Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 79%
Wear 73%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 75%

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear EfficientGrip

Show All

Tyre review data from 154 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 1,680,246 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2015 ACE Summer Touring Tyre Test - 1st of 12 tyres

2015 Auto Bild 215/55 R16 Technical Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - The best level of grip on wet roads, high level of grip on dry roads, minimum rolling resistance, safe handling, good comfort, low noise
  • Negative - None mentioned

2014 ADAC 195/65 R15 Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 17 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced tyre with top marks in the wet, good on dry roads, relatively low fuel consumption
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/55 R14 80H   C A 68 6.05kgs
185/60 R14 82H   C A 67 6.33kgs
185/65 R14 86H   C B 68 6.56kgs
195/50 R15 82H   C A 67 6.70kgs
195/50 R15 82V   C A 67 6.74kgs
185/55 R15 82H Segment 1 C A 68  
185/55 R15 82V   C A 68 6.65kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 68 6.94kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 68 6.94kgs
205/55 R15 88V   C A 68 7.35kgs
185/60 R15 84H   B A 67 6.71kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   B A 67 6.80kgs
195/60 R15 88H   B A 68 7.18kgs
195/60 R15 88V   B A 68 7.18kgs
205/60 R15 91H   B A 68 7.74kgs
205/60 R15 91V   B A 68 7.74kgs
185/65 R15 88H   B A 68 7.04kgs
195/65 R15 91V   B A 69 7.61kgs
195/65 R15 91H   B A 69 7.54kgs
205/65 R15 94V   B B 68 8.64kgs
205/65 R15 94V Segment 1 C B 68  
215/45 R16 86H   C A 68 8.10kgs
205/50 R16 87W   B A 68 7.37kgs
225/50 R16 92W   B A 68 8.62kgs
195/55 R16 87W   C B 67 10.39kgs
195/55 R16 87V   B A 68 7.41kgs
195/55 R16 87H   B A 68 7.41kgs
205/55 R16 91W   B A 68 7.72kgs
205/55 R16 91V   B A 68 7.88kgs
205/55 R16 91H   B C 68 8.69kgs
205/55 R16 91H   B A 68 7.72kgs
205/55 R16 94W XL   B A 69  
205/55 R16 94W XL   A A 68 7.28kgs
205/55 R16 94W XL   A A 68  
215/55 R16 97W XL Segment 2 B A 69  
215/55 R16 97H XL Segment 1 B A 69  
215/55 R16 97W XL   A A 69 8.43kgs
215/55 R16 93V   B A 68 8.77kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   A A 69 8.40kgs
215/55 R16 93W   B A 68 8.77kgs
225/55 R16 95W   B A 68 9.21kgs
225/55 R16 95V   B A 68 9.11kgs
195/60 R16 89V   C A 68 7.63kgs
195/60 R16 89V   B A 68 7.58kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C B 67 11.94kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL   B A 68 8.21kgs
205/60 R16 92H   B A 68 8.30kgs
205/60 R16 92V   B A 68 8.48kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   B A 68 9.27kgs
215/60 R16 99W XL   B A 68 9.27kgs
215/60 R16 95V   C A 68 9.27kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 68 9.27kgs
225/60 R16 102W XL   B A 69  
225/60 R16 102W XL   A A 69 9.46kgs
215/65 R16 98H   B A 69  
195/40 R17 81V XL   B A 69 6.89kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   B A 69 8.05kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   B A 69 8.19kgs
225/45 R17 91W   C A 69 8.19kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   B A 70 9.81kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   B A 69 8.06kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   B A 69 8.05kgs
205/50 R17 89V   B A 68 8.00kgs
215/50 R17 91W   B A 69 8.62kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   B A 69 8.67kgs
215/50 R17 91V   B A 69 8.62kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   A A 68 8.87kgs
225/50 R17 94W Segment 2 C A 67  
225/50 R17 98V XL   A A 68  
225/50 R17 94W   B A 67 10.08kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL Segment 1 B A 68  
225/50 R17 98W XL   B A 68 8.87kgs
225/50 R17 94W   B A 68 8.87kgs
225/50 R17 94W   B A 67  
205/55 R17 95V XL   A A 69 8.23kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL Segment 1 B A 69  
205/55 R17 91W   C B 66 11.79kgs
215/55 R17 94W   B A 69 9.02kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL Segment 2 B A 69  
215/55 R17 94V   B B 68 9.41kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   A A 69 9.00kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   A A 69 9.31kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   A A 69  
225/55 R17 101V XL   B C 68 11.46kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   B A 69 8.93kgs
235/40 R18 95W XL   C A 70 9.57kgs
245/40 R18 97W XL   B A 70  
225/45 R18 95W XL   B A 69 9.23kgs
225/45 R18 95W XL Segment 2 B A 69  

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

2016-04-11 - My question relates to new tyres fitted yesterday at National tyre and Autocare: Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance and the pressure. National tyre and Autocentre told me they always inflate to 34 psi (a National standard). Now my book states recommended is 29 psi (OLD Honda HR-V). The Goodyears are lightish with softish sidewalls and actually so far feel "OK" at this higher pressure. Are National correct to go to 34 psi or should I revert back to manufacturer's setting despite this car being well over 10 years old - when tyres perhaps were more rigid? Hope you can help. Thank you.

Tyre pressure, within reason is largely subjective, however you are correct in thinking modern tyres can require a few more PSI to feel the same as older tyres with stronger sidewalls. Keep an eye on wear to ensure the tyre is wearing evenly, and play around with the pressures until you find a balance you're happy with.


2016-04-17 - Oh...getting judder though the steering wheel at motorway speeds following fitting of fronts. Will take take for balance check. I noticed the whitish paint "dots" on sidewalls (one each tyre) - do these have any significance in their siting?? (Garage says absolutely not). Know in old days red and yellow were said to be aids to balancing... Thank you for your expertise.

The dots can mean a number of things and it will depend on the SKU. For example for Jag OE tyres the dot is there to tell their machines which way to fit the tyres, it can be a different colour dot for other OEMs or it could be for the old fashioned balancing aspect. So, there is not one direct answer for this question, sorry.


2016-12-03 - Hi have inherited a Audi A4 1.9 TDI SE are these tyres ok to use and run on the Audi ?

As long as the size and load rating meets the manufacturer's guide, the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is an excellent choice for your Audi A4.


2017-06-07 - Please, I'd like to tell me about the weight of the tire Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 215/55/15 97W (Fuel B - Wet A). Thank you very much.

Our website only lists the 215/55 R16 97W XL AA version. This weighs 8.43kgs.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £44.14 - £58.01 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/50 R17 £81.73 - £98.69 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £51.10 - £86.00 (62 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £69.60 - £103.30 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £88.10 - £163.73 (45 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 43 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Review

Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Ford ba falcon (215/60 R16) on mostly country roads for 80,000 spirited miles

I live in outback Australia, New South Wales, Tilpa. I have an Australian built Ford Falcon, BA wagon. I had these tyres fitted 6 months ago. I can only say that they are able to handle day temps of 52C, floods, rocky dirt roads and bitumen. Most roads out here are rocky dirt. Never had a puncture. Extreme temps, never had a blow out. Extreme rain, excellent grip and no aqua planning. In the outback, reliability is the difference between reaching your place today and reaching your place in a week, if you are lucky. I highly recommend these tyres to anyone that commands top performance and quality from their tyres.
102 - tyre reviewed on March 2, 2016   

Latest Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the EfficientGrip Performance.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 16,800 average miles
I drive them on my Golf MK5 only during summer time. 2.5 years old now.
Drove them for 27.000km and they are down from 8mm to 5.7mm tread. I do rotate them front and back regularly.
Cons:
-the only big downside is the road noise, which isn't on the table here and I can't score it in this review. The tyres are a bit noisy, especially on rough surface, you can hear them quite well inside the cabin.

Pros:
-The grip is tricky. Most of the time is phenomenal. Grips almost like a sport tyre, especially on curvy roads. But, on a very smooth surface the wheels spin easily when I floor the car in 2nd gear. But the tyre never left me down during spirited driving, I am confident it will stick in the next corner. The grip is still here, and its the same as when they were new.
-Build. Tyre is strong. Its not easy to damage it or bend it. It looks solid. No damage what so ever. After 27.000km it is still a great tyre, with 10-30 grams weights on the balancing machine, it feels like new.
-Wear is good. Most of my driveing is slow, around town with occasional wheel spin just for fun. My driving on open roads is spirited. The wear is only average, but you get a tyre that sticks to the road, not some plastic junk that will slide out of the corner. So I think average treadware is good compromise for great grip and handling.
-Comfort is average. Not too hard, not soft. Like most summer tyres.
-Stability on rain was great, except for this one time, when I got scary aquaplaning at 90kmh for 2 seconds. Now I don't feel so safe anymore :( Maybe its because they are down to 5.7mm.
-Resistance to roll. Economy. The tyre has extremely low resistance to roll. Much much lower than the my winter tyres.
-I don't think there is a better tyre for the money. I'd buy it again. Hope they can fix the noise problem. If they do, it will be the best tyre in its class.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2017   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Verso 2010 (205/60 R16) on mostly country roads for 12,000 average miles
Comfortable and quite tyres with very soft sidewalls. Average handling and feedback.
6 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2017   
Given 61% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat 500X (215/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
The tyres came as the standard fit on my fiat 500x. The car is on a company lease so I cannot ditch them. I live in Holland where it rains a lot, the asphalt is generally very smooth and the wet grip is below par for a premium branded tyre. Generally a mediocre tyre really if you were to buy them from your own hard earned money. Dry grip is okay but they don't inspire much confidence in cornering.
I would buy conti or michelin. Not recommended
3 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2017   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a CitroŽn c3 Picasso 1.6 diesel (195/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 1,500 average miles
got to be the best tyres, comfortable quiet plenty grip
9 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2017   
Given 97% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
Replaced existing Good Year Eagle F1 with these and very pleased. Ride much more comfortable and grip very good in dry and wet.
15 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2017   

See all 148 customer reviews of the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (newest first) >>