Goodyear EfficientGrip

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 64%
Road Feedback 59%
Progressiveness 56%
Wear 70%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 52%
Goodyear EfficientGrip
 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £51.23 - £74.26 (60 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/50 R17 £85.33 - £103.99 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £78.40 - £110.29 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £67.92 - £105.74 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R17 £99.83 - £168.03 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 78 tyre sizes - View all.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Lexus IS250SE (245/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
No comments left
0 | - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2016   
Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16 (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
An excellent tyre.
Quieter than previous Continental Sports, and seem to be providing an extra 2mpg more.
Looking forward to when I need to change the front two Contentals to Good Year.
1 | - tyre reviewed on June 1, 2016   
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz MB GLK 220 CDI 4-matic (235/60 R17 V) on mostly town for 12,000 easy going miles
Tyres been on the GLK for 2 summer seasons. approx april 2013-oct 2013 and april 2014-oct 2014 Not used in 2015 but properly stored. Put them on rims again this week, May 3rd 2016 and the fitter showed me 2 bulges on the sidewall of one tyre. Goodyear say that I must have driven up a kurb but that's not so. May have hit a pothole at some time but I cannot remember any serious 'thump' ever occuring. Goodyear (Norway/Sweden) kindly offered to give me a new tyre for free, but I declined the offer. I spent a day "Googling" and note that several drivers comment on "soft" tyrewalls on Goodyear Efficientgrip. Note, mine are not the Performance nor the SUV version. The tyres felt fine to me while driving (only used on summer tarmac), very quiet, comfortable and responsive enough for normal driving. I have had my doubts though about the decision by Mercedes to use these as OE tyres on a 4x4 with 440 Nm torque available. I have decided that the tyres are not suitable for my vehicle type so are swapping them for Nokian Hakka Blue SUV. Hope they will inspire more confidence. A reputable tirefitter mentioned to me that the only tires he has seen with sidewall bulges problems in recent years were GY Efficient grip......and he could supply me with new ones if I wanted them! The tires may well be OK generally but I personally would not choose to have them on a medium size 4x4/Suv.
1 | - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2016   
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
I think my summary would be that these aren't really good enough for the money.

Grip is ok-ish wet a little worse than dry - they don't set any new records, but they aren't too bad. Steering is a little numb and lacks sensitivity but it isn't so bad that the car is too difficult to drive. Wear is little better than an out-and-out sport tyre but only a little. Noise isn't too problematic - quieter than many but not the absolute quietest.

As far as I can tell they have been reasonably economical and they aren't embarrassed by a little standing water, even at the end of their life.

The price though - you can buy an Eagle F1 Assy 2 or 3 for less; it won't last as long but look at all the stuff it will do better! Or you can buy a tyre from a mid-range manufacturer and save on the purchase price and have a tyre that probably outlasts this, while delivering a similar level of grip.
1 | - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2016   
Given 67% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic (195/60 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
No comments left
-1 | - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2016   
Given 49% (breakdown) while driving a Audi Audi A4 1.9 Tdi 130 Sport (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 16,500 easy going miles
Managed 16500 miles on front pair of Goodyear Efficients, with 2mm remaining. No better than my previous budget tyres (Events) which managed 16000 miles with 2mm remaining. On an Audi A4 2004 tdi saloon, with steady driving, no speeding, so not sure how good the Goodyears are on the limit. But they are twice the price of budget tyres, and marketed as a long lasting tyre, would not buy these again.
0 | - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2016   
Given 10% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Prius (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Can't really comment on grip as I'm driving a prius (automatic and hybrid) and it's fairly difficult to make it spin or anything. They feel as good as any other tyres. However, wear is really a joke. I don't think they'll make much more than 12k miles...
1 | - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2016   
Given 47% (breakdown) while driving a MG 6 (215/50 R17) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
one of the worst tyre i have seen. i changed it after 12000 km.tyre grip in wet surfaces was so scary. and the car was so noisy. after changing the tyre i recognized how bad the tyre was.
1 | - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2015   
Given 50% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Blue Eff. (225/50 R17 W) on mostly town for 3 average miles
Tried them on the rear to replace damaged Conti sport contact 5s. Absolutely horrendous levels of grip, particularly on damp roads; lethal!. Only drove a few miles and had to swap them for available alternative (Michelin Primacy 3s - seem ok so far).
0 | - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2015   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Leon TDi SE 110 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20 average miles
This is an interesting one. I agree with some of the positives but also some of the negatives.
I have a fwd TDI and just wanted well priced tyres that would stick to the road in wet and dry conditions.
I used to run Goodrich G-Grip which I thought were pretty good (could get 30,000m out of a set). Changed to Goodyears and thought they were ok.

Positives
Good grip in wet and dry - feel sure footed and predictable
Very confident in standing water (low aquaplaning risk)
Fuel economy good (c.50 mpg)
Very predictable grip

Negatives
Poor wear rate - c.22,000 miles
Soft sidewalls so some `wobble` at speed on corners
More prone to punctures? I've had 2 in 3 months.

My driving has changed from main roads to more country lanes so it may be harsh to blame the tyre for punctures. Both were small nails.
The wear rate and more noticeably weaker side walls could be because I push the car a bit more on the country roads so again it's subjective.

There is the always the trade off of grip v's wear rate so you can't have everything.

Overall they aren't a bad tyre. I feel safe using them and if you are a commuter and not planning to push them too hard then they aren't a bad tyre. Maybe not the best for the more free-spirited dirver - but again, you get what you pay for!

I will probably change to something with a stronger side wall (might go back to the Goodrich if I can find them).
2 | - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2015   
Advertisement