tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme


Show all: Vredestein tyres, Passenger Car Winter Ultra High Performance tyres
The Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars. Below is data from 40 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 420,219 miles driven.
 


Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme
Dry Grip
82%

Wet Grip
90%

Road Feedback
83%

Progressiveness
77%

Wear
87%

Comfort
88%

Buy again
93%


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £90.40 - £108.00 (2 prices)
225/45 R17 £102.70 - £178.90 (7 prices)
225/40 R18 £129.70 - £147.00 (3 prices)
235/35 R19 £141.70 - £195.21 (3 prices)
Available in 44 tyre sizes - View all.

Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme Reviews

Given 94% (breakdown) while driving a Alfa Romeo MiTo (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
After t omany years getting stuck in snow i bit the bullet and bought a pair fo the fron of the car. What a lowsey winter it turned out in the end, far to wamr and wet for my Wintrac Exteme's.
What I would say though when the Temp was low enough and even when it was very wet the tyres were very sure on the road and felt very safe. I did push the tyres a bit in different conditions to see how the felt, it was very noticble as the temps got nearer double digits that the grip went away.
When taking the tyres off I was very surprised with the lack of wear with the warmer temps we had.
The Mechanic said at that rate I should get 4-5 seasons from them.
tyre reviewed on April 2, 2014   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Touareg (255-55-18-V)
Driving on mostly town for 6,000 average miles
No Comments Left
tyre reviewed on March 7, 2014   
Looking to buy the Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme? Click here to search for the best price for the Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme or any other tyre.
 
Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Yeti (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 37,000 easy going miles
37,000 miles (59,500km) driven on these. Very good in all respects. Good grip in snow, quite, good wear and ok in warmer dry conditions too.
tyre reviewed on March 3, 2014   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Honda Civic Hatchback (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Perfect tyres!! I have used and I'm using them through the Alps during this winter. In the first 1000/2000 miles the fuel consumption is a bit higher than normal, but then it stabilizes. Great comfort and very quiet. The traction on snow and ice is perfect. It seems you are driving during the summer. Best snow tyres I have ever bought!!
tyre reviewed on February 27, 2014   
Given 81% (breakdown) while driving a BMW Z4 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Very good/enough grip for a normal drive style on wet and dry roads. Many tests say that they are not champions in the rain, but I have to say, that I don't have had any problem with aquaplaning or in heavy rain. I'm very satisfied. In the snow they are plenty of grip and traction. Wher other people were mounting snow chains, my Z4 was still running without difficulties. Starting in the snow is not a problem too. Very good product, quiet and comfortable on bumpy roads. Strongly recommended. (sorry for my english :-)
tyre reviewed on December 27, 2013   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A8 (255-40-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I recomend this tyres! very good tyres.
tyre reviewed on December 9, 2013   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Audi RS4 Quattro (255-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I have these fitted to my RS4, and I get so much driver confidence from these tyres which is vital for a car with so much performance. They just assist the 4WD to grip beyond expectations even when the roads are a bit icy you get confidence and grip with a great progressive feel.

I fully recommend these tyres for winter months as they are comfortable, wear is good and fairly quiet so they are easy to live with. (I can't comment on MPG as I only get 19-26 MPG anyway...)

Bad bits:
They could do with being a bit more precise on steering, but I've overlook this as the benefits outweigh the negatives.

Verdict:
What can I say, these tyres are amazing in the snow/ice and when the weather gets cold. I'd even consider leaving them on all year round, if I didn't already have a set of summer tyres as they suit 95% of my driving all year.
tyre reviewed on December 3, 2013   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A5 (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
Wow - honestly these tyres are absolutely stunning!! I bought a spare set of 18" alloys (proper Audi ones) to mount Winter tyres as I run Summer tyres on the 19" that were fitted when I bought the car from new, in order that I can easily swap to Winter rubber and back without having to go to a fitting centre.
I cannot say I particularly experienced a poor run-in period but, if you know about these things, 100 miles takes no time at all to eat up so tyres should never be downgraded just for that. After being sceptical of the virtues of Winter vs Summer I was encouraged to try after reading so many independent articles that they do work. Well do they?!! If you're reading this, just buy them. Magnificent in snow and ice. I kid you not I was driving past and overtaking cars that were all over the place as if mine was on rails! To me Audi's can be a handful in Winter conditions but with these bad boys I haven't looked back. I am totally converted and, if cash continues to allow me the choice of switching between the 2 sets whatever car I have, I absolutely will - blown away by these Vreds. Just one word of warning, it hasn't happened to me but they are so good, you could get carried away and forget about the snow etc and even drive these beyond their limits.
tyre reviewed on November 30, 2013   
Given 80% (breakdown) while driving a Honda CR V III (225-60-18-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Superb tyres. The grip is so good my car thought it had a puncture. Once bedded in 100miles or so, the tyres improved my fuel economy over the dunlop st30 on from new. Now 10, 000 miles later they're still looking good and gripping well. During the recent snow and ice I never had a single slide. Absolute confidence in all conditions. I know these are a winter tyre, I hhave no second thoughts about taking them off for summer, they are staying on all year. Looking at the amount of tread on them now, I am expecting 20 to25k from them. The only problem I have is they are hard to get hold of. Well worth hunting down.
tyre reviewed on April 10, 2013   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A6 Avant LeMans 2.0 TDi 170 (255-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Replaced summer pirelli zero rosso with these after getting sick of going nowhere in the snow. They are a revelation. I have to say I didn't really notice this first 100miles "running in" thing that others have noted, maybe got lucky. Drove around a snowy/icy Kent and the hills in Derbyshire with 6 inches of snow and it handled as if in the dry, when I couldn't even get out of the drive previously. Great in the wet, no aquaplaning to speak of, got me to Austria and back with not even a thought of needing chains and with better fuel economy. Just have to be careful not to get carried away because you often forget how bad conditions are with these things. Seems to cope fine in the dry and in 15c we had recently..so far, so good. Wear is phenomenal, can barely register a measurement after 4,000 miles, still close on the full 8 mm (and this after a spirited run on the autobahns). Am seriously considering leaving them on in the summer to see how they cope. Having to choose between a summer tyre that's crap in winter over a winter that's not so great in summer, it's a no brainer this climate. March and its snowing again, bring it on!
tyre reviewed on March 11, 2013   

Find these reviews useful? Why not add your own tyre review and help others pick a tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: