Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 86%
Progressiveness 85%
Wear 81%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric

This tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

Show All

Tyre review data from 325 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 2,854,738 miles driven.

Reports

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/45 R16 83Y   E A 70 7.60kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 69 10.57kgs
205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 70 9.14kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   E B 70  
245/40 R17 91Y R1 E A 70  
245/40 R17 95Y XL   C B 70 10.29kgs
245/40 R17 91Y   C A 70 10.29kgs
255/40 R17 94Y   E A 70 11.21kgs
255/40 R17 94Y   E A 70  
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 70 9.54kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 69 9.09kgs
215/45 R17 87Y   E A 68 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   C A 69 8.97kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 69 8.97kgs
225/45 R17 91V   B B 68 9.14kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL R1 E A 69  
225/45 R17 91Y Segment 2 E A 69  
235/45 R17 94Y   C A 70 10.90kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 70 10.90kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL Segment 2 E B 70  
235/45 R17 94Y R1 E A 70  
245/45 R17 95Y   E A 70 10.98kgs
235/55 R17 99Y   C A 70 11.44kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   C A 70 10.29kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL Segment 2 E A 70  
245/35 R18 88Y   E C 70 11.67kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 70  
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 70 11.00kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL R1 E A 71  
265/35 R18 97Y XL Segment 2 C A 71  
275/35 R18 99Y XL Segment 2 E A 71  
285/35 R18 97Y   E A 71 12.94kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL Segment 2 C A 70  
225/40 R18 88Y   E A 69  
225/40 R18 88Y   E B 69 10.22kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 67 11.33kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL R1 E A 70  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E C 72 11.68kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 10.56kgs
245/40 R18 93Y Segment 2 E A 70  
245/40 R18 97Y XL Segment 2 C A 70  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 70  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C B 71 11.97kgs
265/40 R18 101Y XL   C A 71 11.86kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   E B 69  
215/45 R18 93Y XL   E A 69 9.55kgs
225/45 R18 91Y   E A 69 9.70kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL Segment 2 E A 69  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 70 10.75kgs
235/45 R18 94Y   E A 68  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 69 10.84kgs
235/45 R18 94Y   E C 68 10.07kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL Segment 2 C A 71  
245/45 R18 100W XL   B B 69 12.35kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 70 11.47kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 71 12.08kgs
265/45 R18 101Y   E B 69 12.34kgs
275/45 R18 103Y   C B 69 13.37kgs
235/50 R18 101W XL   C A 70 12.43kgs
235/50 R18 101W XL   C A 70  
235/50 R18 97V   C B 71 11.48kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 71 12.04kgs
245/50 R18 100Y   C B 70 12.09kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 70 10.71kgs
265/30 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 11.60kgs
275/30 R19 96Y XL   E A 71 11.76kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL   E A 71 12.78kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL Segment 2 E A 72  
305/30 R19 102Y XL Segment 2 C A 72  
305/30 R19 102Y XL   E A 72 13.72kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 69 9.86kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL Segment 2 E A 70  
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 71  
245/35 R19 93Y XL Segment 2 C A 70  
245/35 R19 93Y XL Segment 2 E A 70  
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 71 11.93kgs
255/35 R19 92Y   E B 65 12.74kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL R1 E B 71  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 69 11.57kgs
275/35 R19 96Y   E A 71 12.89kgs
285/35 R19 103Y XL   E C 70 13.02kgs
285/35 R19 99Y   E A 71 13.43kgs
295/35 R19 100Y   E B 71 12.50kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   C B 68  
225/40 R19 89Y   E A 70  
225/40 R19 89Y   E B 68 10.93kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   C B 68 11.06kgs
235/40 R19 92Y   E B 68 10.11kgs
235/40 R19 92Y   E B 68 10.09kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 70 11.59kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL Segment 2 E A 70  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 12.00kgs
265/40 R19 98Y   E B 70 11.09kgs
275/40 R19 101Y   E A 71 13.38kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 70 11.27kgs
285/25 R20 93Y XL   E A 72 11.70kgs
235/30 R20 88Y XL Segment 2 E A 70  
245/30 R20 90Y XL   E A 70 10.45kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 70 11.17kgs
235/35 R20 88Y   F A 67 10.06kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 71 11.80kgs
265/35 R20 95Y   F A 70 11.26kgs
265/35 R20 95Y   F A 70  
275/35 R20 102Y XL   C A 69 15.14kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   C A 69 15.16kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   C A 71 13.53kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL   C A 69 14.30kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL   C A 69 14.35kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E B 70 12.98kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

2016-04-29 - Hi, can you tell me on average how long or how many miles this Tyre should last for please? Thank you

Mileage entirely depends on vehicle type, power, driving style and road conditions! We have reports of the Asymmetric 2 lasting anywhere between 5,000 and 50,000 miles, but on an average high torque diesel vehicle like an Audi A4, we'd expect the fronts to last somewhere around 20,000 miles and rears towards 35,000 miles.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

 
Size Price Range  
215/45 R17 £74.60 - £104.64 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £80.30 - £130.73 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £67.76 - £230.90 (40 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £78.06 - £104.50 (30 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £106.14 - £139.44 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 67 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 Reviews

Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A3 (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 30,000 average miles
No comments left
0 | - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2015   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra R 225 (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 8,500 spirited miles
Had these on my Remapped (262Bhp / 283lb/ft) Leon Cupra R for just under 10K now an amazing amount of life left. Love how good they are in horrible wet conditions (the wife also commented on this when driving thorough a storms in southern France and Geramny). Dry grip and braking are amazing as is the lovely progressive breakaway when pushing on which helps on unknown mountain roads. Hard to comment on feedback as the Leon is pretty dead in this respect anyway, I put these on the day of purchase so have no benchmark to work with on this car. Overall after going through various models of all the premium brands over my 18 years of driving these are the only one of 2 tyres I would buy again without thought (others being Vredstien Sessanta) can't recommend them enough.
0 | - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2015   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Audi S5 (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
This is my second set of F1s after eating through the OEM Pirelli P Zero Rossos rather too quickly. The F1s have proven to be the perfect mix of performance, ride and comfort, low noise, reasonable wear and the best braking performance of any tyre I've experienced. When price is considered, these must be the best value tyres out there.
0 | - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2015   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus RS Mk1 (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I run these on the front of my RS. The tyres are good all rounders, and give particularly good feedback and unexpected grip in wet conditions.

In the dry, at times, they struggle to handle out of corner grip in the RS but this is pretty rare.
0 | - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2015   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Megane RS250 CUP (235/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 2,500 spirited miles
A full set on my RS250 Cup cost ~£650 235/35 r19 (An expensive tyre dimension) which I was very impressed with.
Previously the car had Conti Sport Contact 3's which we're good in the dry, excellent turn in but poor in the wet, the inner side walls failed with still 4-5mm tread remaining meaning an MOT fail on all 4 tyres, not happy!
Eagle F1 Asy 2
Initial thoughts, quieter than the SP3's but still noisy, that may be something to do with 35 profile though.
Grip, dry grip is superb, it grips and pulls very well in all gears, even first once they are warm. Wet grip is substantially better than the SP3's, as they have worn this has decreased but still a 9/10. Full power second gear, 250bhp in the front wheels whilst raining and it grips and goes, no spinning(possibly the car setup has something to do with this).
Feedback, very progressive, you can feel the car start to slip on slow and high speed corners - Feedback negative, the only gripe I have is the following, the sidewalls are softer than the SP3's making initial turn in a little soft, once turned in and the sidewalls loaded then very happy, I just find i'm making a few too many inputs at higher speeds negoptiatiing small corners when driving hard.
The tyre's are noisy, again this could be due to the car on 19's with 35 profile.
Wear - A front drive hot hatch will always chew it's tyres up, it's done 2.5k on them and they still have 8-9mm remaining which is good I think, if they get to 9k I will be impressed, 10k astounded.
Buy again? I will definitely recommend them to anyone, an excellent tyre for the cost. I would love these with a stiffer side wall as that really dampens the driving experience at times so may look at Michelin PS2's.
I would probably buy again
0 | - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2015   
Given 92% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A3 2.0 TDI 140 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Did some research before choosing these tyres as I needed 4 new ones. I don't normally write reviews, but these tyres are by far the best I have used and worth sharing my experience with others. The car now sticks to the road like glue, even in wet, cold conditions. The feedback from the car going round corners on the country roads is excellent and it really makes for a comfortable, effortless drive. Its amazing to think that the engineering in the cars handling ability can be let down so badly but just using inferior tyres so give your car a treat and stick some half decent tyres on it!
0 | - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2015   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I had 4 fitted on my Type R after taking off the bugets. 100% the best tyres I've ever used on a car.
I have used Bridgestone re040 and 050's which Honda recomend and the F1's are a lot better.

Never lost grip on the dry or wet. When I hammer it and wheel spin on purpose there very predictable.

I used them on track twice and went into a couple of corners way to fast just stamped on the break turned in and hopped for the best and the tyres were just amazing.

I've never used track tyres so carnt compare that but for road tyres there amazing.

Never lost the back end in wet ever and I've given them some stick.

As I've used them on track they have worn a little on the front but don't see why they wouldn't last for 15k altogether(unless I go back on track)

You can get them fitted for just less than £100. Your basically putting £400 on your pride and joy and possibly your life. Best money I ever spend on my car.
0 | - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2015   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Saloon (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Noticably quieter than the Continental Sport Contact 2's that were on my car when I bought it. My car has had a remap so is putting out a lot of torque to the front wheels, meaning that I am close to having to replace the front Eagle F1's after a year and perhaps 10,000 miles. A little disappointing.

Within this time they have performed very well. In wet conditions they generally do well with standing water but will occasionally aquaplane in the heaviest of conditions. Dry conditions a nice sporty, tight feel.

I would recommend these tyres. It's just a shame that they've not lasted longer.
0 | - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2014   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 45 average miles
Best Tyres I have had on my GTI
0 | - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2014   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDI 140 SLine (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
I have had the car for 10 years and it came with a set of Continentals. The understeer was shocking, the wet grip dangerous and no warning of them losing grip. Changed to original F1s (with the lovely 'V' pattern) and it was as if I'd bought a new car. I even had the car chipped and they performed perfectly. Fantastic grip in all but snow, feedback was brilliant and felt completely confident. Since I can't get those any more, I used the Asymmetrical and now have the Asymmetrical 2. These are good but are honestly a few percentage points below the original F1 tyre. If you are reading this then its because you want the best rubber for your travels. For me its between this and the Vredestein and then its just down to price.....
0 | - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2014   
Advertisement