BMW E36 328i Sport Tyres

Drive a BMW E36 328i Sport? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW E36 328i Sport
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (147) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85% 88% 87% 2,662,853
Nokian Z (7) 90% 80% 79% 83% 87% 80% 90% 84% 145,000
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (138) 91% 88% 83% 79% 71% 80% 79% 82% 1,598,123
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (160) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 77% 77% 2,601,523
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66% 73% 75% 818,878
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (40) 87% 72% 78% 80% 70% 63% 70% 74% 864,661
Marshal Matrac TX KU17 (8) 81% 68% 64% 66% 71% 69% 61% 69% 92,014
Nankang NS2 (201) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 61% 66% 1,755,759
Kenda KAISER KR20 (58) 65% 46% 54% 54% 71% 55% 49% 56% 437,012

BMW E36 328i Sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 97% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 31000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2009-11-20 15:30:35
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 96% (255-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 31000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2009-12-05 16:23:07
Writing about the Marshal Matrac TX KU17 given 89% (245-40-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
With the BMW 328i Sport being rather overtyred using the same sizes as the E36 M3; a 245/40/17 at the rear, tyre choice is chosed with half an eye on cost.

I really wanted to have Michelin Pilot Sport II's all round, however they were coming in at about ?170 per tyre!

So I was recommended the Marshall KU17 by my trusted tyre fitter.

As he explained, they use the same Silicon technology as the top brands, Goodyear F1's for example, meaning superior grip and wear.

Add to this, the tyre was only ?70 a tyre - and it looked nice enough - very similar in design to the original Michelin Pilot Sport (i.e. Symmetrical).

Having had them fitted and bedded them in, now I have got over the initial 'lets not wear them out so quick this time', I've set to really leaning on them.

And the good news is: They really are very very good. Especially at that cost.

In the wet, perhaps because I'm pushing 200bhp around at the rear, and I'm always looking to move the back around, they don't perhaps have as much grip as I'd like, however they do work well.

They clear water very well, and a fairly quiet.

However dry grip is their party piece.

I simply have to be a nutter to get them sliding, and into corners, setting the car up well, they just grip and grip. Very progressive in their movement across the thread as well.

All in all, as a budget performance tyre, they really are amazing.

Very much recommended, and should Pilot Sport II's still be expensive, I'll be getting more of the same.
tyre reviewed on 2007-06-01 13:19:43
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE001 given 81% (225-40-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
So after 10,000 miles or 16000 kms on rubbish NZ roads with coarse mix, these tyres have done very well. Excellent turn in and very chatty compared to my previous Toyo Proxes CT01. Good initial bite when cornering and very steady without requiring steering corrections. Have worn down to nearly half after 10,000 miles but very spirited and very poor roads are probably to count for that. Can be noisy but that is the price to pay for outright grip.
tyre reviewed on 2009-09-16 10:46:02
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric given 76% (235-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Bought two of these for the rear after the previous rubber made me seriously uneasy in the wet. Read the reviews and nothing seemed to come close. Was a little bit sceptical about the reviews, thought they might be exaggerated, but decided to give them a go.
This really is a great tyre, hampered only by it's lack of durability. Wet and dry grip is unparalleled. Communicates nicely when it's about to let go, though to be honest, you need to really push them to get them sliding... more than what would be considered responsible and mature. Regardless of the weather, they inspire confidence.
The only thing that would stop me from buying them again (which I promised myself I would after the first month of driving) is the rate at which they wear. Obviously these tyres wear quicker than a hard compound tyre, and the soft compound is a trade-off for the grip levels. But I still would say the wear is just too extreme. I've covered 6000 miles, and I'll be lucky to get another 1000 out of them. It was all going well till I went on a bit of a road trip through Slovenia, Croatia and Montenegro in summer. With temperatures between 30 and 40degC, the rubber was getting ridiculously soft, to the extent that you could feel it disintegrating when you ran a finger across the tread. I could almost picture the chucks flying off as I drove along the coast.
To conclude, if money's not an issue, buy these, I've not experience anything better. Yes, they are expensive compared to some others, and I wasn't impressed by the wear rate, but you just can't beat that level of grip on a normal (non slick or semi-slick) tyre. As for whether I'd buy them again... well, I'll need to have a word with the bank manager ;)
tyre reviewed on 2008-10-13 15:35:43
Writing about the Kenda KAISER KR20 given 71% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
not too gripy on wet but ok overall
tyre reviewed on 2010-10-16 14:50:00
Writing about the Maxxis MA Z1 Victra given 57% (245-40-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 average miles
Where to start, fantastically priced tyre, grip is very good if not excellent in the dry, only had them sliding once in the wet, but that was deliberate on my behalf, after crashing in the bloody car park in the wet ( 20mph ) on Goodyears, I was rather sheepish about driving in the wet in this, my first BMW, and a 328 sport to boot.
Anyway, the only fly in the ointment is the wear rates, I'm gutted, just looking for a 3rd set of rears in less than a year, and I dont have a lead foot, mostly m'way driving at 80mph, I do over 30k a year, and a generous estimate of 7k per tyre just isnt good enough.
I've had the tracking checked and all sorts, fronts are still top bollox after 25k, but am eating rears at the same rate of knots as my m'bike!. . .. sheesh!!!
tyre reviewed on 2009-09-21 20:07:02
Writing about the Maxxis MA Z1 Victra given 57% (245-40-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 average miles
Where to start, fantastically priced tyre, grip is very good if not excellent in the dry, only had them sliding once in the wet, but that was deliberate on my behalf, after crashing in the bloody car park in the wet ( 20mph ) on Goodyears, I was rather sheepish about driving in the wet in this, my first BMW, and a 328 sport to boot.
Anyway, the only fly in the ointment is the wear rates, I'm gutted, just looking for a 3rd set of rears in less than a year, and I dont have a lead foot, mostly m'way driving at 80mph, I do over 30k a year, and a generous estimate of 7k per tyre just isnt good enough.
I've had the tracking checked and all sorts, fronts are still top bollox after 25k, but am eating rears at the same rate of knots as my m'bike!. . .. sheesh!!!
tyre reviewed on 2009-09-21 20:06:04
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 54% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
These tyres are slightly overated in my honest opinion the dry and wet grip are good but not brilliant as I have read on these threads and they dont last that long either. A good mid range tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2009-10-01 15:24:37
Writing about the Nokian Z given 51% (255-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
These tyres look nice and have a V tread pattern and handle good in the dry with no problems. BUT in the wet pushing 200BHP+ rear wheel drive these tyres are poor and I had no confidence in throwing the car around and had to slow for roundabouts as was always worried about the tail end slipping out, as I had experienced previously. Not bad for a budget tyre but compared to the Michellins PS2 I have now.......... well you cant compare them......... simples!!
tyre reviewed on 2009-10-12 21:35:28
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre