Goodyear EfficientGrip

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 65%
Road Feedback 59%
Handling 56%
Wear 70%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 51%
Goodyear EfficientGrip
 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £53.67 - £84.00 (46 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/50 R17 £88.58 - £98.70 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £69.42 - £105.74 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £95.62 - £133.00 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 79 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 65% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus Zetec (225/55 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 50,000 easy going miles
Ford Focus estate 1600tdci 2014
Original equipment from new
Fronts lasted 22000 and replaced again after a further 22000 miles
Rears good tread depth of 4mm at 50000 but noise from rears sounded like a bad bearing which happily turned out to be the tyres
So relatively good wear factors
Never tested to the limit of speed or fast cornering however
0 - tyre reviewed on January 29, 2017   
Given 67% (breakdown) while driving a Citroën berlingo (215/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
Just hit 20,000 mile on these tyres on my Citroen Berlingo Multispace XTR and I already have to replace them as down to tyre wear indicators. Tyres have been rotated and the wear is equal across all 4 tyres. Like other users I found the tyres very quiet at first but increasingly noisy as wear increased. I am disappointed with the tyre wear and wont be buying them again.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 6, 2016   
Fiat 500 (225/45 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 16,000 spirited miles
These tyres came fitted to my Fiat 500s God only knows why, they definitely do not help with fuel economy, quiet! I don't think so, the car had only done 11k when I got it, the tyre drone gets on my nerves.
BAD points as there are no good ones.
These tyres are horrific not only do I have to deal with tram lining they are scary as he'll in the wet.
I am at 16k now and after my last scare (aquaplaning, and nearly ending up in someone's front garden) they have got to go and no I am not replacing with the same.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2016   
Given 47% (breakdown) while driving a Nissan almera 1.5 (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
had these for 3 years and 1 is scrap thanks partially to a puncture, not goodyears fault but the rubber is cracking badly at the bottom of tread and the serviceable tyre is showing signs of cracking so will be scrapped at the same time. still has 5mm of tread depth on it. sidewalls far too soft
5 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2016   
Given 64% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/45 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 32,000 average miles
I fitted these tyres to my Ford Fiesta 1.4TDCi Titanium 3 years ago. My original reasoning for choosing these tyres was for their ability to increase your fuel economy, and claims over how quiet they were (66dB on this wheel size). The car's OEM tyres were Continental Sport Contact 2s which, to me, seemed like an odd choice given the 67bhp 1.4 diesel engine which is aimed at fuel economy, and has a ‘leisurely’ (putting it diplomatically) 0-60mph time of 15 seconds!

The Good:
From the moment these tyres were fitted, I saw an instant increase in fuel economy. I noted a 5mpg gain on the first full tank of fuel. The car has continued to provide excellent fuel economy on these tyres over the past 3 years, easily averaging 65mpg, with 70+mpg on occasions in the summer months – I never got close to this on the Sport Contacts.

Wear has also been fantastic. The tyres have now completed 32,000 miles (rotated at approx. 22,000), and there is still around 5mm tread on the front tyres, and 4mm on the rear. 40-45k miles is looking realistic.

Grip levels are completely fine with the car handling roundabouts in the wet at speed, and no major loss in feel when driving sensibly - although I am starting to notice a slight decrease in grip in wet conditions now.

The Bad:
When first fitted, they were relatively quiet, although not as quiet as I expected, but still acceptable. As they passed 20,000miles however, they started to get noisier and noisier. On rougher roads, there is now a lot of road roar/rumble. I noted some reviewers below state that they experienced a noise like a wheel bearing wearing out on these tyres, and I have also found this too, especially from the rear of the car – almost like a humming sound at around 60mph.

The noise levels are becoming so bad, it is making me consider replacing them early. Comfort levels are therefore not fantastic in the long term.

Grip levels in snow are very low, even by summer tyre standards, and they are defeated by even the gentlest of slopes, but I get the feeling this is generally the case for all low rolling resistance tyres.

Overall:
These tyres have worked really well on the Fiesta, with fuel economy and wear being fantastic – a definite 10 out of 10 on those front. Comfort though does deteriorate badly as the tyre wears. Also bear in mind this Fiesta engine develops a lowly 67bhp. The Efficient Grips are definitely at their best on ‘normal’ family cars with engine power approx.
22 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2016   
Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16 (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
An excellent tyre.
Quieter than previous Continental Sports, and seem to be providing an extra 2mpg more.
Looking forward to when I need to change the front two Contentals to Good Year.
3 - tyre reviewed on June 1, 2016   
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz MB GLK 220 CDI 4 matic (235/60 R17 V) on mostly town for 12,000 easy going miles
Tyres been on the GLK for 2 summer seasons. approx april 2013-oct 2013 and april 2014-oct 2014 Not used in 2015 but properly stored. Put them on rims again this week, May 3rd 2016 and the fitter showed me 2 bulges on the sidewall of one tyre. Goodyear say that I must have driven up a kurb but that's not so. May have hit a pothole at some time but I cannot remember any serious 'thump' ever occuring. Goodyear (Norway/Sweden) kindly offered to give me a new tyre for free, but I declined the offer. I spent a day "Googling" and note that several drivers comment on "soft" tyrewalls on Goodyear Efficientgrip. Note, mine are not the Performance nor the SUV version. The tyres felt fine to me while driving (only used on summer tarmac), very quiet, comfortable and responsive enough for normal driving. I have had my doubts though about the decision by Mercedes to use these as OE tyres on a 4x4 with 440 Nm torque available. I have decided that the tyres are not suitable for my vehicle type so are swapping them for Nokian Hakka Blue SUV. Hope they will inspire more confidence. A reputable tirefitter mentioned to me that the only tires he has seen with sidewall bulges problems in recent years were GY Efficient grip......and he could supply me with new ones if I wanted them! The tires may well be OK generally but I personally would not choose to have them on a medium size 4x4/Suv.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2016   
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
I think my summary would be that these aren't really good enough for the money.

Grip is ok-ish wet a little worse than dry - they don't set any new records, but they aren't too bad. Steering is a little numb and lacks sensitivity but it isn't so bad that the car is too difficult to drive. Wear is little better than an out-and-out sport tyre but only a little. Noise isn't too problematic - quieter than many but not the absolute quietest.

As far as I can tell they have been reasonably economical and they aren't embarrassed by a little standing water, even at the end of their life.

The price though - you can buy an Eagle F1 Assy 2 or 3 for less; it won't last as long but look at all the stuff it will do better! Or you can buy a tyre from a mid-range manufacturer and save on the purchase price and have a tyre that probably outlasts this, while delivering a similar level of grip.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2016