BMW 320d touring Tyres

Drive a BMW 320d touring? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW 320d touring
Lassa DriveWays (9) 88% 88% 89% 91% 94% 86% 94% 90% 126,300
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (35) 89% 94% 88% 87% 87% 93% 93% 88% 269,300
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (24) 90% 84% 83% 83% 74% 81% 85% 83% 176,810
Continental IceContact 2 (2) 70% 80% 80% 85% 75% 65% 95% 82% 32,000
Landsail LS588 UHP (52) 87% 82% 75% 74% 79% 88% 81% 81% 556,651
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (250) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,784,205
Michelin Primacy HP (195) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 75% 65% 75% 4,311,094
Altenzo Comforter (86) 79% 60% 70% 62% 76% 80% 68% 71% 672,161
Marshal Matrac FX MU11 (7) 83% 66% 66% 64% 75% 64% 61% 68% 85,700
Firestone RoadHawk (18) 88% 81% 70% 57% 51% 76% 46% 67% 94,850
Dunlop SP2000 (14) 78% 70% 73% 62% 59% 62% 53% 65% 334,532
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67% 57% 63% 753,482
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (132) 72% 53% 55% 49% 56% 32% 29% 49% 2,066,852
Maxtrek INGENS A1 (24) 56% 30% 47% 39% 65% 58% 33% 47% 225,330

BMW 320d touring Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Firestone RoadHawk given 97% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Fitted the Firestone RoadHawks to the front of my 2010 320d Touring as the run flats were excessively hard, very noisy, lacked feel and were a brand I am not keen on (inherited by the previous owner). Instantly the front end was riding properly, soaking up bumps and going round corners effortlessly. I have had those tyres on for 3000 miles now and they still look brand new. They have been so good through the bad weather and very hot weather that when the rear Conti run flats were wearing, they have been replaced with the Firestone's.

Again, the ride is much better, much quieter and the grip in the dry is simply fantastic. The back of the car is finally connected to the front in the corners and in the dry, the traction control light hasn't come on at all.

A couple of things I have to comment on is the wet grip and the look of the tyre. The wet grip is brilliant but, when pulling out of a junction on a steep hill, the tyres did spin and the traction control light came on. I'm not overly concerned about this as the rain was torrential and with 181bhp and no weight in the car, is to be expected. Also, they tyres do have a soft-ish sidewall and so they can look a little under-inflated on certain ground conditions.

Other than those two bits, they are fantastic and a really good mid-range tyre. If you want to remove the run-flats which I highly recommend you do, I cant recommend the Firestone Roadhawk enough to you.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-30 09:50:19
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 94% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 42000 average miles
I have fitted these tyres to several cars, and have always been very impressed, usually resolving problems that other tyres had created. They have been quieter, more comfortable, significantly less tramlining even when nearly worn, I they offer all the grip I need and haven't slid at all, they brake well and most significantly they last- 39,000 miles on rear of a BMW, and 48,000 on the front. What more can I ask of a tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-17 15:20:40
Writing about the Lassa DriveWays given 92% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1500 average miles
I have them for almost a year now, bought all 4 tyres for an E91 320d. Mostly have been driving them on the highway (130kmh), and on some B roads. The tyres have excellent grip, are really comfortable, and give good feedback.
I definitely recommend them, for the money, they are amazing, and the wet grip is also really good.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-15 12:11:34
Writing about the Landsail LS588 UHP given 92% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
After reading these positive reviews i gave landsail a chance on my rear wheel drive remapped bmw(rear axle). I must say honestly that they are briliant! Finaly got confident back after previously tried other cheap tyres which was dangerous especialy on wet road! 588's are "glued" to wet roads, no more unwanted roundabout drifts 😉! And they ar e much cheaper than premium brands with the same performance.
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-11 11:58:19
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 87% (205-50-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Someone else on here had the same problem with the Rainsport 2'sin combination with RS3's. Same thing happened to me. I had to replace the rear RS2's with RS3's. I soon realised that the rear tyres were trying to steer and this became quite dangerous at motorway speeds; actually causing me to stop to check for a rear puncture. Replaced the fronts with RS3's and it is now a fantastic drive.

Beware! On BMW's don't mix RS2's with RS3's. Replace them all.
tyre reviewed on 2015-06-12 11:55:43
Writing about the Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 average miles
Superb tyres. I was warned that winter tyres wear quickly. Rubbish. They did over 20k and still had more grip than my wife's summer tyres over the same distance (remember, you are starting out with tonnes more tread depth and so have more to lose!). Also, I found no problem keeping these tyres fitted during summer. No noticeable change in performance. Ultimately, the mean annual UK temperature is just 11C. In the early mornings and evenings (when most people drive to and from work), the temperature is well below this, and so hard to understand why you wouldn't use a winter or all season tyre for the UK roads. I have a 320d rear wheel drive and its almost impossible to spin these tyres! Get involved.
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-05 17:00:57
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS91 given 84% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
Both dry and wet grip is very good!
Very good road feedback.
Advantage of its stiff sidewalls is sharp and fast steering, and disadvantage is lower comfort. (Still more comfortable than OE runflat tyres)
Recommended. I will buy again.

My comments for BMW/Mini owners:
If your car has factory-fitted runflat tyres and you are thinking about changing to conventional tyres, then I highly recommend Kumho PS91. Because of its stiff sidewalls, Kumho PS91's steering character is close to factory-fitted runflats. Never change your factory-fitted runflat tyres with convensional tyres with soft sidewalls. Otherwise your BMW/Mini will loose its steering and handling character.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-10 15:16:26
Writing about the Dunlop SP2000 given 84% (225-50-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
Great tire in the dry and i was quite impressed with it in the wet as well. Fronts have been on for 10,000 miles and are starting to get quite low, rears lasted 8,000miles but this is on a bmw thats gets a hell of a thrashing. Pretty easy to go sideways when tread gets low but otherwise very impressive tires. Great down country roads, stopping distance is remarkable and they never lock up, cornering is very impressive at even at triple figure speeds (i dont live in the uk and only drive fast when i can see the road ahead is clear)
tyre reviewed on 2014-01-26 10:05:06
Writing about the Continental IceContact 2 given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 average miles
I live in Dalarna, Sweden. Ideal winter tyres for the region that I live.
Very comfortable and silent for studded tyres.
Very good in dry for studded tyres.
Very good snow grip.
Ice grip is good in the beginning. But after 2 seasons, its ice performance decreases but in acceptable level.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-10 15:44:58
Writing about the Landsail LS588 UHP given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Very good tyres between 3°C and 12°C. Too soft above 12 °C.
Excellent wet grid. Good dry grip. Comfortable.
Poor road feedback and steering feel above 12 °C.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-30 10:06:42
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement