tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Kumho Solus KH17


Show all: Kumho tyres, Passenger Car Summer Touring tyres
The Kumho Solus KH17 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 31 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 416,447 miles driven.
 


Kumho Solus KH17
Dry Grip
75%

Wet Grip
73%

Road Feedback
70%

Progressiveness
68%

Wear
74%

Comfort
71%

Buy again
69%


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £41.27 - £51.12 (16 prices)
205/55 R16 £47.33 - £55.97 (6 prices)
Available in 62 tyre sizes - View all.

Kumho Solus KH17 Reviews

Given 36% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat Panda (155-80-13-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3,000 easy going miles
Quite possibly the worst tyre I have ever driven on, and certainly the worst fitment we have ever had on our Fiat Panda (155/80/13). These replaced a set of Uniroyal Rain tyres, which proved to be very predicatable in the dry, and dependable in the wet. These Kumhos, now with 2.5k miles on them, are extremely poor in comparison to both the Uniroyals, Continental and Pirelli tyres I've fitted previously and are even worse than the budget ones the Fiat dealer fitted when we bought the car originally. The tread blocks are far too soft, as are the side walls. At town speeds its like driving on jelly, you can feel the tyres moving around rather than just gripping. On major A roads and motorways they are OK, with lowish road noise, but as soon as you need to move the steering there is just no precision in either feedback or lateral grip. even my partner, who knows pretty much zero about tyre technology, immediately noticed the poor characteristics. I've tried alternign tyre pressures (within sensible limits) and it makes little difference since the tread blocks have insufficient stiffness. I'm seriously considering taking all four off and replacing with Uniroyals again, I just dont' trust the tyres - goodness knows what would happen in an emergency avoidance situation. These are the only Kumho tyres I've bought, and will most definitely be the last. Do yourself a favour, pay £3-5 more and get a Uniroyal or another £10-12 and get a premium tyre.
tyre reviewed on September 15, 2014   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 8v (175-60-13-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I was looking for some replacement tyres, with a smaller sidewall for improved responsiveness and found these within my budget.

At first I was quite unimpressed with the lack of grip, although that could have been toe out related, they felt very hard and solid, after putting a few miles through them, and having the alignment sorted they really came into there own, especially compared to other tyres.

Wet grip was pretty average, and when loaded up you could accurately predict the limit, Dry grip was very good, almost surprising infact, you could really load up the tyre, feel the flex in the steering wheel and just hear it roar slightly in the corners, approaching a chirp as it got to the limit or if you carried too much speed. SO it goes hand in hand that the feedback and progressiveness of these tyres was great, there wasnt a sharp cut off it warned you before hand.

There are a couple of drawbacks, all the luxury of grip and feedback does come at the quick wear rate, I went through a set on the front a lot quicker than I would have liked, at the price they were though, not big money to replace. Road noise wasnt that bad, relatively speaking, but my cabin isnt the best for sound proofing, comfort wise, the sidewalls do flex quite well under load, but you can tell theres stiffness there when tootling over speedbumps etc.

I would reccomend these to anyone looking for a good tyre on a budget.
tyre reviewed on September 4, 2014   
Looking to buy the Kumho Solus KH17? Click here to search for the best price for the Kumho Solus KH17 or any other tyre.
 
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a Nissan Micra (155-70-13-)
Driving on mostly town for 5,000 easy going miles
Great tyre overall, but after year and a half there was small cracks all over the tyres. Will not buy again for that reason.
tyre reviewed on August 12, 2014   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Kia Motors (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Bought kia rio 2012 1.4 turbo D brand new
just getting mine replaced on front wheels, done 18,000 miles
backs still look new though
i am keeping to the same tyres as were on the car as they are really good
they are just as good as 150 quid + tyres ive had in the past on other cars
they do sometimes get driven hard and they never complain
I can't honestly fault them at £62 each fitted
tyre reviewed on March 31, 2014   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Hyundai Accent (185-65-14-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30,000 average miles
Its my car's stock tires! Since i got it from my dealer. until now, still 35% and waiting for another 2000miles to replace it with a new one that i have on my garage. GOOD TYRE FOR ME!!!
tyre reviewed on January 19, 2014   
Given 36% (breakdown) while driving a Hyundai I10 (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 800 average miles
Replaced the Hankooks with Khumo K17's as they are the new OEM replacement tyres for the i10. At 65mph plus, the car started to drone as if a wheel bearing had gone. The chassis, bearings, steering and suspension were all checked and given a clean bill of health. As a last resort the tyres were changed - droning gone. No way to replace or exchange, so will be replaced with something else. Waste of £100, during the 800 miles use I did get before they were found to be U/S, I was not impressed.
tyre reviewed on June 30, 2013   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Clio 1.6 16v (185-60-15-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
GRRRRRRIIIIIPPPPP!! The grip on these tyres are phenomenal. Usually after pulling away in 1st I get wheelspin but after fitting these my car launches itself down the road. I would definitely recommend these tyres. Great for the price.
tyre reviewed on May 23, 2013   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Daihatsu Charade (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 3,000 spirited miles
Very easy tyre to drive with, I don't understand the haters, considering every person that has had an issue with tyre wear drives a Hyundai, and everyone else is fine, maybe that's your issue? Buy a quality car... /rant

Dry grip is excellent and the tyres are rather quiet, very little squeel.
Comfortable ride.
Lower road noise than the tyres they replaced.

A lot of tyres feel good in dry conditions but are horrible in the wet, rest assured the KH17s are very decent. Even hitting one tyre on a wet patch under hard braking, the car remains stable and lockup was prevented (no ABS.)

One of the best budget tyres on the market, no question.
tyre reviewed on May 15, 2013   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
For the price you can't buy better. Having used them on 3 different cars now I can safely say they are great all round tyres which i would recommend to any one.

tyre reviewed on April 23, 2013   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a BMW E46 325i (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Im using 215/45/17.......replaced a pair in the front,my car is front wheel drive.....excellent dry grip and unpredicted suprise on the wet! Even michelin is not as good as these tyres in wet....wear rate is good....the only downturn is its noisy in city driving 40km/h to 80km/h...beyong that it transforms to one of the most silent tyres...why is this?
tyre reviewed on March 17, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: