Wanli S1088

Dry Grip 56%
Wet Grip 33%
Road Feedback 36%
Progressiveness 35%
Wear 57%
Comfort 35%
Buy again 27%
Wanli S1088

The Wanli S1088 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Show all

Tyre review data from 72 tyre reviews averaging 40% over 597,689 miles driven.

    Sorry, the Wanli S1088 hasn't been featured in any tyre tests yet

Wanli S1088 Reviews

Given 10% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 easy going miles
Fitting on front. Road Noise UNBEARABLE due to "stepping" on tyre. This is where the leading edge of the tyre raises and causes a loud buzz. The noise gets louder and more intrusive the smoother the road surface.

Then realised this is exactly what I fitted to my wife's car several years ago and had to replace due to noise

The only tyres I have felt the need to complain about after 30 years driving. Have fitted cheap before but none like this
NEVER FIT THESE
tyre reviewed on January 2, 2016   
Given 74% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 700 spirited miles
Bought a second hand fiesta 1.4 tdci with four of these on, pretty much brand new. I noticed them straight away for there sporty looks so decided to google them. Panic time....nothing but horrendous reviews...cheap Chinese tyres. After twenty odd years of riding motorbikes and having an intimate understanding of the importance of tyres... Things didn't look good. That said I had come across these sort if reviews before when trying to source affordable bike tyre(£160 a time for rears every 2-3 months), and found out there is far too much of a..."if its Chinese its crap" attitude out there....and took the very long and expensive route finding out this isn't necessarily true.
I work nights and drive 15-18k miles a year in four wheeled vehicles and have gotten quite used to 4am fun on wet roads. So what to do? Lets have some 4am fun with these tyres before I pay out for a set of none Chinese replacements.
First thing I noticed, as I said was the tread pattern....something a little sporty.
Second was the noise.....yep just as all the reviews say these things are loud, sounds like you're running knobblies or that a wheel bearing has gone...thanks to google I knew not to get the bearings changed...plus you can hear the tyre noise change as you turn the wheel.
Next and way before I let my 8 year old son get in the car I need to find out just how dangerous these tyres are......so four weeks later and several hundred miles in the dry, damp and soaking wet and many 4am circuit's of my local roundabout i can honestly say......these tyres will be staying on the car and when they need replacing I will be buying exactly the same. I have pushed my little car way beyond "normal driving" to find a reason to justify changing these tyres, and they have handled everything I've thrown at them. Ex army, advance, evasive/defensive driver trained and more than happy to keep these shoes on my little fiesta!!! New tyres at part worn prices....all that remains is to see how long they last.

1CG



tyre reviewed on January 2, 2016   
Given 31% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
If you want to turn your car into a shopping trolley in terms of handling get these. Driving with these on made the car feel as if it was totally disconnected from the steering wheel. The car I purchased (2nd hand) had them on and they were lethal. Until now I'd taken no interest in tyres thinking they were all the same - now I know what they can do to a car then I won't subject myself or my family to budgets again. Always will be a premium tyre from now on. Wear was good (assume a plastic compound?), dry grip okay, wet grip lethal and noise unbearable!
tyre reviewed on October 15, 2015   
Given 23% (breakdown) while driving a BMW z3 coupe 2.8 (255-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 1,500 spirited miles

After first 1000kms another of the tyres created really big vertical shape anomality , which makes horrible vibration. Now these tyres are totally undrivable in normal motorway speeds not mentioning real high speeds.
Utterly devastating road noise at all speeds but will make your ears bleed at high speeds.

Dry grip is comparable to normal tires, Wet grip is poorest I have ever witnessed, and I mean slightly damp roads. It does not have to be standing water, it does not have to be raining, if asfalt is black, suicide season is immediately on! Will break loose sudden and freaky in any speed low or high when turning car whetter in roundabout or exit ramp.
It can be fun when playing with the car but it is unwanted and seriously dangerous when it happens unwanted in midcorner without provoking. When turning harder it will snap grip off when locking differential starts to limit and will brake traction on any gear when cornering and pressing throttle.

tyre reviewed on May 12, 2015   
Given 0% (breakdown) while driving a Mercedes Benz E240 Elegance (245-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 easy going miles
I would not normally write a review on a tyre. I find that in my normal use I have always found tyres are generally fine. The the two factors I have considered is the price and if I get a reasonable mileage from them. Ride comfort and noise have never been an issue HOWEVER these Wanli S1088s are awful! The noise is intrusive vvvv loud as described in many other posts.I can't believe it! I have had to change after only 2000 miles as I cant stand them any more. all the other reviews re horrific noise are correct.
tyre reviewed on March 10, 2015   
Given 22% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 325ci M Sport convertible (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
I hope this helps others....Just bought a bmw 325ci M sport, which had these tyres fitted, I bought the car after having it BMW inspected, I have just driven it 20 miles from having the car delivered by a transporter, I noise from the rear was frightening, put it up on the ramp to inspect the differential and bearings, no problem there...the noise ic coming from these awful, dangerous tyres...please if you value yourself or you family do not fit these tyres...they should be banned from ever boing sold
tyre reviewed on March 7, 2015   
Given 43% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (215-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Had these tyres on a new generation Ford Fiesta. I do not understand why these are legal. In the dry they are ok, but very noisy. Do not take corners semi-fast, you will regret it. In the wet they are extremely dangerous. Everything starts to slide around, and there is no grip what so ever.
Also, they tend to leak air between the rim and the tyre bead.
tyre reviewed on January 30, 2015   
Given 70% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Passat (215-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
The tyre is ok, but that is all, not very good grip in the rain, scared my self on a few roundabouts.
tyre reviewed on October 20, 2014   
Given 20% (breakdown) while driving a Lexus IS 220D (245-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
Where to begin...
The noise from these tyres sounded (as other people have said) like a wheel baring on its way out. Driving with these tyres in the wet in just plain dangerous; on a rear wheel drive Lexus, the back end went on nearly every roundabout.
The only positive thing I can say about these tyres is that they took a while to wear out, it was only when they did that I realised how truly awful these tyres were, so even the fact that they wear well isn't necessarily good...
If you value your life, avoid these cheap, badly made, dangerous tyres...
tyre reviewed on September 23, 2014   
Given 31% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A3 2.0 TDI 140 (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14 spirited miles
Where to start, these tyres are simply the some of the worst tyres I have ever had on any of my cars. A mechanic came with me when I was buying my Audi 2.0 TDI and after he drove it told me a wheel bearing was gone. Turns out it was the tyres not the a wheel bearing(tyres were 1 week old). The noise is unbelievable starting at 35kph all the way to 100kph but even after 100kph its loud. As the tyres were new and the grip was ok(below average) in the wet I couldn't justify buying new tires so I did 14,000 miles on them. Almost every passanger I have had in my car askes me what the noise is. I would not recommend these tyres. Currently there is no wet breaking legal limit set for tyres that are allowed to be sold in Ireland or the UK. Im am sure these are below average and not far off dangerous. These tyres are best avoided at almost all costs. Hope this review helps
tyre reviewed on September 22, 2014