Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 86%
Progressiveness 85%
Wear 81%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2
Size Price Range  
215/45 R17 £77.40 - £104.80 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £92.97 - £129.71 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £72.13 - £114.50 (26 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £78.06 - £115.60 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £119.78 - £210.60 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 67 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 Reviews (newest first) - Page 7

Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Holden calais V 6Ltr (245/40 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 45,000 average miles
I have run the Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 2 for 40-45,000kms and the rears are now below the wear limits(actually bald !!!). Front tyres on my big heavy 6 litre Calais V redline are still way above the wear limits and will go on the rear and two fresh Eagles on the front. I have read many of the tyre reviews and have to agree that for the small amount of crazy spirited driving I do I would like more dry grip but the wet grip can not be faulted nor the wet stopping distance. These tyres I rate as well above average for dry grip but importantly for me don't seem to change that much when your driving in the wet. I get good fuel economy with these tyres and they have worn virtually flat on the rear running 42 psi. I will run slightly lower pressure(40psi) in the new set as they are slightly more worn on the centre line so 42 psi is just a whisker high. Oh and these tyres have seen most long country driving at Australian ridiculously slow 110 kms/hr but I also run at 130-140 on roads without revenue raising blue lights. Tyres have seen the fun side of 230 km/hr but only 2 or 3 time. Never put her on the track as I believe its too heavy and should be running 275/35 for this type of thing.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 21, 2015   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia VRS (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 100 average miles
I had Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2's fitted to my Octavia yesterday. So far so good. Grip feels strong, and the ride comfort is an improvement over the previously fitted Dunlop Sport Maxx RT's.

I found it very difficult to decide what tyres to buy as there are so many on the market these days and with the top 6 brands all offering a very premium product.

After reading a lot of the user reviews as well as reviews such as Auto Express and Evo's tyre tests I found that the Goodyear Eagle F1's always scored highly usually receiving 1st or second place.

I had decided on either Continentals ContiSportContact 5's or Goodyear Eagle F1's and went with the Goodyears for the better wear rating, and rolling resistance.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2015   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo V70D5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
I drive Volvo estates (not for a living, nee naar etc…before you ask) and have done for many years in various guises, T5s, D5s etc, not sports cars by definition but more than quick enough to warrant decent tyres. When I bought my latest a v70 D5 it was shod with Pirellis, the car handled like a Tesco’s trolley, they came off within a week and were replaced with Contis. The Continentals are a fabulous tyre, quiet, great grip in wet or dry but lacking in longevity, They were replaced with Michelins, they gave a longer life but were very noisy especially under heavy cornering, they also lacked the feel and the confidence the Contis gave, so just the fronts were taken off early and replaced with these Goodyear Eagle F1s. They now have been joined by a set on the rear. I am very happy with them as they are almost as good as the Contis performance wise, they are quiet and grippy and seem to be lasting much better than anticipated. Will definitely re-shoe the Volvo with these again.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 14, 2015   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Kia Motors (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 100 spirited miles
The tyre is just great!
0 - tyre reviewed on May 1, 2015   
Given 56% (breakdown) while driving a Subaru 2006 impreza wrx STI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
After reading lots of good reviews about this tyre I replaced my Re070 for the Goodyear eagle f1 as2.

Massive mistake!

First impression were good the car felt more comfortable over bumps and there was less road noise.

Handling was terrible the car felt like it had flat tyres. Fast direction changes made the rear tyres squirm. Hard cornering also pushed the tyre over on to its side wall.

Even after playing around with tyre pressures and upping them to silly pressures the handling was still soft and unresponsive.

After a few thousand miles they had to come off the car. When we removed them the side walls are so thin you can fold the tyre flat with one hand.

After talking to the tyre fitter he mentioned there a very light weight tyre construction designed to reduce rotating mass to help reduce fuel consumption and not what he would recommend for a performance car.

Personally I think this tyre is more suited to a family car or a daily commuter.

0 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2015   
Given 95% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 6 Sport 2.3L (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 250 spirited miles
Recently (250 miles ago) fitted on Mazda 6 Sport. Previously had Dunlops sportmaxx TT. So far I'm positively surprised by these new tires. Grippyyy, very nice brake performance, lateral grip and progressiveness could be a bit better when cornering aggressively, however fronts seems a bit underinflated and I suspect that this is the cause (will check the presure and update the review later after more miles driven). Subjectively I would say F1 asymm2 are more comfortable and quieter compared to previous dunlops. I would never expect sporty tires to be so much comfortable, thumbs up for that! I also tested them on empty highway last weekend, incredibly stable at speeds around 200km/h (125mph). So far, so good, I'm very happy with my choice. Only had a change to drive in a dry so far, looking forward to test wet performance as well because wet is where these tires are supposed to show its huge potential!
0 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2015   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 2010 2.3mps (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 9,000 spirited miles
car came with dunlop factory fitted and they were rubbish changed fronts to michelin ps2s they were good but noisy then change all 4 to the goodyears and they are smoother,quieter, better in the wet and dry and they even look better than the others mite struggle to get the same miles as the michelins but your only talking 2000 miles less and they are a bit cheaper anyway.iv went through a lot of tyres in my life and iv learnt do not buy cheap tyres if you can go for one of the top six makers best bet michelins,continental or goodyear and i can safely say that another 2 goodyear asymmetric 2s will be fitted to the front in the coming months 9.5 out of 10
0 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2015   
Given 68% (breakdown) while driving a Honda FRV (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Sidewall to soft , all ways look flat, a lot of road noise not comfortable
0 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2015   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Audi TT (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Recently fitted to my 225Bhp TT Quattro and What a transformation to the Avon crap that was previously on the car. Loads quieter, 5 mpg improvement and fully optimises the Quattro. These are a must have tyre for any performance car! I've not had them long, but the difference is immediate and was recommended by a friend. Great independent reviews for this tyre. Good value at £93.00 each, fully fitted price for 225/40/18/Y.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2015   
Given 53% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A5 (255/35 R19 W) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
Good tyres however on lasted 7000 miles over the summer from new and that's normal driving. Come winter the winter tyres go on. Previous to the goodyears we had continental sport 5ps which lasted two summers and about 15000 miles. So its March again its time to get some new tyres. Had goodyear and continental so its time to try Michelin pilot super sports which I will report back on later in the year. The goodyears are a comfortable and decent tyre but the wear rate is only let down.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2015