BMW X3 Tyres

Drive a BMW X3? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW X3
Cooper WeatherMaster WSC (6) 86% 90% 84% 86% 93% 80% 100% 91% 21,200
Pirelli Scorpion ATR (18) 95% 83% 86% 82% 88% 88% 88% 90% 511,605
Cooper Zeon 4XS (6) 88% 88% 92% 78% 90% 90% 97% 89% 29,000
Kumho Crugen HP91 (8) 94% 93% 91% 94% 69% 93% 80% 88% 55,000
Dunlop Grandtrek AT3 (3) 93% 83% 80% 77% 100% 80% 100% 88% 36,000
Nokian zLine (77) 92% 92% 91% 89% 77% 86% 85% 87% 604,390
Nokian WR A4 (12) 85% 90% 88% 79% 80% 88% 86% 85% 28,599
Nokian WeatherProof SUV (7) 85% 92% 83% 70% 60% 87% 92% 81% 34,300
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (119) 86% 79% 80% 76% 73% 81% 80% 79% 1,226,286
Nankang SV3 (2) 90% 70% 50% 80% 70% 95% 95% 79% 9,500
Nexen N Fera RU1 (16) 83% 74% 75% 75% 79% 85% 77% 78% 40,665
Continental Sport Contact 3 (239) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,175,337
Cooper Zeon CS6 (33) 83% 74% 69% 74% 85% 72% 72% 76% 299,307
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (122) 84% 74% 73% 75% 73% 75% 66% 74% 1,619,302
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (58) 86% 67% 77% 72% 70% 68% 60% 71% 834,195
Michelin Latitude tour HP (21) 77% 63% 67% 68% 69% 75% 56% 69% 520,460
Pirelli P Zero Runflat (25) 83% 69% 73% 70% 60% 68% 59% 69% 199,320
Landsail LS388 AS (27) 83% 75% 78% 72% 75% 81% 85% 67% 154,662
Autogrip F107 (125) 57% 27% 44% 37% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,261
Autogrip F106 (9) 40% 24% 33% 29% 60% 49% 21% 37% 37,050

BMW X3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Latitude tour HP given 100% (235-55-17-H)
Driving on mostly town for 7000 average miles
already 1year/10k km with these tyres and i feel happy for my purchase. ok it is an expensive tyre (180euros each) but they worth. i have no experience in wet conditions because in my country it is raining rarely. also i am driving 99% on road (no offroading). even at top speeds of 130-150km/h the tyres give me perfect grip and feedback. hope they will last long time. would buy again
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-18 14:23:52
Writing about the Cooper WeatherMaster WSC given 100% (235-50-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
The average mileage for this car is around 6,000 per year and I made the decision to fit WINTER tyres for use all year round. The car is used for short runs into town and longer runs in the countryside.

Fitted as replacements for perished Pirelli Scorpion Verde. These tyres are very chunky looking with holes for spikes - they suit the look of the X3 perfectly. I have used Avon tyres for many years and found them to be at least as good as OEM fitments from Dunlop, Michelin, Pirelli etc and superior to Continental. When looking for a set for the BMW it was clear that the parent company of Avon - Cooper - made very good tyres that are suitable for SUV usage. They do not have a huge marketing presence in the UK but I did a little research and discovered that David Coulthard was one of their development drivers. I thought that I would try a set based on my experience with Avon. The tyres cost £260 for a complete set (!) plus fitting. I know this was a very good price and I was obviously very lucky to find them at the time I needed a new set.
In usage they are no noisier than the Pirelli and when the car only achieves 17-20mpg you won't notice much difference in fuel consumption anyway...but in terms of wet grip and snow...WOW!

Effortless in cold weather - why does the UK not make it a legal requirement to use WINTER tyres? So much of the seasonal road problems would be alleviated instantly - it is unbelievable that the average UK road user has no idea of the concept of Winter tyres (and consequently - no idea of the benefits and safety gains that are made by using them).
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-28 13:03:32
Writing about the Nokian zLine given 96% (235-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Best tiers I've used so far. The very best for cornering.
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-28 10:19:22
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU39 given 93% (235-45-19-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 easy going miles
I have bought these tyres to the rear wheels for my 2007 BMW X3 3.0sd (twin turbo 286 HP, 6 automatic gearbox, four wheel drive version) in May 2017. Now, the time is October 2019 and the tyres have been used for 22000 miles since new in 3 summer seasons (mostly from April to November).
GRIP: Dry Grip: Very good overall, but it is not excellent like a Michelin Pilot Sport or Continental Sport Contact.
Wet Grip: Very good overall.
Offroad usage: Satisfactory. I have even used them on bushy, grassy and muddy offroads. Only once I had a risk of staying (bushy and muddy conditions with slight uphill were together), but my X3's electronic systems have helped to go inch by inch! Else they were very good in handling and traction.
BRAKING: Dry and wet : Very safe.
Offroad : Safe enough.
WEAR: Expected life of the tyres are around 30000 miles according to current wear figures. Also, tyres are very durable against unusual knocks created by potholes and bumps (ps: I have used 42-45 psi tyre pressure, recommended tyre pressure of the BMW is 42psi for maximum loaded car, once a month, I check the tyre pressures, and approximately 3 psi loss per month could be faced)
DRIVING STYLE: 80% 50MPH average speed drive (60 mph in German and Austrian Highways!). 1% offroad usage. Around 6000 kms, Ukrainian roads and offroads have been used with extreme potholes, bumps. (My left front suspension has been broken because of Ukrainian roads!)
BUY AGAIN: Yes. They are very good in performance/price measure.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-25 00:22:18
Writing about the Cooper Zeon 4XS given 93% (235-55-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 easy going miles
Tires changed 1500 kms ago. So far, they have not suffered premature wear or signs of deformity. Very quiet. Fantastic dry grip. In wet weather I have not been disappointed. My driving style is rather quiet.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-23 08:00:34
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero Runflat given 92% (245-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 30000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-16 07:43:42
Writing about the Landsail LS388 AS given 92% (215-60-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5400 average miles
Had a set of four Landsails fitted to my car late last year in preparation for winter.

Not a brand I was familiar with - seems they are fairly new to the market - but they were recommended by my usual tyre retailer, and very well priced!

Over the past few months I have found these tyres to perform excellently. I haven't encountered my snow or ice this winter, but these tyres have performed well in all conditions they have encountered. I'm especially pleased with the wet grip.

In my opinion, they are excellent value for money, and I would certainly buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-10 22:33:30
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion ATR given 90% (225-55-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Superb AT tyre, look great and wear very well. Excellent all round on and off road. Bit pricey, but you pay for quality, and that's what these premium tyres are.
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-28 21:38:34
Writing about the Nankang SV3 given 89% (275-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Needed a set of winter tyres but didn't want to pay premium cost so did some research into the next best and decided on the SV3, it was hard to find reviews on larger tyre sizes as most are 15" to 18"

Since having these fitted they have more than exceeded expectation as on my previous car I used Pirelli Slottozero's. For a quite high powered SUV (400 bhp and a lead filled foot) they handle and grip very well in rain and snow. The wear rate is also quite low for the miles I've covered probably as temperatures are constantly below 6 degrees.

The SV3 is also a comfortable ride compared to the usual BMW manufacturer recommended "runflats".


tyre reviewed on 2018-11-17 20:24:50
Writing about the Autogrip F107 given 87% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-25 15:53:55
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre