Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 79%
Wear 73%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 75%

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear EfficientGrip

Show All

Tyre review data from 178 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 2,140,364 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2018 Gute Fahrt Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Very strong in the wet and dry with excellent balance. High levels of comfort too.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
  • Overall - Very Good.

2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Best curved aquaplaning result, stable handling in the wet and dry.
  • Negative - Average fuel use, average mileage.

2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview - 11th of 47 tyres

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/55 R14 80H   C A 68 6.05kgs
185/60 R14 82H   C A 67 6.33kgs
185/65 R14 86H   C B 68 6.56kgs
195/50 R15 82H   C A 67 6.70kgs
195/50 R15 82V   C A 67 6.74kgs
185/55 R15 82H Segment 1 C A 68  
185/55 R15 82V   C A 68 6.65kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 68 6.94kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 68 6.94kgs
205/55 R15 88V   C A 68 7.35kgs
185/60 R15 84H   B A 67 6.71kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   B A 67 6.80kgs
195/60 R15 88H   B A 68 7.18kgs
195/60 R15 88V   B A 68 7.18kgs
205/60 R15 91H   B A 68 7.74kgs
205/60 R15 91V   B A 68 7.74kgs
185/65 R15 88H   B A 68 7.04kgs
195/65 R15 91V   B A 69 7.61kgs
195/65 R15 91H   B A 69 7.54kgs
205/65 R15 94V   B B 68 8.64kgs
205/65 R15 94V Segment 1 C B 68  
215/45 R16 86H   C A 68 8.10kgs
205/50 R16 87W   B A 68 7.37kgs
225/50 R16 92W   B A 68 8.62kgs
195/55 R16 87W   C B 67 10.39kgs
195/55 R16 87V   B A 68 7.41kgs
195/55 R16 87H   B A 68 7.41kgs
205/55 R16 91W   B A 68 7.72kgs
205/55 R16 91V   B A 68 7.88kgs
205/55 R16 91H   B C 68 8.69kgs
205/55 R16 91H   B A 68 7.72kgs
205/55 R16 94W XL   B A 69  
205/55 R16 94W XL   A A 68 7.28kgs
205/55 R16 94W XL   A A 68  
215/55 R16 97W XL Segment 2 B A 69  
215/55 R16 97H XL Segment 1 B A 69  
215/55 R16 97W XL   A A 69 8.43kgs
215/55 R16 93V   B A 68 8.77kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   A A 69 8.40kgs
215/55 R16 93W   B A 68 8.77kgs
225/55 R16 95W   B A 68 9.21kgs
225/55 R16 95V   B A 68 9.11kgs
195/60 R16 89V   C A 68 7.63kgs
195/60 R16 89V   B A 68 7.58kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C B 67 11.94kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL   B A 68 8.21kgs
205/60 R16 92H   B A 68 8.30kgs
205/60 R16 92V   B A 68 8.48kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   B A 68 9.27kgs
215/60 R16 99W XL   B A 68 9.27kgs
215/60 R16 95V   C A 68 9.27kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 68 9.27kgs
225/60 R16 102W XL   B A 69  
225/60 R16 102W XL   A A 69 9.46kgs
215/65 R16 98H   B A 69  
195/40 R17 81V XL   B A 69 6.89kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   B A 69 8.05kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   B A 69 8.19kgs
225/45 R17 91W   C A 69 8.19kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   B A 70 9.81kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   B A 69 8.06kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   B A 69 8.05kgs
205/50 R17 89V   B A 68 8.00kgs
215/50 R17 91W   B A 69 8.62kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   B A 69 8.67kgs
215/50 R17 91V   B A 69 8.62kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   A A 68 8.87kgs
225/50 R17 94W Segment 2 C A 67  
225/50 R17 98V XL   A A 68  
225/50 R17 94W   B A 67 10.08kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL Segment 1 B A 68  
225/50 R17 98W XL   B A 68 8.87kgs
225/50 R17 94W   B A 68 8.87kgs
225/50 R17 94W   B A 67  
205/55 R17 95V XL   A A 69 8.23kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL Segment 1 B A 69  
205/55 R17 91W   C B 66 11.79kgs
215/55 R17 94W   B A 69 9.02kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL Segment 2 B A 69  
215/55 R17 94V   B B 68 9.41kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   A A 69 9.00kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   A A 69 9.31kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   A A 69  
225/55 R17 101V XL   B C 68 11.46kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   B A 69 8.93kgs
235/40 R18 95W XL   C A 70 9.57kgs
245/40 R18 97W XL   B A 70  
225/45 R18 95W XL   B A 69 9.23kgs
225/45 R18 95W XL Segment 2 B A 69  

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

2016-04-11 - My question relates to new tyres fitted yesterday at National tyre and Autocare: Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance and the pressure. National tyre and Autocentre told me they always inflate to 34 psi (a National standard). Now my book states recommended is 29 psi (OLD Honda HR-V). The Goodyears are lightish with softish sidewalls and actually so far feel "OK" at this higher pressure. Are National correct to go to 34 psi or should I revert back to manufacturer's setting despite this car being well over 10 years old - when tyres perhaps were more rigid? Hope you can help. Thank you.

Tyre pressure, within reason is largely subjective, however you are correct in thinking modern tyres can require a few more PSI to feel the same as older tyres with stronger sidewalls. Keep an eye on wear to ensure the tyre is wearing evenly, and play around with the pressures until you find a balance you're happy with.


2016-04-17 - Oh...getting judder though the steering wheel at motorway speeds following fitting of fronts. Will take take for balance check. I noticed the whitish paint "dots" on sidewalls (one each tyre) - do these have any significance in their siting?? (Garage says absolutely not). Know in old days red and yellow were said to be aids to balancing... Thank you for your expertise.

The dots can mean a number of things and it will depend on the SKU. For example for Jag OE tyres the dot is there to tell their machines which way to fit the tyres, it can be a different colour dot for other OEMs or it could be for the old fashioned balancing aspect. So, there is not one direct answer for this question, sorry.


2016-12-03 - Hi have inherited a Audi A4 1.9 TDI SE are these tyres ok to use and run on the Audi ?

As long as the size and load rating meets the manufacturer's guide, the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is an excellent choice for your Audi A4.


2017-06-07 - Please, I'd like to tell me about the weight of the tire Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 215/55/15 97W (Fuel B - Wet A). Thank you very much.

Our website only lists the 215/55 R16 97W XL AA version. This weighs 8.43kgs.


2018-06-15 - Hi, I am considering a new set of tyres to replace the awful EVENT tyres installed in my Toyota Corolla 1.6 VVTi. The size is 195 60 R15 88 V. I've watched your analysis of the best 2018 summer tyres, but the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance are not there. Could you give me your advice about these tyres? How would they compare to the Continental Premium 5 or the Firestone Roadhawk? Many thanks.

They will have a very similar performance level, and they're highly recommended.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £42.20 - £56.70 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/50 R17 £81.20 - £90.40 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £48.60 - £91.70 (82 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £65.10 - £77.86 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £85.00 - £142.00 (34 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 40 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Review

Given 100% while driving a Ford ba falcon (215/60 R16) on mostly country roads for 80,000 spirited miles

I live in outback Australia, New South Wales, Tilpa. I have an Australian built Ford Falcon, BA wagon. I had these tyres fitted 6 months ago. I can only say that they are able to handle day temps of 52C, floods, rocky dirt roads and bitumen. Most roads out here are rocky dirt. Never had a puncture. Extreme temps, never had a blow out. Extreme rain, excellent grip and no aqua planning. In the outback, reliability is the difference between reaching your place today and reaching your place in a week, if you are lucky. I highly recommend these tyres to anyone that commands top performance and quality from their tyres.
174 - tyre reviewed on March 2, 2016   

Latest Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the EfficientGrip Performance.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 88% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 2.4 JTD mjet (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Heavy car with 400Nm diesel. The tyres smooth and soft character fits this car very well, feels safe, predictable but exact enough to drive actively. Soft and quiet ride. I have tryed many other thorough the years on different cars, but get back to these eventually. My favorite tyre.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2018   
Given 69% while driving a Renault Megane Estate 1.6DCi (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 12,400 average miles
I change from Michelin energy saver due to side damage to front tyre. I went for Goodyear efficient grip performance, as there ware lots of good reviews. first you can see the difference as tyre is very soft and looks underinflated. the handling was bit worst that Michelin, or just needed to get use to them. breaking and stopping was very good, with daily commute of 50/50 motorway/city driving the tyres need to be replaced soon, after just 2 years and 12400 miles. the middle of the tyre is near to wear indicator, less than 3mm, but sides are still over3mm. I was always within manufacture tyre pressure limit, but still tyre look like it was overinflated all the time. maybe its due to the softness of the tyre, or just nature. Very good tyre but it didn't last long in my case. the back. Compared to Michelin energy saver that are fitted in the back, they still have over 4mm and over 39000miles on the clock.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2018   
Looking for the best all season tyre? Watch this video!
Toyota (225/60 R15 R) on a combination of roads for 18 easy going miles
These tyres, DOT stamped 2915 were fitted 11/15 and since then have done 18,000 miles. The front needed to be replaced before winter but the rear tyres still have 5-6mm tread across the tyre. However after a rapid deflation due I think to a failed puncture repair carried out about 9 months ago I noticed that there was severe cracking in the casing of the failed tyre between the treads. Similar cracking is present in the casing of the two rear tyres even though there is still 5-6mm of tread depth. The cracking suggest premature perishing of the casing, not something I would have expected from a premium grade tyre recommended and fitted by a Toyota dealer.

The tyres were fine when new but grip/road holding has deteriorated markedly with use. The premature perishing suggests that a warning should be issued for these tyres once they are more than 2 years old.
3 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2018   
Given 70% while driving a Alfa Romeo Mito Multiair (135 hp) 13 (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 40,000 easy going miles
I bought these tyres 5 years ago. From the very first day it was a bit of disappointment, compared to my previous tyres (Goodyear excellence). The grip in both dry and wet conditions was not as good as the previous tyres, the wheels were spinning at the start even in the slightest hill, the breaking was making me nervous whenever I needed an emergency stop, gliding for several meters even at very low speeds, and rarely I had a sensation of sliding during turning, especially on wet conditions, or poor quality of tarmac.

I was very satisfied though by its fuel consumption and its wear... Its performance didn't drop much during these 5 years (60000 km), although it wasn't very good in the first place.

I would not recommend this tyre to anyone, except maybe someone who drives very carefully, in a very safe road and his only concern is a fuelsaving tyre that will last, with minimum requirements, for 30.000-40.000 miles (50.000-60.000 km)
2 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2018   

See all 156 customer reviews of the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (newest first) >>