tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Michelin Primacy HP


Show all: Michelin tyres, Passenger Car Summer Premium Touring tyres
The Michelin Primacy HP is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 144 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 3,085,451 miles driven.
 


Michelin Primacy HP
Dry Grip
85%

Wet Grip
75%

Road Feedback
77%

Progressiveness
74%

Wear
75%

Comfort
76%

Buy again
66%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £64.83 - £122.51 (39 prices)
225/45 R17 £81.88 - £151.86 (34 prices)
Available in 32 tyre sizes - View all.

Tyre Test Results:

Michelin Primacy HP Reviews

Given 82% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 325i (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I bought the car at 79k miles with these tyres on. They had about 6mm tread. After 10k miles they are down to 4mm. So guess that's about 30k life - not bad. They are OK in all conditions so far but they do not see ice or snow as we have winters. Ride is a bit soft but that could be the 55 profile; a previous E46 had 225x50 which I preferred. They are a bit noisy, possibly as the tread is getting low.
tyre reviewed on September 16, 2014   
Given 39% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus (215-50-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 9,500 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on August 13, 2014   
Looking to buy the Michelin Primacy HP? Click here to search for the best price for the Michelin Primacy HP or any other tyre.
 
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Touran tdi (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
Achieved over 30k miles with these tyres and am very pleased with them.
Great wet and dry grip - always providing good traction.
I'm a normal driver so rarely pressed but always gave a comfortable ride and good grip in corners.
Overall a very good summer tyre which gave me no problems.
Only issue is price and have now fitted some nexen nBlue tyres. Will I notice the £50 odd difference for two tyres?
tyre reviewed on August 12, 2014   
Given 72% (breakdown) while driving a Nissan altima (215-60-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
Put these on my altma. Excellent dry grip.soft and good grip. Good over humps. Excellent cornering due to wide shoulder blocks. Overall ex ellent summer tyre, worth the money.
tyre reviewed on August 5, 2014   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a CitroŽn c4picasso (215-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35,000 easy going miles
Very good tyres, used them for 55000km on a front heavy MPV (set of 4 standard equipped car). In dry they grip enough to let you topple the car in a very tight bend. In wet they are OK but you can get aquaplaning if they are more than half worn. I'm very pleased on how long they lasted with an even wear. Just a tad cheaper and they would make the perfect tyre.
tyre reviewed on August 1, 2014   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Ford S Max (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 45,000 average miles
70.000 Km in two summers but i'll use them until october, so I think other 15.000 Km due the 3mm remaining. Very balanced tyre on wet and dry , with no drawback. They have become noisy after the 60K. I think will change them with the new Primacy 3.
tyre reviewed on July 5, 2014   
Given 77% (breakdown) while driving a Chevrolet Orlando (215-60-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 3,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on May 29, 2014   
Given 95% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (215-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12,500 average miles
I have to say these tyres are the best I've ever encountered. Despite being an F-rated tyre for fuel economy / rolling resistance (suggesting excellent grip), I am getting around 48mpg for a mixture f country and minor A/B roads rising to around 56mpg for motorway and major A roads, which is comparable to Ford's quoted 55-56mpg - impressive.

Tread wear is excellent, after 12500 miles, they have around 2.5mm (I think they started at 8mm) or to put it another way after 12500 miles they now stand at 5.5mm - I should add that these were factory fitted having taken the car from the showroom.

Grip is excellent, I am running the 1.ol 125bhp engine, they are responsive maintaing grip from start, right through the driving range with no judder or wheelspin experienced from either lower quality or poorly maintained tyres.
The tyres also handle well in very wet / torrential rain, frost and ice having driven comfortably whilst maintaining composure at speed on the Herefordshire, Somerset and North & Mid Wales country roads during the winter storms of 2013-14.

The car corners well though it maintains too much grip for quick movements on sharper corners requiring dropping into the low driving range 1st/2nd gears which is a shame as momentum is lost, this is particularly an annoyance for me as the entrance to my street as almost a u-turn from a roundabout, the huge amounts of grip here or very unhelpful - it is these manoeuvres that really let the tyre down as this is where you shall burn through the most amount of fuel.

From inside, the road feedback is good though on newly surfaced roads (not many of these in the UK), it can feel a little dull and almost too protected as though they want to maintain control rather than passing it to the driver (think nannying), though for me, this is a niggle rather than a huge set-back.

Comfort-wise, these tyres really do deaden the noise and associated judder/bounce usually experienced when driving on Britain's roads.

All in all, a good all-rounder with excellent wear and grip on a mixture of roads through different driving styles (both myself and my wife drive differently - she goes mad in my car compared to he relaxed style in her Fiesta), that offers extremely good grip in both wet and dry without compromising too much on fuel economy - think the sole of a Dr Martens boot for wear and grip coupled with the flexibility, weight and performance of a good pair of running shoes: great for most roads and seasons.
tyre reviewed on April 5, 2014   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Avensis (215-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 26,500 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on March 25, 2014   
Given 61% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot 508 SALOON (215-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Very poor grip in anything other than bone dry summer weather. With these tyres I'd slide on cornering and wheel spin in 3rd gear. Fitted some Falken ze914 and the car is instantly transformed. No sliding on cornering, in dry or wet. No wheel spin / traction issues and much quieter.
tyre reviewed on February 18, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: