Goodyear EfficientGrip

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 65%
Road Feedback 60%
Handling 57%
Wear 70%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 52%
 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £54.26 - £90.20 (33 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/50 R17 £91.00 - £111.00 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £88.50 - £106.86 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £72.54 - £86.60 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £94.81 - £131.10 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 68 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Dacia stepway (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I live in the Vendee, France.
In summer the tyres give a nice ride on all roads, but in winter on country roads (very rough) not so good.
They have never given a problem driving in all conditions. Exception, wet cow dung, etc, they slip then.
Wear, well I have calculated about 24,000 kms on front tyres.
Dacia Stepway Tce 90 can be lively in 1st, 2nd and 3rd gear (ECO off).
Mind you I am 74 yrs so do not push the car like a youngster, always make sure the passenger (wife) does not rock/roll in her seat!!!
All in all, the tyres have never given me any problems.
Swerve ability is good, done that a few times.

0 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2017   
Ford (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 4,500 average miles
Had the tyres on now for about 18 months, there literally is no better tyre available for the price, absolutely sure handling, and in the wet they are simply fantastic like you're driving on dry roads, I have read some reviews on here saying they're dangerous, well something must actually be wrong with the people's vehicles as these tyres are on my car all round and my partners car too, and just perfect, I will not buy any different brand of tyre ever again, improved my mpg too, before these I had uniroyal rears and cheapo unbranded on the front, never again as they were scary in the wet! These are brilliant tyres!
0 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2017   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A8 D2 4.2 quattro (235/55 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 60,000 average miles
A comfortable ride slightly noisy on some surfaces. Excellent grip both wet and dry. Covered 60K on last set of Goodyear tyres. Certainly recommend these tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2017   
Given 51% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 28,000 easy going miles
This is the second time I've owned a Mondeo with Goodyear Efficient Grip tyres...as fitted from new. My experience has been almost identical. The front tyres wore almost catastrophically on the inside shoulders and were replaced at around 28000 miles. The rear tyres lasted very well but after about 25000 miles (and around half worn, they became increasingly noisy with a rhythmic noise at 20-30 mph. The road noise is so loud that eventually I changed the rear tyres with 4mm of tread remaining. According to Goodyear this is caused by uneven wear because of how the tyres are presented to the road. There are lots of similar reports on the internet. Can't understand why Ford persist with these tyres. I certainly won't buy Goodyear again
3 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2017   
Given 40% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Avensis (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Generally disappointed by wet road handling (they are really dangerous!!) and wear/tear issue. I had to point that 2 tyres was installed in front and they had in total +3 grades to internal side tracking issue and outer side was actually destroyed very quickly on both tires. Despite existing mentioned wheel alignment issue I expect them to be in a much better condition. On a wet road they are just dangerous I have no idea how these tyres had passed QA tests - I think they just should be banned from roads.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 20, 2017   
Given 61% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz B180Cdi (205/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Have a problem with directional stability on wet route.
11 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2017   
Given 44% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Clio II 1.2 16v (185/55 R15 H) on mostly town for 3,000 easy going miles
Worst tyres I ever had. The first time I had to make a full stop in a rainy day almost collided with the front car. HUGE braking distance!
Compared to the last ones (Continental Premium Contact 2) these are terrible...
Very dangerous to use the brakes on top of road crossings with these tyres!!!
6 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2017   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo estate (215/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Firstly, some background. This isn't part of the review, but will provide some context. I don't use a single set of tyres. Instead I have summer tyres (the Goodyear EfficientGrip I'm reviewing) on the original alloys that came with the vehicle and winter tyres (Nangkang SV2) on a set of steels. It makes changing them a doddle (sub 1hr) and therefore makes sure that I do swap them over twice a year.

Due to my rotation of winter/summer, it also means I can rotate front/back tyres on both sets and get almost perfect even wear across all the tyres. I've found this is the best way with tyres as it means I'm always getting the best performance from the tread and I can replace an entire set of 4, not pairs and swap with the rears like I used to.

Another advantage is I can inspect each tyre very closely for uneaven wear, bulges, separation etc and make sure that when I drive the car, the stuff that keeps me alive is still at top performance. Now for the review...

Its very hard to give the exact mileage since I've swapped them for winters approximately twice a year (usually October/November and March/April). One thing I can say is I've had the tyres for a VERY long time. I can't actually remember when I last got the summers replace. I'm very impressed, therefore, with the wear overall - bearing in mind I regularly swap front/rear.

The performance of these tyres is very surprising - as is the car to be honest. Its a very boring standard Ford Mondeo Estate (diesel) but the handling of such a normal estate really surprises me sometimes if you push it! Especially with these tyres. Its literally like driving a train. My driving is mixed/modest most of the time (I have a family) but occasionally I travel to Wales and Yorkshire with lots of twisty windy roads and you really can feel the performance of the tyres. I've only started to notice a slight drop in performance down to the last 2-4mm - but that is because the centre treads really have lost most of their grip now - time to replace!

On the motorway, they are quiet as a mouse. I can't really comment on fuel economy as I only have the winters to compare to and it is to be expected there will be a significant difference between the two.

In the rain, I guess they could be a tad better if you push them but then again my driving style changes in the rain and I don't really push it. I've never had any issues with roundabouts, aquaplaning or emergency stops in the wet (defensive driving) - so can't ask for much more. If you try and push them in the wet then yes you will feel them losing grip. This is a positive comment - as you need a tyre to tell you when its losing grip so you can correct before its too late. So good for normal driving, but dont expect them to be like glue in the wet.

I'm so pleased with the tyres overall, I'll be replacing them with the same ones again. Even after some considerable research into what might have come on the market since.

This time I'm going for the EfficientGrip Performance as there is a slight improvement on economy and they are reinforced (estate car and uk potholes, enough said). With the label ratings of A A and under 70db, plus XL, and very high reviews on here and other vendors, its a no brainer for me.

0 - tyre reviewed on May 1, 2017   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a MINI MINI COUNTRYMAN S ALL4 (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
Runflat version fitted to Mini Countryman - OK tyres, no pretensions of being a full sports tyres and as a general daily driver tyre they did the job just fine. Comfort their worst feature, but thats as much about the MINI suspension, ridiculously heavy alloy wheels and the runflat version of the tyre. Didn't do anything particularly well, but no real bad points - Used winter wheels so no experience of how these performance in frost, ice and snow. Typically lasted 18k miles.
1 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2017