tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Michelin Primacy HP

Show all: Michelin tyres, Passenger Car Summer Premium Touring tyres
The Michelin Primacy HP is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 163 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 3,601,494 miles driven.

Michelin Primacy HP
Dry Grip

Wet Grip

Road Feedback




Buy again

Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £56.76 - £108.00 (39 prices)
225/45 R17 £75.94 - £179.42 (36 prices)
Available in 51 tyre sizes - View all.

Tyre Test Results:

Michelin Primacy HP Reviews

Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot 3008 (225-50-17-V)
Driving on mostly town for 22,000 average miles
Standard fit on Peugeot 3008. Fine tyres. Never thought I needed more grip in any condition, but my car is not a sports car and is not driven like one. Not buying again though, as far cheaper tyres are available, which will hopefully cope with my driving style and typical journeys.
tyre reviewed on September 27, 2015   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A3 (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 46,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on September 24, 2015   
Looking to buy the Michelin Primacy HP? Click here to search for the best price for the Michelin Primacy HP or any other tyre.
Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Ford S-Max (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
These tyres were OEM on a Ford S Max 2.0 TDCi 225/50 17Y. I am changing them a bit early for two reasons:

1.Now the tread is down to 3mm, on my mainly autoroute/motorway fast cruise driving, the tyres have developed a tendency to aquaplane in heavy rain conditions. The sipes can longer evacuate the volume of water and this problem has increased with wear.

2.The noise on concrete sections of the M20 and M25 is becoming too intrusive. Even on smooth tarmac the tyres emit a droning type noise.

Dry grip is excellent and generally wet road grip is very good with the tyres making the S Max feel secure in greasy conditions. The car has handled well and the tyres are able to cope with a large payload range which vehicles like the occasional 7 seater S Max can carry.

The S Max has been quite kind to the tyres for such a heavy car and they have worn perfectly.

Current price for these tyres on AlloPneus.com in France is E136 each, but my preferred choice for replacement was on special offer with an extra E10 off, taking the price down to E87 each including mobile fitting at home. Quite a saving for Nokian Z Line tyres which I am buying due to favourable reviews on this forum, plus my own excellent experience with Nokian WR A3 winter tyres last winter, which I was reluctant to take off as they are so good.
tyre reviewed on September 22, 2015   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a Honda 1.6 I-DTEC (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
OEM fitment; safe, long lasting but mostly oh so noisy and not in a good way. Their sensitivity to road surfacing is extreme Acoustic output particularly in the higher frequencies going from negligible on smooth new Tarmac to an appallingly loud roar on common old road-stone. Otherwise moderately comfortable but with a tendency to slap on less even surfaces. Good in the dry and well behaved in the wet. Slightly remote steering feel and unless it's below 7 degrees generally dependable and fairly trustworthy, even close to the edge of their capability. Have replaced these today and with the tread remaining they could have done well over 30K but the volume and character of the noise was ruining my enjoyment of the still new(ish)car. This tyre is good but not excellent. I believe there are now newer and better so buying them again is a moot point
tyre reviewed on September 10, 2015   
Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Nissan Altima (225-45-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 50,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on August 3, 2015   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 520d Tourer (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Replaced run flats on BMW E61520d to reduce wheel noise. These non-runflat tyres are very good, great grip and wear. Just expensive
tyre reviewed on June 23, 2015   
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Ford S Max (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 18 spirited miles
The block tread increases road noise and I am not impressed with the wear rate either.

There are better value tyres out there and I think with Michelin, you are paying a premium for the name like buying an BMW, Audi or Mercedes. In the long run, they simply cost you more.

tyre reviewed on April 24, 2015   
Given 60% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 330D Touring (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Had these fitted to replace Rain Sports which were not easily available at the time in the size needed, assured that the rubber compound was similar. Initial impressions were okay, dry grip was fine, no noticeable deterioration in powering through corners but with less confidence in the rain. But once the tread was below 3mm, wow, these things just gave up. Cornering in the wet is a lesson in drifting, and I can spin the back wheels changing up in third. I would not put these on the back of a powerful RWD car again, in fact I will avoid them.
tyre reviewed on March 4, 2015   
Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota (215-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Very poor grip in wet conditions.
Actually dangerous tires on RWD cars in wet.
Good wear
tyre reviewed on February 12, 2015   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Turbo X 280bhp XWD (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 56,000 average miles
Having to change my rear set of tyres, grip left 3.5mm but rubber is crazing badly. They are original and have done 56000, changed my front set at about 40000. Good tyre in all aspects.
tyre reviewed on December 23, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!

Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Speed Rating: