BMW 520d Tourer Tyres

Drive a BMW 520d Tourer? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW 520d Tourer
Nokian WR A3 (67) 92% 90% 91% 84% 92% 92% 89% 90% 467,743
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (76) 92% 90% 88% 83% 83% 90% 86% 87% 269,536
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (369) 92% 89% 86% 85% 81% 88% 86% 87% 3,429,237
Continental Sport Contact 6 (29) 95% 96% 89% 81% 56% 86% 75% 83% 94,238
Neuton NT8000 (31) 90% 73% 80% 75% 81% 82% 77% 80% 229,981
Continental Sport Contact 3 (231) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 67% 76% 3,081,307
Michelin Primacy HP (188) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76% 65% 75% 4,111,994
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (112) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65% 57% 68% 2,131,623
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (85) 75% 61% 67% 60% 78% 69% 56% 67% 1,953,067
Sunny SN3800 (61) 50% 28% 31% 30% 45% 28% 20% 33% 251,716

BMW 520d Tourer Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 99% (225-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
It is the perfect tyre for a BMW 5 series. I no longer have wheel spin, control and handling are superb. Much better than the original Continental Premium Contact 2 that are the default tyres for a 5 series. Tyres are relatively quiet and fuel usage has improved. So if you want a sporty tyre but you don't want to sacrifice comfort this is your choice.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-31 15:03:05
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 91% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Changed to the Asymmetric 2's after a year of suffering the awful ride of the Goodyear run flats supplied as standard with this car. Very impressed so far- the car feels much more comfortable with very similar levels of grip.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-05 21:17:42
Writing about the Nokian WR A3 given 90% (225-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
These tyres I have are run flats - for my 5 series E61. They were great. Last year I had bought my father in law the same tyres for his tiguan in a non-runflat variety. He hadn't got much snow-use out of them as we had a mild winter that year. However, this winter we've both used the tyres and I have to say I'm very impressed with the wr a3 runflats. I was half expecting them to struggle in the snow and ice, but they were pretty sure footed. I have to say my awd audi with vredestein (non runflat) were more surefooted, but that's neither here nor there. The 5 series allowed us to be mobile even as a family and go about our daily business with little impact. I even took it on some off-beat roads to test the tyres and they never once let us down.

The tyres do lose traction now and again on very thick icy slushy roads, but find purchase again quickly enough with the traction control helping. As examples on our street (with a very small incline) an audi a5, bmw 3 series and mini all with summers struggled and even gave up during the icy/snowy conditions. Our 5 series with the nokians had no issues at all.

I was also impressed with the comfort levels - as far as I can tell they're on a par with my summer runflats - if anything a little quieter and softer. Fuel economy seems a little lower - but that could just be winter conditions...

Love the tyres - I have them mounted on a spare set of alloys I found cheapy off ebay. All in all a very happy bunny and not much looking forward to taking them off for summer. I know some poeple run these tyres year round as they're seen as a bit of an all-season in some countries... Perfect for the UK I think.
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-18 09:45:12
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 87% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Replaced run flats on BMW E61520d to reduce wheel noise. These non-runflat tyres are very good, great grip and wear. Just expensive
tyre reviewed on 2015-06-23 06:28:39
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 01 given 85% (225-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 average miles
Its funny how we all jusge the same tyre differently. But I have had a good experience with these tyres.
I am 10 miles shy of 25,000 miles and my two back tyres have about 3mm and my two front 4+. I have never had wear like this before, just brilliant.
The ride can be a little noisy and it is a hard ride, but i put that down to the type of tyre and the fact the car has a hard suspension. The grip has alway been sound. I'm hoping to get 30k out of them, but i do a lot of country track driving and motorway too. The roads are not what they used to be!
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-06 18:01:54
Writing about the Neuton NT8000 given 80% (245-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Fited in bmw e61 to try them against crappy dunlop sp01 rft. For the bargain price you get longer lasting tyre, with at least the same qualities. After 20k miles I don't think 50% of thread is actually gone with my heavy foot. Will go for them next time.
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-15 15:22:26
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 6 given 65% (245-40-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 932 average miles
I have used these tires for 1500 km (932 miles?), and I gives it the highest score except in one - Comfort. As more warm the tire becomes, as more noisy it is. Over approx 135 km/h it seems much noisy when the tire-surface become warm. First I thought it were me and my "head" :-) but I talked til Conti, which confirmed what I hear inside the car. I'm not sure I will buy the tire again, but the problem is, that there is nog tire in 2045-40-19 from the Premium Contact 6 which I would have bought. I bought the Sport Contact 6 instead.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-27 13:32:35
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 61% (245-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 easy going miles
good comfort on 520D Msport touring 2010 howecer I drive very gently and they lasted less than 9000 miles on the rere, original Dumlops had lasted 21000 on rere front still ok at 29000, tracking fine friving easy to moderate.
Real pirt as I enjoyed the bit of extra comfort but now feel I will have to go back to the original Dunlop SP sport runflats to achieve a reasonable mileage
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-30 10:06:45
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 60% (245-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Bmw 520d I bought the tyres to the back. Never burn the tyres. After 6 months both tyres used to the limit. Paid 300 pounds for it and is gone after 6 months. Creazy. Good tyres but not for long :-(
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-14 17:13:43
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle NCT5 given 60% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
For a BMW 5 Series Tourer manufacture warranty tyre, l am very disappointed in its wear performance. The tread gauge limit indicator is approx 2.8-3.0mm and before l have got to this, probably around the 3.3mm mark l have had 3 tyres now in a row tear along the inside wall where it meets the road tread. Steel belt holds out for about 7 miles and then it tears all the way around. From external examination and experience with this tyre although it was the 3rd l still could not see warning signs before it tore. On the up, as a run flat l have done 90MPH on a full flat with no loss of grip / security. I will be moving over to Yokahama or Michillen in future.
tyre reviewed on 2010-10-16 19:52:09
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre