BMW 520d M Sport Tyres

Drive a BMW 520d M Sport ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW 520d M Sport
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (367) 92% 89% 86% 85% 81% 88% 86% 87% 3,429,237
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (248) 91% 89% 85% 84% 74% 84% 81% 84% 3,291,354
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (36) 85% 79% 75% 77% 67% 81% 69% 76% 377,012
Continental Sport Contact 3 (227) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 75% 68% 76% 3,036,307
Toyo Snowprox S953 (8) 81% 73% 66% 77% 82% 76% 69% 75% 74,500
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (47) 88% 67% 77% 72% 70% 69% 61% 72% 672,595
Goodyear Excellence (111) 79% 71% 72% 71% 72% 75% 62% 72% 2,466,056
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (21) 83% 72% 72% 72% 71% 58% 56% 69% 245,071
Nankang NS2 (189) 77% 58% 66% 62% 75% 64% 62% 66% 1,621,039
Falken FK453 (24) 78% 70% 62% 58% 61% 72% 60% 66% 159,700
Accelera PHI (110) 70% 48% 55% 54% 68% 60% 54% 58% 955,362
Radar Dimax R8 (20) 66% 46% 53% 52% 59% 55% 50% 54% 140,606
Triangle TR968 (61) 56% 34% 41% 39% 62% 39% 33% 43% 462,540

BMW 520d M Sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 93% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 36000 average miles
Excellent performance. My front tyres did 36,000 miles and rear did 18,000 on a rear wheel drive car. £175 fitted at Kwikfit online. Easily recommend.
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-02 14:47:57
Writing about the Toyo Snowprox S953 given 92% (245-40-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
My car bmw e60 5 series, performed so well in snowy/icy mountain roads with these Toyos on. The car did whatever I wanted righaway, either accelerating, stopping, turning... either in snowy hill road or in snowy flat roads I am really surprised. I was not expecting such high performance, especially by considering that my car is RWD. They make you feel like you can go anywhere you want on snow with these tyres on. And can you imagine that they are such good on snow, with a very sporty size of 245/40/18 !

Moreover, these tyres are so good on dry conditions too. I am schocked of how good they are in dry conditions also... I can say they are better than Michelin Pilot Sport when both tyres are cold.

I definitely recommend them for everyone. They are really good in snow, in dry, in wet.

Buy it guys.

ps: I can not say anything for wear and tear, I am using them yet only for 3 months.
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-06 16:11:56
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 91% (245-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
I live in Thailand and am about to purchase my third set of EF1 A2. I had made in China and Thailand versions of this tire before. The current one is made in Germany and lasted 40% longer than the other two!! Same car similar driving style. All three sets on my Beemer performed as indicated. Driving during heavy downpours in monsoon time is something that is done with confidence. The car also keeps its course well when conducting sudden evasive actions, dry or wet. The EF1 A3 is not yet available here till early next year so I am told. I will therefore replace my tires with another set of A2s (made in Germany again). I highly recommend Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 for anyone driving in (semi) tropical conditions!
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-31 13:45:56
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 90% (275-30-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
These tyres cost me 116 pounds fitted which I thought was excellent value for money especially on a 275 30 19 inch tyre size. Premium brands were going for 240 pounds fitted and im no tight ass either, over the past 3 years I have been fitting premium brands to my car Michelin PS2, Conti 2 and 3, Pirelli P Zero just to name a few and I thought 'what the hell' let me try a reasonably priced tyre or 'budget tyre' as some of you put it. I do approx 25k a year and go through a set every 6-8 months I was sick and tired of my tyre fitter being my best friend.

After 10k of average driving yes average, the speed limits in this country are 70 mph motorway and 30 - 40 mph town and 50-60 mph country road. And yes I have had the odd illegal blast of 100 mph ++ on motorways in the middle of the night in good weather conditions.

Now in the dry these tyres have been good, ok they are not as good as the PS2 or Conti 3 but then again I didn’t pay an extra 100 pounds for that privilege. In the wet I would say that these tyres at legal speeds and even up to 100 mph on the motorway are safe and as good as any other tyre out there. When you think your as good as Michael Schumacher and want to throw the car around at stupid speeds on country lanes, then yes these tyres are not as good as the PS2 or Conti 3 but even then reading some reviews on here the 2.5 Audi guy below is right in his assessment of if you drive like a C*** expect to come of the road like one even with the best tyres fitted.

And for the Skoda Driver who spent 8k on repairs? is your car even worth 8K? and to some of the other reviews driving Toyota's etc and cars fitted with 195 tyres stating that these tyres will 'kill you' hmmmmmmm somehow not I think, as you managed to live and tell the tale. All I can say to those drivers is lets have a proper unbiased review, adjust your driving style to the conditions, learn how to drive properly in the first place, and then submit a review failing that stay off the crack or weed pipes please.

Overall I would say good tyre for the money and safe too if you can drive within your capability.


tyre reviewed on 2013-02-26 13:50:29
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT given 83% (275-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly town for 24000 average miles
Have had these on my BMW as OE, I've covered 24k miles so far and still have 5mm tread on the fronts and just over 4mm on the rears, the wear is very even. The tyres perform very well when warmed up and provide great feedback when driving in a spirited manner. I have had no problems in the wet when driving in a normal manner, they are progressive when wanting to initiate a drift.
So far i think i can get another 4000-5000 miles out of them which i think is pretty good. The comfort can be better, but that comes at a cost as I've used other tyres on similar large saloons e.g. Continentals Sport contact 5p and they wear far faster then dunops so its your choice.

Overall a great tyre and would consider buying again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-30 22:53:13
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25000 spirited miles
noisy but very hard wearing runflats
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-20 21:57:46
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT given 76% (245-40-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 26000 easy going miles
Good tyres only issue is that they seem to be one of the most expensive RFTs.
tyre reviewed on 2014-01-15 10:24:10
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 spirited miles
275 40 18 way better wet grip and comfort than Conti 3 runflats they replaced but average wear - done at 14-15k miles
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-20 20:53:05
Writing about the Goodyear Excellence given 64% (245-45-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Don't like the tyres under wet conditions...they are just terrible. On there other hand, under dry conditions...they are very good. I wouldn't buy them again though...
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-23 14:30:40
Writing about the Falken FK453 given 64% (275-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12000 average miles
Having changed all 4 of my Run-Flat tyres only 18 months (and 12000 miles) ago, I was today shocked to hear I only had 1mm left on the rear tyres. All of my driving has been long motor drives across Europe. My last tyres (Michelins) lasted 38000 miles, hence the reason I'm so shocked. The front tyres still have 5mm.
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-28 15:10:00
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement