BMW X5 3.0d Sport Tyres

Drive a BMW X5 3.0d Sport? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW X5 3.0d Sport
Toyo Proxes ST (12) 92% 88% 89% 73% 92% 91% 92% 88% 221,714
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85% 85% 84% 607,810
Michelin 4x4 Diamaris (6) 90% 82% 88% 87% 72% 83% 72% 82% 154,500
Landsail LS588 UHP (47) 87% 82% 75% 73% 81% 88% 81% 81% 540,951
Avon ZX7 (20) 90% 88% 85% 84% 61% 82% 64% 79% 113,156
Michelin Latitude Diamaris (5) 95% 75% 58% 77% 85% 85% 73% 78% 290,000
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport SUV (3) 90% 83% 87% 83% 50% 67% 63% 75% 37,500
Sunitrac Focus 9000 (8) 82% 73% 73% 75% 80% 62% 63% 73% 127,048
Davanti DX640 (49) 78% 70% 75% 74% 65% 79% 68% 73% 415,346
Continental Cross Contact UHP (30) 86% 79% 75% 73% 55% 73% 65% 72% 721,387
Michelin Diamaris (3) 83% 70% 77% 73% 53% 80% 70% 72% 81,000
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (61) 79% 64% 69% 62% 72% 63% 59% 67% 874,589
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (140) 80% 69% 69% 66% 64% 64% 53% 66% 2,025,060
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF (9) 82% 71% 66% 66% 48% 67% 43% 63% 127,212
Falken FK453CC (3) 77% 67% 63% 67% 63% 57% 47% 63% 19,500
Cooper Zeon 2XS (15) 69% 52% 56% 46% 58% 63% 45% 56% 101,825

BMW X5 3.0d Sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Toyo Proxes ST given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
10,000 miles under my belt on these tyres which are excellent in all departments.

Only downside is that they are becoming expensive for their grouping.
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-17 17:17:45
Writing about the Sunitrac Focus 9000 given 89% (285-35-22-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Purchased BMWX5 twin turbo car with Sunitrak 9000 tyres and found them to be excellent all round tyres, all of this bulls hit about Chinese tyres is utter nonsense they perform brilliantly I can only assume large Name tyre manufacturers are spreading bad reviews are purely trying to retain their stranglehold on the uk and us markets. Will certainly buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-13 17:08:31
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 87% (315-30-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 average miles
Considering i got 13K miles from my tyres (front 275/40/20 106w) its not too bad, bearing in mind its mainly done school run with my wife being the main driver. However they are expensive compared to Bridgestone run flat, have been told breaking performance are less responsive in wets, but seriously considering Bridgestones as they are also recommended by BMW.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-02 11:17:36
Writing about the Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport given 86% (315-35-20-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30000 average miles
Superb tyres had them on my X5 2009 for 32000 and still have 3.5 mm left in snow absolutely brilliant. Last winter never had issues travelling between Nottingham and Highlands in Scotland.

Exceptional in wet good all round tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-03 14:29:44
Writing about the Landsail LS588 UHP given 78% (315-35-20-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 average miles
Bought these tyres as a fix for the winter on my spare set of wheels wasn't bothered about performance as I had no intention of pushing them that said they are ok but lack a little bit of feel on the turn in and are not as sharp as the Pirelli that came off but they are very quiet and comfortable and seem to be wearing ok

They are ok on grass and mud no issues as far as this type of width can be
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-22 15:06:14
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF given 76% (275-40-20-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19000 easy going miles
Good tyres that were standard on the 20 inch rims. A little dissapointed as to wear as they are low (very near replacement) at 19800 miles.
tyre reviewed on 2011-06-21 19:15:20
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 67% (275-40-20-)
Driving on mostly town for 3500 easy going miles
BMW 2009 M Sport tyres lasted 3500 miles not impressed...................
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-26 13:49:34
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 66% (285-45-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 45000 easy going miles
tyre feels good in wet and dry but the wear is terrible. i've had them on 9 months and need rear tyre already,the back tread is 2mm and the front is 4.5mm ,my wife has only done 4500 miles on them,would never buy again,it on a x5
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-21 21:16:24
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 60% (315-35-20-W)
Driving on mostly town for 13000 easy going miles
Generally pls'd with the performance, but the wear rate considering my wife uses our X5 for the school run is appaling. 12k miles and all 4 tyres need replacement (275/40 R20s on the front included).
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-03 19:11:33
Writing about the General Grabber UHP given 59% (285-45-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 24000 average miles
Had Diamaris all round which were fine for 3 years, but budgets got tight, and ?250 per coner for Mitchelin was steep.

So choose the General Grabber UHP. They looks good, rougher/tougher more , agressive and I paid (17/3/09) almost ?500 fitted for 285/45/R19 W at back and 255/50/R19 W at front.

First I noticed the road noise is greater than the Diamaris and then as they wear they went out of balance quite badly.

However, 15 months & 27000 miles later there is still pleaty of tread on th front pair, but the rear pair were almost due for replacement 14 months & 25000 mile.

So one last road trip and at 27000 mile the rears' outside edge still had 4.5mm of tread and the middle 3.2mm, but major inner shoulder wear, due to the X5 negative camber for road holding, they demanded replacement.

All in all not bad alternative to Diamaris, better for off road, noiser on road, prone to balancing issue during wear. Will wear quicker on the rear but you'll save ?300 ~400 fitted.
tyre reviewed on 2010-07-19 20:55:18
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre