Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 79%
Wear 74%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 75%

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear EfficientGrip

Show All

Tyre review data from 183 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 2,202,364 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview - 11th of 47 tyres

2018 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 12th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the dry, low fuel consumption
  • Negative - Slightly weak in the wet, high wear

2018 AZ Summer AND All Season Tyre Test - 4th of 9 tyres

    Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    185/55 R14 80H   C A 68 6.05kgs
    185/60 R14 82H   C A 67 6.33kgs
    185/65 R14 86H   C B 68 6.56kgs
    195/50 R15 82H   C A 67 6.70kgs
    195/50 R15 82V   C A 67 6.74kgs
    185/55 R15 82H Segment 1 C A 68  
    185/55 R15 82V   C A 68 6.65kgs
    195/55 R15 85V   C A 68 6.94kgs
    195/55 R15 85H   C A 68 6.94kgs
    205/55 R15 88V   C A 68 7.35kgs
    185/60 R15 84H   B A 67 6.71kgs
    185/60 R15 88H XL   B A 67 6.80kgs
    195/60 R15 88H   B A 68 7.18kgs
    195/60 R15 88V   B A 68 7.18kgs
    205/60 R15 91H   B A 68 7.74kgs
    205/60 R15 91V   B A 68 7.74kgs
    185/65 R15 88H   B A 68 7.04kgs
    195/65 R15 91V   B A 69 7.61kgs
    195/65 R15 91H   B A 69 7.54kgs
    205/65 R15 94V   B B 68 8.64kgs
    205/65 R15 94V Segment 1 C B 68  
    215/45 R16 86H   C A 68 8.10kgs
    205/50 R16 87W   B A 68 7.37kgs
    225/50 R16 92W   B A 68 8.62kgs
    195/55 R16 87W   C B 67 10.39kgs
    195/55 R16 87V   B A 68 7.41kgs
    195/55 R16 87H   B A 68 7.41kgs
    205/55 R16 91W   B A 68 7.72kgs
    205/55 R16 91V   B A 68 7.88kgs
    205/55 R16 91H   B C 68 8.69kgs
    205/55 R16 91H   B A 68 7.72kgs
    205/55 R16 94W XL   B A 69  
    205/55 R16 94W XL   A A 68 7.28kgs
    205/55 R16 94W XL   A A 68  
    215/55 R16 97W XL Segment 2 B A 69  
    215/55 R16 97H XL Segment 1 B A 69  
    215/55 R16 97W XL   A A 69 8.43kgs
    215/55 R16 93V   B A 68 8.77kgs
    215/55 R16 97H XL   A A 69 8.40kgs
    215/55 R16 93W   B A 68 8.77kgs
    225/55 R16 95W   B A 68 9.21kgs
    225/55 R16 95V   B A 68 9.11kgs
    195/60 R16 89V   C A 68 7.63kgs
    195/60 R16 89V   B A 68 7.58kgs
    205/60 R16 92V   C B 67 11.94kgs
    205/60 R16 96W XL   B A 68 8.21kgs
    205/60 R16 92H   B A 68 8.30kgs
    205/60 R16 92V   B A 68 8.48kgs
    215/60 R16 99H XL   B A 68 9.27kgs
    215/60 R16 99W XL   B A 68 9.27kgs
    215/60 R16 95V   C A 68 9.27kgs
    215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 68 9.27kgs
    225/60 R16 102W XL   B A 69  
    225/60 R16 102W XL   A A 69 9.46kgs
    215/65 R16 98H   B A 69  
    195/40 R17 81V XL   B A 69 6.89kgs
    215/45 R17 91W XL   B A 69 8.05kgs
    225/45 R17 94W XL   B A 69 8.19kgs
    225/45 R17 91W   C A 69 8.19kgs
    245/45 R17 99Y XL   B A 70 9.81kgs
    205/50 R17 93V XL   B A 69 8.06kgs
    205/50 R17 93W XL   B A 69 8.05kgs
    205/50 R17 89V   B A 68 8.00kgs
    215/50 R17 91W   B A 69 8.62kgs
    215/50 R17 95W XL   B A 69 8.67kgs
    215/50 R17 91V   B A 69 8.62kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL   A A 68 8.87kgs
    225/50 R17 94W Segment 2 C A 67  
    225/50 R17 98V XL   A A 68  
    225/50 R17 94W   B A 67 10.08kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL Segment 1 B A 68  
    225/50 R17 98W XL   B A 68 8.87kgs
    225/50 R17 94W   B A 68 8.87kgs
    225/50 R17 94W   B A 67  
    205/55 R17 95V XL   A A 69 8.23kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL Segment 1 B A 69  
    205/55 R17 91W   C B 66 11.79kgs
    215/55 R17 94W   B A 69 9.02kgs
    215/55 R17 98W XL Segment 2 B A 69  
    215/55 R17 94V   B B 68 9.41kgs
    215/55 R17 98W XL   A A 69 9.00kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL   A A 69 9.31kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL   A A 69  
    225/55 R17 101V XL   B C 68 11.46kgs
    225/40 R18 92W XL   B A 69 8.93kgs
    235/40 R18 95W XL   C A 70 9.57kgs
    245/40 R18 97W XL   B A 70  
    225/45 R18 95W XL   B A 69 9.23kgs
    225/45 R18 95W XL Segment 2 B A 69  

    Questions and Answers for the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

    2016-04-11 - My question relates to new tyres fitted yesterday at National tyre and Autocare: Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance and the pressure. National tyre and Autocentre told me they always inflate to 34 psi (a National standard). Now my book states recommended is 29 psi (OLD Honda HR-V). The Goodyears are lightish with softish sidewalls and actually so far feel "OK" at this higher pressure. Are National correct to go to 34 psi or should I revert back to manufacturer's setting despite this car being well over 10 years old - when tyres perhaps were more rigid? Hope you can help. Thank you.

    Tyre pressure, within reason is largely subjective, however you are correct in thinking modern tyres can require a few more PSI to feel the same as older tyres with stronger sidewalls. Keep an eye on wear to ensure the tyre is wearing evenly, and play around with the pressures until you find a balance you're happy with.


    2016-04-17 - Oh...getting judder though the steering wheel at motorway speeds following fitting of fronts. Will take take for balance check. I noticed the whitish paint "dots" on sidewalls (one each tyre) - do these have any significance in their siting?? (Garage says absolutely not). Know in old days red and yellow were said to be aids to balancing... Thank you for your expertise.

    The dots can mean a number of things and it will depend on the SKU. For example for Jag OE tyres the dot is there to tell their machines which way to fit the tyres, it can be a different colour dot for other OEMs or it could be for the old fashioned balancing aspect. So, there is not one direct answer for this question, sorry.


    2016-12-03 - Hi have inherited a Audi A4 1.9 TDI SE are these tyres ok to use and run on the Audi ?

    As long as the size and load rating meets the manufacturer's guide, the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is an excellent choice for your Audi A4.


    2017-06-07 - Please, I'd like to tell me about the weight of the tire Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 215/55/15 97W (Fuel B - Wet A). Thank you very much.

    Our website only lists the 215/55 R16 97W XL AA version. This weighs 8.43kgs.


    2018-06-15 - Hi, I am considering a new set of tyres to replace the awful EVENT tyres installed in my Toyota Corolla 1.6 VVTi. The size is 195 60 R15 88 V. I've watched your analysis of the best 2018 summer tyres, but the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance are not there. Could you give me your advice about these tyres? How would they compare to the Continental Premium 5 or the Firestone Roadhawk? Many thanks.

    They will have a very similar performance level, and they're highly recommended.


    2018-12-14 - How to tell the difference between 225/45 R17 94W XL and 225/45 R17 94W? Does the "XL" printed on the tire?

    Yes, the XL version of the tyre should have XL on the sidewall.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


     
    Size Price Range  
    195/60 R15 £58.30 - £90.20 (35 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/50 R17 £78.50 - £96.53 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £51.20 - £84.70 (89 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £64.60 - £80.54 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/50 R17 £83.20 - £153.20 (46 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 42 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Review

    Given 100% while driving a Ford ba falcon (215/60 R16) on mostly country roads for 80,000 spirited miles

    I live in outback Australia, New South Wales, Tilpa. I have an Australian built Ford Falcon, BA wagon. I had these tyres fitted 6 months ago. I can only say that they are able to handle day temps of 52C, floods, rocky dirt roads and bitumen. Most roads out here are rocky dirt. Never had a puncture. Extreme temps, never had a blow out. Extreme rain, excellent grip and no aqua planning. In the outback, reliability is the difference between reaching your place today and reaching your place in a week, if you are lucky. I highly recommend these tyres to anyone that commands top performance and quality from their tyres.
    190 - tyre reviewed on March 2, 2016   

    Latest Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Reviews

    Have you driven on the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance tyre?

    Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the EfficientGrip Performance.

    Review Your Tyres >>

    Given 57% while driving a Toyota Yaris Mk2 1.33 (1NR FE) (185/60 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    Previously had EfficientGrip Compacts on a Mk1 Diesel Yaris, which were great. When I changed to this car (Damn you Sadiq Khan and your stupid T-Charge forcing me to get rid of the best car I've ever owned!), I found they didn't make that tyre for 15" rims and wasn't sure what to go with so went with the next closest thing.

    Given these were labeled 'Performance' I expected better but so far have been disappointed compared to the Compacts; I don't know if it's because this car is lighter at the front than the old diesel Yaris or because the wider tread (185 vs 175) means it's less grippy but these tyres have performed far worse than the EfficientGrip Compacts on the previous car - They are much more prone to wheelspin when moving off aggressively on wet roads, lose grip faster under hard breaking causing the ABS to kick in, and have just been quite disappointing in general in terms of performance in the wet or dry. Cornering performance is above average - Holds surprisingly well given my other issues with it; Just don't brake or accelerate with more than a quarter turn!

    Like the Compacts they are noisy as heck, although I haven't had another tyre to compare it to yet, but I've come to expect this from tyres with low noise ratings (Hint: The noise rating is for the noise to bystanders, not the driver; That noise has to go somewhere so usually tyres with low noise ratings are noiser in the cabin!!)

    On the plus side they're relatively inexpensive, have lasted pretty well, and they've dealt with the endless potholes and speed humps of London without breaking my spine or rims. It's just a shame so far they've been reminiscent of the relatively poor performance I had with the Cooper CS2s on my old diesel Yaris.

    Probably won't be on my list when I need new tyres, although given the rising costs of premium tyres they may get back in just because they're at the low end of the cost table!
    1 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2019   
    Given 100% while driving a Honda Accord (195/60 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
    Very quiet tyres. Even wear. Long lasting. Car feels secure under all conditions. The best tyres I've ever had (over 47 years of motoring).
    3 - tyre reviewed on December 20, 2018   
    What's better in the snow, a 4x4 or winter tyres? Watch the video to find out!
    Given 80% while driving a Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 9,500 spirited miles
    I fitted these tryes to the front of the car in December last year. In the MOT in October the tyres were down to 4mm - this was in approx 9,500 miles. The wear is less than I would have hoped for in all honesty, but I have recently replaced the rears with another pair of these and rotated them round so the 4mm ones are now at the back and the new ones at the front so will see how long they last going on like this. The car produces ~400NM & 170hp

    Apart from the wear aspect I cant fault these tyres, they grip well in both dry and wet, with good braking performance. I do notice that it can sometimes feel a bit "floaty" at times compared to other tyres, which is a bit of an odd sensation, but this is only in a straight line. I put it down to the low rolling resistance. When put into a corner though it feels nice and tight with a good level of feedback and knowledge on what the tyres are doing.

    When cold (3c or below) and rainy the tyres can take a bit to heat up and as such suffer from low grip, but again I think most summer tyres will be the same, so not a problem.

    All in all I wont change from these tyres now unless something drastic happens to them - for the money I cant fault them (£90)

    2 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2018   
    Given 100% while driving a Honda Accord (195/60 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
    Fitted to my old 2003 Honda Civic, replaced Dunlops, front tyres did 35,000 miles, rear ones had done 40,000 miles when I gave the car to my son, still with plenty of tread left, it has now done another 10,000 miles.
    Also fitted (exactly the same size) to my 2002 Honda Accord. I bought the car in 2007 with under 15,000 miles on, the front tyres were Michelin, which I replaced at 45,000 with the Goodyears, the rear ones were (presumably the original) Bridgestones, replaced at 54,000 miles. Front Goodyears lasted to 88,000 miles, so did 33,000 miles. These were then replaced at 118,000 miles (uneven wear), did 30,000 miles. Rear ones replaced at 102,000 miles, so did 48,000 miles. Car has now done almost 121,000 miles.
    With the Goodyear tyres, the ride is very smooth and quiet. Since I replaced the front tyres and had the tracking adjusted, it runs even more quietly and achieves better fuel consumption.
    5 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2018   
    Given 76% while driving a Opel Astra J 1.4 turbo (215/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 22,500 average miles
    I bought this Opel Astra turbo with Electronic suspension at 74.000 km having Bridgestone ER300 in front and rear. The front ones were worn down to 3mm and I decided to have them changed into a pair of EGP.

    Car got immediately smoother and much quieter. Driving less in city, but mostly in curvy roads to commute from Home to office, as well as driving in motorways under Greece's warm climate , after making 19.000 km in front and 17.000 km in rear wheels in 2 year's time, I have come up with the following experience :

    Dry conditions :Average to high grip performance ( when new, but deteriorates gradually over mileage) , good handling and braking, quiet rolling , rather numb feeling in steering, when cornering and poor road feedback ( the car's steering characteristics contribute to that feeling), good braking.

    Wet conditions: much better in the wet, no aquaplaning, good braking .

    General notes : soft side wall rubber compound, looks under inflated when pressure at 31 psi ( I always had them in 33 -34), rubber compound prone to deteriorate towards the edge of the tyre - tyre seems not to bear the Greek summer heat conditions and hot asphalt, i( inspite of the fact that car is not parked I'm the open). On the other hand there is low fuel consumption and low noice after 36.000 kms, having tread left as 3.5 mm.

    Also, when moved to rear wheels and having ContiPremiumcontact 6 in front, I had no problems whatsover in my EGP rear tyres "to follow" the front CPC6.

    In conclusion, I would say this is a decent turing tyre with good performance characteristics, quiet and confy, mostly designed for wet conditions in average European temperature conditions. I wouldn't buy it again because of our country's harsh dry summer conditions.
    4 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2018   

    See all 161 customer reviews of the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (newest first) >>