tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Hankook Ventus Prime2


Show all: Hankook tyres, Passenger Car Summer Touring tyres
The Hankook Ventus Prime2 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 23 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 160,012 miles driven.
 


Hankook Ventus Prime2
Dry Grip
76%

Wet Grip
71%

Road Feedback
68%

Progressiveness
64%

Wear
65%

Comfort
75%

Buy again
62%


Hankook Ventus Prime2 Reviews

Given 46% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Touran 1.4 TSI 140HP (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6,500 average miles
My Hankooks came brand new with the car. It is a real surprise how VW chose them as they are crap. Very bad grip while cornering, spinning in every single start from stopped, loosing pressure all the time. I only have them for 6.5K miles and they seam as if I have them for 15K. They are supposed to be Hankook's top of their range! A real joke.
tyre reviewed on April 11, 2014   
Given 99% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 5 door (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 36,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on March 24, 2014   
Looking to buy the Hankook Ventus Prime2? Click here to search for the best price for the Hankook Ventus Prime2 or any other tyre.
 
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 SE Turbo (205-50-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9,800 average miles
Bought these as they where recomended by a friend in May last year. Done under 10k and need replacing!!! My wife is not a slow driver but would have expected more miles out of these tyres.
tyre reviewed on February 18, 2014   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Hyundai i40 tourer (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28,000 average miles
These tyres were fitted as original equipment and I've done 28000 miles on them so far on all manner of road surfaces; front pair still have 2mm left and rear 4mm so all still legal. With that sort of mileage its hard to fault them for the money.
Although they may not have the same grip (wet or dry) as some other tyres I can't say that I've ever had the scary experiences that some others note even on winding roads, perhaps they need to check their tyre pressures or wheel alignment (or even slow down a bit!).
tyre reviewed on February 9, 2014   
Given 56% (breakdown) while driving a Hyundai elantra (215-45-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
It is really the worst tyre I have. (It comes with my car (2014))
On a wet road you should pray :P . In wet cornering it is really ludicrous (danger) my car has all the safety ESP, EBD,ABS, traction control.. even that driving in winter with this tire is so danger for you and for the others.
tyre reviewed on November 23, 2013   
Given 10% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo 147 (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Scarily bad tyres. They offer less grip than the bald Pirellis they replaced. I have had this car for seven years in which time it has gone through Continental Premium, Conti Sport Contact, Dunlop Fast Response, Toyo T1R and latterly Pirelli P7. All of these tyres would rank 6 or above in all categories, these Hankooks score 1 across the board: chronic push in the dry in my FWD Alfa 147, which becomes ludicrous in the wet; they span up on the way off the forecourt at the fitting place which should have been a sign (remember I have owned this car for seven years and have kind of got the biting point down by now); you cannot deviate from any line: a manoeuvre that might result in slight squeal from a normal tyre will just result in a silent and terrifying slide on these (the electronic stability control has never kicked in so much as it now does); you get no warning that they're letting go, they just go; they are insanely noisy; they only seem to come to the car at ludicrous speed in a motorway environment, but waay in excess of the UK limit. They were cheap but NOT worth it. Have only done a thousand miles on them so can't comment on wear: I will replace them long before they are due though. It is not an overstatement to say that they scare me, and I am a reasonably experienced race driver. Buy them at your peril!
tyre reviewed on November 1, 2013   
Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus (200-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
just bought 2 for front and what a difference worth every penny will buy again nothing else to say there that good
tyre reviewed on September 4, 2013   
Given 67% (breakdown) while driving a Ford (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Bought these for my S-Max based on reviews. They have been an excellent tyre in terms of comfort and driving, but surprisingly have worn to the legal limit in 10,000 miles which, considering I paid over £600 for 4, makes them a terribly expensive purchase. Going to look at Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance or Dunlop BluResponse instead this time.
tyre reviewed on August 31, 2013   
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 5 (205-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
When these tyres were new, dry grip was decent as was wet grip. Nothing amazing but worthy of touring tyres, which is what I consider them to be.

Now, they are just over half life, dry cornering is poor, dry braking is good but the handling in the wet is bad. They slide about and squirm under moderate cornering. Tyre life is also poor, will struggle to get them to go 10k miles on the front.

Best thing about them is they are quiet and relatively comfortable ride quality.

In summary, buy something else! There are many options in their price range.
tyre reviewed on August 16, 2013   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda MK1 Octavia VRS (205-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Had 4 of these fitted to my Skoda Octavia VRS to replace the Uniroyal RainSport 2s. Straight away, what a difference, they are so much quieter, and much firmer around the twisty's. The comfort is also notice and there is much less road noise transfered through the cabin. I would also say these are as good if not better in the wet. The biggest difference I have found is fuel economy...with the Uniroyal's I could only get about 26mpg around town and at most 38mpg on the motorways at 70mph. With these I am seeing 30mpg+ around town and 42/43mpg on the motorway driving in the same fashion. At 1st I couldn't believe the figures but you can actually feel the difference.

Very, very impressed. So much so, I have just ordered a set of 4 for my Mk2 Golf. Will update once I have covered some miles.
tyre reviewed on July 22, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: