tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Goodyear EfficientGrip


Show all: Goodyear tyres, Passenger Car Summer Premium Touring tyres
The Goodyear EfficientGrip is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 70 tyre reviews averaging 65% over 780,640 miles driven.

This tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance
 


Goodyear EfficientGrip
Dry Grip
75%

Wet Grip
64%

Road Feedback
59%

Progressiveness
54%

Wear
73%

Comfort
75%

Buy again
55%


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £45.41 - £94.20 (20 prices)
205/55 R16 £55.69 - £88.54 (28 prices)
225/45 R17 £13.20 - £119.30 (9 prices)
225/40 R18 £95.32 - £102.30 (3 prices)
Available in 58 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Reviews

Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Leon FR+ (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
I had these tyres for after the Bridgestone RE050A's that came with the car from new. When flooring it in second, I used to get tons of wheel judder and wheelspin with the RE050As so when I had these EfficientGrips put on the car, I was amazed at the traction. I could floor it and traction control wouldn't even cut in (on dry days).

I do agree that the tyres have very soft sidewalls - I had to have both tyres replaced at 7000 miles due to damage from pot holes in the road causing bubbles at the sides of the tyre. The plus side of that is that the tyres aren't very noisy (in my opinion) and the ride was a bit more comfortable from my stiff suspension!

Other than that, they are brilliant. Can't fault the grip in the dry at all, and in the wet they are reasonably good too. I have now got Pirelli P Zero Rosso tyres on my driven wheels, and they are not quite as good grip-wise as these were (only had the Pirellis for a few hundred miles though).

Have to say I concur with the people who are amazed at the negative reviews... I don't get it! These tyres were great... I definitely recommend them.
tyre reviewed on October 10, 2013   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo (215-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Third review of these tyres a further 6 months on. Definately the very best tyres I have ever had on a car. Avons, Continentals and Pirellis before. I am baffled at the negative comments in some reviews. I do not push my vehicle/ tyres anywhere near the limit, maybe that is why for me this is the perfect touring tyre. Also I have the XL version which are definately not "jelly like". I will buy again without hesitation.
tyre reviewed on August 20, 2013   
Looking to buy the Goodyear EfficientGrip? Click here to search for the best price for the Goodyear EfficientGrip or any other tyre.
 
Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (215-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 29,000 average miles
Bought a 2011 Ford Focus with the goodyear tyres on, they were looking a little worn at the front with 18000 miles on the clock and I thought I might need to change soon, but have been pleasantly surprised the fronts are now on 29000 miles and have only just started to hit the limits.
As its the summer I will let them both get fully to the limits if it was the winter they would have been changed already.
All in all happy with the miles covered but I am now wondering if they are worth the extra £30 per tyre.
The back tyres still have 3.5mm left across the tyres so will be a while longer for those.
tyre reviewed on July 9, 2013   
Given 53% (breakdown) while driving a CitroŽn C4 (205-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
Hi there! For 40000 km and more than 2 years with EfficientGrips in my CITROEN C4 CUPE 1.6cc i have to say that these tyres:
+
*Are very quiet and comfortable
*Have perfect respond to butholes because of the very soft sides of the tyres
*Good performance on wet road even when road is full of water!!!
*Heel toe doesn't seems to wear out easily
*They still perform like the first day i install them!
-
*Sides of tyre are easily get hurt when strikes pavement because of the softness of the side of the EfficientGrips
*I can't accelerate quiq even when ESP working, imagine without ESP!
*I cant stop my car on time, in spite of the fact ABS working perfect
*I cant turn a litle sporty when turning because tyres are so slipery
*When i go streight on and turn left or right the hall car drives rough "in a while" left or right causing the front or/and mostly the rear of the car steply shifts left or right makes me scare!!!
Conclusion: EfficientGrips are perfect for my grandfathers' driving style.
I should have bought Eagle F1 Asymetric.
tyre reviewed on June 14, 2013   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10 spirited miles
Have owned these tyres for 6 months. I have to say the reviews criticising this tyre amaze me. These tyres are great to drive on and wet grip is excellent. They are much quieter than any other tyre I've owned too. Wear is good too, still plenty left after 10k. Recommended and will buy again.
tyre reviewed on June 8, 2013   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Corsa Sxi (175-55-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
these tyres are very very good and will deffinatly be having anouther set put on the back! they are the best i have felt through water and does not pull one little bit. also the grip is very good on then and bless my little 1.2 struggle to spin then enless its thrashed unlike the old avons. even when wet it spins but not for long at all. these are very good and would reoment=d to everyone and i also like the design of the sidewalls too. aswell i do quite a few motorway miles and they are much more quiet too.
tyre reviewed on May 24, 2013   
Given 26% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Accord (205-60-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 19,000 average miles
I bought these tyres are believing the ads i saw on billboards.

one thing i will learn from this experience is that do not believe whatever advertisers are saying.

These tyres. are noisy. definitely noisier than the Michelin PS3.

These tyres has poor grip. poorer than those budget Nexxen ones. Cant remember which range.

if these tyres are sold as budget entry level tyres, i think i will give it a 6.5/10. But in my country, it is sold as premium.
tyre reviewed on May 20, 2013   
Given 33% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo (235-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 13,000 easy going miles
I had these tyres to replace a pair of Dunlop SP SportMaxx RT's on the front of my MK4 Mondeo. The Dunlops lasted 27,000miles!
Ever since I had them fitted I had vibrations through the steering. After having the tyres checked and balenced time and time again I spent quite a bit of money trying to find a fault with my suspension.
After just 13k the tyres were dead and needed replacing, I found this not only unbelievable but also completley unacceptable!
Just had two ConiSportContact 3's fitted and happy to say that all the vibrations have dissapeered and it's a like a new car to drive.
I would avoid the EfficientGrips at all costs.
I found them very poor in the wet.
I never felt confident to push my car with them fitted, there was absolutley no feel to the steering what so ever.
tyre reviewed on May 6, 2013   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (205-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
I was looking to replace the Dunlop SP 07 tyres that had become very noisy on my car. Read various reports, including reviews on this site before having four new tyres fitted. These Goodyears are very quiet, I am pleased to say. Wet and dry grip is very good. As far as the 'jellylike' feeling that some have reported, I can only say that these tyres are not quite as sharp when cornering as tne Dunlops fitted previously, but they do grip well and are a very comfortable ride. To those who want a tyre for a high performance style of driving, these may not be your first choice. For the majority of drivers who value a quiet tyre with good grip, these are the ones to choose. I have not yet covered enough miles to truthfully comment on their durability.
tyre reviewed on April 19, 2013   
Given 40% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 19,000 easy going miles
Noisy tyre.

poor wet grip.

dry grip is decent.

lasts pretty long
tyre reviewed on April 18, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: