tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

BMW 316 Tyres

Drive a BMW 316? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW 316
Nokian WR A3 (44) 95% 94% 94% 92% 93% 94% 93% 94% 258,220
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons (35) 87% 84% 84% 85% 88% 85% 91% 86% 299,702
Continental Sport Contact 3 (186) 88% 81% 83% 78% 63% 77% 71% 77% 2,557,401
Avon ZV5 (82) 84% 80% 78% 78% 69% 76% 76% 77% 1,018,020
Sava Eskimo S3 (13) 77% 67% 71% 72% 82% 79% 84% 76% 152,000
Goodyear EfficientGrip (72) 75% 64% 59% 55% 73% 76% 55% 65% 815,640
Accelera PHI (76) 69% 50% 55% 54% 68% 58% 55% 58% 612,142
Infinity INF 040 (13) 68% 41% 56% 45% 58% 50% 42% 51% 35,805
Durun Sport One (1) 40% 40% 0% 0% 50% 20% 10% 27% 500

BMW 316 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 99% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 spirited miles
I think it's the best tyres I've tried so far.
Posted at 2011-09-24 19:38:16
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip given 89% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 spirited miles
These tyres are excellent. The grip is very good in dry and excellent in wet roads. The traction control seems to be unnecessary. They are a lot more comfortable than the previous Continental PremiumContacts that I had on the same car. The grip is similar if not better. They wear very slowly and currently after 30000miles, they have still thread for at least 10000 more. Excellent choice.
Posted at 2014-06-28 22:51:11
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons given 78% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
I bought there tyres after experiencing a bad winter in Dublin during 2010, which brought the city to a stand still after heavy falls of snow.

I did a lot of research and found these to be the best for Irish conditions - a tyre that would handle the wet, that should wear well and that I could leave on during the wet summer months if I choose.

I bought the tyres mainly as I was moving out of the city and into the country.
I would be driving mainly open rough country roads with sharp bends with that would be prone to frost and ice under clear skies in the winter. As my BMW is rear wheel drive - it would be a recipe for disaster without good tyres.

In short - The 4 Season Vectors are fantastic tyres!

Drove them last winter on ice white roads and while I did not get to test them under snow, they held their ground on frost and ice and enabled me to get to work albeit it at a slow and careful speed, that without I would not have managed otherwise.

Also far superior to any tyres I have experienced before in normal wet conditions. I replaced my 'Summer tyres' again late this September with the Vector 4 seasons which I had stored. Perhaps a little early for winter but - this was due to my summer tyres being horrendous in the wet, (as we don't really experience Summer in Ireland) the change was instantly recognisable and led to a more comfortable confident driving experience.

As regards wear, I feel its still too early to report as I have only used them through one winter season so far and had them stored for the summer, however they still appear as new.

I will be buying these tyres again, without doubt.
Posted at 2012-10-13 14:22:27
Writing about the Infinity INF 040 given 68% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 100 spirited miles
I had these tyres fitted this weekend, but my new Infinity tyres feel better than my old Uniroyals.
Posted at 2014-09-07 20:50:45
Writing about the Sava Eskimo S3 given 53% (175-70-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
ultimate tyre for snow....but... thats all.
Posted at 2010-03-05 20:07:12
Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 44% (205-60-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6500 average miles
After fitting a set of four I found the rears have had an appalling wear rate - only lasted 6500 miles on rear of BMW 318 and now down to 2.5mm tread - front still have 5mm tread left. I am not a boy racer so cannot understand how they have worn so quickly.

Generally reaonable performace otherwise for the price - the wear rate being my only grip!
Posted at 2011-05-15 21:15:14
Writing about the Durun Sport One given 32% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 500 average miles
Almost died with these tires (literally) was going 70kph and tires just skid out of nowhere and couldn't control my car anyway. cost me more than $3000 in repairs for my car.
Posted at 2013-10-05 12:57:20
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 10% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 18000 easy going miles
Very Very Bad !!!!!!! no grip at all, just insane
Posted at 2011-02-25 23:43:15
Writing about the Nokian WR A3 given 0% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 average miles
Incredibly smooth feeling to these tyres. Now feeling much more secure about coping with bad weather in Brecon Beacons country.

New boots always give a fantastic feeling, and these are certainly no different. The Nokians transmit confidence, but the weather’s just moist and cold with nothing bad so far. By the way if anyone’s interested, Toyo Proxies with 5mm of tread are noisy compared to these.

To my inexperienced eye these Nokians look impressive and very well finished, with some interesting details. So pretty much brand new with only 30, not 100 miles, but one gripe; the photos on the Nokian website appear to display the D3 and the W+ as having sidewalls which are flush with the rim and the A3 photos too. In any case, if Nokian haven’t included a rim protector in a recently launched product, who am I to question their reasoning? I am probably wrong to think a thicker area of tyre wall makes it particularly stronger there too.

So I must say the Nokians feel exceptionally smooth but with quick turn in and I’m very satisfied. And even if there is only one, as yet unknown, Nokian person who tried to outwit me, may he have a good chuckle by knowing that I am now really pleased that he did what he did. May it be known amongst his colleagues, that who ever he or she is, they did a good job, give them a pay rise and I would recommend these tyres to anyone else!
Posted at 2011-12-17 21:01:50
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: