tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Toyo T1R


Show all: Toyo tyres, Passenger Car Summer Ultra High Performance tyres
The Toyo T1R is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 210 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 3,000,771 miles driven.
 


Toyo T1R
Dry Grip
85%

Wet Grip
73%

Road Feedback
77%

Progressiveness
76%

Wear
64%

Comfort
71%

Buy again
74%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £61.30 - £61.30 (2 prices)
225/45 R17 £71.65 - £105.69 (4 prices)
225/40 R18 £89.90 - £89.90 (1 prices)
235/35 R19 £129.18 - £129.18 (1 prices)
Available in 74 tyre sizes - View all.

Toyo T1R Reviews

Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda MX5 (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Very very grippy tyres. Extremely recommended for MX-5's. These tyres make a good handling car go around corners amazingly. Inspires so much confidence you can even attack the corner and I found they handle good in the wet. They don't last many miles though.
tyre reviewed on April 3, 2014   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 27,000 average miles
For the price paid, this proved to be a good tyre which lasted well. Excellent in the dry. Only downside was the tyre noise which could be intrusive on the worst road surfaces. New tyres which have 3dB lower rating are marginally quieter. Overall, well-made tyre which delivered good performance. Would buy again.
tyre reviewed on March 7, 2014   
Looking to buy the Toyo T1R? Click here to search for the best price for the Toyo T1R or any other tyre.
 
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Renault Clio 1.4 16v (185-55-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Fitted to my car when I bought it, had to replace because the outer shoulders were shot before the central tread. Mileage was good though, around 18,000 miles and they were already part-used when I got them on a second hand car.

Not the comfiest of tyres and the rolling resistance is high, but good grip.
tyre reviewed on March 1, 2014   
Given 40% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Puma 1.7 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
these are a good tyre for dry days but on a wet one be prepared to be upside down in a ditch
tyre reviewed on February 24, 2014   
Given 67% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 NA (225-50-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10 average miles
If you have an mr2 on original 15" rims, good rear tyres are to find. It's a choice of Pirelli p-zero (£220+) Falken ze912 or the Toyo t1r, if you can find them!!!!
The Toyo t1r offers very good dry grip (track days) for a very good price, road noice is average and front end braking is fantastic, even in the wet. The two downsides are soft side walls, which reduces steering feel & response, compared to your top end brands & the wear rate is high, but this is a track focused tyre & lower profile tyres will have much smaller side wall to move on.
The falken ze912 I felt it had better response & feel and has lasted longer, rides smooth but then it's not so track focused. Have not used the pirelli p-zero..
tyre reviewed on February 21, 2014   
Given 47% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus ST MP260 (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
These tyres were fitted to my Focus ST when I got it, and I have to say that they are an absolutely dreadful tyre. They gave me no confidence in cornes whatsoever, and would spin up if I even thought about going near the throttle...in a straight line!

Replaced with Goodyear Eagle F1 Assy 2's, and the car has been transformed!

DO NOT PUT THESE ON A "HOT HATCH"!

tyre reviewed on February 4, 2014   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic Type R (205-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
Got these on a Type R Civic and when they are new they are great in the dry and pretty good in the wet with decent feedback and slow breakaway at the limit however, as they wear and the outside shoulder rounds off grip drops off to the point where they are just plain scary particularly in the wet. This means, for me at least, they need replacing when they are two third worn. They are a bit too noisy on the motorway but for the price they are a good tyre and I would buy them again.
tyre reviewed on January 24, 2014   
Given 69% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Mondeo ST24 (205-50-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
These tyres are a Jekyll and Hyde!

I took some corners in the dry at some truly defiant speeds, and these tyres did not even make a squeal let alone feel like they were going to let go. I can't put into words how much grip they offered because I was never brave enough to get them to their limit. I managed to spin them up quite a bit in the wet but this was not really a problem until I had the fronts down to about 2mm tread, when I changed them.

The wear rate was my biggest issue. Although priced quite well, when you consider that I only got about 8000 miles from the fronts on a powerful, heavy FWD car with a lowered sporty suspension (and just a little more from the rear) then they are actually probably the most expensive tyres you can buy mile for mile (this is going on the claimed mileages for Contis, Michelins etc from reading other reviews). I might buy them again, but not a definite.
tyre reviewed on December 19, 2013   
Given 39% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Fabia vRS (205-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Excellent in the dry but in wet conditions after a couple of months wear they are AWFUL! Even when driving slowly to suit the conditions. If you have a light powerful car choose something else.
tyre reviewed on December 16, 2013   
Given 63% (breakdown) while driving a CitroŽn C2 VTS (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 9,000 easy going miles
The tire was good until it is worn, with little time and mileage until being unidirectional tires the car has started Pulling to one side, reversing the tires pulled from the other side, unsolvable problem also with the various balancing and convergences. Pity, the design was not bad
tyre reviewed on December 9, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!

Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with Asda Tyres to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!