BMW 1 series Tyres

Drive a BMW 1 series? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW 1 series
Michelin Pilot Sport AS 3 Plus (1) 90% 100% 90% 90% 90% 80% 90% 90% 10,000
GT Radial Champiro FE1 (3) 90% 83% 83% 93% 87% 93% 100% 90% 43,000
Goodyear UltraGrip 9 (31) 83% 90% 82% 84% 87% 91% 91% 89% 212,415
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (86) 94% 85% 90% 89% 86% 87% 87% 88% 748,635
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (116) 96% 87% 90% 86% 84% 83% 91% 88% 928,889
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (120) 94% 93% 88% 89% 80% 83% 85% 87% 1,334,238
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (386) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 85% 86% 3,665,137
Falken Azenis FK510 (51) 91% 90% 86% 87% 79% 79% 87% 86% 420,035
Michelin Alpin 5 (16) 85% 94% 86% 77% 87% 91% 89% 86% 111,100
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (267) 90% 89% 85% 84% 73% 83% 80% 83% 3,558,984
Nokian WeatherProof (24) 81% 89% 81% 81% 72% 89% 78% 82% 177,414
Michelin CrossClimate (100) 89% 88% 86% 81% 87% 93% 89% 81% 1,182,939
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R (7) 82% 70% 77% 73% 86% 93% 83% 81% 47,000
Winrun R330 (12) 82% 74% 72% 75% 83% 86% 71% 77% 262,500
Sava Eskimo S3 (30) 73% 65% 70% 71% 77% 75% 78% 77% 460,000
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (41) 82% 74% 77% 74% 76% 74% 73% 76% 543,510
Continental Sport Contact 3 (237) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,118,337
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (110) 84% 74% 73% 75% 73% 76% 66% 75% 1,435,774
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (96) 86% 76% 78% 78% 68% 66% 65% 74% 1,125,000
Pirelli P Zero Runflat (22) 83% 73% 74% 71% 59% 69% 64% 70% 180,820
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (87) 75% 62% 68% 61% 78% 69% 57% 67% 2,007,921
Sonar SX2 (12) 69% 58% 60% 56% 85% 68% 63% 66% 112,926
Sunny SN3830 (17) 55% 44% 49% 44% 70% 67% 44% 53% 158,990
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (130) 73% 53% 55% 49% 56% 32% 30% 50% 2,046,852
Bridgestone Turanza T002 (3) 85% 50% 30% 15% 65% 65% 10% 46% 70,598
Deestone Vincente R302 (6) 60% 34% 28% 26% 52% 17% 10% 32% 23,212

BMW 1 series Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Alpin 5 given 99% (225-45-17-)
Driving on for 0 miles
The perfect tyres!
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-13 07:51:01
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 95% (255-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Initial impressions after 1000 miles of mountain driving.
WOW! I am stunned by how good these tyres are!

Response - The (now old) Pilot Super Sport always had a soft sideway feel in 18 inch which resulted in some sideways movement in the rear of the car. These MPS4's have no such movement. Turns in instantly, takes the line and maintains it without any corrective steering inputs. I've never felt so secure throwing the car through S bends.

Grip/traction - The traction is immence. By comparison, Goodyear Assym 2's and Conti 5P's would spin as I pulled away, then grip, then spin again as I hit peak power at 5000 rpm. This would happen in 1st and 2nd gear. On the same road and the same conditions, with warm MPSS I'd get little spin at pull away and no spin at peak power. MPSS traction went away when it was cold though. With the MPS4's I get perfect traction even at 5 degrees C on cold tyres! It only spins if it's damp and greasy. Wet traction is excellent. Car is RWD with 235kw and 450nm.

Noise - they're quiter than other tyres I've tried but about the same as MPSS, so not whisper quiet, but not irritating or intrusive.

Comfort - MPSS still better for absolute comfort as they seemed to adsorb all road imperfections. The MPS4 feel the same most of the time, but you feel slightly more bump when going over short, sharp road imperfections.

All in all, these are the tyre's I've been looking for since getting my car. Very satisfied. Thanks Michelin!
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-21 08:03:11
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 94% (245-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Excellent pneu, beaucoup mieux que les chaussures de course qu'ils ont remplacées. Arrondit les bosses et beaucoup plus silencieux
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-24 18:12:09
Writing about the GT Radial Champiro FE1 given 93% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 average miles
Excelent tyre for the price!
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-11 17:41:01
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti given 93% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
Ready to replace my vorti's, they are down to the wear marker but still feel and grip remarkably well, over 25000 miles driven fitted to the rear of the BMW (DPF removed, freeflow CAT and exhaust, chipped to approx 225hp) we have been around the Nurburgring and towed a caravan to loire valley in France in really hot weather, these tyres inspire confidence, you can feel what the tyre is doing and the grip is such that the traction control is rarely activated even in the wet. Now I have to choose a new pair of tyres and apart from trying Vredestein's new Satin model no other tyre even after reading reviews make me want to change Brand.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-14 12:54:33
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport AS 3 Plus given 90% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-27 08:10:11
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 90% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-02 01:26:03
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 90% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 17 spirited miles
I've had 4 types of tyres on my car including Goodyear Assymetric 2 (RFT), Conti SportContact 5P, Michelin Pilot Super Sport and now Michelin Pilot Sport 4’s.
I drive in a lot of slower traffic but then on weekends do a lot of mountain driving.

I've always liked the PSS. They have immense traction and grip, they soak up road imperfections perfectly and they're comfortable with my suspension. Wet grip is great but they don't like damp conditons, nor cold conditions.

In 18 inch form they have a slightly soft sidewall, which means they distort a bit during hard acceleration from slow speeds making the rear of the car move around more than usual, and in corners or over bumps you need to wait an instant for it to settle.

Comparatively, I liked the Conti 5P more for precision and accuracy, but I definately preferred the PSS for grip and comfort with my cars M-Performance suspension.

I’m now using Michelin Pilot Sport 4’s which gives more grip no matter the temperature, is as comfortable as the PSS, but has the speed of response and accuracy of the Conti.

Will I buy PSS again? For 20 inches and up, definately.
For 18 inch I'll stick with the PS4's.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-17 13:19:43
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 87% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Great all round tyre, not a performance tyre in terms of feel but still really good dry grip, superb in the cold and wet, much better than the nct5's that were fitted, no more traction lights flickering on in the damp. They are what they say on the tin, a decent summer tyre that also excel in the cold, wet and snow, total confidence so no drama for our rear wheel drive cars. Oh yeah, they are really quiet.
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-30 21:56:03
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 9 given 87% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
On changing my BMW I was unable to fit my old wheels and tyres to the new car so I had to buy new wheels and tyres for winter. I previously had Goodyear Ultra Grip 8's which were superb so the launch of the Ultra Grip 9 made them my first choice.

I have not been disappointed with the 9's at all. Comfort in terms of noise and ride is even better than the 8's. In fact fuel consumption has been markedly better than expected with my 37 mile commute over mixed roads giving over 70mpg! Certainly on those cold and frosty mornings the tyres have proved to be much better than summer rubber, staying more flexible and offering much more grip. I've not had to really test them in snow, some snow in 2016 saw no problems as expected but nothing too major. That said the 8's I had were simply amazing in the snow so I assume the 9's will be at least as good.

A lot of my colleagues question why I continue to swap to winter tyres every year but I having done it for 5 winters now I wouldn't not. The increased comfort and security in the winter gives me much more confidence and as where I live is quite remote and the roads can be both icy and covered in snow so having the winter tyres is a real must for me. The extra cost and storage of wheels and tyres is a pain but worth it.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-12 09:10:22
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement