Hankook Ventus S1 evo2

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 79%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 77%
Wear 67%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 69%
 
Size Price Range  
205/60 R16 £71.35 - £138.98 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £74.86 - £178.66 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £63.45 - £130.40 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R18 £105.29 - £110.20 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R19 £129.34 - £175.40 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 96 tyre sizes - View all.

Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Very good summer tyres. Exactly summer tyres, because when temperature drops down below 10C and more than when surface is wet, tyres loose almost third part of its great features what you can enjoy in hot summer. Drive this tyres third year. Comes together with new Skoda Octavia 1,8TSI. Changed a pair due to so high wear, but I also do not drive while wear is till last legal mm. Stability in high speed (over 160km/h) is very good. Extreeme braking, sporty cornering, active start - all is very good. The best thing is that you could feel the limit without surprises. Also so useful on mixed surface as gravel/country road.
Sure can recommend it ! And respecting relatively low price, no doubt - can change it every season and feel safe and good on any road during all summer season.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2017   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz c 220 cdi (255/35 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 400 spirited miles
Ive had cars fitted previously fitted with OEM continentals, Nankangs, Events and Falkens.
Events were terrible in all aspects, nankangs werent much better.
I had Falkens FK459 EcoRun on my last car cars which I thought were pretty good for the price payed.

My current car originally wore MO rated Continental SportContact 5 tires when new.
I thought they were as good as a tire could get but they wore down pretty quickly I thought
Since then I moved to Michelin PS3s then PS4s.

Recently had to buy new rears(255/3518). (the fronts are 225/40/18).

After seeing as Ford, Audi, Mercedes and Mini had all chose Hankooks for there OEM spec tires in 2016/2017, I replaced my rear michelins with some Hankook Ventus Evo2 K117 tires despite some other reviews mentioning there poor wear rate.

I quickly realised that they are not as rigid in the sidewalls as the PS4 Mitchelins are but the compensation for this is better ride quality, I also think the Hankooks have less noise being generated whilst cruising.
Grip in the wet is better than I expected, Ive found these Hankooks to be more progressive than the Michelins with the back tires seemingly coping better handling the power between the two back wheels whilst the ground is wet.

Over the next 4 months until my winter tires will put back on its give me time to see if longterm there any good before the summer fronts need replacing.

Even though theres only 400miles in one or twice Ive had some spin from the back wheels but only when pulling away sharply on wet roads, the tires may need a few more hundred miles before a true character can be found for the tires.

Im anticipating that wear may be poor due to other reviews with the tires.
Its still early days yet.

The rim protection ridge could,be improved though.

1 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2017   
Given 61% (breakdown) while driving a Porsche Macan Diesel S (255/50 R19 N) on a combination of roads for 12 average miles
Hankooks were on my car when I bought it brand new. Have just clicked over 20k (12,500 miles) and the all four tyres are needing to be changed. Maybe it is a heavy car/SUV but used to own a heavier Volvo XC60 with Toyo's and they lasted much longer than this. Tyres showed even wear over the whole tread and balance and alignment were not an issue. Unfortunately due to wear, would not buy again.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2017   
Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 15,000 spirited miles
275 40 18 way better wet grip and comfort than Conti 3 runflats they replaced but average wear - done at 14-15k miles
1 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2017   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Ford FG falcon ute (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 19,500 spirited miles
Very good value for money. impressive grip and comfort in all conditions. Very progressive at limit and they never totally let go. With 260-270 rwhp in a lightweight ute, i could throw it into any corner and be confident that it would handle it at full power. Lasted well considering the conditions

Straight line dry grip= very good, cornering dry grip = excellent. Straight line wet grip = excellent, cornering wet grip = good. Water drainage also excellent.

Only trouble was the sticky rubber wore out quite quickly then they were not so amazing. Also on shinny smooth tar they are not progressive, all or nothing. Having said that, they are now well past the wear bars and they still handle OK.

About to upgrade to MPSS so will be interesting to see if they are worth the extra $
2 - tyre reviewed on April 19, 2017   
Given 54% (breakdown) while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 average miles
Worst wearing tyre I ever put on my 2008 RRSport. 255/50 R19 107Y. Wet and dry grip...comfort....all average. Wear terrible. 11000 miles and theyre done. I had been using Hankook Ventus ST RH06 for the previous 5 sets and getting approx 23000 miles per set and last time I went to change I discovered Hankook had discontinued production. Why?.....apparently they were lasting too long. So I stayed with Hankook and put the S1 Evo2 on....bad decision.
10 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2017   
Given 25% (breakdown) while driving a BMW X5 4.4i (255/50 R19) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
These are the absolute worst tires I have ever purchased. They handle on dry roads like old bias ply tires. and if the weather turns, forget it! My old worn out Michelin's out performed these.
16 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2017   
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a BMW (215/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Good tyre for its price. Nice grip at the beginning but not so good after 15000miles...I've felt a drop in performance and now that I still have around 3.5mm left I will change soon since I am not that confident about the amount of grip that I have in each corner. I've noticed this even more after changing my rear tyres to micheline supersport that grips so much in the dry...it has change the balance too much, the car is no neutral or oversteers as before...I will use for the front supersport as soon as I end with this s1 evo2.
6 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2016   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Opel Vectra C 1.9CDTi 150bhp (225/40 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 22,000 spirited miles
I've bought them last year (06/2015) and they were excellent. In my opinion dry and wet grip were perfect. Only once, at a motorway when I was going 165km/h I felt aquaplaning for a second. I've never felt scared to drive during the heavy rain. Dry grip is also perfect, litlle bit more than 100km/h on a curve entering motorway wasn't a problem. For me & my wife they weren't loud, even better than Conti SportContact 3. My set lasted 35000km, I think it's a decent result. (Unfortunately I can't compare they wear to other, because those Conti weren't new, when I bought them). Now they are about 2mm, but even at the end of using them, I didn't feel any problems.
I'd definitely buy them again, moreover I think I'll buy next two sets of them, for me and my dad. Hovewer I'm considering also Nokian zLine and Falken Azenis FK510, just to try sth other.
5 - tyre reviewed on November 12, 2016   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A6 (205/60 R16 V) on mostly town for 12,000 easy going miles
I have bought these tires an year ago. I have passed 20000 km. The car is heavy and not so much quick but the tire did and still do good job. I have driven better tires but this is very good in all conditions. I have never been in unpleasant situations with them. Only I did not expect that they wear down to 5mm in 20000km. Anyhow, I recommend them.
6 - tyre reviewed on August 26, 2016   
Advertisement