Goodyear EfficientGrip

Dry Grip 75%
Wet Grip 64%
Road Feedback 59%
Progressiveness 56%
Wear 70%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 51%
Goodyear EfficientGrip

The Goodyear EfficientGrip is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Excellence

This tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

Show all

Tyre review data from 92 tyre reviews averaging 64% over 1,000,181 miles driven.

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/60 R14 82H   E C 69 6.86kgs
185/65 R14 86H   C C 69 7.26kgs
195/50 R15 82V   E B 68  
185/55 R15 82H   C C 68  
185/55 R15 82H   B E 67 6.57kgs
185/55 R15 82H   B C 66 6.62kgs
195/55 R15 85H Segment 1 E C 67  
195/55 R15 85V   C C 69  
195/55 R15 85H   C C 69  
195/55 R15 85V   E B 67 7.58kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   C C 69  
195/60 R15 88V   C B 69  
195/60 R15 88H   C C 69 7.63kgs
205/60 R15 91V   C C 69  
205/60 R15 95H XL Segment 1 C B 69  
205/60 R15 91H Segment 1 C C 69  
185/65 R15 88H Segment 1 C B 69  
195/65 R15 91H   C C 69 7.97kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   B C 71 9.12kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C B 70 9.13kgs
195/65 R15 91H Segment 1 C B 68  
195/65 R15 91H   C B 68  
195/65 R15 91V   C C 69  
205/65 R15 94H Segment 1 C C 69  
205/65 R15 94V Segment 1 C B 69  
195/45 R16 84V XL   C C 66 7.13kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL   B C 66  
205/45 R16 83W   E B 69  
205/50 R16 87W   C B 69  
195/55 R16 87V Segment 1 C B 69  
195/55 R16 87H Segment 1 C B 69  
205/55 R16 91V   C B 69  
205/55 R16 91W   C B 66 11.17kgs
205/55 R16 91H   B E 67  
205/55 R16 91V   A C 67 7.95kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C C 68  
205/55 R16 91V   C C 68  
205/55 R16 91W   C C 69  
205/55 R16 91W AO C B 66  
205/55 R16 91H   C B 70  
205/55 R16 91H   C C 68 8.35kgs
205/55 R16 91H Segment 1 B C 68  
205/55 R16 91V   C B 68 10.74kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C B 67 9.66kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C C 70  
215/55 R16 93W   C B 70  
215/55 R16 93H   C B 67 9.60kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C B 70  
225/55 R16 95W   C C 69  
225/55 R16 99Y XL   B B 70  
195/60 R16 89H   C B 69 8.35kgs
205/60 R16 92H   E B 68 9.21kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C C 69  
205/60 R16 92H Segment 1 C B 69  
205/60 R16 96H XL   B B 68 9.87kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL   B B 69  
205/60 R16 92W   C B 67 12.23kgs
205/60 R16 92W   C C 67 8.46kgs
215/60 R16 95H   B B 71 9.89kgs
215/60 R16 95W Segment 2 C B 69  
225/60 R16 102V XL   B B 70  
225/60 R16 98W Segment 2 B C 70  
225/60 R16 102H XL   C B 69 11.50kgs
205/40 R17 84W XL Segment 2 E B 70  
215/40 R17 87W XL          
215/40 R17 87V XL   E B 71 9.35kgs
215/40 R17 87W XL   E C 72 9.09kgs
255/40 R17 94Y Segment 2 C C 70  
205/45 R17 88W XL   C C 70 8.23kgs
225/45 R17 91V   E B 68 10.09kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 70  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C B 70  
225/45 R17 91W          
235/45 R17 94W   C B 70 9.64kgs
235/45 R17 97W XL   C C 70  
245/45 R17 95Y   C C 70  
245/45 R17 95W   E B 69 11.44kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C B 69 11.44kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL Segment 2 C C 69  
205/50 R17 89V   B A 66 8.69kgs
205/50 R17 89W   C A 66 10.83kgs
205/50 R17 89Y   C A 66 10.83kgs
205/50 R17 93H XL   C B 72 9.10kgs
215/50 R17 91V   C C 71  
215/50 R17 95W XL   C C 68 10.25kgs
215/50 R17 91V   E B 70 9.51kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   C C 70  
235/50 R17 96W   C B 68 11.68kgs
215/55 R17 94V Segment 1 C B 70  
215/55 R17 98W XL Segment 2 C C 70  
215/55 R17 94W   C B 68 10.36kgs
225/55 R17 97Y   E C 67 10.94kgs
225/55 R17 101H XL   C C 71 11.64kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   B B 70  
235/55 R17 99Y   C C 67 11.25kgs
215/60 R17 96H Segment 1 C B 69  
235/60 R17 102V   C C 68 12.33kgs
235/60 R17 102Y AO C C 68  
255/35 R18 94Y XL          
225/40 R18 92W XL Segment 2 C B 70  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C C 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C B 71  
255/40 R18 95V   E C 69 13.63kgs
255/40 R18 95W   E B 69 13.63kgs
255/40 R18 95Y   E C 69 13.63kgs
225/45 R18 91V   E B 69 12.18kgs
225/45 R18 91W   E B 69 12.18kgs
225/45 R18 91Y   E B 69 12.18kgs
245/45 R18 96Y   C B 67 14.36kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C B 68 11.13kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL          
255/45 R18 99Y   E C 69 11.70kgs
245/50 R18 100W   B B 68 14.96kgs
235/55 R18 100Y   E C 67 12.70kgs
235/55 R18 104Y XL   C C 68 12.60kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C C 69 14.18kgs
275/40 R19 101Y   C B 70 15.69kgs
275/40 R19 101Y   C B 70  
235/45 R19 95V   C A 67 12.70kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 69 14.37kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 69 14.31kgs
255/50 R19 103Y   E B 71 17.89kgs
285/40 R20 104Y   E B 70 17.75kgs
255/45 R20 101Y   E B 70 15.98kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear EfficientGrip

2016-04-28 - Are Goodyear efficient grip tires unidirectional?

The Goodyear Efficient Grip is an asymmetric which means it can rotate in any direction. The tyre is marked with an "outside" and "inside" to show the tyre fitters how the tyre should be mounted on the wheel.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £48.65 - £82.49 (57 prices) Compare Prices >>
215/50 R17 £79.58 - £97.49 (21 prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £74.93 - £105.74 (22 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £64.92 - £105.74 (10 prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 57 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Reviews

Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf mk6 GTD (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
cant comment on wear as only had for 4 weeks however had conties then verderstain and pirellis before and on my 184bhp front wheel drive Golf Covering 30k a year, they where the best tyre by far! Shocking I know but these really are good tyres.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2015   
Given 85% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 4,000 easy going miles
Excellent tyre in all respects bar wear.

After c.4,000 miles tread is down to 3.5mm at the front!

This is on long journeys an no boy racer stupidity.

They're so good otherwise that I may buy them again when the fronts are illegal at c.7,000 miles.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2015   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi (205/60 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
I started with two of these tyres fitted to the front. They made an immediate impact, road noise is minimal, very comfortable ride and they grip extremely well, I've had only minimal aqua planning when going through puddles at speed. However, I got a puncture on the front right tyre after only a couple of weeks - a small thorn from some kind of bush had gone through the side wall, making a repair impossible. I then bought a replacement for the punctured one and two more so I had them fitted all round. Only two weeks in and I've just had another puncture - I ran over a sharp stone in the road !! I'm beginning to think these tyres are only suitable for motorway driving and not country roads.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on July 22, 2015   
Given 62% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Astra SRi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Despite reviews below, the very first thing i noticed was how quiet they are compared to turanzas. I assumed my rear wheel bearings were going, i had a horrible humm when at speed on Turanzas, the Efficiency grips have been a joy in the noise department, my bearings are obviously ok.
But, the pair of EGripss i fitted a few months ago are already down to 3mm to 3.5mm which surprises me, i dont thrash a car but i don't drive that slowly either.
Fair tyres for the money but i'll be watching the wear.
Probably wouldnt buy again, based on wear, but maybe you can't have it all. Maybe hard wearing tyres do tend to be noisier.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2015   
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Avensis (225/55 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
No Comments Left
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2015   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Kia Motors (185/65 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 21,000 spirited miles
Having previously put a set of budget Nankang 611s on all corners and finding their wet grip performance bordering on dangerous and the car undriveable in certain road conditions(see my review) I vowed to upgrade to better tyres. Initially I put a pair of Toyo proxes CF1s on the front and wet grip (especially) noticeably improved. These would still occasionally wheel spin on the tight junction at the top of our road (but much better than the near daily whizz of the Nankangs), however they gave me the confidence to push the car a bit harder into wet corners. So when the Nankang rears wore out a few months later, I stepped up the tyre choice again and purchased a very competitively priced pair of Goodyear Efficient Grip. Transformation was complete! These tyres raised the confidence levels to new heights and the car was now a real joy to drive hard on any road in any conditions. A really great tyre with no wheel spin at the road junction. Have completed 21,000 miles on them and they still have probably another 5,000 to go. Not as hard wearing as some of the tyres I've had, but if used sensibly these are great value for the grip and confidence they'll provide. Surprised their overall rating here is not higher, but I guess these tyres are fitted to more powerful and harder driven machines that expose weaknesses my 1.6 motor could never discover. So if you're a sensible driver with a sensible car purchasing these will be a very sensible choice!
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2015   
Given 27% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Polo 6R GTI 1.4TSI (180HP) (215/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8 spirited miles
Okay let me first start by saying I gave this tire the benefit of the doubt as it is OEM on other VW's here in South Africa, it was well priced had a better speed rating of my previous tires which were Bridgestone Potenza RE050A's which come standard on the VW Polo GTI.

This was undoubtedly the worst decision I have ever made! I first had 2 fitted to the rear of my car, as I had a bubble after hitting a pothole. I did not feel much change in the cars handling as it is a front wheel drive car as I took the set of Bridgestones that were on the rear and put them on the front "money was tight then".

I later wore the Bridgestones out and had to replace the front 2. From the get go I could feel the difference, at speed this tire feels like jelly even though having a Y speed rating over my previous V! cruising speeds are ok from 100kph to 130kph, ride is so bouncy with this tire! its truly unbearable even though i have adjustable sport shocks with high performance springs!

This tire is rubbish and after being on my car for less than 5500km its making its way to the trash!

I highly DO NOT recommend this tire to anyone owning a high performance car, its truly jelly in the dry and down right scary in the wet! Changing to the Bridgestone S001's and will provide my feedback on them to.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on February 7, 2015   
Given 65% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 0 easy going miles
Not a bad tyre but not great for the price. Tyre noise is horrible between 50-65mph which is annoying as I commute along a major trucking route.
Only recently put on vehicle, but will go back to Dinlop / Kuhmo after these.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2015   
Given 33% (breakdown) while driving a Ford MONDEO (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
These tyres were a big mistake. Almost immediately the steering response deteriorated and the car, a 2001Mondeo,wandered. Within 6 months it sounded as if a front wheel bearing had failed, so I replaced it, to no avail. The droning persisted! I ran these tyres for 13000miles,when the road noise had become very noticeable.Even passengers with no mechanical knowledge would comment. Some 6 weeks ago I spoke to the man in charge of the tyre depot I use and commented about the noise etc. He ran his hand round the tread and pointed out the unevenness.
The tread had gone like saw teeth ( like the old threepenny bit). He said he had so many complaints about Goodyears and particularly Efficietgrip that he would not fit them unless the customer insisted. He claimed the tread wear was due to the steel belt not supporting the full width of the tread, that it was a 'soft tyre'.
I have now removed these dreadful tyres and replaced them with Michelin Primacy 3 and I can already feel the difference. The car is much more stable and there is very little road noise.
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2015   
Given 57% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
I bought a set of 4 of these the replace the mismash of worn out tires i had when i bought my new car.

The biggest problem i have with these is that they seem to have very minimal punture proofing and i have in the last year or so changed 3 of them one at a time due to puntures. Plus they seem to be wearing very quickly. I would say with my driving style they will be worn out in 13-14k.
Wet grip is also pretty average.

When these are worn out i won't be buying them again!
Find this review useful? | - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2014   
Advertisement