BMW 520d M Sport Tyres

Drive a BMW 520d M Sport ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW 520d M Sport
Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 (17) 93% 96% 94% 95% 95% 92% 98% 95% 193,800
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (90) 94% 85% 90% 89% 86% 87% 88% 88% 794,635
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (387) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,666,737
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (22) 90% 83% 85% 82% 78% 81% 87% 84% 151,810
Accelera PHI 2 (3) 85% 80% 85% 85% 85% 85% 80% 84% 6,500
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (270) 90% 89% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 84% 3,619,734
Winrun R330 (13) 83% 73% 72% 77% 84% 88% 73% 78% 352,500
Goodyear Eagle LS2 (7) 70% 84% 67% 67% 85% 90% 77% 77% 48,517
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (54) 85% 79% 77% 80% 70% 79% 71% 77% 554,137
Continental Sport Contact 3 (238) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,130,337
Goodyear Excellence (116) 79% 71% 72% 71% 72% 75% 62% 72% 2,514,856
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (58) 86% 67% 77% 72% 70% 68% 60% 71% 834,195
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (25) 82% 72% 70% 72% 68% 55% 54% 68% 312,086
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (141) 80% 69% 69% 67% 64% 64% 53% 67% 2,049,060
Nankang NS2 (199) 77% 58% 66% 62% 75% 63% 61% 66% 1,750,559
Radar Dimax R8 plus (4) 75% 70% 65% 63% 85% 53% 50% 66% 21,600
Falken FK453 (28) 76% 70% 61% 58% 59% 68% 58% 64% 219,200
Toyo Snowprox S953 (9) 77% 69% 64% 74% 76% 73% 62% 64% 83,500
Accelera PHI (128) 70% 47% 55% 54% 67% 59% 53% 58% 1,140,962
Radar Dimax R8 (27) 66% 49% 48% 48% 66% 55% 50% 55% 208,906
Wanli Snowgrip S1083 (7) 70% 49% 60% 49% 70% 63% 50% 50% 48,500
Triangle TR968 (67) 55% 32% 40% 38% 61% 38% 31% 42% 469,650

BMW 520d M Sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS91 given 97% (275-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 18000 easy going miles
Replaced my Continental run flats with these and the difference was night and day. No tramming, harshness over the slightest bump. Very quiet and comfortable and good value for money. I have covered 18000 miles on the rear and still showing 4.2 mm. Would definitely recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-01 10:03:19
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti given 94% (245-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-25 11:30:10
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 93% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 36000 average miles
Excellent performance. My front tyres did 36,000 miles and rear did 18,000 on a rear wheel drive car. £175 fitted at Kwikfit online. Easily recommend.
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-02 14:47:57
Writing about the Toyo Snowprox S953 given 92% (245-40-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
My car bmw e60 5 series, performed so well in snowy/icy mountain roads with these Toyos on. The car did whatever I wanted righaway, either accelerating, stopping, turning... either in snowy hill road or in snowy flat roads I am really surprised. I was not expecting such high performance, especially by considering that my car is RWD. They make you feel like you can go anywhere you want on snow with these tyres on. And can you imagine that they are such good on snow, with a very sporty size of 245/40/18 !

Moreover, these tyres are so good on dry conditions too. I am schocked of how good they are in dry conditions also... I can say they are better than Michelin Pilot Sport when both tyres are cold.

I definitely recommend them for everyone. They are really good in snow, in dry, in wet.

Buy it guys.

ps: I can not say anything for wear and tear, I am using them yet only for 3 months.
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-06 16:11:56
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30000 spirited miles
I run Michelin Pilot Alpin PA4 all year round, getting a full year out of them, that’s about 30k open road miles. They give great confidence which why they have been my tyre of choice for about 4 years. I put new on in December ready for my trip to the Alps and then they stay on all year round (UK). The tyre and Bimmer electronics combo makes driving in slippery conditions a breeze (and fun), even when others are struggling.

Despite being RWD (I prefer it) I’ve never got struck. I also carry chains but have never fitted them other than to prove they will fit. In the mountains on compulsory chains or winters, winters every time! Unfortunately, those with chains inevitably get in the way.

I’m aware they “soft”, so I don’t abuse them apart from the necessary blast when entering a dual carriageway from a minor road. Most of my miles are morning and evening,not mid day sun. I tried Yokos, half the price, half the mileage and no confidence so the Michelin’s cost no more per mile plus they are nice to drive and grip better.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-27 11:41:25
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 91% (245-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
I live in Thailand and am about to purchase my third set of EF1 A2. I had made in China and Thailand versions of this tire before. The current one is made in Germany and lasted 40% longer than the other two!! Same car similar driving style. All three sets on my Beemer performed as indicated. Driving during heavy downpours in monsoon time is something that is done with confidence. The car also keeps its course well when conducting sudden evasive actions, dry or wet. The EF1 A3 is not yet available here till early next year so I am told. I will therefore replace my tires with another set of A2s (made in Germany again). I highly recommend Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 for anyone driving in (semi) tropical conditions!
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-31 13:45:56
Writing about the Accelera PHI 2 given 90% (275-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Expected to be rubbish but grip same as conti3 sportmax not quite as good as hankook but hankook they wear very quick
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-24 18:10:03
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 90% (275-30-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
These tyres cost me 116 pounds fitted which I thought was excellent value for money especially on a 275 30 19 inch tyre size. Premium brands were going for 240 pounds fitted and im no tight ass either, over the past 3 years I have been fitting premium brands to my car Michelin PS2, Conti 2 and 3, Pirelli P Zero just to name a few and I thought 'what the hell' let me try a reasonably priced tyre or 'budget tyre' as some of you put it. I do approx 25k a year and go through a set every 6-8 months I was sick and tired of my tyre fitter being my best friend.

After 10k of average driving yes average, the speed limits in this country are 70 mph motorway and 30 - 40 mph town and 50-60 mph country road. And yes I have had the odd illegal blast of 100 mph ++ on motorways in the middle of the night in good weather conditions.

Now in the dry these tyres have been good, ok they are not as good as the PS2 or Conti 3 but then again I didn’t pay an extra 100 pounds for that privilege. In the wet I would say that these tyres at legal speeds and even up to 100 mph on the motorway are safe and as good as any other tyre out there. When you think your as good as Michael Schumacher and want to throw the car around at stupid speeds on country lanes, then yes these tyres are not as good as the PS2 or Conti 3 but even then reading some reviews on here the 2.5 Audi guy below is right in his assessment of if you drive like a C*** expect to come of the road like one even with the best tyres fitted.

And for the Skoda Driver who spent 8k on repairs? is your car even worth 8K? and to some of the other reviews driving Toyota's etc and cars fitted with 195 tyres stating that these tyres will 'kill you' hmmmmmmm somehow not I think, as you managed to live and tell the tale. All I can say to those drivers is lets have a proper unbiased review, adjust your driving style to the conditions, learn how to drive properly in the first place, and then submit a review failing that stay off the crack or weed pipes please.

Overall I would say good tyre for the money and safe too if you can drive within your capability.


tyre reviewed on 2013-02-26 13:50:29
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle LS2 given 89% (245-45-18-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
Just completed 10K miles and still have 6mm tread left (BMW F10 MSport) so very pleased with the wear. Comfort & noise is much better that previous Dunlop Sport Maxx's. Not had great deal of use on snow but wet performance is good.
Handling at the limit will always favour a summer tyre but that's not important to me.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-03 15:15:56
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
75 40 18 are a rip off size made so made it a mission to compare makes.

WAY better traction ie no wheel spin at junctions in normal driving like Contisport 5 which came with the car from new, or Dunlops sport maxx (where the only benefit is quietness).

tyre reviewed on 2017-11-29 21:04:26
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement