tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Toyo T1R


Show all: Toyo tyres, Passenger Car Summer Ultra High Performance tyres
The Toyo T1R is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 226 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 3,080,011 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Toyo T1S
This tyre has been replaced by the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport
 


Toyo T1R
Dry Grip
85%

Wet Grip
73%

Road Feedback
77%

Progressiveness
76%

Wear
63%

Comfort
70%

Buy again
74%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £50.30 - £55.29 (3 prices)
225/45 R17 £76.81 - £93.40 (4 prices)
225/40 R18 £91.20 - £91.20 (1 prices)
235/35 R19 £155.76 - £155.76 (1 prices)
Available in 52 tyre sizes - View all.

Toyo T1R Reviews

Given 85% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Yaris (195-50-14-)
Driving on mostly town for 10 average miles
In my opinion it is one of the best tires!

One time i always buy good tires like Continental,Goodyear,bridgstone,Danlop etc for my cars

and i am a full time driver and my company use tires like khumo,nankang,goodride etc.

From now i always buy TOYO tires,even for the cost.
tyre reviewed on December 9, 2014   
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a CitroŽn berlingo (195-50-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
My experience is that they are very good grip tyres but wear too quickly. They lats about 1/2 the life of other tested tyres in the same vehicle.
tyre reviewed on November 29, 2014   
Looking to buy the Toyo T1R? Click here to search for the best price for the Toyo T1R or any other tyre.
 
Given 66% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 3 Series (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on November 1, 2014   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo 145 Cloverleaf (QV) (195-50-15-)
Driving on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on October 20, 2014   
Given 56% (breakdown) while driving a Honda CIVIC 1.6 VTEC (195-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 80 average miles
I've been driving on a set of these for about one and a half years now. At first they were a huge improvement over the Pirelli p6000 that I had before them. They gripped really well in the dry and their wet performance wasn't too shabby either. For less than 70 bucks a pop they seemed like a real bargain. However, after about 8 months of daily driving, I noticed they were steadily losing their dry grip. The car no longer had the same grip threshold and this made me sometimes uneasy in corners. I also noticed that the tyre compound (which is on the softer side) had become harder (most probably caused by gathering dirt off roads).

While dry grip decreased dramatically, I didn't feel a noticeable change in wet grip, however I don't normally push the car to it's limits in the wet and therefore I can't really give a good outlook on this matter.

I still daily them and they still feel very good during turn in, however the rear of the car (which is a lot lighter) does not feel planted anymore especially during high speed corners and the car has become really prone to lift-off oversteer.

I still feel that they're one of the best dry performing tyres for the price, however be warned that while they may not wear as fast, their grip will decrease after a period of driving and their compound will "harden" after prolonged daily use.
tyre reviewed on October 19, 2014   
Given 64% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 6 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
On the dry surface they are unreal.taking really sharp corners 50 mph no problem. On the wet however you better take your foot of because it's like you are driving on ice. Still like them because on dry u can't beat them.
tyre reviewed on October 9, 2014   
Given 59% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic Type R (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Not a bad tyre in the dry, not a huge fan of their wet weather performance. For the price i would just pay £20 more a corner and go for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Assy 2 because although the dry weather grip is good the wet weather grip is nothing compared to the Eagle F1 or Pilot Sport 3. Ended up selling them as part worn and moved to a different tyre.
tyre reviewed on September 8, 2014   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a MG MGTF (215-40-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
These tyres really are the best fitment for an MG TF. They have more grip and are quieter than the original Goodyear GS-D2's and are also more comfortable than Kumho KU31's & Yokohama S-Drive's. I expect them to wear quickly as the treadware number indicates but that's not a problem for me as the car is only for weekend fun! Overall a great tyre at a sensible price and ideally suited to a mid-engine car.
tyre reviewed on September 5, 2014   
Given 47% (breakdown) while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra R 275bhp (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
As what the previous reviewer has said these tyres are really bad with powerful front wheel drive cars when fitted at the rear due to lift off oversteer, they let go with very little warning.
tyre reviewed on August 3, 2014   
Given 41% (breakdown) while driving a Nissan almera gti (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I agree with what others have said. If you have a light and powerful front wheel drive car - DO NOT BUY THESE.

In the dry, yes they are very grippy and predictable. In the wet, you are in serious trouble. Unless the tyre is unworn, the grip is pathetic. When the edges of the tyre start to wear (inevitable with enthusiastic cornering) its scary, if not lethal. you learn to drive in a whole new way just to compensate. In a car with no traction control, abs or any assists, you have to be seriously skilled to drive quickly in the damp / wet. they are like ice skates. Getting them off now as they are on the tread limiters, but i should have got them replaced them a while ago. as others have said - replace at 2/3 wear. They also wear down very quickly on a FWD car.
tyre reviewed on July 14, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: