tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Hankook Icebear W300


Show all: Hankook tyres, Passenger Car Winter Ultra High Performance tyres
The Hankook Icebear W300 is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 8 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 35,820 miles driven.
 


Hankook Icebear W300
Dry Grip
79%

Wet Grip
70%

Road Feedback
80%

Progressiveness
75%

Wear
69%

Comfort
78%

Buy again
75%


 
Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £110.80 - £110.80 (1 prices)
Available in 2 tyre sizes - View all.

Hankook Icebear W300 Reviews

Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
Two years on an 09 GTI, with no snow on the roads work well in the cold weather. In deeper snow trying to take off on a slight incline from a stop is impossible. Worse then most all season tires. Would not recommend and will not re-buy.
tyre reviewed on February 8, 2013   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco 1.6 GT (185-60-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 easy going miles
After two years driving an old Porsche in the snow, it was a nightmare.
I bought an old Scirocco and a set of icebears.
The combination of a lightweight low powered car on very soft tyres is brilliant.
It stops on the proverbial sixpence in the deepest snow and howls around corners while the four wheel drive stuff trying to keep up just flies into the ditches.
These are brill.
Great in the wet too, but they come off in April because it looks like they wear rapidly when things warm up.
Seen them formular one drivers going through the puddles to keep their rubber cools?
That's me that is.

Very good but appear to wear rapidly, I think two years / ten thousand miles max.
Bloody fun miles though!

tyre reviewed on February 2, 2013   
Looking to buy the Hankook Icebear W300? Click here to search for the best price for the Hankook Icebear W300 or any other tyre.
 
Given 41% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (245-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Very bad traction on snow and ice. Extreme wear in 10000 miles, could use only one season and replaced them. Extremely sliding on snow and ice and nearly impossible to keep the car on the road.
tyre reviewed on October 31, 2012   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
great tyres use them all year bit more road noise but this dosnt really bother me great in any type of snow been on my car 2 years done about20000 miles but the side walls are beginning to crack mostly on the inside wall.talked to tyre supplier he reconed they had been ran at too low a pressure i check pressures fairly regulaly and never had to top them up much wonder if any one else has had a similer problem
tyre reviewed on November 20, 2011   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus C Max (205-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Living in Scotland, Winters never fun especially the one we just had but I've got to admit the car performed superb. I only purchased it in october and didn't realise I had winter tyres on until the snow hit and I was driving around leaving everyone else spinning. I cruised past 34 cars on one particular hill where I work and couldn't believe what a difference the tyres made. The only down side is I've been told in dry conditions they can affect your fuel consumption and I think I believe them as my 1.6 C-max's mpg is poor but won't know for sure till I change the tyres for the spring.
tyre reviewed on February 19, 2011   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 123d (225-40-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
In dry conditions for the first 300 miles or so - its like driving on bars of soap, HOWEVER, once worn in, these tyres are very good. They aren't high performance summer tyres, so dont drive like they are. Once the Ice and snow has kicked in - you will be gob smacked at the difference these babies make to winter driving. BMW's - especially 1 series are HORRIFIC in ice and snow. Walking is both faster and safer. With these on, I have driven up icy and snowy banks that had Quattro Audi's stuck at the bottom. Slush, snow, Ice, heavy rain, these tyres keep on going when all around are slipping and sliding! Yes you can still provoke rear drive fun still(Im pushing 260bhp after a remap)with drifts / sliding is VERY controlled. Highly recommended! And comfier than RFT's even in XL format!
tyre reviewed on December 26, 2010   
Given 88% (breakdown) while driving a CitroŽn xsara picasso (185-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,300 average miles
Over the last 2 months I've driven these tyres in all types of Winter conditions: Ice, compacted snow, fresh snow, slush, wet cold roads. They give excellent grip and on two occasions have given good traction to allow pulling away on an icy incline which has seen 4x4's (including a Land Rover Defender) slide. Clearly no winter tyre will give licence to drive without due respect for slippery conditions but these tyres have allowed me to travel where otherwise it would not be possible. I can't yet comment on how these tyres wear, although no signs are showing yet.
tyre reviewed on December 19, 2010   
Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 320D (215-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
First experience of snow tyres entirely positive. While other brands might score higher in tests, these kept me mobile in some of the worst conditions I have ever experienced. Fresh snow, compacted snow, ice, slush- these tyres totally transform the driving experience of the BMW in winter conditions. No wheelspin, no flashing lights on the dashboard (except on greasy tarmac???) Very little road noise, comfortable ride...I'm a big fan.
tyre reviewed on December 13, 2010   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: