Kumho Ecsta KU39

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 80%
Progressiveness 75%
Wear 72%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 80%
Kumho Ecsta KU39

The Kumho Ecsta KU39 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Show all

Tyre review data from 98 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 1,049,720 miles driven.

 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £43.20 - £56.20 (9 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £52.80 - £65.60 (10 prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £64.24 - £81.90 (10 prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £85.00 - £105.30 (10 prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 57 tyre sizes - View all.

Kumho Ecsta KU39 Reviews

Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Jaguar XJS (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
Just completed 30k of mixed driving on a Jag xj.
Great wear, I have just replaced them today.
A bit of vibration from 70-90
tyre reviewed on January 29, 2016   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 730Ld (275-40-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
Dry grip is not far from average.
Struggles to handle the power on wet accelerations.
Gives you a nice and easy feeling on what the front tyres are doing on corners.
Been using it on my 730Ld for almost 5k miles and seems to be wearing normally.
A decent choice given the price the value/price index.
tyre reviewed on December 29, 2015   
Given 51% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 530d Auto SE LCI (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12,000 spirited miles
I'm always in a hurry, take corners and accelerate very hard. When i got the car, it had these tyres on the rear and though they were at 3mm they lasted until May, around 4 months - 8k.
I replaced them with the same tyres (Kumho Ecstas) and i've done around 12k (6 months) since then and they are now totally worn so they have worn quite well tbh.
Dry grip they are very good, in the wet they aren't bad and do keep it together.
My only gripe is that ever since they were fitted there has always been a vibration at 70-90mph. Removed and rebalanced twice with no luck, this was the same issue with the previous set so i'm not buying again. But i would recommend these tyres.
tyre reviewed on November 30, 2015   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 320D Coupe (255-30-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 easy going miles
Second time I've used this tyre on two different cars, the result both times....awesome. Switched from nasty run flats to these and have them on all corners, car grips well in all conditions. Dry grip rate is outstanding, you can feel the tyres biting as you accelerate and push into corners, equally in the wet they won't let you down, they heat up quickly offering extra grip! One thing I didn't realise was the lack of rim protection, my alloys are £550 a piece from BMW and although I'm extremely careful when parking a flange protector wouldn't have been a bad thing.
Only had these on for 2k so far and still looking as new, would definitely buy these again, a great tyre for a fraction of the price of the bigger brands.
tyre reviewed on October 31, 2015   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 525d e60 m sport (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I really rate these tyres, I used to swear by continental sport contacts but just couldn't justify the price and quick wear on a bigger tyre. These are almost as good, not quite as progressive but unless you are really pushing it's not an issue. Wear much better than continentals, I've had them on the back for about 8000 miles now and they're showing very little sign of wear. Just got both fronts replaced as well and they make a huge difference.
tyre reviewed on October 1, 2015   
Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a Holden commodore (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
These tyres are definitely a great option but left more to be desired. when they heat up they become a bit unpredictable, and on a heavy car they exaggerate body roll. They definitely have extremely high levels of grip in a variety of good and bad conditions but seem to be a bit funny when cornering. I probably wouldn't buy these again, but definitely a solid choice of people who like/ need streched tyres.
tyre reviewed on September 13, 2015   
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic Type R (205-45-17-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on September 11, 2015   
Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Clio RS200 (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Great tyres, they have 95% performance and life a premium Conti/Goodyear tyre but at 50% of the cost. Have had these on cars before and have lasted well, the grip in dry is excellent and wet is very good. The only negative is they are a slihtly bit noisy than others but not very noticable.
tyre reviewed on September 3, 2015   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Audi 90 20v Quattro (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 24,000 spirited miles
Used on my Audi 90 Quattro, 24,000 miles in last 18 months, great tire and perform well in the corners and wet, really can't fault and might buy again depending on price of others
tyre reviewed on July 31, 2015   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 Avant 2.0 tdi 170hp (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
i still use them on my Audi 235/40/18 and i can say only the sidewall is not as hard as need to be for low profile tire but otherwise very happy !
I drove them for 30k km which i think is not that bad - still above 3mm left so i hope they will do 40k km
Apart from the side wall i can say they are very good ! Nearly time for new tires and i'm planning to try something else but may go again for them - 90 quid fully fitted - i can't go wrong !
Buy with confidence!
tyre reviewed on June 30, 2015