very deep snow a few years ago) they perform well. No need for a summer/winter set or an on-road/off-road set. These will do just fine. They last well too.
7 - tyre reviewed on March 5, 2016   
Given 59% while driving a Volkswagen Touareg (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 25,000 spirited miles
The Grabber UHP has been replaced by the Grabber GT.
The UHP was very good in its day [it is now an old tyre] both on and off road with a minimum of 5mm of tread.
Then it gets noisy.
There are much better tyres out there now {October 2013] such as the Michelin Latitude Cross - a far superior, proper, 4x4 tyre that is quieter, more comfortable, grips better in all conditions on and off road, and, on wear to date, will do 40K compared to the 25K of the UHP.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2013   
Given 93% while driving a Land Rover Defender (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 60,000 average miles
Driving Land Rover Defender. 26,000 mile Towing 2 ton trailer and 34,000 mile on M roads, A & b roads total of 60,000 miles,renewing in another 2k mile rear tyres would get about 5k more but will replace the 4.Will I be replacing with General Grabbers you bet, It's a no brainer!
18 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2013   
Given 99% while driving a Suzuki Jimny (205/70 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 11,000 average miles
Suit the Jimny very well. Found to be nice and quiet, much better than the previous bridgestones. Good in the dry & wet, coped well in the snow and slush, seems to have improved the fuel use & wear has been excellent, still look good. When the fronts are due will use again.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2013   
Given 93% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Bought these to replace the stock "Goodyear Wrangler HP Allweathers". Those tyres weren't bad getting me through a very bad winter 2009/1010 but I decided to buy the grabbers after reading online reviews.

Subjectively the Grabbers seem to offer a little more feedback at the wheel,though they have a softer ride (maybe softer sidewalls).
In the dry the Grabbers were definitely superior with more feel as well as seemingly shorter braking distances, thus lending themselves to more spirited driving.
In the wet there hasn't even been a shimmy from the car. Which was supremely confidence inspiring.

Unfortunately apart from some frost/ice (which they performed admirably) I haven't had the snow to test the Generals and give a proper opinion. Which I guess makes it perfect for Ireland which snow/proper winters seems fairly rare.

Given the fact that they were cheaper than the original equipment Wrangler HP and have proven to be subjectively better with reasonable wear whe the time comes I'll buy another set of four.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 27, 2012   
Given 94% while driving a Suzuki Jimny (205/70 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Improved fuel efficiency over the previous Brigdestone's.
Dosn't tramline, nice and quiet on motoways and dual carriage ways genuinely feels solid on the wettest of roads, spirited driving on b roads provides a solid reassurance.
After 6 months still look like new.
Looking to fit to wife's Suzuki when tyre's are required.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2012   
Given 90% while driving a Hyundai Santa Fe (235/60 R18 V) on mostly town for 28,000 average miles
I am on my second set (replacing all 4 each time) and highly recommend these. On a Hyundai Sante Fe 2.2 Diesel, I am getting about 28k miles on non motorway driving. Dry grip is amazing and pretty good in the wet. Had no problems in the snow either.
OEM factory tyres were Hankooks (cant remember the model), these had poor mileage and only got 17K when all were needing replacing, so with the General Grabbers I have been very please with the wear rate and excellent performance. Have recommended these to other SUV owners. Got a non repairable puncture on O/S rear (large screw on tyre edge) and so decided to replace all 4 tyres with 2.3mm tread still remaining.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2012   
Given 90% while driving a Kia Motors Sportage (225/40 R16) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I got a full set of these for the Kia after wearing through a budget brand pretty swiftly, as, despite the car, and it's poxy 135 bhp, I do like a spirited drive. Price wise, I paid around the lower range of mid range, one of the cheaper proper branded tyre anyway.
The grip compared to the budget tyre is just phenomenal. With the increase in grip, there is far less wheel spin from the inner wheel on acceleration out of corners, and as such, much less wear. I was very happy with my purchase, and then came the rain.....
What a revelation. In the past, corners in the wet had to be treated like you were carrying Faberge Eggs in the back, not now, gives far more confidence and road holding into the curves.
Wear after 10k miles is pretty good, rears (front wheel drive only most of the time, but occasional 4X4) are still pretty much perfect, and fronts are lasting well too.
Would certainly buy again, and am going to get a set for my other cars too!
0 - tyre reviewed on June 16, 2012   
Advertisement