Audi A5 2.0TFSI Quattro Tyres

Drive a Audi A5 2.0TFSI Quattro? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Audi A5 2.0TFSI Quattro
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (58) 86% 67% 77% 72% 70% 68% 60% 71% 834,195
Rovelo RPX 998 (21) 80% 66% 72% 65% 63% 77% 72% 71% 77,055
Achilles ATR Sport 2 (29) 76% 48% 67% 66% 79% 71% 62% 67% 161,812
Autogrip F107 (125) 57% 27% 44% 37% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,261

Audi A5 2.0TFSI Quattro Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT given 96% (255-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 21000 average miles
These were the OE fitment for my Audi A5 Quattro.

I have had ~21,000 miles out of the fronts, with a mixed style of driving.

I would have expected much less, due to being low profile tyres, being on a relatively big / heavy car and a mix of driving style. I am very impressed with the wear rates.

I have no complaints with the grip levels provided in wet or dry. They are a great combination with Audi's quattro system.

I would have been tempted to change to the Michelin Pilot Super Sports as the fronts have recently worn out. However from reading up on the Quattro system and mixing patterns front and back, I have decided to keep the keep the front and rear tyres the same. Do your research and make your own decision on this...

Great tyres!
tyre reviewed on 2014-11-28 10:12:11
Writing about the Rovelo RPX 998 given 90% (255-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly town for 240 easy going miles
got 19 inch rims,full set premium was touching £600,shopped on line and found these rovelo tyres,got them fitted at national tyres the fitter told me with the miles i do every year approx 3,000 and imno speed king the tyres should last 12,000 miles cost was £240 a big saving,everything seems ok just see how long they last if its four years ill be very happy.
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-17 18:41:18
Writing about the Achilles ATR Sport 2 given 83% (275-30-20-W)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 average miles
Great value for money tyres. Was hesitant initially when comparing against premium brands for safety but proved to be my best choice. Was on Pirelli P-zeros and the Achilles are way more silent and comfortable all round after almost 3000km. And only one third the price of the Pirellis, which by the way had rubber pieces break off inside side wall of one tyre around 30000km, and dangerously exposed wire mesh
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-26 08:43:12
Writing about the Autogrip F107 given 42% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Brilliant tyre if in the wet you are amused by wheelspin, sliding around and ESP systems going crazy. Fine in the dry but downright dangerous in the wet. You effectively are forced to drive everywhere at the pace of your stereotypical 80 year old Rover driver in order to make safe progress.

Had these tyres on the rear of my car for approximately 8 months, car has always been extremely tail happy in the wet which I found puzzling for an AWD car. It was only when my front tyres needed replacing and I moved these Autogrips to the front did I realise how shocking they are. My previous front tyres were absolutely nothing special at all but I got caught out a few times plowing into the opposite lane driving at my normal driving speed after moving these to the front. You do not have to be driving like a maniac for these to slide, it's genuinely impressive that they managed to make a tyre this awful and is still legal. When they were on the back of my car I've no doubt people have seen me sliding around thinking I'm the local boy racer when in reality I'm just trying to get to my destination.

Positives are they are fairly quiet, and don't seem to have worn down at all since fitting them. I suppose if you were doing motorway driving (and only motorway driving) they would probably be fine if you really can't afford another £20 a corner for something decent.

In short, they are great if you want the excitement of near death expreiences every time it rains, not so great if you like being able to keep up with traffic without crashing.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-13 00:54:08
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement