tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Maxxis MA V1


Show all: Maxxis tyres, Passenger Car Summer High Performance tyres
The Maxxis MA V1 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 18 tyre reviews averaging 61% over 337,500 miles driven.
 


Maxxis MA V1
Dry Grip
71%

Wet Grip
62%

Road Feedback
62%

Progressiveness
53%

Wear
66%

Comfort
64%

Buy again
51%


 
Size Price Range  
Available in 4 tyre sizes - View all.

Maxxis MA V1 Reviews

Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Voyage (185-60-14-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on November 24, 2013   
Given 55% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mustang gt (275-40-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 40,000 spirited miles
The tires are ok if you are not trying to compete against the big expensive brands, the sidewall is very tough and the tires can handle good, but the grip while breaking is not great ,I drove them for so long, around 50k,and they were pretty well, it's a great lasting tire as it comes to the price but sacrificing grip in both wet and dry.
tyre reviewed on August 16, 2013   
Looking to buy the Maxxis MA V1? Click here to search for the best price for the Maxxis MA V1 or any other tyre.
 
Given 37% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Vectra SRI 1.9 (150) (215-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
These tyres are ok I suppose but very noisy. After they have started to ware down you'll be looking for a worn out wheel bearing, don't worry it is the sound these tyres make. They are very noisy at around 30mph, and you can feel the vibration through the steering too.

These tyres were on the car when I got it, I have also had some of these tyres before on a previous car and said I would never buy them again just down to the noise they make, you'll understand if you get some. Once you replace them your car will be so much quieter...
tyre reviewed on April 6, 2013   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Yaris (205-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on January 18, 2013   
Given 50% (breakdown) while driving a BMW M3 (235-40-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 4,000 average miles
Worst tires ever purchased. Wore completely slick after less than 4,000 miles. Customer service was a joke - says only person that can authorize an adjustment is in China now.
tyre reviewed on December 3, 2012   
Given 73% (breakdown) while driving a Fiat Bravo (195-60-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
ford mounted and are a bit noisy. dry and water are good is where these tires work best
tyre reviewed on September 3, 2012   
Given 33% (breakdown) while driving a Vauxhall Vectra (215-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
They came already fitted when I bought my Vectra 2nd hand. They’re alright for general everyday use but bad on snow/ice and in the wet (I realise they’re a summer tyre). The ’tractor style’ symmetric pattern has worn into ‘wedge’ shapes, i.e. leading edge is lower than the front. The type of wear seems to be causing really annoying road noise (I’ve checked endlessly for worn bearings).

Basically a cheap and nasty tyre; I can’t wait until they’re bald and I can then stick on some NCT5’s
tyre reviewed on June 10, 2012   
Given 86% (breakdown) while driving a Jaguar S Type 2.7D (245-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
A bit noisier that previous Goodyears but general grip in wet and dry was fine.
Wear rate is amazing - Goodyears were lasting about 10k miles, these have lasted 35k!!
The best thing is the grip in snow and ice. I would have bought these as winter tyres. Struggled to get traction previously. Never had any problem in the snow with these despite paying about £85 each two years ago.
tyre reviewed on March 27, 2012   
Given 57% (breakdown) while driving a Citron Xsara VTS 167bhp (205-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Good grip on dry but when still new, don't recommend to use in the wet, breaks traction quite easily
tyre reviewed on December 30, 2011   
Given 61% (breakdown) while driving a MG ZT 260 (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
They seem to last very well and if that is what you want you will like them for that. Grip is mainly fair but poor on cold wet surface if pushing on. 12k covered still 10-12k left with tyre rotation. I would buy for any normal A-B use, more than good enough. Not as grippy as the Kumho fitted before but they were no great shakes either.
tyre reviewed on November 28, 2011   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!

Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with Asda Tyres to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!