Marshal Matrac TX KU17

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 68%
Road Feedback 64%
Handling 66%
Wear 71%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 61%

Marshal Matrac TX KU17 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 43% while driving a MINI Cooper D (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 2,000 average miles
Fine in the dry, hopeless for in the wet.
In the wet the traction is dramatically reduced and cornering is hopeless. Huge understeer. You must dramatically slow down for cornering in the wet.
Probably the worst wet weather tyres I can remember in 30 years of driving.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2016   
Given 67% while driving a Alfa Romeo 159 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
On when I bought the car, so far did some 10000 miles. Tyres feel and look strong. Don't seem bothered by roughing it against the kerb. Dry grip is pretty good.
On the downside, I had problems with jiggly steering with these tyres. Some road surfaces can suddenly pull sideways. At 5K miles I had to switch back/front because the steering was pulling to left even after full 4w balancing. Though there could be other causes for this, switching tyres solved the problem.
Overall ok for the price, especially for commuter cars.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2012   
Given 73% while driving a Evolution (215/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 14 spirited miles
The front understeers a little in the wet and then the rear steps out if you push it a little moor. Push it more again and you can easily powerslide controllably round roundabouts, keeping the front pointing in the right direction and the rears giving it large in a sideways motion.

Generally, the tyres are great in the dry - inspiring confidence and allowing all 350bhp to be firmly planted through all 4 wheels.

In the wet though,you have to keep your wits about you as you can be easily caught out. Even breaks traction in 3rd when full boost comes on song...


Gav
0 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2009   
Given 57% while driving a Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
Not enough grip while braking at high-speed(like 100mph over) and curving at hill road, especially in not so warm temp. at the tire's surface.
Road noise level is not so good, and not so comfort. But cost performance is very good, totally.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2009   
Given 63% while driving a Audi 100 quattro turbo (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
These tyres did not inspire confidence and had limited cornering grip in the wet (not due to lack of tread).
They made the car's steering very twitchy, even roadmarkings would deflect the steering. The tyres did last well (at least 25000 miles with tread to spare). When these tyres were replaced with Goodyear F1's the exessive twichyness through the steering disappeared and the car felt noticably more stable at speed. On the other was replacement Goodyear F1s only lasted 15000 miles. Despite the long life I would not recommend them.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 14, 2009   
Given 83% while driving a Porsche Boxster 2.5 (255/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I have these on the rear of my Boxster and the tread is nice and they handle well. Im impressed with the performance for the price and these are a good mid range tyre.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2008   
Given 74% while driving a Peugeot 205 (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Excellent grip for the price, can't really fault them. At least in my 205GTI I don't need to worry about smoking away the fronts as they're so cheap!! :)
0 - tyre reviewed on July 26, 2007   
Given 89% while driving a BMW E36 328i Sport (245/40 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
With the BMW 328i Sport being rather overtyred using the same sizes as the E36 M3; a 245/40/17 at the rear, tyre choice is chosed with half an eye on cost.

I really wanted to have Michelin Pilot Sport II's all round, however they were coming in at about ?170 per tyre!

So I was recommended the Marshall KU17 by my trusted tyre fitter.

As he explained, they use the same Silicon technology as the top brands, Goodyear F1's for example, meaning superior grip and wear.

Add to this, the tyre was only ?70 a tyre - and it looked nice enough - very similar in design to the original Michelin Pilot Sport (i.e. Symmetrical).

Having had them fitted and bedded them in, now I have got over the initial 'lets not wear them out so quick this time', I've set to really leaning on them.

And the good news is: They really are very very good. Especially at that cost.

In the wet, perhaps because I'm pushing 200bhp around at the rear, and I'm always looking to move the back around, they don't perhaps have as much grip as I'd like, however they do work well.

They clear water very well, and a fairly quiet.

However dry grip is their party piece.

I simply have to be a nutter to get them sliding, and into corners, setting the car up well, they just grip and grip. Very progressive in their movement across the thread as well.

All in all, as a budget performance tyre, they really are amazing.

Very much recommended, and should Pilot Sport II's still be expensive, I'll be getting more of the same.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 1, 2007