Audi A4 2.8 quattro Tyres

Drive a Audi A4 2.8 quattro? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Audi A4 2.8 quattro
Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 (17) 93% 96% 94% 95% 95% 92% 98% 95% 193,800
Michelin Alpin A4 (50) 88% 94% 91% 87% 95% 92% 95% 93% 406,112
Nokian Line (63) 93% 91% 90% 90% 84% 87% 85% 88% 845,058
Avon ZV7 (63) 87% 83% 75% 72% 78% 83% 78% 80% 319,406
Cooper Zeon CS6 (33) 83% 74% 69% 74% 85% 72% 72% 76% 299,307
Continental Premium Contact 5 (100) 87% 84% 76% 78% 58% 81% 66% 76% 1,104,607

Audi A4 2.8 quattro Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Alpin A4 given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Amazing grip on fresh snow. Other cars could barely move and mine was barely losing any traction !

It was the first time I invested in a set of Winter tyres, and I now fully measure the benefit. These tyres are perfectly decent in the dry and very good in the wet, but it is really in treacherous conditions that they shine the brightest. They could be the difference between getting stuck and getting home if you're caught in a snowfall.

I'll be happy to mount them back on the car next Fall.
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-04 00:51:59
Writing about the Nokian Line given 93% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 spirited miles
I fitted these to my Audi A4 Quattro to replace a set of Cooper Zeons which were okay, no complaints but I knew I could do better.
After seeing all the rave reviews I was interested, and spent some time researching the company, looking at their website and seeing how they tested their tyres.
I came to the conclusion that if they can work well in Finland they should be fine in Somerset where I have to deal with lots of muddy and bumpy and wet country lanes.
I was hoping to wait until we had some snow to do a review, but as it may never snow again, I decided to do it now.
The first thing I noticed was the noise (or lack of it) I was hammering down the A303 and I could hear this noise - a sort of whining that I had never noticed before, on the Coopers or the Michelins. It took me a while to figure out that it was the sound of the engine. This had previously been drowned out by tyre noise.
So they are super quiet. The ride is comfortable and stable. Grip on a Quattro is superb anyway but I can say that these are smoother and more progressive than the previous candidates with great responsiveness. I realise now how woolly the Coopers were. Grip in wet and dry is outstanding.
I have had them for about a year and a half now and wear is very acceptable and even.
I think they are the best tyres I have used on my Quattros. I used to use Contis and these are better than them too. Maybe the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 would match them, but they cost a lot more.
I shall definately buy them again when it is time. Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-06 17:26:06
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 given 90% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Amazing grip on fresh snow. Other cars could barely move and mine was barely losing any traction !

It was the first time I invested in a set of Winter tyres, and I now fully measure the benefit. These tyres are perfectly decent in the dry and very good in the wet, but it is really in treacherous conditions that they shine the brightest. They could be the difference between getting stuck and getting home if you're caught in a snowfall.

I'll be happy to mount them back on the car next Fall.
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-04 00:28:55
Writing about the Avon ZV7 given 88% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
These are the best all round tyres I have had on my Audi. They are not ultimate performance tyres, but I didnt buy them for racing. I live in the wilds of Somerset and much of my driving is on little muddy twisty lanes, with some fast A roads and the occasional motorway blast.
I chose them because I know Avon has good pedigree, they seemed like really good price - not much more than horrid budget brands - and because the tread pattern looks to be chunky and rugged. And it is, if anything more so than the pictures show. This I think is important as they have to deal with all kinds of terrain on my car.
I fitted them last year and they were quiet and comfortable in the hot remainder of summer, surefooted in the rain, and just incredible in the recent snow. My back lane had about a foot of snow, and the car turned out of its parking space and just drove down the lane without slipping at all.
I cannot comment on wear yet as they are still quite new to me.
I usually drive on Conti Premium Contact and I reckon these are as good - certainly for my purposes and I would buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-08 10:32:26
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 84% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 800 spirited miles
A convincing all-rounder, especially impressive in the wet.

My previous tyres were Bridgestone RE-720, and while those had a more sporty feel in bends, I believe the new Conti PremiumContact 5 is a much better design overall. Progress is apparent. I was also impressed to see how noticeable the fuel savings were with these modern tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-01 00:10:28
Writing about the Nokian Line given 83% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 18000 spirited miles
I fitted these to my Quattro 2.8 back in October 2015 and I have since covered about 18,000 on them. My initial impressions were really good. They seemed to make the car feel more nimble and poised on the road and the steering felt sharper and more direct and I could feel the road better.
They were quiet too, far less road noise the the Coopers they replaced. I like the tread pattern as it looked like a lot of thought had gone into it.
In performance terms, no complaints at all and I wanted to leave the long term review until I had experienced driving on snow. I figured that a Finnish brand would be good in inclement weather and they are indeed. These are their summer tyres and they were great in the snow! My Quattro AWD helps a lot here of course, and its worth remembering that all summer tyres will have reduced performance in the cold and snow, not just because of the tyre pattern, but the tyre compound is not designed for temps below about 10 degrees celcius.
Having said all that I did notice the they started to get noisier with age, and then a few months ago I had the car up on a lift for some exhaust work and we noticed that all the tyres showed signs of perishing on and around the tread. Not on the sidewalls which would have been really bad, but even so the tyre shop reckoned that this was unacceptable for a tyre that was only three years old.
There was however plenty of tread left - probably would have seen me through at least six more months, and maybe more. However with winter coming I decided to change them and I chose Avons this time.
To be fair, you can find stories like this about every brand, so I am not damning Nokian really, just saying. YMMV.
Will post a review on the Avons ZV7 next year after they have seen some action. I will say though that already I find them more pliant and comfortable that than the Nokians with less of a crashy ride. But also that the steering feels a bit more vague and woolly. Cant have it all eh?
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-27 13:49:48
Writing about the Cooper Zeon CS6 given 70% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 18000 spirited miles
I just changed these out on my Quattro after just over 18,000 miles. They would have been okay for summer, but with winter coming they were a bit past it.
Seemed to me to be quite a good hard wearing chunky tyre that was not outstanding in any way really but overall very capable and trustworthy. Most of my driving is on Somerset roads with a bit of motorway occasionally. So they have driven on lumpy country lanes, gravel and dirt tracks, on fields and over beaches.
I felt that they felt a bit woolly after the old Michelins that were on the car when I bought it, just were not as sporty or poised, but they never got scary and were very progressive.
Overall a good tyre and good value. I have however just replaced them with Nokian Lines because they got such great reviews from end users and tyre tests. Will report back on them when they are worn in.
My eventual choices were Nokian, Michelin PS3 or Uniroyal RS3. I hope I have chosen well.
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-23 16:42:05
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement