tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

Show all: Goodyear tyres, Passenger Car Summer Premium Touring tyres
The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 93 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 691,895 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear EfficientGrip

Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance
Dry Grip

Wet Grip

Road Feedback




Buy again

Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £41.91 - £45.34 (2 prices)
205/55 R16 £51.63 - £75.04 (6 prices)
225/45 R17 £66.26 - £79.61 (2 prices)
225/40 R18 £78.89 - £78.89 (1 prices)
Available in 38 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Reviews

Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot 1.4 HDi (185-65-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,500 average miles
These tyres replaced original conti3 on front and those were good !The EG have been reliable but worn quickly and now want AS tyres to keep mobile with van . Did consider MS68 or Quatracs burt had a bulge but no damage ,warranty refused !So wanted good AS tyre and have chosen cross climates now for front soon to be followed by some for the rear . Normal drivers require safe spirited driving ALL year round these days especially if self employed , and you must be able to obtain the tyres .
tyre reviewed on October 10, 2015   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Chevrolet Cruze LT3 1.6L (205-60-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on October 9, 2015   
Looking to buy the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance? Click here to search for the best price for the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance or any other tyre.
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Corolla (195-65-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12,000 average miles
Great tyre it seems. Really good in the wet
tyre reviewed on October 1, 2015   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk6 (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Before I start, I hail from Singapore, so my view is based purely on tropical climate. This being the most comprehensive tyre review site I can find anywhere, so I decided to post here.
Just got this set of tyres after much research, especially from the reviews here. Read about the tyre being too soft for the side walls. Verified that.
Before tyre installation, I was pressing on the side walls, comparing it with the Efficientgrip (without "performance" in the name) and the Efficientgrip has slightly thicker and firmer sidewalls than the Efficientgrip Performance. Noise-wise very good for this tyre. Very quiet even on rough/porous pavement used in Singapore expressways. Hence extremely quiet on concrete surfaces in carparks. Cannot comment on wear yet. Will update, but expecting the hot weather here to adversely impact the wear as the tyre compound is soft. The tyre shop generally uses 250kPa/36psi for tyre pressure for fuel efficiency. So at 36psi/250kPa, the tyre handles pretty well. Similar to the handling of my old Falken ZIEX914 ecorun at 33.5psi/235kPa. My old Falken914s were quite for the first 2000km, then became noisy, especially on porous roads. Hope these goodyears hold up to their claims. Overall, quite satisfied with the purchase. The ride definitely softer now.
tyre reviewed on August 14, 2015   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia (195-65-15-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Very good tyre. Great for motorway journeys where I appreciate low noise and low rolling resistance.
GY's save fuel compared to winter tyres (approx. 5-10%). On rainy roads, GY's are also great. Slightly weaknesses on aquaplaning and hard braking on wet.
In general, I believe it is the best "green" tyre, without any bigger weaknesses. As this is green tyre people might say that wear could be better, but considering performance, I estimate they'll last for 35000 km on my Octavia, which is OK.

tyre reviewed on August 3, 2015   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Ibiza (185-60-14-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
I bought these tyres to replace a pair of Budget Event GL695 and the difference is astonishing.
Fantastic grip in the dry and wet and are also very quite.

The only thing I'm not a fan of is how soft the side walls are as they can give the car a bit of extra roll but I'm happy to live with it because of the grip.

I can't really comment too much on the wear rate as have only done 4k on them but as far as I can tell, they don't seem to be wearing too quick.

If you're looking for a replacement tyre, I would highly recommend these to anyone as they're just so good for the price.
tyre reviewed on July 26, 2015   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Ford S-Max (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
An excellent comfortable tyre with lots of grip. The S-Max is a heavy and pretty quick car for its size and do the tyres do wear quickly. These aren't as fast wearing as the Dunlop Sportmax RT that I only got 4,000 out of, but they do wear out in just 12,000 miles. I keep buying the Goodyears because there are always deals at my local Kwik Fit which make them cheap enough to discount the wear rate.
tyre reviewed on July 18, 2015   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15,000 easy going miles
I'd agree with the themes on here. Smooth ride but quite a bit of roll. Superb grip but little feedback. Gripping to the last but barely scraping 15k on the fronts, now well under 3mm.

I like them a lot but overall I think they're a little pricey for the wear.
tyre reviewed on July 6, 2015   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Ford Focus MK2 1.8 TDCi (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15,000 spirited miles
Good set of tyres. Not as good grip in the dry as the conti sport contact 5 however.

Done 15k and I still have 5mm of tread left, so good on wear.

Will probably buy something else next time. This tyre doesn't have any rim protection lip (205 50 17 93w) so I've kerbed my alloys since these were put on
tyre reviewed on June 25, 2015   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
the focus suffers from road noise but with these tyres that has gone, grip is excellent and to the handling as for wear put fronts to back at 12000 and new on front, would buy again great tyre.
tyre reviewed on June 16, 2015   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!

Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Speed Rating: