Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 70%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 80%
Wear 78%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 67%

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

Show All

Tyre review data from 10 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 50,200 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2018 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 175/65 R14 - 10th of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the dry, low wear
  • Negative - Relatively weak in the wet

2014 ADAC 175/65 R14 Summer Tyre Test - 11th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Acceptable performance on dry roads
  • Negative - Relatively weak in the wet
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
155/65 R13 73T   C B 68 5.31kgs
165/65 R13 77T   C B 68 5.48kgs
145/70 R13 71T   E B 68  
155/70 R13 75T   C B 68 5.59kgs
165/70 R13 83T XL   C B 69 6.71kgs
165/70 R13 79T   C B 68 6.22kgs
175/70 R13 82T   C B 68 5.98kgs
185/60 R14 82T   C B 68 6.42kgs
185/60 R14 82T Segment 1 C C 68  
155/65 R14 75T   C B 68 5.74kgs
165/65 R14 79T   C B 68 6.28kgs
175/65 R14 82T Segment 1 C B 70  
175/65 R14 86T XL   C B 69 7.12kgs
175/65 R14 82T   C B 68 5.85kgs
185/65 R14 86T   C B 68 6.58kgs
165/70 R14 85T XL   C B 69 6.87kgs
165/70 R14 81T Segment 1 C B 68  
165/70 R14 81T   C B 68 6.84kgs
165/70 R14 89R   C A 69 7.04kgs
175/70 R14 84T Segment 1 C B 68  
175/70 R14 88T XL Segment 1 C C 68  
185/70 R14 88T   C B 68 7.76kgs
185/60 R15 88T XL   B B 68 6.72kgs
165/65 R15 81T   B B 68 6.03kgs
165/65 R15 81T   C B 68 6.89kgs
175/65 R15 84T   C B 68 7.30kgs
185/65 R15 88T   C C 69  
185/65 R15 92T XL   C B 69 8.56kgs
185/65 R15 88T Segment 1 C B 69  
195/65 R15 91T   C B 68 7.95kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL   B B 68 7.95kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact

2017-01-05 - How to rotate these tyres

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact is an asymmetric tyre so can easily be rotated front to back and side to side if required.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
165/65 R13 £40.10 - £63.50 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
175/65 R14 £36.80 - £62.09 (31 Prices) Compare Prices >>
175/70 R13 £41.90 - £60.94 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
175/70 R14 £51.00 - £80.80 (31 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £43.70 - £87.80 (30 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 19 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact Review

Given 89% while driving a Hyundai Accent (175/70 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
can say best new tyre i had on my car ever very low noise very comfortable very gripy was lucky to test it in the rain it was like driving on a dry road
but did not like the country they are made TURKEY
but had good readings
treadwear = 320
traction = A
temperature = A
68 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2013   

Latest Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the EfficientGrip Compact.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 81% while driving a Nissan Note 1.5 dci (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Very quite tyres and very comfortable especially in bad roads.My second car is a Nissan note dci and the dimension of the tyres is 185-65-15.After 40000km with continental premium 5 I change them with Goodyear and I was astonished with the lower noise level and from the comfort driving.Ok in high speeds in highways continental is a bit better tyre but not so balanced as Goodyear.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2018   
Given 87% while driving a Chevrolet KALOS (175/70 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
i think a tire must be revied even by country, i live in Athens Greece, hot summer and not very cold winter as other countries, i can say goodyear is one of the best tires i ever had, low noise good handling and braking, good grip on dry road avarage on wet road , in greece we park everyware, even on pavements etc, this tire has good side walls no buldges etc, will buy again hope goodyear does not change the tire compount to something worst
8 - tyre reviewed on April 21, 2018   
Is the new Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport RS the fastest tyre available today? Watch this video now!
Given 67% while driving a Daewoo Lanos (175/70 R13 T) on mostly town for 0 average miles
installed my tires end of 2013 now its june 2017 after 22,000 km all i can say rear tires are like new and the front are worn out half way, when new this was a good tire on dry and wet road, after 3,5 years i can say they are now VERY dangerous in the wet and its summer, cannot imagine if it was winter, on my car i have used hankook, avon, continental, these are the worst tires after 3 year life this is a 3 year tire, all tires work fine when new the problem starts when they get old , will never buy again
9 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2017   
Given 100% while driving a Daihatsu Sirion (175/65 R14 T) on mostly motorways for 720 spirited miles
This tyre is for a compact car, which mine is - the clue is in the name of the tyre. And I am happy to say this is the nicest tyre I have had on this car - and I have owned this car for many years. I drive 15,000 miles a year and like to get going - know what I mean. The car is a Daihatsu Sirion 1.5sx, and it is quick. Big engine in small/light-weight car. I am 61 years of age by the way. The car is over-maintained and the suspension and running gear is kept in top condition. Owning my car is a hobby.

Anyway.

Pirellis came off and the car has come alive. No more lack of direction and wandering around - the car holds a line. Even under heavy braking it is arrow straight. Blissful.

As for grip all I can say is they do feel like a softer compound and unlike my Pirellis they don't let go when pulling away from a stop in the wet. The car in question may be small but with a very torquey 1.5l engine it will pop a wheelie in the wet without even trying. So on that basis they grip well in the wet.

I recently removed a front wheel for some work and the wheel/tyre assembly was definitely not as heavy as the Pirelli unit before. I have read these tyres are lighter and they really do feel lighter. This good for suspension response - un-sprung wieght.

Dry grip is as I would expect - excellent. Once again with the Pirellis it was all felt a bit doubtful, but with these tyres it all holds together. With the Pirellis I always felt the car was going to let go when in a sweeping curve or bend - it never did but it just "felt" awkward. That sensation has gone away with the Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact tyre.

They are astonishingly quiet too. I could not believe the difference. That soft compound certainly has an effect on noise. The car feels much more comfortable all round.

As for wear rate I can't tell at only 700 miles. But would I care if they wore out after 25000 miles - of course I wouldn't. At £49 each fitted why would I worry, especially as I have all the other great benefits of this tyre. It is as if someone has hand made a tyre to suit my car. I look forward to having a new set.

Like shoes on your feet, car tyres all do the same job but occasionally we get a set that just seems right and become a favourite. This tyre is right for my car. No doubt. I like them a lot.
10 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2015   
Given 76% while driving a Kia Motors (175/70 R14 T) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
Tyres wear so quickly goodyear need to change their name to goodmonths. I complained by email and didn't get the courtesy of a reply. I won't buy again
11 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2014   

See all 10 customer reviews of the Goodyear EfficientGrip Compact (newest first) >>