tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Toyo T1R


Show all: Toyo tyres, Passenger Car Summer Ultra High Performance tyres
The Toyo T1R is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 217 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 3,043,921 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Toyo T1S
This tyre has been replaced by the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport
 


Toyo T1R
Dry Grip
85%

Wet Grip
73%

Road Feedback
77%

Progressiveness
76%

Wear
63%

Comfort
71%

Buy again
74%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £55.18 - £57.40 (3 prices)
225/45 R17 £71.36 - £107.90 (4 prices)
225/40 R18 £89.10 - £89.10 (1 prices)
235/35 R19 £107.00 - £107.00 (1 prices)
Available in 63 tyre sizes - View all.

Toyo T1R Reviews

Given 41% (breakdown) while driving a Nissan almera gti (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I agree with what others have said. If you have a light and powerful front wheel drive car - DO NOT BUY THESE.

In the dry, yes they are very grippy and predictable. In the wet, you are in serious trouble. Unless the tyre is unworn, the grip is pathetic. When the edges of the tyre start to wear (inevitable with enthusiastic cornering) its scary, if not lethal. you learn to drive in a whole new way just to compensate. In a car with no traction control, abs or any assists, you have to be seriously skilled to drive quickly in the damp / wet. they are like ice skates. Getting them off now as they are on the tread limiters, but i should have got them replaced them a while ago. as others have said - replace at 2/3 wear. They also wear down very quickly on a FWD car.
tyre reviewed on July 14, 2014   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic (205-50-15-)
Driving on mostly town for 8,000 spirited miles
The Toyo T1R's are the grippiest tyres I've ever encountered, either in wet or dry. Quite astonishing levels of grip - It's nearly impossible to explore their limits a legal speeds. They have more grip in the wet than my previous Dunlops had in the dry. Did I mention they grip well? Ride comfort is good, and noise is acceptable.
The tread wear may not be the best, but if you enjoy driving, these tyres will not disappoint. I'd buy them again if I could.
tyre reviewed on July 11, 2014   
Looking to buy the Toyo T1R? Click here to search for the best price for the Toyo T1R or any other tyre.
 
Given 76% (breakdown) while driving a Kia Motors (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24,000 average miles
This tyre is one of the best performance tyre ever. Good grip on wet and dry roads. The thread wear is quite low but if you are a fast driver and concern about sharp and stable cornering then i would recommend this tyre. Performs quite bad on bumpy roads as the tyre is soft. Try yourself and you will be impressed with the grip and performance. I will definitely buy it again!!
tyre reviewed on June 15, 2014   
Given 56% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 325i (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 150 spirited miles
If your looking for a road tyre these T1R's are excellent. Its close to impossible to get them to the limit on any public road. The grip in the dry is outstanding. If you are using them as a road tyre only you will love them. However If you intent to use them for trackdays, read on.
I bought these tyres as road/track use. After 1 track day 2 of the tyres are gone. The problem with the tyre is they heat up too quickly and crumble when driven to the limit. My friend who has a civic had the same issue with the tyres overheating and crumbling. Both our sets of tyres were brand new on the morning of the track.
As a road tyre 10/10
track tyre do not buy.
tyre reviewed on May 25, 2014   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 325 coupe (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I have these tires on my bmw 325i e36.... they are good. The stick my bmw on the road very very good. On wet conditions are good also but do not force your luck !! I have 205/40/r17 with super sport shocks and springs...so comfort is out of this discussion, anyway my bmw have rear drive traction so it is dangerous...but anyway.... to a scale from 1 to 10 i give them 8. This is my personal opinion.
tyre reviewed on May 23, 2014   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Smart roadster (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Put these on the Roadster as a summer tyre (was using Toyo Snow Proxes over the winter) and have found them to be rather excellent.
I went up an inch in width from standard and down 5% in profile and can say the car feels much more planted than ever before and just grips and grips and grips where in the past it would have been starting to slither about (compared to previous Goodyear summer tyres).
At the price (£50 per corner plus fitting) they've been astounding.
tyre reviewed on May 21, 2014   
Given 56% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda Mazda2 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
The T1R offers an impressive grip on dry roads. For wet performance look other, Grip reduced to 50% and have to be gentle with the throttles. Average comfort, road noise is acceptable but not good. Afterall you can't ask for much with this budget.

Car : Mazda 2
Size: 195 50 15
tyre reviewed on April 21, 2014   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda MX5 (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Very very grippy tyres. Extremely recommended for MX-5's. These tyres make a good handling car go around corners amazingly. Inspires so much confidence you can even attack the corner and I found they handle good in the wet. They don't last many miles though.
tyre reviewed on April 3, 2014   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 27,000 average miles
For the price paid, this proved to be a good tyre which lasted well. Excellent in the dry. Only downside was the tyre noise which could be intrusive on the worst road surfaces. New tyres which have 3dB lower rating are marginally quieter. Overall, well-made tyre which delivered good performance. Would buy again.
tyre reviewed on March 7, 2014   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Clio 1.4 16v (185-55-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Fitted to my car when I bought it, had to replace because the outer shoulders were shot before the central tread. Mileage was good though, around 18,000 miles and they were already part-used when I got them on a second hand car.

Not the comfiest of tyres and the rolling resistance is high, but good grip.
tyre reviewed on March 1, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: