Goodyear EfficientGrip

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 65%
Road Feedback 60%
Handling 58%
Wear 69%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 52%
 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £51.20 - £91.93 (64 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/50 R17 £77.20 - £112.33 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £110.88 - £110.88 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £93.30 - £94.40 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £94.80 - £138.37 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 70 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 58% while driving a Fiat Fiorino Van 2008 (185/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 18 spirited miles
To start with the tyres performed well and the van (Fiat Fiorino) handle well with good levels of comfort and grip, but once 15,000 miles was reached the tyre went egg shape with constant vibration on the steering wheel. At first it was subtle but over the next 2 or 3 K it got a lot more pronounced until the vehicle is almost undriveable. This also coincided with tyres loss of grip (traction control interrupting all the time) and major increase in aquaplanning.
This is all still with 4mm of tread left, just not what I would expect from premium branded tyres.
In all my years of motoring this is the first time I have ever had to change out tyres early as they were that bad that for safety sake they had to go.
3 - tyre reviewed on February 12, 2019   
Dacia stepway (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 27 average miles
Hi All
I live near La Rochelle, France.
Tyres fitted to Dacia Stepway Tce 90 when new.
Superb when new in the rain, but at4.5 mm depth they slipped twice in the Pyrenees on bends and wet roads (80 kmh). Wheel spin at the same time!
Home a few days later and a nail through a front tyre so half worn and replaced by Michelin Cross Climate, so no slip on wet roads.
Wear on rear Good Year (still in situ) after 30,000 km/s.
4 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a Ford Mondeo Mk3 1.8 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
Hi readers well I lwas returning from a december driveing tour of the SCOTTISH western isles which have good roads unlike scotland mainland and after leaveing MALLAIG for SEAHAM , DURHAM the front end started to vibrate and the speed dropped to 40 a bit like driveing through sand. I stopped at FORT WILLIAM and called my
breakdown provider who has me on a transporter in 15 mins for home!!!!. my neighbour who has 20 years garage experience advised to raise each front wheel on a support and spin it on the engine, immediately the cause was found the tyre (not the wheel) was running out of true and on swopping the tyre for the spare , normality was returned !!!!. I was running on goodyears efficinity grip and have immediately bought a new set of 4 , I still have faith!!! first time Ive been recovered after 46 years driveing my 2007 mondeo drives on ....... PS If you drive the HEBs there are no garage tyre services on saturday sunday and bank hols I .was once stranded 4 days !!!
0 - tyre reviewed on January 12, 2019   
Given 53% while driving a Toyota Corolla (205/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
The car is a magnet for small debris on the road that get stuck in the the grooves of the tyre. Plus it has an attraction towards punctures, getting them on a monthly basis every time form a new spot. Comfort and tyre noise have been significantly marginalised after 30000 km
15 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2018   
Given 81% while driving a Peugeot 308 sw 1.6 hdi (225/45 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 22,000 average miles
Good and reliable tires, they did performed very well with almost 5* regarding comfort and low noise, but, it did noticeable lost grip, in narrow curves, wet and dry, after 20000 miles, even with lot of tread remaining.
13 - tyre reviewed on February 12, 2018   
Dacia stepway (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 11 average miles
I live in the Vendée, France, and August? I wrote a review of the Good Year Efficient Grip tyre so this is an update.
Also I am a Brit wrinkly of 74 yrs.

Tyre depth, 5.5 front, 6.5 rear.

So, température 8 degs, road WET-WET6-WET!
Roundabout on main road, nought about, Dacia Stepway Tce 90. Floored it going into the roundabout, bit of slip from wheels.
Exit, nearside wheel slipped a bit then then gripped.
Dacia went the direction I wanted, no slide. Mind you, Top Gear France used the Dacia Sanderro for 'fasted lap', never lost it.
I had to severely provoke the tyres to slip, but nought wrong.

Next test, dual carriageway, downhill with a bend and drop down of gracient. Damp road.
I had a Renault Modus before the Dacia, Matador tyres, not nice on this bit.
Good Year tyres, OK, was a bit concerned on that bend but no problems.

Wife was not amused!





5 - tyre reviewed on December 27, 2017   
Given 90% while driving a Dacia stepway (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I live in the Vendee, France.
In summer the tyres give a nice ride on all roads, but in winter on country roads (very rough) not so good.
They have never given a problem driving in all conditions. Exception, wet cow dung, etc, they slip then.
Wear, well I have calculated about 24,000 kms on front tyres.
Dacia Stepway Tce 90 can be lively in 1st, 2nd and 3rd gear (ECO off).
Mind you I am 74 yrs so do not push the car like a youngster, always make sure the passenger (wife) does not rock/roll in her seat!!!
All in all, the tyres have never given me any problems.
Swerve ability is good, done that a few times.

1 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2017   
Ford (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 4,500 average miles
Had the tyres on now for about 18 months, there literally is no better tyre available for the price, absolutely sure handling, and in the wet they are simply fantastic like you're driving on dry roads, I have read some reviews on here saying they're dangerous, well something must actually be wrong with the people's vehicles as these tyres are on my car all round and my partners car too, and just perfect, I will not buy any different brand of tyre ever again, improved my mpg too, before these I had uniroyal rears and cheapo unbranded on the front, never again as they were scary in the wet! These are brilliant tyres!
5 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2017