Audi A3 Sportback Tyres

Drive a Audi A3 Sportback? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Audi A3 Sportback
Continental WinterContact TS830 (30) 90% 95% 90% 84% 85% 91% 97% 90% 144,000
Continental AllSeasonContact (11) 90% 95% 87% 91% 83% 88% 95% 89% 57,770
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (89) 94% 85% 90% 89% 86% 87% 87% 88% 779,635
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (44) 88% 90% 85% 78% 94% 91% 91% 88% 195,509
Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 (10) 89% 80% 76% 86% 93% 92% 93% 87% 50,750
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (387) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,666,737
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Vredestein Snowtrac 3 (32) 85% 91% 83% 75% 83% 87% 97% 86% 246,289
Barum Bravuris 3HM (63) 88% 84% 82% 81% 87% 84% 90% 85% 493,980
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (127) 90% 88% 82% 82% 82% 90% 81% 85% 1,041,274
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (23) 94% 95% 89% 89% 86% 90% 88% 84% 166,657
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (269) 90% 89% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 84% 3,607,734
Pirelli Sottozero Serie II (25) 85% 88% 90% 81% 83% 90% 95% 83% 185,090
Maxxis MA Z4S Victra (16) 91% 79% 83% 81% 79% 81% 87% 83% 218,400
Nokian WR D4 (55) 85% 86% 81% 80% 66% 86% 74% 82% 415,243
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (138) 91% 88% 83% 79% 71% 80% 79% 82% 1,598,123
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77% 83% 81% 1,856,713
Michelin Primacy 4 (42) 85% 84% 77% 79% 84% 86% 71% 81% 150,530
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81% 88% 81% 292,536
Michelin CrossClimate (103) 89% 87% 85% 80% 85% 92% 88% 80% 1,218,939
GT Radial Champiro HPX (11) 87% 87% 87% 86% 70% 68% 71% 80% 115,000
Nexen Winguard Sport (19) 81% 80% 79% 64% 84% 81% 84% 79% 119,705
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (153) 89% 86% 84% 82% 59% 83% 70% 79% 1,412,323
Michelin Primacy 3 (143) 86% 81% 78% 77% 68% 81% 68% 77% 2,095,473
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (160) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 77% 77% 2,611,523
Nankang SV1 Winter Plus (14) 80% 72% 72% 71% 81% 82% 76% 76% 100,000
Continental Sport Contact 3 (238) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,130,337
Michelin Primacy HP (194) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 75% 65% 75% 4,267,594
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (112) 84% 74% 73% 75% 73% 75% 66% 74% 1,450,774
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (40) 87% 72% 78% 80% 70% 63% 70% 74% 864,661
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (99) 86% 76% 79% 78% 69% 66% 66% 74% 1,133,800
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (72) 87% 81% 80% 78% 57% 74% 58% 74% 604,626
Michelin Pilot Primacy (50) 79% 75% 71% 68% 85% 71% 65% 73% 974,067
Gislaved Ultra Speed (10) 84% 71% 79% 65% 77% 67% 66% 73% 334,000
Continental Sport Contact 5 (174) 88% 84% 80% 76% 51% 74% 56% 72% 1,855,881
Nokian W Plus (14) 79% 74% 70% 69% 86% 84% 71% 72% 144,900
Pirelli P Zero (94) 85% 72% 78% 74% 62% 68% 59% 71% 1,697,173
Hankook Ventus Prime K105 (18) 78% 63% 76% 64% 69% 79% 67% 71% 250,035
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Nokian i3 (6) 72% 68% 82% 68% 65% 77% 57% 70% 49,500
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (47) 84% 74% 74% 75% 63% 64% 51% 69% 491,560
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (141) 80% 69% 69% 67% 64% 64% 53% 67% 2,049,060
Starmaxx Ice Gripper W850 (4) 67% 67% 67% 63% 70% 70% 60% 66% 8,500
Pirelli PZero Rosso (108) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,298,806
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (46) 80% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57% 54% 66% 806,215
Semperit Speed Grip (3) 70% 73% 63% 67% 63% 57% 63% 65% 21,000
Evergreen Dynacontrol EU728 (3) 70% 55% 55% 55% 90% 60% 50% 62% 10,500
Pirelli P6 (21) 73% 67% 59% 51% 60% 60% 49% 60% 333,765
Accelera Alpha (126) 65% 44% 54% 49% 69% 56% 49% 55% 1,078,578
Kumho Ecsta 712 (10) 69% 42% 51% 47% 74% 50% 31% 52% 150,250
Zeta Ztr10 (23) 59% 44% 49% 48% 62% 57% 43% 52% 65,210
Event WL905 (126) 59% 31% 42% 39% 60% 49% 33% 45% 868,429

Audi A3 Sportback Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
amazing i put them on my a3 and the braking were so much better
tyre reviewed on 2011-10-24 22:11:36
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 100% (225-45-17-H)
Driving on mostly town for 100 average miles
Great!
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-27 07:52:39
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 100% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
I ve just bought for my A3 SB 1.8tfsi. It is so quiet and soft tire than i expected. Buy again? Absolutely yes! Highly recommended
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-26 18:03:09
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 860 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 spirited miles
I was amazed.... Super super quiet... I thought I was flying... And so far... Fantastic grip, feeling, stability, road feedback is fine too (a bit neutralized)... Just wow effect from the first second of driving... I am so pleased.
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-19 06:52:21
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti given 97% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 spirited miles
Before I had sessantas, which were excellent if you get the pressures right (higher than other tyres, otherwise the sidewall/progressiveness suffers).
This time I went for the Vorti. Wow, what a tyre. Just swapped all four slightly worn (2-3mm) contisport contact 5's and it is like night and day. The Vorti' is just a wonderful tyre with excellent feel.
Don't forget to check your pressure though. Try a fast roundabout and if the sidewalls give (you'll feel it) then put a bit more pressure in. Once you get the right pressure, these really are the best tyres out there and check the price. Further, these are one of the only tyres not made in China (made in Netherlands).
I have never had tyres that you can trust in the wet that even come close to these for stopping.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-20 15:36:03
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 97% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
My Audi A3 came with 4 Pirelli Pzero Rosso; their performances were quite good but the were terribly noisy and very rigid on the road unevenness (rigid shoulder) with a lot of vibrations inside the car.
So after 3.500 miles I decided to replace them with the new Michelin Pilot Sport 3; the PS3 are certainly better than the Pirelli Rosso:
1. very low noise also in motorways and very smooth ride
2. I tested them also in bracking and accelerating both in the wet and in the dry and they are awesome (the Pirelli Rosso are definitely inferior in this case)
3. very responsive steering (really impressive) without feeling nervous (better than Pirelli Rosso)
4. a lot of grip in cornering both in the dry and in the wet

These tyres are simply the best!!
tyre reviewed on 2010-03-06 20:14:59
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 97% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
My wife's A3 was originally fitted with standard 16" wheels with Pirelli P7's 225/55R 16 91W. In fairness, this wheel and tyre combination provided a very comfortable ride and was fine & economical (£70 a corner, P7's) for general family motoring. However, when pulling away on wet roads these narrow tyres would some times spin even with the modest power of the 140bhp diesel, and didn't insprire confidence when pushing on.

I therefore upgraded to Audi's 17" 5 spokes thinking these would still provide a reasonable ride with the car's standard suspension, and widen the contact patch from 205 to 225. I'd been told 18" could make the ride very harsh/choppy on the standard Sport Back suspension.

After reading a number of EVO magazine tyre reviews I went for Bridgestone Potenza S001's. Whilst EVO did rate the Continental Sport Contact 3 above the Bridgestones, I run Potenzas (RE040) on my Nissan 350Z and had always been very pleased with them on both road and track. With some hard negotiation I got them for £103 per corner all in which was far cheaper than I could get the Conti's reduced to. The Potenza S001's have a blocky tread pattern not dissimilar to the Conti's, and also a prominent rim protector ridge on the side-wall which is useful on the Audi 5 spokes as that design does seem a bit prone to the curb!

I have to say I'm delighted with this wheel & tyre combination, it really has unlocked the potential of the car when you do want to push on.

Clearly it's impossible for me to give a like-for-like comparison given that I've gone up a wheel size. As you'd expect, the ride is firmer and there is more road noise than from the narrower 16", but to my mind still perfectly acceptable for a family car. The A3's clearly not a 'drivers car' but feedback through the Potenzas is near telepathic; grip in both dry & wet is very good and has eliminated the wet pull-away slip. You can corner in confidence within the limits of the standard suspension set-up, and braking is significantly more confidence inspiring.

I'd certainly say these tyres are well matched to the A3 Sport Back and give a good combination of comfort and performance.

I can't give any feed back on wear on the A3 yet, but if my experience with the 350Z is anything to go by I'm expecting my wife to get a descent mileage from these tyres. They do have an 'outside' face which means you can't rotate left-to-right to balance wear, which is a shame given the A3's tendancy to wear nearside rears.

tyre reviewed on 2011-07-14 19:48:41
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 97% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 200 average miles
Outstanding from the off! Fitted on damp cool day, driven on damp, hilly, twisting Devon roads) - performance is outstanding.

Fitted a pair to front of Audi A3 TDi 130bhp, swapped existing SAVA UHP to rear. SAVA's (a Good Year brand) OK but betrayed their budget pricing, so when rears worn fitted the GY A2s which were scoring best on test. Car far better as SAVA's understeered, and felt you needed caution when in bends or accelerating.

This is not to denegrate the SAVA's which are ok (and were recommended by a centre), but really shows the value of the latest products. You really should fit these, especially as good mid range are now almost the same price (or sometimes more ...)

They're quiet, ride bumps well and grip and direct the car like you can not believe. Too early to assess wear or fuel economy.

I paid £108 a tyre via Tyresavings.com (fitter was Halford's Auto) - typically cheaper £10 cheaper than other sites.

tyre reviewed on 2012-02-24 11:37:18
Writing about the Pirelli Sottozero Serie II given 94% (205-50-17-V)
Driving on mostly town for 15 spirited miles
Very interesting winter tyre.On dry you feel very confident driving fast(what is usually not normal for winter tyre) you feel the road very good and brake distance is very short,they are very progressive.They are good alsow on wet,not like on dry but satisfactory.They last very long for a winter tyre and they dont change the quality with wear.The only weak point is snow and ice,they are only average.I will buy them again for sure and I recomend them....
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-26 01:51:12
Writing about the Vredestein Snowtrac 3 given 94% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10 average miles
Great tyre in all conditions
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-23 13:00:26
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre