Hankook Ventus S1 evo2

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 80%
Wear 69%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 73%
 
Size Price Range  
205/60 R16 £76.20 - £132.42 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £76.20 - £106.90 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £62.80 - £92.10 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £90.60 - £100.80 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £118.70 - £144.40 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 95 tyre sizes - View all.

Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT LEON ST 1.6TDi SE DSG (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 36,000 easy going miles
They came fitted on my SEAT LEONwhich I bought on 10/2015. I have been using them ever since, after 60000km front ones are almost at the wearing limit, they started squeaking while parking at ~25.000 miles. Rear ones are still ok, so I´m going to switch them to the front wheels.
They have a stunning performance on wet conditions and the dry grip is ok. After 20000 miles they started to lose some grip on starting to move on certain conditions (mostly trying to get on a roundabout) and the ESP had to take control for a second.
They have behaved well, and although I´m considering to try another brand, these are good tyres.
1 - tyre reviewed on February 5, 2018   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 335i (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Really like them, took the car from the UK to the Nurburgring at high speed, did a couple laps and the car never felt like it was going to let go at speeds in corners I'd never do on a public road, and came back with the cruise set to 130mph on the autobhan

Car handles great even after chipping it to 350BHP and the tyres seem to be able to cope well except when too much throttle is used, but reckon most other tyre brands would give up as well
3 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2018   
Given 100% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Kodiaq 2.0TDi (235/55 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Fitted as standard to my 2017 Kodiaq 140kw TDi and they are superb. Yes a summer tyre but I took them to the mountains and they coped fine with compacted snow / ice without chains. They are very quiet, no perceptible road noise, and the dry grip in an SUV is phenomenal. Early days to adequately judge wear but so far so good. I will definitely look to replace like for like when it comes around for a change.
2 - tyre reviewed on December 24, 2017   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (275/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Superb grip vs conti5 or Sport Maxx
8 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2017   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
75 40 18 are a rip off size made so made it a mission to compare makes.

WAY better traction ie no wheel spin at junctions in normal driving like Contisport 5 which came with the car from new, or Dunlops sport maxx (where the only benefit is quietness).

4 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2017   
Mercedes Benz E300 Bluetech Hybrid (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 7,000 easy going miles
This tires are crap it last 7000 miles driving only in city in about 3 mont , 275/30/19 i do not recommended paid almost 180£ on each one
11 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2017   
Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (235/55 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
What can I say? These tires are just amazing.
Came standard on my Tiguan 1.4tsi. Amazing grip in both dry and wet.. and to be such quiet tires at the same time it just blew me away how well these hankooks perform.. no tire squeal ever even under high speed cornering ..
4 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2017   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Very good summer tyres. Exactly summer tyres, because when temperature drops down below 10C and more than when surface is wet, tyres loose almost third part of its great features what you can enjoy in hot summer. Drive this tyres third year. Comes together with new Skoda Octavia 1,8TSI. Changed a pair due to so high wear, but I also do not drive while wear is till last legal mm. Stability in high speed (over 160km/h) is very good. Extreeme braking, sporty cornering, active start - all is very good. The best thing is that you could feel the limit without surprises. Also so useful on mixed surface as gravel/country road.
Sure can recommend it ! And respecting relatively low price, no doubt - can change it every season and feel safe and good on any road during all summer season.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2017   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz c 220 cdi (255/35 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 400 spirited miles
Ive had cars fitted previously fitted with OEM continentals, Nankangs, Events and Falkens.
Events were terrible in all aspects, nankangs werent much better.
I had Falkens FK459 EcoRun on my last car cars which I thought were pretty good for the price payed.

My current car originally wore MO rated Continental SportContact 5 tires when new.
I thought they were as good as a tire could get but they wore down pretty quickly I thought
Since then I moved to Michelin PS3s then PS4s.

Recently had to buy new rears(255/3518). (the fronts are 225/40/18).

After seeing as Ford, Audi, Mercedes and Mini had all chose Hankooks for there OEM spec tires in 2016/2017, I replaced my rear michelins with some Hankook Ventus Evo2 K117 tires despite some other reviews mentioning there poor wear rate.

I quickly realised that they are not as rigid in the sidewalls as the PS4 Mitchelins are but the compensation for this is better ride quality, I also think the Hankooks have less noise being generated whilst cruising.
Grip in the wet is better than I expected, Ive found these Hankooks to be more progressive than the Michelins with the back tires seemingly coping better handling the power between the two back wheels whilst the ground is wet.

Over the next 4 months until my winter tires will put back on its give me time to see if longterm there any good before the summer fronts need replacing.

Even though theres only 400miles in one or twice Ive had some spin from the back wheels but only when pulling away sharply on wet roads, the tires may need a few more hundred miles before a true character can be found for the tires.

Im anticipating that wear may be poor due to other reviews with the tires.
Its still early days yet.

The rim protection ridge could,be improved though.

2 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2017   
Given 61% (breakdown) while driving a Porsche Macan Diesel S (255/50 R19 N) on a combination of roads for 12 average miles
Hankooks were on my car when I bought it brand new. Have just clicked over 20k (12,500 miles) and the all four tyres are needing to be changed. Maybe it is a heavy car/SUV but used to own a heavier Volvo XC60 with Toyo's and they lasted much longer than this. Tyres showed even wear over the whole tread and balance and alignment were not an issue. Unfortunately due to wear, would not buy again.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2017