Goodride SV308

Dry Grip 75%
Wet Grip 64%
Road Feedback 64%
Handling 63%
Wear 77%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 65%

Goodride SV308 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 26% while driving a BMW 320i (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Had them on my 91 bmw dont tack on the road car weaved in lanes high speed things got worse went back to the dealer I paid for wheel alignment rebuilt the front control arms thinking the age of the car did wheel alignment again ,started on the rebuild of the rear and swapped the wheels to my 01 bmw and what you know the same sh*t I couldnt believe it, had the tires to long to take back stay away from these tires just Dangerous only good for a bonfire
5 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2018   
Given 51% while driving a Ford Kuga (235/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
Tire that does not fit for anything ... Totally uncomfortable, it even becomes hard and like a rock, noisy. As for safety it is medium ... Using a day-to-day driving style has medium braking distances and grip in the wet and dry both medium. Accuracy of direction and sensitivity of the road absolutely nothing. As for the wear, impressive ... I have never seen anything like it, they lasted almost 50k miles and they still rode more. replaced because the discomfort was already unbearable. I put some Nexen, a little more expensive, but a thousand times better in everything (except in the wear, I think I'll never see anything like this XD). I did not buy this tire, invest in something a little better. Believe me, the comfort of this tire is terrible ...
9 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2018   
Given 47% while driving a Skoda Yeti (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Inherited 4 x nearly new Westlake SV308s on my Yeti. In the dry they’re passable, but forget about any kind of decent grip in wet or icy conditions. The only thing I can say about them that’s positive is they never seem to wear out. I’m guessing they’re cheap too, but I’m currently looking to replace all four corners with something a little more capable.
2 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2017   
Given 84% while driving a Toyota ZT 4WD Caldina Wagon 2006 (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
Currently 25,000 kms and not worn out yet - maybe about 2/3 worn. Came new fitted by car yard as part of car purchase. Was a cheap new tyre that I imagined would give me a couple of years mixed driving. Our car is fulltime 4wd and having a directional matched set was a bit of a punt... I really enjoy the tyres and the overall experience is great. The tyres seem to be wearing evenly and don't push the car around too much on rough city roads. I live in Christchurch NZ which was hit by a big couple of earthquakes in 2010 and 2011 - these messed up our roads and the car/tyres have coped well. I am pricing them to fit new ones when this set wears out. Would definately fit another set - the tyre price for what is delivered is great value! Have travelled all through NZ on sealed and unsealed roads, dry and wet - no problems!
2 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2017   
Given 14% while driving a Honda Prelude 2.2vtec (215/40 R17) on for 0 miles
Had these put on the front of my 97 prelude to replace some Kingstar k106s. Could tell as soon as I left the tyre shop that the handling was much worse. Found that the car wanted to lose control just going in a straight line on a wet road. Took the car for a hill drive in light rain. Lost control on a bend and ended up facing the other way on the wrong side of the road. Luckily there were no other cars around. Went straight back and had them swapped for some Kingstar SK10s which are 100 times better handling. Cant comment on the dry as didnt have them on the car long enough. These SV308s are downright dangerous! They look nice, but spend some more money and get something thats not going to kill you. The money you saved buying them will go towards paying for your funeral...
13 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2017   
Given 86% while driving a MINI Cooper S (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 15,000 spirited miles
From reading your reviews it looks like there are a lot of drivers who shouldn't be behind the wheel a lot of whiners out there
122 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2016   
Given 79% while driving a Mitsubishi GTO Twin Turbo (225/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I have these fitted to a 280hp 4 wheel drive GT car and they are great for the money, they have a nice direct steering feel and are the extra load version. Grippy in the dry and almost as good in the wet, certainly a reasonable match for Kuhmos etc and other tier 2 brands but at a much better price, they run true and steer well at very high speed. I consider them to be quiet, and have low rolling resistance as I am getting 30-50km further on a tank of fuel.
4 - tyre reviewed on July 12, 2015   
Given 49% while driving a Citron C5 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 3,000 easy going miles
I have one of these tyres fitted new to the front of my new car by the car dealer to get it thru the MOT. At new the mid point tread depth was 5mm, the side 7mm. Put another way the tyres are effectively half worn when new. After 3,000 miles the centre depth is now 3mm. The Michelin tyre on the other side has barely worn at all. These are cheap budget tyres and its shows. I would not buy them myself.
5 - tyre reviewed on July 1, 2015   
Given 39% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 15,000 easy going miles
The only point i would like readers to remember and one i am surprised has not been highlighted by more reviewers (but i am a mechanic, so perhaps more in tune with automotive shortcomings) is the terrible un-uniformed tread depth these tyres come with from new - the centre 3/4 section at worst has 3.75-4mm of tread VS 7mm on the outside (new tyres should all have 7-8mm across the whole tyre contact area).

For those who are not aware, the MOT requires the centre 3/4s of the tyre to be no less than 1.6mm to pass the MOT, so clearly these tyres are already prematurely close to the minimum, which is a shame as they seem like a reasonable tyre, but for me, this reason alone is enough to return them for another brand.

My experiences with them :

These tyres came with a 265 bhp 4x4 car driven 2000 miles - for the most part average/sedate A & B roads which doesn't warrant being able to judge these on a extreme / critical level and in such instance, as is the case for most, a vast majority of tyre brands out there will suffice..
5 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2014   
Given 76% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra SRI 1.9 (150) (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 18 spirited miles
300+wet days.. tyres lasted 18.000. 10.on front & 8 on the back They would have done A lot more if the tread had been of equal depth... The outside of the tyre was 2.5 above the legal limit markers but the center 1/3 was totally bald the 2 center groves and half of the V pattern The tyre was A slick at the center.. then an intermediate. Then a wet at all 4. Outer edges .. but It still gripped the road with about 2mm of surface water.. If the tread had been full depth on all of the tyre it would make a lot more sense and an even better buy...
0 - tyre reviewed on November 5, 2014   
Advertisement