tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Kumho Ecsta KU39


Show all: Kumho tyres, Passenger Car Summer Ultra High Performance tyres
The Kumho Ecsta KU39 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 73 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 658,320 miles driven.
 


Kumho Ecsta KU39
Dry Grip
86%

Wet Grip
78%

Road Feedback
80%

Progressiveness
77%

Wear
72%

Comfort
83%

Buy again
82%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £54.00 - £54.00 (1 prices)
225/45 R17 £72.30 - £72.30 (1 prices)
225/40 R18 £77.61 - £77.61 (1 prices)
235/35 R19 £105.68 - £105.68 (1 prices)
Available in 20 tyre sizes - View all.

Kumho Ecsta KU39 Reviews

Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Ford fiesta st (205-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
VERY good all around tyre, had these on my ST and was quite impressed, good feedback, comfort, grip in dry or wet was good, Wear was around 15k.
Excellent tyre for money, i recommend this tyre!
tyre reviewed on March 23, 2014   
Given 64% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot 407 Coupe (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
These tyres never let me down and I found the grip was excellent in both dry and wet conditions but I hardly got 11 months out of them. They wear very quickly.
tyre reviewed on March 2, 2014   
Looking to buy the Kumho Ecsta KU39? Click here to search for the best price for the Kumho Ecsta KU39 or any other tyre.
 
Given 20% (breakdown) while driving a Honda CIVIC 1.6 VTEC (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
Kumho only last about 14~16 months and I've only done under 12000.

very noisey as well.
tyre reviewed on February 25, 2014   
Given 51% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
Considering they weren't the cheapest tyres in the world I wasn't impressed with these at all. I have since switched to Vredestein Ultrac Vorti which were cheaper and far superior (read the reviews).
Personally I thought the tyre lacked positive bite when turning in to corners. They were noisy too. OK, dry grip was OK alright but that was about it.
They're not the worst tyres in the world, Fullrun own that title!! but there are better tyres for the money.
tyre reviewed on February 19, 2014   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Ibiza Cupra 1.4 TSI (215-40-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on January 28, 2014   
Given 53% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic Type R (205-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
Have had 2 of these on the REAR of my Civic type-r for 8 days. Despite being EXTRALOAD and Inflated to the recommended pressure, they feel awful. They are fitted correctly as they're Asymmetrical tyres. Have driven with them inflated to 28, 30 & 32Psi and always feels as if the rear of the car is constantly fishtailing. Not very confidence inspiring, especially in the wet.
tyre reviewed on January 10, 2014   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Ibiza FR TDi (215-40-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on November 13, 2013   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A4 1.9 TDI (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
Had these tyres on all four wheels. excellent grip in all conditions, particulary grippy in the wet. I took it round a tight roundabout during very wet conditions expecting car to slide but the tyres just carried on gripping. I went aroud 5-6mph faster and it stilled just gripped. good level of comfort and low noise levels which is due to the relatively soft sidewall i believe. Wear is ok for this range of tyre. Tyres give conistent grip throughout the life of the tyres.

I had slight issue with NSF tyre at around 2mm tyre had a flat. I took it off tyre and noticed inner sidewall stressed and ripped. luckly the tyre held together and deflated gradually and I did not suffer blow out. Several weeks prior to that I noticed the I started to loose pressure down to 27psi when it was around 3mm when I checked it every 2 weeks. So i just inflated tyre back up to 32 psi, maybe this had something to do with the inner sidewall damage and I should have got the tyre checked out at this point. However I have thought that the tyre pressure did not drop significantly enought to cause this damage, but then what do I know

I think due to the soft construction of the sidewall you have to keep an eye on the pressures, if anything 1 or 2 psi extra would be helpful with this tyre.
tyre reviewed on November 12, 2013   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz B180Cdi (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 100,000 average miles
Put these on my wifes car and not once has she complained about understeer or any sticky moment she has with these tyres. When i have drove her car I have 100% conidence in these tyres. The drive is very nice on these tyres. They grip very well even in the rain.
tyre reviewed on October 28, 2013   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.9 Tdi (215-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
FOR THE MONEY THESE TYRES ARE UNBEATABLE.
WENT IN A LITTLE OVER ENERGETIC INTO A CORNER EXPECTING A BROWN TROUSER MOMENT AND THESE TYRES JUST STUCK LIKE GLUE TO THE ROAD.TO UPSET THESE TYRES YOU NEED TO HAVE A DEATH WISH.Down side 10,000 miles and 3mm left on tread.
seat ibiza fr tdi 200bhp remapped.
tyre reviewed on October 5, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!

Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with Asda Tyres to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!