Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 79%
Wear 74%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 75%

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear EfficientGrip

Show All

Tyre review data from 197 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 2,507,645 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Summer and All Season Tyre Test - 10th of 18 tyres

2019 NAF Summer Tyre Test - 6th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Low fuel consumption, high aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - Weak lateral stability, understeer and long braking in the dry, elevated noise.

2019 ACE Summer Tyre Test - 6th of 9 tyres

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/55 R14 80H   C A 68 6.05kgs
185/60 R14 82H   C A 67 6.33kgs
185/65 R14 86H   C B 68 6.56kgs
195/50 R15 82H   C A 67 6.70kgs
195/50 R15 82V   C A 67 6.74kgs
185/55 R15 82H Segment 1 C A 68  
185/55 R15 82V   C A 68 6.65kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 68 6.94kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 68 6.94kgs
205/55 R15 88V   C A 68 7.35kgs
185/60 R15 84H   B A 67 6.71kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   B A 67 6.80kgs
195/60 R15 88H   B A 68 7.18kgs
195/60 R15 88V   B A 68 7.18kgs
205/60 R15 91H   B A 68 7.74kgs
205/60 R15 91V   B A 68 7.74kgs
185/65 R15 88H   B A 68 7.04kgs
195/65 R15 91V   B A 69 7.61kgs
195/65 R15 91H   B A 69 7.54kgs
205/65 R15 94V   B B 68 8.64kgs
205/65 R15 94V Segment 1 C B 68  
215/45 R16 86H   C A 68 8.10kgs
205/50 R16 87W   B A 68 7.37kgs
225/50 R16 92W   B A 68 8.62kgs
195/55 R16 87W   C B 67 10.39kgs
195/55 R16 87V   B A 68 7.41kgs
195/55 R16 87H   B A 68 7.41kgs
205/55 R16 91W   B A 68 7.72kgs
205/55 R16 91V   B A 68 7.88kgs
205/55 R16 91H   B C 68 8.69kgs
205/55 R16 91H   B A 68 7.72kgs
205/55 R16 94W XL   B A 69  
205/55 R16 94W XL   A A 68 7.28kgs
205/55 R16 94W XL   A A 68  
215/55 R16 97W XL Segment 2 B A 69  
215/55 R16 97H XL Segment 1 B A 69  
215/55 R16 97W XL   A A 69 8.43kgs
215/55 R16 93V   B A 68 8.77kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   A A 69 8.40kgs
215/55 R16 93W   B A 68 8.77kgs
225/55 R16 95W   B A 68 9.21kgs
225/55 R16 95V   B A 68 9.11kgs
195/60 R16 89V   C A 68 7.63kgs
195/60 R16 89V   B A 68 7.58kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C B 67 11.94kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL   B A 68 8.21kgs
205/60 R16 92H   B A 68 8.30kgs
205/60 R16 92V   B A 68 8.48kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   B A 68 9.27kgs
215/60 R16 99W XL   B A 68 9.27kgs
215/60 R16 95V   C A 68 9.27kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 68 9.27kgs
225/60 R16 102W XL   B A 69  
225/60 R16 102W XL   A A 69 9.46kgs
215/65 R16 98H   B A 69  
195/40 R17 81V XL   B A 69 6.89kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   B A 69 8.05kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   B A 69 8.19kgs
225/45 R17 91W   C A 69 8.19kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   B A 70 9.81kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   B A 69 8.06kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   B A 69 8.05kgs
205/50 R17 89V   B A 68 8.00kgs
215/50 R17 91W   B A 69 8.62kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   B A 69 8.67kgs
215/50 R17 91V   B A 69 8.62kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   A A 68 8.87kgs
225/50 R17 94W Segment 2 C A 67  
225/50 R17 98V XL   A A 68  
225/50 R17 94W   B A 67 10.08kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL Segment 1 B A 68  
225/50 R17 98W XL   B A 68 8.87kgs
225/50 R17 94W   B A 68 8.87kgs
225/50 R17 94W   B A 67  
205/55 R17 95V XL   A A 69 8.23kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL Segment 1 B A 69  
205/55 R17 91W   C B 66 11.79kgs
215/55 R17 94W   B A 69 9.02kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL Segment 2 B A 69  
215/55 R17 94V   B B 68 9.41kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   A A 69 9.00kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   A A 69 9.31kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   A A 69  
225/55 R17 101V XL   B C 68 11.46kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   B A 69 8.93kgs
235/40 R18 95W XL   C A 70 9.57kgs
245/40 R18 97W XL   B A 70  
225/45 R18 95W XL   B A 69 9.23kgs
225/45 R18 95W XL Segment 2 B A 69  

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

2016-04-11 - My question relates to new tyres fitted yesterday at National tyre and Autocare: Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance and the pressure. National tyre and Autocentre told me they always inflate to 34 psi (a National standard). Now my book states recommended is 29 psi (OLD Honda HR-V). The Goodyears are lightish with softish sidewalls and actually so far feel "OK" at this higher pressure. Are National correct to go to 34 psi or should I revert back to manufacturer's setting despite this car being well over 10 years old - when tyres perhaps were more rigid? Hope you can help. Thank you.

Tyre pressure, within reason is largely subjective, however you are correct in thinking modern tyres can require a few more PSI to feel the same as older tyres with stronger sidewalls. Keep an eye on wear to ensure the tyre is wearing evenly, and play around with the pressures until you find a balance you're happy with.


2016-04-17 - Oh...getting judder though the steering wheel at motorway speeds following fitting of fronts. Will take take for balance check. I noticed the whitish paint "dots" on sidewalls (one each tyre) - do these have any significance in their siting?? (Garage says absolutely not). Know in old days red and yellow were said to be aids to balancing... Thank you for your expertise.

The dots can mean a number of things and it will depend on the SKU. For example for Jag OE tyres the dot is there to tell their machines which way to fit the tyres, it can be a different colour dot for other OEMs or it could be for the old fashioned balancing aspect. So, there is not one direct answer for this question, sorry.


2016-12-03 - Hi have inherited a Audi A4 1.9 TDI SE are these tyres ok to use and run on the Audi ?

As long as the size and load rating meets the manufacturer's guide, the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is an excellent choice for your Audi A4.


2017-06-07 - Please, I'd like to tell me about the weight of the tire Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 215/55/15 97W (Fuel B - Wet A). Thank you very much.

Our website only lists the 215/55 R16 97W XL AA version. This weighs 8.43kgs.


2018-06-15 - Hi, I am considering a new set of tyres to replace the awful EVENT tyres installed in my Toyota Corolla 1.6 VVTi. The size is 195 60 R15 88 V. I've watched your analysis of the best 2018 summer tyres, but the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance are not there. Could you give me your advice about these tyres? How would they compare to the Continental Premium 5 or the Firestone Roadhawk? Many thanks.

They will have a very similar performance level, and they're highly recommended.


2018-12-14 - How to tell the difference between 225/45 R17 94W XL and 225/45 R17 94W? Does the "XL" printed on the tire?

Yes, the XL version of the tyre should have XL on the sidewall.


2019-03-19 - Had these fitted at Halfords, and tracking. Car just had its MOT, and just passed by a fraction. They have basciallylasted 16 months and have badly worn on the inside, about 15,000 miles These seems very poor, what does everyone think? Reasonable for the tyre? How often would be a advisable to check the tracking?

If the tyres have worn on the inside it is likely the tracking or pressures is out. 15,000 miles is at the lower end of the wear spectrum but not unreasonable with certain vehicles and driving styles.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/60 R15 £51.90 - £117.70 (46 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £39.90 - £58.19 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £49.30 - £100.00 (106 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £65.00 - £81.88 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £74.00 - £129.50 (51 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 48 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Review

Given 100% while driving a Ford ba falcon (215/60 R16) on mostly country roads for 80,000 spirited miles

I live in outback Australia, New South Wales, Tilpa. I have an Australian built Ford Falcon, BA wagon. I had these tyres fitted 6 months ago. I can only say that they are able to handle day temps of 52C, floods, rocky dirt roads and bitumen. Most roads out here are rocky dirt. Never had a puncture. Extreme temps, never had a blow out. Extreme rain, excellent grip and no aqua planning. In the outback, reliability is the difference between reaching your place today and reaching your place in a week, if you are lucky. I highly recommend these tyres to anyone that commands top performance and quality from their tyres.
233 - tyre reviewed on March 2, 2016   

Latest Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the EfficientGrip Performance.

Review Your Tyres >>

Jaguar X Type 2.2D Estate (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Poor traction below 5 degrees.
Very disappointed.
Had them 4 days and traction control flashing every trip in this month of november.
The left front is the one with poor traction.
I noticed the uk drivers side front has a smile tread mark near the outer shoulder when rolling forward yet the passenger side tyre has a sad face tread pattern.
I have had them checked and they have been fitted correctly but they are non directional .
The poor traction lies in the tread pattern on the shoulder looking more like a directional tyre thats on the wrong side.
Previously i had goodyear eagle asymmetrical 3 tyres and they were astoundingly good in every department.
I do not recommend the goodyear efficient grip performace tyre at all for a heavy car like mine which is a 2.2 diesel jaguar estate.
Ive got a lot of torque, weight on the front.
I hate these tyres they are a rubbish grip.
If the tread was reversed on the opposite then i think it would solve it but unfortunately they are not.
Not fit for purpose !
I would possibly put them on the rear had i not wish them to wear out as soon as possible so i can get the goodyear eagle asymmetrical 3 back on the front.
I seriously dont think im going to make it through winter without a mishap.
I cant believe they are even legal
5 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer GLX (185/60 R14) on for 35,000 miles
The best tyre for the money
12 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2019   
Are cheap winter tyres safe, or a false economy? Watch this video to find out!
Given 93% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC (225/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 43,500 average miles
Have these Goodyear Efficient Grip tyres 225 / 65 R17 on my Honda CRV since new. I have got 43500 miles out front tyres. They have excellent grip in both dry & wet conditions and the road noise is very acceptable. So pleased that I have just purchased replacements for Front Tyres. Rear tyres still got a few thousand miles left in them - expect to get near 50000 from them. Best wearing tyres I have ever had.
12 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2019   

See all 173 customer reviews of the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (newest first) >>