tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212


Show all: Hankook tyres, Passenger Car Summer Extreme Performance tyres
The Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212 is a Extreme Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 13 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 79,524 miles driven.
 


Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212
Dry Grip
91%

Wet Grip
61%

Road Feedback
82%

Progressiveness
80%

Wear
74%

Comfort
69%

Buy again
85%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £79.20 - £79.20 (1 prices)
225/45 R17 £112.30 - £112.30 (1 prices)
Available in 3 tyre sizes - View all.

Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212 Reviews

Given 64% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Leon 2007 2.0 150 hp (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Great tyre for the price.awesome grip on dry roads, very noisy tyre. They wear out real quick, below average on wet road. One of the best tyres for dry but they are not good on wet roads. Good price, very responsive.
tyre reviewed on July 6, 2014   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Suzuki swift sport (205-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24 spirited miles
I'm back for the final review on the Z212, as they are nearing the end of their useful life.

Great, great tyres. Good for either spirited use on B-Roads and trackdays. Just watch the pressure and you'll have a blast with them. Their limit is found much easier than the standard semis one might use on track, but even on limit they are progressive and let you play a lot. I would prefer them to overheat a bit later though. Generally, they are more sensitive to overheating and external temperature than I would prefer. But again, the pressure is the key.

Braking is awesome. Same is the feedback you get.

I wouldn't recommend them just for commuting, their sidewall is stiff. Road noise isn't that bad though.

On wet conditions they are OK, although now that are worn aquaplaning can be an issue.

After 24,854.24 miles the front ones are worn out so, I substituted them with the back ones. Hopefully, they'll last a couple of months so I'll change all of them together.

Too bad I can't find them in this size any more.


tyre reviewed on March 21, 2013   
Looking to buy the Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212? Click here to search for the best price for the Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212 or any other tyre.
 
Given 71% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT ibiza 2.0 8v (MEXICO) (225-45-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9,000 spirited miles
very good tires. i live in mexico, cuernavaca to be precise. overall temperature 30 degrees celcius. perfect tires for this weather. excelent dry grip. wet grip is average i could say that 40% less grip in the wet than in the dry. a little bit noisy. very hard sidewalls. in irregular asphalt are very unconfortable. they wear very fast, but i have to say that i drive very fast all the time on high speed roads maybe thats why i im finishing them un very fast. i love how they look.
tyre reviewed on January 4, 2013   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Nissan Primera (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Great tyre.

It has a great compromise between grip and wear. I prefer them over similar options like Toyo R1R (less duration and more intended to light cars, mine is 1350 kg).

In wet they are pretty bad, but nothing to do with almost dangerous tyres like Pilot Sport Cup or R888 (idd, you have to be careful just when it's actually raining).

Pretty stiff sidewall, much better feeling than my previous Goodyear Asy F1.

It takes some time to them to get the right temperature, but living here (Granada, Andalucía, Spain) is not a problem -at least in Spring, Summer and the beginning of the Autumn-.

One of the best value for money tyres I've ever tried. Only problem is they're hard to find in Europe (just Camskills afaik) and we still can't buy RS3s -if I don't buy those, I will repeat with RS2s-.
tyre reviewed on September 11, 2011   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Suzuki (205-45-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I got these to use as a combined track/road tire in order to replace the TOYO T1-Rs (on the road, size 205/45-16 on my everyday 16x7 wheels) and TOYO R888s (on track, size 195/50-15 on 15x6.5 wheels), because I got bored of wheel changes plus I tend to seek the pleasure of cornering pretty often on mountainous roads.

After a Track Day with these and many good milleage on B-Roads I can definately say that they are really a bargain. They handle a bit worse than the R888 on the dry (either on track or on road) but they reach optimum temperature faster without overheating (unlike T1-R), although they can handle pretty good even if cold. Braking is equally strong with the R888 and what I really like is the progressiveness they provide. Also, they are quite quiet on the highway (much unlike the R888; a bit more noisy than the T1-R), but the stiff sidewalls remind you that this is a sporty tire on every bump on the road (much unlike the T1-R, pretty much like R888). Performance on the wet is astonishingly good, I expected much more hydroplanning, but they are not to be trusted at high speeds.

Till now they have aprox. 6000 miles under their belt and wear till now is minimal to my delight.
tyre reviewed on January 17, 2011   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Integra DC2 (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
A brilliant summer tyre with outstanding levels of grip when up to temperature. The traction and subsequently, the braking performance is also excellent on summer days. The side walls are stiff enough to give you good feedback through the corners and great confidence.
They are however quite noisy and are not suitable for anybody who is concerned with such comfort factors.
In the wet they are safe but not particularly confidence inspiring, i believe this is due to the harder compound as they hold up ok in summer rain with good tread depth, but as the temperature drops i prefer to go with a softer rain tyre.
A good description would be as a high performance/track tyre for the road which gives a good idea of what they are designed for. However the price is far more reasonable than similar offerings such as the Yokohama AD08s.
tyre reviewed on December 1, 2010   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Corrado VR6 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Fantastic tyres - still great even though the price has gone up 70% since I first got them.

Used as every day road tyres (although after last winter I am using Hankook Icebear W300s as a winter tyre Nov-Mar this winter).

Grip in the dry and warm is fantastic - I haven't used a R888 (or similar), but for road use I can't imagine they'd be much better, and they are miles better than the Falken 912 I used to use.

Grip in the cold and wet is their downfall - aquaplane easily compared to a normal road tyre, and slide easily if it gets chilly. Still not unsafe or anything like that, just something to bear in mind.

Seem to give good progression (bear in mind this a FWD road car, so can't comment on power oversteer for example). Also do not squeal!

Feedback is good, and the stiff sidewall helps turn in.

Comfort is OK - same as the ZIEX912 I used to have.

Tyre wear is more than acceptable - I commute 70 miles a day on them to give you an idea.
tyre reviewed on October 23, 2010   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a CitroŽn C2 VTS (205-45-16-)
Driving on track for 2,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on July 30, 2010   
Given 88% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 Turbo (225-50-15-W)
Driving on track for 2,000 spirited miles
Used on a couple of trackdays.
Slightly less grip than R888s previously but not that much wear, 2mm maybe, where the R888s only lasted 2 days !
feedback's good & nice & progressive.
Recommended.
Not used in wet yet but have deep trad so should be ok.
tyre reviewed on May 21, 2008   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Subaru Impreza (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
An excellent Fast road tyre especially in the dry, better than average in the wet.
Comparing the RS2 to previous tyres fitted to my car they are a much better option to the Bridgestone RE050 and Toyo Proxes T1S.
Provided better grip under all conditions on fast A roads and the Track.
A great value for money tyre that some may overlook at their cost.
tyre reviewed on May 16, 2008   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: