tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance


Show all: Goodyear tyres, Passenger Car Summer Premium Touring tyres
The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 40 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 214,395 miles driven.
 


Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance
Dry Grip
91%

Wet Grip
91%

Road Feedback
81%

Progressiveness
83%

Wear
85%

Comfort
92%

Buy again
89%


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £47.88 - £53.62 (2 prices)
205/55 R16 £58.94 - £79.50 (4 prices)
225/45 R17 £85.64 - £85.64 (2 prices)
225/40 R18 £98.82 - £98.82 (1 prices)
Available in 34 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Reviews

Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C200 CDI Elegance (195-65-15-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 100 average miles
The tyre is good, not too much noise. The dry and wet grip are excellent. It help me to cut down the mpg.
I recommend this tyre.
tyre reviewed on April 20, 2014   
Given 88% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf Plus 1.6 FSi A/T (195-65-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8,800 average miles
Tyre just starts to lose its comfort and softness a little bit earlier than expected but even in that case it is still better than Continental PremiumContact5 or Pirelli P1 Cinturato.

It has;
* Low rolling resistance and as a result low fuel consumption. I went from 8.1l/100km to 7.8l/100km in Istanbul with my 2006 1.6FSi Golf Plus A/T.
* Low noise compared to Michelin Energy Saver+ that my father used to use on his 2006 1.6FSi Jetta.
* Good braking distance even in wet surface.
* Great handling both in dry and wet surface.
tyre reviewed on March 19, 2014   
Looking to buy the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance? Click here to search for the best price for the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance or any other tyre.
 
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda MX5 (205-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Replaced all four worn Yokohamas on an MX5 with these due to the Yoko's pitiful performance in the wet (and stunning replacement cost). In comparison, these tyres are grippy and silent, in pretty much all conditions. The down side is that they're softer and there's less feedback - but cornering is so much more fun when you know you're not going to end up sideways because of a puddle.

Their softer feel also makes the car much more palatable on the extensively poor road surfaces around Manchester, so for everyday driving (which is what I do every day) they're superb. So good that the bus is getting a pair this afternoon.
tyre reviewed on February 21, 2014   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 120d (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Bought as a replacement for the original runflat tyres, which were extremely hard and uncomfortable on the UK's poor roads. The Goodyears are much softer. Probably too soft. I am struggling to find the right tyre pressures to offer the best compromise between the handling capabilities of the previous runflats, but with a softer ride associated with normal tyres. Currently running 34psi front and 35.5psi rear. Handling getting better as I raise the pressures, so I might add another psi all round, and leave it at that.
All in all, probably too soft for a BMW 1 series with 205/55/16 tyres.
tyre reviewed on February 20, 2014   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota T-Sport and Verso (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
On one hand it feels like the best tyre in the world when on a powerful 2.2d people carrier making the car feel expensive and luxurious and so confidently grippy on both wet and dry. So I decided to put these on my other car; a car with sports suspension, because they do last longer than typical sports car tyres. Sadly they ruined the “fun” go-cart feel it had, especially when fitted to the front. The problem with stiffer tyres is the thread blocks don’t move and so don’t provide that exceptional wet grip. If your are lucky to have a rear powered sports car these may be good on the backs and you can have a stiffer pair on the that won’t compromises the “sporty feel”.
tyre reviewed on February 10, 2014   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Estate (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 27,000 average miles
Outstanding grip. Both wet and dry.
but not a sporty tyre... But i would definately buy these again.
it's a safe choice.
tyre reviewed on February 10, 2014   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Saab Automobile 9000 Turbo (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
A fantastic tyre, better than all other tyres I've had in the past of various makes and values. I bought them for their performance in wet and dry and for the price - I don't think there's better value around. Used on a 9000 Turbo, so medium-heavy car, soft suspension with a lot of power and torque, these tyres deal with it superbly. Car instantly felt more stable and planted and gave me so much more confidence - even pushing the car you'll struggle to lose traction unless you really force it. The other great attribute to these tyres is the comfort, they are extremely quiet (noticeably) and great for motorway cruising. Very comfortable to drive on, I'm guessing due to fairly soft side wall which does take some feel away from them but I'd still say it's pretty good. After nearly 10000 miles there's still loads of tread left. If the price stays the same I'll probably be buying the same next time.
tyre reviewed on February 8, 2014   
Given 64% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A3 2.0 FSI SE (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
I have had my car now since August 2005 and in that time I have tried Continental, Dunlop and now Goodyear. My driving style is consistent so it's fairly easy to judge the impact of difference tyres. Overall I have to say I'm disappointed with the Goodyears. Until May last year I had stuck with Dunlop SP Sport 01 for about six years and convinced myself to go for the Goodyears based on the new labelling system, price and overall reviews. The Dunlop was also an 'old' tyre. Unfortunately the Goodyears are too soft for my car. The handling in nowhere near as sharp as with the Dunlops. With the soft tyre walls, you can see the car wobble on the tyres even when shutting the doors. I can only assume this flex is also responsible for the very quick wear rate on the front tyres compared with the Dunlops. Having said this, the rears look hardly used. On the plus side, the ride comfort and noise levels have improved with the Goodyears. I am very glad that it's been a mild winter so far. The Dunlops got me through two of the hardest and coldest winters on record recently and didn't let me down once despite constant snow on hilly terrain, and temperatures down to -15C on bad days. I would hate to put the Goodyears through the same test.
tyre reviewed on February 3, 2014   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Vectra (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Excellent, very quiet with excellent wet weather control through deep water. Wear seems brilliant, 4k miles on them and barely touched even on the front driven tyres. Sidewalls seem soft, good for ride comfort but not the sharpest handlers however made up for by comfort and quietness, brilliant motorway tyres but good on slippery and rough country roads too. Fairly priced with some haggling but due to excellent wear rates will be even better. Must be good for mpg too, old 2.0 petrol vectra doing 38mpg average on the computer! Can't be bad, highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on January 16, 2014   
Given 85% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo S80 D5 (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
These tyres have totally transformed my car (2004 Volvo S80) Compared to the Pirellis they replaced (P7 Cints on front, P6000 on back) Steering is much sharper, ride quality is totally transformed, almost Citroen like; the whole car feels composed in a way it never did before. They are also much quieter, complete lack of any bump-thump over manholes etc. It's early days yet so can't judge wear, but so far I'd say they're the best tyres I've ever bought in nearly 30 years.
tyre reviewed on December 13, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: