tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Kumho Ecsta KU39


Show all: Kumho tyres, Passenger Car Summer Ultra High Performance tyres
The Kumho Ecsta KU39 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 82 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 790,720 miles driven.
 


Kumho Ecsta KU39
Dry Grip
86%

Wet Grip
78%

Road Feedback
80%

Progressiveness
76%

Wear
71%

Comfort
83%

Buy again
81%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £52.62 - £52.63 (2 prices)
225/45 R17 £66.26 - £75.38 (3 prices)
225/40 R18 £75.48 - £80.13 (2 prices)
235/35 R19 £86.20 - £86.20 (2 prices)
Available in 58 tyre sizes - View all.

Kumho Ecsta KU39 Reviews

Given 56% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen passat w8 4motion (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Have these tyres on my w8 Passat and for the first 5 months awesome. Lots of feedback and pretty good grip in most conditions. Now snow in sunny qld so can't comment there. Lost two tyres on the front cruising at 110kph inside tyre wall blew out on both tyres not at the same time thankfully. Anyone else had this issue? Are they known for soft tyre walls? I still have two on the rear which seem to be ok at this stage but am unsure if I'll ever buy them again. Didn't get to test them on the track on the front as they blew before I made it.
tyre reviewed on November 1, 2014   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Corsa vxr (225-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Great all rounder for < £100/each fitted. Wet grip is good but under hard acceleration can feel a bit 'wanting'
tyre reviewed on October 15, 2014   
Looking to buy the Kumho Ecsta KU39? Click here to search for the best price for the Kumho Ecsta KU39 or any other tyre.
 
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Jaguar S Type 2.7D (245-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Best summer tyre yet for my Jaguar S type.
In my opinion as good performance wide as the standard pirelli p zero rosso and more comfortable and quiet. After 5000 miles i have next to no signs of wear. Grip and handling in dry and wet is epic. A brilliant tyre with an even better price. 9.5/10
Perfect for a 200bhp+ RWD car in the summer.
tyre reviewed on October 3, 2014   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Changed from dreadful run-flats to these on all four corners and the results were great! The response is great on wet/dry roads and cornering is spot on, but not driven on the limits yet. Noise is bearable but road feedback is much better than I experienced with the RF's.

Priced at £110 per tyre incl fitting, so price effective for a mid range brand and would certainly buy them again!
tyre reviewed on August 18, 2014   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Subaru Legacy 2.5GT (255-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24,500 spirited miles
Absolutely fantastic tyre. Currently on my Subaru legacy/liberty with Race track days, hard street and rural driving involved, and they tick all the boxes. I will definitely be purchasing again, as they are a fantastic package.
tyre reviewed on July 18, 2014   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Linear Convertible (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 50,000 average miles
I'm not recognizing some of the comments on here re these tyres. I've had mine on my SAAB 9-3 for approx 50k miles so i would say that the wear is great. My journey is mostly Motorway so that may account for that. Grip and noise again, are great.
tyre reviewed on June 29, 2014   
Given 39% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9,900 average miles
2009 Passat Estate 2.0 TDi with Kumho Ecsta KU39 - 235 45 17 - on the front. Steady driver with mix of motorway, suburban and rural road driving. Less than 10,000 miles and, as
tyre reviewed on June 18, 2014   
Given 71% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Bought these as an experiment more than anything. Not as responsive as the Dunlop Sport Maxx I normally buy, but very progressive and overall grip level is very high. My daily commute involves the derestricted Isle of Man TT Course, so they get harder treatment than virtually anything short of a track day car would sunject them to - and they lasted 12,000 miles. For fast road users I would only recommend this tyre to someone who is very familiar with the handling of their car, otherwise this tyre would probably feel a little disconcerting. For me personally they are very good due to the progressive nature and overall grip levels. These Kumhos allow safe, brisk driving if you know what you're doing.
tyre reviewed on May 21, 2014   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.9 Tdi (215-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Bought these twice now n stick like s+++ to a blanket .10 thousand miles n new ones required which is there only downfall. Drive it like you stole it and exspect alot less miles out of these.
my driving is a conbination of national limit A and B roads with a smidge of motorway sometimes spirited other times sedate.
tyre reviewed on May 17, 2014   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Ford fiesta st (205-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
VERY good all around tyre, had these on my ST and was quite impressed, good feedback, comfort, grip in dry or wet was good, Wear was around 15k.
Excellent tyre for money, i recommend this tyre!
tyre reviewed on March 23, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: