tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Uniroyal Rainsport 2


Show all: Uniroyal tyres, Passenger Car Summer Ultra High Performance tyres
The Uniroyal Rainsport 2 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 215 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 2,003,153 miles driven.

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal Rainsport
This tyre has been replaced by the Uniroyal Rainsport 3
 


Uniroyal Rainsport 2
Dry Grip
85%

Wet Grip
91%

Road Feedback
78%

Progressiveness
77%

Wear
76%

Comfort
80%

Buy again
83%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £55.10 - £62.00 (2 prices)
225/45 R17 £74.56 - £93.90 (7 prices)
225/40 R18 £82.08 - £100.30 (3 prices)
235/35 R19 £134.54 - £166.86 (3 prices)
Available in 66 tyre sizes - View all.

Uniroyal Rainsport 2 Reviews

Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo v70 D5 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
I've got around 19K miles out of my last set of these on a fairly heavy Volvo V70 diesel which I use for towing and some fairly lively driving when not towing. Am up to 16K on the second set which are now nearing the end of their life.

Interestingly my mum has the same car but only managed about 12k miles even with her plodding around - 4 wheel alignment has hopefully now increased.

So, in terms of wear, on a well set up car the wear is good (must swap around i.e. front / back) but if set up is wrong the wear can be excessive.

Great tyre though.

Now to see what the RS3s are like
tyre reviewed on October 15, 2014   
Given 83% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen fox (195-55-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Fantastic in the wet! I can throw the car into tight corners at speeds I would never ever consider on other tyres. Have done round 10, 000 miles on them, I swap them for winter tyres around november - march, but they have lasted well, look nearly new, and I love them
tyre reviewed on October 14, 2014   
Looking to buy the Uniroyal Rainsport 2? Click here to search for the best price for the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 or any other tyre.
 
Given 79% (breakdown) while driving a Peugeot 306 sport 110 HDI (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on October 10, 2014   
Given 61% (breakdown) while driving a Toyota Avensis (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
When new, they feel fine, just like any other new tyre. As soon as they are getting within 4 or 5 mm of the wear indicators, they start to get noisy and this only gets worse. At low speed, they jitter and rumble; over about 50 a whine like a failing wheel bearing starts and gets worse the faster you go. They also tramline somewhat, and feel somewhat sketchy in turns (once again, only felt once worn).

On the plus side, they give fantastic grip in the wet, but this does not make up for the abysmal wear characteristics and the noise. The rolling resistance is higher than for most tyres; this'll cost you a couple of percent of your fuel economy.

Overall, avoid these tyres. The wet grip isn't worth the other downsides; they don't even last particularly well.
tyre reviewed on October 9, 2014   
Given 84% (breakdown) while driving a Mitsubishi carisma (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35,000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on August 10, 2014   
Given 50% (breakdown) while driving a CitroŽn C5 Estate (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 35,000 spirited miles
Had them on the rears for the last 12 month as it's came with the car.
I've done 35k on them on rears (80% on the motorways) an it's just half-worn. The grip was not the worst, kept me well on the motorway in the shallow water. However for the last 5-8k noise exactly the same as dying hub bearing on 40-55 mph and vibration sound on over 60mph. As soon as I dropped them onto the fronts noise became incredibly loud and slight vibration on the steering wheel, although after they've been balanced well. Road feedback just below an average and no comfort at all.

Definitely will never buy again.
tyre reviewed on August 4, 2014   
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Volvo V70 2.4 (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
Switched from Pirreli.I drive on the M62 "over the tops" of the Pennines every week.Lots of rain, snow and sleat.Fantastic grip in all conditions. Car goes exactly where I point it.These tyres give me complete confidence.Will fit RS3 next time.
tyre reviewed on May 16, 2014   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a BMW E46 330ci (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 30,000 spirited miles
My local specialist recommended these RFT as replacements for my Continentals. I have no complaints at all, they gripped well in all conditions except snow, lasted 4 years before on of the rears got a puncture but at least it didn't come right off the rim like the previous ones. You need to take care of the rears as they seem vulnerable to slow punctures. I was forced to use what was available to me and now have Bridgestone Re050a which seem good under breaking, but you would expect this on brand new tyres. However, they are significantly more expensive than the Uniroyals.....only time will tell if it is a good choice.
tyre reviewed on April 18, 2014   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Civic (175-70-13-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
My civic was sliding all over road with continentals and roadstones. Especially after bit of rain. After upgrading 2 front ones to Uniroyal I never experienced that anymore. in heavy rain got a crash in a back because other guy couldn't stop that rapid after tailgating me and that was end of car. Tires are wearing bit faster, fantastic performance
tyre reviewed on April 10, 2014   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Ford fiesta st (205-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
The rainsport 2 are the third set of tyres i have had on my ST, and are the best so far. Better than the P Zero and Dunlop Sport Maxx.
Great grip wet or dry, they give you great confidence when at the limit.

Would recommend.
tyre reviewed on April 1, 2014   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: